DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an application filed on 01/23/2024, in which claims 1-20 are pending and ready for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-12, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kishiyama (US Pat. 8130812 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Kishiyama discloses a system, comprising: a processor; and
a memory that stores executable instructions that, when executed by the processor, facilitate performance of operations, comprising (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A base station/communication system, also see Fig. 13, including a processor and a memory with instructions is used to perform communication processes.):
as part of attaching with a user equipment, determining a first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration for communications with the user equipment (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A first sounding reference signal (SRS) for frequence hopping specification/configuration is determined for communicating with a user equipment (UE).), and
communicating the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A first SRS frequence hopping specification/configuration is sent to a UE, during repetition of frequency hopping patterns.);
after the attaching with the user equipment, receiving respective first sounding reference signal reports from the user equipment, wherein the respective first sounding reference signal reports are configured according to the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. After connecting with a UE, a first SRS feedback/report from a UE is received and determined in accordance with a first SRS frequency hopping specification/configuration, during repetition of frequency hopping patterns.);
in response to identifying that a power consumption of the user equipment satisfies a power limitation criterion, or that a user equipment channel condition satisfies a channel condition criterion (Kishiyama; Col. 3, Ln. 34-46. For determining that a power consumption of a UE requiring/satisfying a power limitation.),
modifying the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to a second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A first SRS frequency hopping specification/configuration is changed to a second SRS frequency hopping specification/configuration, during repetition of frequency hopping pattern.), and
communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A second SRS frequence hopping specification/configuration is sent to a UE, during repetition of frequency hopping patterns.); and
after communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment, receiving respective second sounding reference signal reports from the user equipment, wherein the respective second sounding reference signal reports are configured according to the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. After connecting with a UE, a second SRS feedback/report from a UE is received and determined in accordance with a second SRS frequency hopping specification/configuration, during repetition of frequency hopping patterns.).
Claim 8 is directed to a method, comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Regarding claim 9, Kishiyama discloses receiving, by the system from the user equipment, an indication that the user equipment supports sounding reference signal frequency hopping in uplink communications as part of attaching to the user equipment (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A specification/configuration of a UE using SRS FH is received from a UE in uplink communication, also see Col. 10, Ln. 60-64.).
Regarding claim 10, Kishiyama discloses a communication that indicates a group of features supported by the user equipment for the uplink communications comprises the indication (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. A specification/configuration indicates different parameters for a UE is provided in an uplink, also see Col. 10, Ln. 60-64.).
Regarding claim 11, Kishiyama discloses the indication comprises an information element (Kishiyama; Fig. 12, Col. 11, Ln 48 to Col. 12, Ln. 20. An indication/configuration includes information element.).
Regarding claim 12, Kishiyama discloses the system facilitates a cellular network that comprises a primary cell and a group of secondary cells, and wherein communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment comprises (Kishiyama; A base station provides a network including a main cell and neighboring cells, wherein a second SRS FH configuration is sent to a UE.):
sending, by the system to the user equipment, a first communication indicative of using the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration with the primary cell (Kishiyama; Col. 11, Ln. 38-54. A first communication for using a second SRS FH configuration is sent for a main cell.); and
sending, by the system to the user equipment, a second communication indicative of using the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration with the group of secondary cells (Kishiyama; Col. 11, Ln. 38-54. A second communication for using a second SRS FH configuration is sent for neighboring cells.).
Claim 15 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium comprising instructions that, in response to execution, cause a system comprising a processor to perform operations, comprising a sequence of processing steps corresponding to the same as claimed in claim 1, and is rejected for the same reason of anticipation as outlined above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishiyama (US Pat. 8130812 B2) in view of Wang (US Pub. 20230050730 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Kishiyama discloses communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.)
But it does not specifically disclose communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment is performed via a medium access control element message.
However, Wang teaches communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment is performed via a medium access control element message (Wang; Para. [0008]. A medium access control element message is used for communicating different SRS frequency hopping patterns/configurations to a UE.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different control messages are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to transmit different SRS resources for achieving optimal power consumption (Wang; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kishiyama further teaches communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment is performed via a downlink control information message (Wang; Para. [0008]. A downlink control information message is used for communicating different SRS frequency hopping patterns/configurations to a UE.).
Regarding claim 4, Kishiyama discloses the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of the user equipment, wherein the power consumption of the user equipment satisfies the power limitation criterion, and wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a sub-bandwidth of the user equipment based on the user equipment satisfying the power limitation criterion, and before modifying the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration
However, Wang teaches the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of the user equipment, wherein the power consumption of the user equipment satisfies the power limitation criterion, and wherein the operations further comprise (Wang; Para. [0148]. A first SRS frequency hopping (FH) pattern/configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of a UE in accordance with a UE power consumption satisfying a criterion.):
determining that the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a sub-bandwidth of the user equipment based on the user equipment satisfying the power limitation criterion, and before modifying the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Wang; Para. [0148]. A SRS FH pattern/configuration is determined to be correspond to a narrowband/sub-band of a UE in accordance with a UE power consumption satisfying a criterion before change a first SRS FH configuration to a second SRS FH configuration.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different control messages are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to transmit different SRS resources for achieving optimal power consumption (Wang; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 5, Kishiyama discloses the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim 1 above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of the user equipment, wherein the user equipment channel condition satisfies the channel condition criterion, and wherein the operations further comprise: determining that the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a sub-bandwidth of the user equipment based on the user equipment channel condition satisfying the power limitation criterion, and before modifying the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration.
However, Wang teaches the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of the user equipment, wherein the user equipment channel condition satisfies the channel condition criterion, and wherein the operations further comprise (Wang; Para. [0148]. A first SRS frequency hopping (FH) pattern/configuration corresponds to a full bandwidth of a UE in accordance with a UE channel condition satisfying a criterion, also see Para. [0145].):
determining that the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration corresponds to a sub-bandwidth of the user equipment based on the user equipment channel condition satisfying the power limitation criterion, and before modifying the first sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Wang; Para. [0148]. A SRS FH pattern/configuration is determined to be correspond to a narrowband/sub-band of a UE in accordance with a UE channel condition satisfying a criterion before change a first SRS FH configuration to a second SRS FH configuration, also see Para. [0145].).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different control messages are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to transmit different SRS resources for achieving optimal power consumption (Wang; Abstract.).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kishiyama teaches the channel condition criterion corresponds to a defined high mobility status of the user equipment (Wang; Para. [0165]. A channel condition includes a range of subbands corresponding to a high/higher mobility status of a UE.).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kishiyama further teaches the channel condition criterion corresponds to a physical location of the user equipment being located at a cell edge of a cellular network that is facilitated by the system (Wang; Para. [0110]. A channel condition criterion corresponds to a UE located at a cell edge.).
Regarding claim 19, modified Kishiyama further teaches the criterion corresponds to a power consumption of the user equipment (Wang; Para. [0145, 148]. A criterion corresponds to a power consumption of a UE, also see Para. [0165].).
Regarding claim 20, modified Kishiyama further teaches the criterion corresponds to a user equipment channel condition that corresponds to the user equipment (Wang; Para. [0145, 148]. A criterion corresponds to a channel condition of a UE, also see Para. [0165].).
Claims 13-14 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kishiyama (US Pat. 8130812 B2) in view of Jacobsson (US Pub. 20250293749 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Kishyama discloses the system facilitates a cellular network that comprises a primary cell and a group of secondary cells, and wherein communicating the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration to the user equipment (Kishiyama; A base station provides a network including a main cell and neighboring cells, wherein a second SRS FH configuration is sent to a UE.).
But it does not specifically disclose communicating separate c-srs, b-srs, and b-hop values for the primary cell and for at least one respective secondary cell for the group of secondary cells.
However, Jacobsson teaches communicating separate c-srs, b-srs, and b-hop values for the primary cell and for at least one respective secondary cell for the group of secondary cells (Jacobsson; Para. [0036]. Separate c-SRS, b-SRS, and b-hop parameters are communicated for respective cells.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different frequency hopping parameters are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to perform precoder candidate restriction for multi-antenna UEs (Jacobsson; Para. [0002].).
Regarding claim 14, modifed Kishiyama discloses the at least one respective secondary cell is a first secondary cell, and wherein an omitted c-srs, b-srs, or b-hop value of a second secondary cell of the group of secondary cells indicates maintaining a current c-srs, b-srs, or b-hop value (Jacobsson; Para. [0036]. Separate current c-SRS, b-SRS, and b-hop parameters are not changed/ maintained for respective cells for no update/change being received.).
Regarding claim 16, Kishiyama discloses the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a c-srs value.
However, Jacobsson teaches the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a c-srs value (Jacobsson; Para. [0036]. A SRS FH pattern/configuration includes a c-SRS, b-SRS, and b-hop parameters.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different frequency hopping parameters are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to perform precoder candidate restriction for multi-antenna UEs (Jacobsson; Para. [0002].).
Regarding claim 17, Kishiyama discloses the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a b-srs value.
However, Jacobsson teaches the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a b-srs value (Jacobsson; Para. [0036]. A SRS FH pattern/configuration includes a c-SRS, b-SRS, and b-hop parameters.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different frequency hopping parameters are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to perform precoder candidate restriction for multi-antenna UEs (Jacobsson; Para. [0002].).
Regarding claim 18, Kishiyama discloses the second sounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration (Kishiyama; See remarks regarding claim above.).
But it does not specifically disclose the secondsounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a b-hop value.
However, Jacobsson teaches the secondsounding reference signal frequency hopping configuration comprises a b-hop value (Jacobsson; Para. [0036]. A SRS FH pattern/configuration includes a c-SRS, b-SRS, and b-hop parameters.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person with ordinary skill in the pertinent before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RAN communication system of Kishiyama to adapt a frequency hopping approach, by incorporating Wang’s teaching wherein different frequency hopping parameters are used for SRS frequency hopping, for the motivation to perform precoder candidate restriction for multi-antenna UEs (Jacobsson; Para. [0002].).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rico Alvarino (US Pub. 20210250943 A1) teaches a communication system that performs support of multiple SRS in the same subframe.
Kumar (US Pub. 20250240130 A1) teaches a communication system that allows dynamic selection of sounding reference signal frequence hopping configurations.
/ALBERT KIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485