DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 5, 12-20 and 30 are cancelled. Claims 1-4, 6-11, 21-29 and 31 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-11, 21-29 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lei (US 2020/0019743).1 Regarding claim 1, Lei teaches a barcode reader, comprising: an imager configured to capture one or more images of a scene according to a field- of-view (paragraph 0046: camera 114 serves as an imager, see also paragraph 0134, step 702); and a processor operably coupled to the imager (paragraph 0145: processor 825), the processor configured to: operate the barcode reader in one of a pick mode or a non-pick mode; perform an initial evaluation of a single captured image for identifying a number of barcodes in the single captured image prior to performing any decoding analysis (paragraph 0134: step 704); automatically, without user input, enter the pick mode including enabling operations of the pick mode responsive to detecting multiple barcodes in the single captured image within the field-of-view of the imager during the initial evaluation (paragraph 0134: step 706); and automatically, without user input, enter the non-pick mode including disabling the operations of the pick mode responsive to detecting a single barcode in the single captured image within the field-of-view of the imager during the initial evaluation (paragraph 0135), wherein the operations of the pick mode include the processor analyzing a lesser portion of the single captured image or other images captured during the pick mode for a decoding analysis of a selected barcode within the respective image (paragraph 0137: step 708), and the operations of the non-pick mode include the processor analyzing the single captured image or other images captured during the non-pick mode for a decoding analysis the single barcode present within the respective image (paragraph 0137: step 710). Regarding claim 2, Lei teaches the processor remains in the non-pick mode after decoding the single barcode when no barcodes are detected to be present in a subsequent captured image (paragraph 0138: step 712). Regarding claim 3, Lei teaches the processor automatically enters, without user input, the non-pick mode after decoding the selected barcode while in the pick mode when no new barcodes are detected to be present in a subsequent captured image (paragraph 0139: step 714). Regarding claim 4, Lei teaches a housing configured in one of a handheld configuration or a presentation configuration (paragraph 0144). Regarding claim 7, Lei teaches the multiple barcodes in the single captured image are of a same barcode type (paragraph 0068). Regarding claim 8, Lei teaches the multiple barcodes in the single captured image are of a different barcode type (paragraph 0068). Regarding claim 9, Lei teaches one barcode type is a 1D barcode, and another barcode type is a 2D barcode (paragraph 0053). Regarding claim 10, Lei teaches one barcode type is a first type of 1D barcode (paragraph 0053), and another barcode type is a second type of 1D barcode detected by the processor from the image (paragraph 0053). Regarding claim 11, Lei teaches one barcode type is a first type of 2D barcode (paragraph 0053), and another barcode type is a second type of 2D barcode detected by the processor from the image (paragraph 0053). Regarding claim 21, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to operate the barcode reader in the non-pick mode responsive to detecting no barcodes within the single captured image of the field-of-view (paragraph 0138). Regarding claim 22, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to operate the barcode reader in an automatic pick mode selection process including the pick mode and the non-pick mode (paragraph 0138). Regarding claim 23, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to cause the barcode reader to initially enter the automatic pick mode selection process responsive to selection of a user input (paragraph 0134). Regarding claim 24, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to cause the barcode reader to initially enter the automatic pick mode selection process during power up by default (paragraph 0134). Regarding claim 25, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to automatically transition from the non-pick mode to the pick mode responsive to detecting multiple barcodes from another single image captured in real time while operating in the non-pick mode (paragraph 0134). Regarding claim 26, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to automatically transition from the pick mode to the non-pick mode responsive to an exit mode event (paragraph 0141). Regarding claim 27, Lei teaches the exit mode event includes at least one of detecting an item with the multiple barcodes exiting the field-of-view of the bar code reader, detecting only one barcode within the field-of-view, or decoding a selected barcode while within the pick mode (paragraph 0141). Regarding claim 28, Lei teaches the processor is further configured to automatically transition from the pick mode to the non-pick mode responsive to detecting a single barcode from another single image captured in real time while operating in the pick mode (paragraph 0141). Regarding claim 29, Lei teaches the pick mode defines a hierarchy of barcodes to be decoded when multiple barcodes are present within the field-of- view at the same time (paragraph 0134). Regarding claim 31, Lei teaches the elected barcode is based on detecting an aimer in proximity to a-the selected barcode to be decoded while ignoring other barcodes during the decoding analysis (paragraph 0134).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei in view of Nahill (US 2014/0061305, previously cited).2 Regarding claim 6, Lei teaches the barcode reader of claim 1, as discussed above. Lei does not explicitly teach the barcode reader is a mobile computer. Nahill teaches the barcode reader is a mobile computer (paragraph 0185). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Lei and Nahill, because a barcode reader on a mobile computer increases the convenience of the user.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-4, 6-11, 21-29 and 31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. New reference Lei has been used to teach the newly amended limitations. See above.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
2 In addition to the cited paragraphs, please see also the associated figures.
3 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.