Status of Claims
Claims 1-2 and 4-5 are currently pending.
Claims 1 and 4 have been amended.
Claim 3 has been canceled
Status of Amendment
The amendment filed on 8/26/2026 has been fully considered, but does not place the application in condition for allowance.
This Action has been made final.
Status of Rejections Pending since the Office Action of 21 May 2026
All rejections from the previous Office Action are withdrawn in view of Applicant’s amendment. However, new grounds of rejection have been set forth below as necessitated by Applicant’s argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (US20060269835A1) in view of Shimoyamada et al. (US7128998B2), hereinafter Shimoyamada.
Regarding claim 1, Song teaches a power storage cell comprising:
a cell case (Fig. 2, 210, [0058]);
a wound electrode assembly (Fig. 2, 220, [0058]); and
an electrolyte solution [0074], wherein
the cell case houses the wound electrode assembly and the electrolyte solution [0074],
the wound electrode assembly is impregnated with the electrolyte solution [0074],
the cell case includes a top wall, a peripheral wall, and a bottom wall (Fig. 2, 210, 231, [0070], [0058]),
the top wall faces the bottom wall (Fig. 2, bottom of 210, 231, [0070], [0058]),
the peripheral wall connects the top wall and the bottom wall (Fig. 2, 210, [0058]),
the wound electrode assembly includes a positive electrode sheet, a separator sheet, and a negative electrode sheet (Fig. 1A, [0049] upper portion),
a winding axis direction of the wound electrode assembly is along a direction from the bottom wall toward the top wall (Fig. 2, 220, [0058]), and
in the winding axis direction,
the wound electrode assembly has a first end portion and a second end portion (Fig. 1A, [0049] upper portion),
the first end portion faces the top wall [0049],
the second end portion is located opposite to the first end portion (Fig. 1A, bottom portion),
at both the first end portion and the second end portion, the separator sheet extends outward with respect to the negative electrode sheet ([0049], second electrode plate),
at the first end portion, the separator sheet has a first protruding length ([0049], Lupper),
at the second end portion, the separator sheet has a second protruding length ([0049] Llower),
each of the first protruding length and the second protruding length is a length of the separator sheet protruding from the negative electrode sheet in the winding axis direction (“The term “protruding width” refers to the distance that the separator protrudes from whichever electrode plate extends the farthest in the width direction.” [0062]), and
the first protruding length is longer than the second protruding length [0025].
Song does not specifically teach that the difference between the first protruding length and the second protruding length is 2 to 5 mm.
Shimoyamada, however, teaches of a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery comprising a wound electrode assembly including a positive and negative electrode and a separator (Col. 3, lines 40-45). Shimoyamada also teaches that the separator has a first and second protruding length and a difference between the first protruding length and the second protruding length is 0 to 4.5 mm (Col. 6, lines 51-67). This overlaps with the claimed range of 2 to 5 mm.
Therefore, it would be obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date to modify the Song protruding length so that it falls within the Shimoyamada range because if the protruding amount of the separator is smaller than 0.5 mm, it may be difficult to suppress the internal short circuit of the battery under an over-charged state. On the other hand, if the protruding amount of the separator noted above exceeds 5 mm, the energy density of the secondary battery may be lowered (Shimoyamada Col. 6, lines 51-67).
In addition, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F. 2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 2, modified Song teaches the power storage cell according to claim 1, wherein a ratio of the first protruding length to the second protruding length is 1 to 10 (Shimoyamada Col. 6, lines 51-67). This overlaps with the claimed range of 1.5 to 5. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F. 2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 4, modified Song teaches the power storage cell according to claim 1, wherein
the first protruding length is 0.5 to 5 mm (Shimoyamada Col. 6, lines 51-67), and
the second protruding length is 0.5 to 5 mm (Shimoyamada Col. 6, lines 51-67). This overlaps with the claimed ranges 2 to 5 mm and 0.5 to 1.5 mm, respectively. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F. 2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F. 2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 5, modified Song teaches the power storage cell according to claim 1, wherein
the cell case includes a case main body (Song Fig. 2, 210, [0058]) and a lid (Song Fig. 2, 231, [0062]),
the case main body includes the peripheral wall and the bottom wall (Song Fig. 2, 210, [0058]),
the peripheral wall rises from the bottom wall (Song Fig. 2, 210, [0058]),
the case main body has an opening surface (Song Fig. 2, 231, [0062]),
the opening surface faces the bottom wall (Song Fig. 2, 231, [0062]),
the lid includes the top wall (Song Fig. 2, 231, [0062]), and
the lid closes the opening surface (Song Fig. 2, 231, [0062]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Response, filed 8/26/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 5; 2 and 4 under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 103 respectively have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Song and Shimoyamada.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YVONNE WEI/Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/ANCA EOFF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1722