Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizumoto (US Pat. Pub. 2024/0283537 A1) in view of Lutz (US Pat. Pub. 2025/0149964).
Regarding Claim 1, Mizumoto teaches An optical transceiver module (10) (FIG. 24, 300) characterized by comprising: a light transmitting-side circuit (102) (FIG. 24, 30); a light receiving-side circuit (104) (FIG. 24, 37); and a microcontroller (106) (FIG. 24, 36) electrically connected to the light transmitting-side circuit (102) and the light receiving-side circuit (104), (FIG. 24, 30; 36; 37) wherein the microcontroller (106) (FIG. 24, 36) is configured to transmit a light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light transmitting-side circuit (102) to start the light transmitting-side circuit (102) ([0136]), and after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light transmitting-side circuit (102), the microcontroller (106) is configured to transmit a light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side circuit (104) ([0136])
Mizumoto does not teach after a first delay duration to start the light receiving-side circuit (104) so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT).
Lutz teaches after a first delay duration to start the light receiving-side circuit (104) [92] so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT). (Id.) (In Lutz, if the receivers’ startups are being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a first peak value that is lower than a peak threshold value.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Mizumoto and Lutz are from the same art with respect to transceiver systems and are therefore analogous art.
Regarding Claim 2, Mizumoto teaches The optical transceiver module (10) of claim 1, wherein the light transmitting-side circuit (102) (FIG. 24, 30) comprises: a light source driver (108) (FIG. 4, 1121) electrically connected to the microcontroller (106) ([0136]), wherein the light receiving-side circuit (104) comprises: a light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) (FIG. 24, 37) electrically connected to the microcontroller (106) ([0136]), wherein the microcontroller (106) is configured to transmit the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light source driver (108) to start the light source driver (108) ([0136]), and after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light source driver (108), the microcontroller (106) is configured to transmit the light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) ([0136])
Mizumoto does not teach after the first delay duration to start the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112).
Lutz teaches after the first delay duration to start the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) ([92]).
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding Claim 3, Mizumoto teaches the optical transceiver module (10) of claim 2, wherein the light transmitting-side circuit (102) (FIG. 24, 30) further comprises: a light source component (110) (FIG. 4, 1121) electrically connected to the light source driver (108) (FIG. 4, 1121),
Mizumoto does not teach wherein after the light source driver (108) is started by the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1), the light source driver (108) is configured to transmit a light source component start-up signal (S2) to the light source component (110) to start the light source component (110).
Lutz teaches wherein after the light source driver (108) is started by the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1), the light source driver (108) is configured to transmit a light source component start-up signal (S2) to the light source component (110) to start the light source component (110) ([92]).
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding Claim 4, Mizumoto teaches the optical transceiver module (10) of claim 3, wherein the light receiving-side circuit (104) further comprises: a light-receiving component (114) (FIG. 25, 373) electrically connected to the microcontroller (106) (FIG. 25, 36) and the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) (Id.).
Mizumoto does not teach wherein after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112), the microcontroller (106) is configured to transmit a light-receiving component start-up signal (S4) to the light-receiving component (114) after a second delay duration to start the light-receiving component (114) so that a second peak value (P2) of an inrush current at a second timing point (t2) is lower than the peak threshold value (PT).
Lutz teaches wherein after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112), the microcontroller (106) is configured to transmit a light-receiving component start-up signal (S4) to the light-receiving component (114) after a second delay duration to start the light-receiving component (114) ([92]) so that a second peak value (P2) of an inrush current at a second timing point (t2) is lower than the peak threshold value (PT). (Id.) (In Lutz, if the receivers’ startups are being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a second peak value that is lower than the peak threshold value.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding Claim 5, Mizumoto does not teach the optical transceiver module (10) of claim 4, wherein a total start-up duration (TS) required from a start-up of the light source driver (108) to a start-up completion of the light-receiving component (114) is two seconds; the first delay duration is three hundred milliseconds; the second delay duration is two hundred milliseconds.
Lutz teaches wherein a total start-up duration (TS) required from a start-up of the light source driver (108) to a start-up completion of the light-receiving component (114) is two seconds; the first delay duration is three hundred milliseconds; the second delay duration is two hundred milliseconds ([92]).
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding Claim 6, Mizumoto teaches the optical transceiver module (10) of claim 2, wherein the light source driver (108) (FIG. 4, 1121) is a laser diode driver ([0047]); the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) is a preamplifier [0148].
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding claim 7, Mizumoto teaches the optical transceiver module (10) of claim 3, wherein the light source component (110) is a laser diode ([0047]).
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding claim 8, Mizumoto teaches The optical transceiver module (10) of claim 4, wherein the light-receiving component (114) is a photodiode ([0146]).
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding claim 9, Mizumoto teaches an optical transceiver module start-up method comprising: transmitting a light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to a light transmitting-side circuit (102) to start the light transmitting-side circuit (102) by a microcontroller (106) (S402) (FIG. 24, 36);
Mizumoto does not teach and transmitting a light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to a light receiving-side circuit (104) after a first delay duration (S404) to start the light receiving-side circuit (104) by the microcontroller (106) (S406) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light transmitting-side circuit (102) so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT).
Lutz teaches and transmitting a light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to a light receiving-side circuit (104) after a first delay duration (S404) to start the light receiving-side circuit (104) by the microcontroller (106) (S406) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light transmitting-side circuit (102) ([92]) so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT). (Id.) (In Lutz, if the receivers’ startups are being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a first peak value that is lower than a peak threshold value.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Regarding claim 10, Mizumoto teaches An optical transceiver module start-up method comprising: transmitting a light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to a light source driver (108) to start the light source driver (108) by a microcontroller (106) (S502) (FIG. 24, 36); transmitting a light source component start-up signal (S2) to a light source component (110) to start the light source component (110) by the light source driver (108) (S504-1) after the light source driver (108) is started by the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) (FIG. 24, 36);
Mizumoto does not teach transmitting a light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to a light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) after a first delay duration (S504-2) to start the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) by the microcontroller (106) (S506) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light source driver (108) so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT); and transmitting a light-receiving component start-up signal (S4) to a light-receiving component (114) after a second delay duration (S508) to start the light-receiving component (114) by the microcontroller (106) (S510) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) so that a second peak value (P2) of an inrush current at a second timing point (t2) is lower than the peak threshold value (PT).
Lutz teaches transmitting a light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to a light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) after a first delay duration (S504-2) to start the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) by the microcontroller (106) (S506) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light transmitting-side start-up signal (S1) to the light source driver (108) so that a first peak value (P1) of an inrush current at a first timing point (t1) is lower than a peak threshold value (PT). (Id.) (In Lutz, if the receivers’ startups are being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a first peak value that is lower than a peak threshold value.); and transmitting a light-receiving component start-up signal (S4) to a light-receiving component (114) after a second delay duration (S508) to start the light-receiving component (114) by the microcontroller (106) (S510) after the microcontroller (106) transmits the light receiving-side start-up signal (S3) to the light receiving-side integrated circuit (112) ([92]) so that a second peak value (P2) of an inrush current at a second timing point (t2) is lower than the peak threshold value (PT). (Id.) (In Lutz, if the receivers’ startups are being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a second peak value that is lower than the peak threshold value.)
Before the filing date of the instant application, it would have obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to look to Lutz to determine that staggering the startup of individual transmitters and receivers by a delay in time would reduce the inrush current to components of the circuits. The suggestion/motivation would have been to modify the system taught in Mizumoto such that the risk of damaging inrush current during startup could be reduced.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 18, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. As explained in the rejections of the amended claims, what the amendments claim is already inherently taking place in the prior art. Specifically, applicant has amended the claims to include the limitation of an initial current inflow that is lower than the maximum possible current inflow for the transceiver circuit. Applicant already claimed, however, delaying the activation of the receiver, and this inevitably causes the initial current inflow to be lower. Likewise, for Lutz, if the receiver’s startup is being delayed for the purpose of reducing inrush current, it is inherent that Lutz would include a first peak value that is lower than a peak threshold value. Applicant’s amended limitations are therefore implicitly taught by Lutz — thus making the amended claims obvious in light of Mizumoto and Lutz.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Paul M. Brock/
Art Unit 2634
/KENNETH N VANDERPUYE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2634