DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In the specification, para 0006 [1] recites “hemolysys”, however, should recite “hemolysis”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract recites "(e.g., Lysis buffer)" . A suggestion would be to delete the phrase 'e.g.’. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitations in this application that use the word “means” (or “step”) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Conversely, claim limitations in this application that do not use the word “means” (or “step”) are not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, except as otherwise indicated in an Office action. Such claim limitation is: ‘a means for mixing a culture of a blood sample’ in claim 11. A “ means” does not connate any particular structure. The specification describes the “a means for mixing a culture of a blood sample” to be stirring and shaking equipment (Specification, para 0032). Under the 3-prong analysis, the limitation should be interpreted under § 112(f) for the following reasons:
The claim limitation uses the term “means” or a term used as a substitute for “means” that is a generic placeholder.
The term “means” or the generic placeholder is modified by functional language. The term “means” is modified by functional language “for mixing a culture of a blood sample”.
The term “means” or the generic placeholder is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function. See MPEP §2181(I). The term “means” is not modified by sufficient structure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 7, 8, 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A). The examiner has obtained an archived written translation of the JP document above from Translation Service Center (TSC) Archive database. The rejection below is based off the written translation.
Regarding claim 1, Setoguchi teaches a hemolysis reagent (pg 13, para 0028) for use in a pretreatment for a clinical microbiological test (pg 3, par 0002-0003), comprising a nonionic surfactant (pg 15, section 6), wherein the test comprises a bacterial identification test or a drug susceptibility test.
Regarding claim 2, Setoguchi teaches the hemolysis reagent wherein the nonionic surfactant comprises a polyoxyethylene (POE) alkyl ether (pg 15, section 6).
Regarding claim 4, Setoguchi teaches the hemolysis agent further comprising a dispersing agent (pg 14 , section 1).
Regarding claim 7, Setoguchi teaches a pretreatment kit for a clinical microbiology test, comprising the hemolysis reagent (pg 15, section 6) and a dispersing agent to be mixed with the hemolysis reagent (pg 14 , section 1).
Regarding claim 8, Setoguchi teaches a pretreatment method for a clinical microbiological test, comprising a step of mixing a culture of a blood sample collected from a subject and the hemolysis reagent to obtain a hemolyzed sample (pg 23, para 0048).
Regarding claim 9, Setoguchi teaches the pretreatment method comprising a step of removing impurities from the mixture of the culture and the hemolysis reagent by filtration (pg 29, Section: Measurement result).
Regarding claim 12, Setoguchi teaches a clinical microbiology testing system, comprising the pretreatment system (pg 23, para 0048).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A) as applied to claims 1 above.
Regarding claim 11, Setoguchi teaches mixing a culture of a blood sample collected from a subject and the hemolysis reagent to obtain a hemolyzed sample (pg 23, para 0048).
Setoguchi does not mention a stirring and shaking device.
Although, Setoguchi does not explicitly mention a “stirring or shaking device”, there are only a finite number of ways to mix the hemolyzing reagent and the blood sample. These methods of stirring or shaking the two reagents would lead to the predictable solution of the reagents being mixed together. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use a stirring and shaking device to mix the hemolyzing reagent and the blood sample as taught in Setoguchi. See MPEP 2143(E).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A) as applied to claims 1 and 2 above.
Regarding claim 3, Setoguchi teaches the hemolysis reagent wherein the nonionic surfactant comprises a polyoxyethylene (POE) alkyl ether (pg 15, section 6).
Setoguchi does not specifically teach POE alkyl ether comprises a POE (7) alkyl (sec-C11-15) ether.
Although Setoguchi reference does not teach the specific nonionic surfactant called POE (7) alkyl (sec-C11-15) ether, Setoguchi does teaches that the nonionic surfactant could include various polyoxyethylenes such as POE (n) dodecyl ether and POE (7) decyl ether (pg 15, section 6) for the hemolysis reagents because it doesn’t affect the bacteria in the blood (pg 29, para 0057). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Setoguchi with POE (7) alkyl (sec-C11-15) ether as the nonionic surfactant for the benefit of not effecting the bacteria in the blood (pg 29, para 0057).
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A) as applied to claims 1 and 4 in view of non-patent literature “Lipid emulsions as a novel system to reduce the hemolytic activity of lytic agents: mechanism of the protective effect” by Jumaa et al.
Regarding claim 5, Setoguchi teaches the hemolysis agent further comprising a dispersing agent (pg 14 , section 1). Setoguchi further teaches that salts can be combined with nonionic surfactants to be the hemolyzing reagent (pg 13-15).
Setoguchi does not teach the dispersing agent comprises a long-chain saturated fatty acid salt or a long-chain unsaturated fatty acid salt.
However, Jumaa teaches the micellular formation and hemolytic activity to understand drug delivery systems (pg, 285, Introduction). Jumaa teaches hemolytic activity of sodium oleate in various surfactants (pg, 285, Abstract) because sodium oleate lead to complete hemolysis (pg 286, Results). Sodium oleate is a long chain unsaturated fatty acid salt. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Setoguchi with sodium oleate as taught by Jumaa because sodium oleate lead to complete hemolysis (pg 286, Results).
Regarding claim 6, Setoguchi teaches the hemolysis agent further comprising a dispersing agent (pg 14 , section 1). Setoguchi further teaches that salts can be combined with nonionic surfactants to be the hemolyzing reagent (pg 13-15).
Setoguchi does not teach the long-chain unsaturated fatty acid salt comprises an oleate salt.
However, Jumaa teaches hemolytic activity of sodium oleate in various surfactants (pg, 285, Abstract) because sodium oleate lead to complete hemolysis (pg 286, Results). Sodium oleate is an oleate salt. Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teaching of Setoguchi with sodium oleate as taught by Jumaa because sodium oleate lead to complete hemolysis (pg 286, Results).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A) as applied to claims 1 and 8 in view of Kaminagayoshi (JP 59196084 A). The examiner has obtained a machine translation of the JP document above from J-Plat Pat. The rejection below is based off the machine translation.
Regarding claim 10, Setoguchi teaches a pretreatment method for a clinical microbiological test, comprising a step of mixing a culture of a blood sample collected from a subject and the hemolysis reagent to obtain a hemolyzed sample (pg 23, para 0048).
Setoguchi does not teach introducing the hemolyzed sample into a bacterial identification testing system and/or a drug susceptibility testing system.
However, Kaminagayoshi teaches introducing the hemolyzed sample into a bacterial identification testing system and/or a drug susceptibility testing system for the benefit of determining the efficacy of an antibacterial agent (pg 2, Section: Technical Field). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings in Setoguchi with the bacterial identification testing system or a drug susceptibility testing system as taught by Kaminagayoshi for the benefit determining the efficacy of an antibacterial agent (pg 2, Section: Technical Field).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Setoguchi (JP 2003207497 A) as applied to claims 1, 11, and 12 in view of Kaminagayoshi (JP 59196084 A). The examiner has obtained a machine translation of the JP document above from J-Plat Pat. The rejection below is based off the machine translation.
Regarding claim 13, Setoguchi teaches a pretreatment method for a clinical microbiological test, comprising a step of mixing a culture of a blood sample collected from a subject and the hemolysis reagent to obtain a hemolyzed sample (pg 23, para 0048).
Setoguchi does not teach introducing the hemolyzed sample into a bacterial identification testing system and/or a drug susceptibility testing system.
However, Kaminagayoshi teaches introducing the hemolyzed sample into a bacterial identification testing system and/or a drug susceptibility testing system for the benefit of determining the efficacy of an antibacterial agent (pg 2, Section: Technical Field). Thus, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the teachings in Setoguchi with the bacterial identification testing system or a drug susceptibility testing system as taught by Kaminagayoshi for the benefit determining the efficacy of an antibacterial agent (pg 2, Section: Technical Field).
Conclusion
/H.R.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1798
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798