DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments, filed 4/15/2026, have been entered and made of record. Claims 1-6, and 10-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments in the Remarks filed on 4/15/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Jones in view of Snyder
Claims 1, 2, 10, 11, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al.(USPubN 2011/0205441; hereinafter Jones) in view of Snyder et al.(USPN 7,024,677; hereinafter Snyder).
As per claim 1, Jones teaches a video processing device, outputting a composite video, wherein the composite video is a video in which a plurality of media data are disposed, the media data is formed by an image and/or a video, the video processing device comprises(“A video production apparatus advantageously includes at least one embedded multi-previewer (14) that receives at least some of a plurality video signals generated by one or more elements in the switcher, such as a mix-effects engine (10). The multi-previewer generates an output signal which when displayed yields of mosaic of images, each representative of a respective input signal. In this way, an operator can observe, via a single video monitor, the status of multiple video signals, thus obviating the need for multiple device outputs, multiple monitors, and associated cabling” in Abs):
a first output device, outputting the composite video; a second output device, outputting another composite video different from the composite video output by the first output device; at least one processor; and at least one display device, having a first display region and a second display region different from the first display region, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: perform display for setting the composite video output by the first output device in the first display region, and perform display for setting the composite video output by the second output device in the second display region(“(a) four images Program A-Program D, each representative of a corresponding one of the four signals PGM A-PGM D, respectively, appearing on bus 13.sub.5” in Para.[0019], “(b) four images Preview A-Preview D, each representative of a corresponding one of the four signals PVW A-PVW D, respectively, appearing on bus 13.sub.6;” in Para.[0020], “(c) six images Key 1-Key 6, each corresponding to a separate one of the key signals Key 1-Key 6, on bus 13.sub.1” in Para.[0021], “the apparatus 10 takes the form of a mix-effect engine for processing video signals.” in Para.[0010]).
Jones is silent about display a first setting screen for setting the composite video to be output by the first output device in the first display region of the at least one display device and a second setting screen for setting the another composite video to be output by the second output device in the second display region of the at least one display device at the same time; set the composite video to be output by the first output device in accordance with an operation performed on the first setting screen; and set the another composite video to be output by the second output device in accordance with another operation performed on the second setting screen.
Snyder teaches display a first setting screen for setting the composite video to be output by the first output device in the first display region of the at least one display device and a second setting screen for setting the another composite video to be output by the second output device in the second display region of the at least one display device at the same time; set the composite video to be output by the first output device in accordance with an operation performed on the first setting screen; and set the another composite video to be output by the second output device in accordance with another operation performed on the second setting screen(“A video director 135 uses processing unit 102 to produce a show. In an embodiment, processing unit 102 displays graphical user interfaces (GUIs) 132 and 133 on display devices 114 and 115, respectively. In another embodiment, processing unit displays GUIs 132 and 133 together on a single display device. GUIs 132 and 133 display graphical controls corresponding to the video production devices 104 130. In one embodiment of the present invention, video director 135 uses a keyboard 118 and a mouse 116 to interact with the processing unit 102 by manipulating the graphical controls of GUI 132, 133. In another embodiment, the video production system of the present invention is configurable to receive verbal commands to execute various tasks during video production. … a first embodiment of GUI 132 and a first embodiment of GUI 133, respectively. GUI 132 includes video switcher graphical controls 202 for controlling video switcher 104 and DVE 106; audio mixer graphical controls 204 for controlling audio mixer 110; RPD graphical controls 206 for controlling up to twelve RPDs; camera graphical controls 205 for controlling one or more cameras that are in communication with processing unit 102; and DVE controls 203 for controlling DVE 106. GUI 133 includes teleprompting system graphical controls 208 for controlling teleprompting system 108 and character generator (CG) graphical controls 210 for controlling one or more character generators, such as CG 130” in Col. 9 lines 65-67 and Col. 10 lines 1-35, “Program row 310 of video switcher controls 202 corresponds to a program output 154 of DVE 106, preview row 311 corresponds to a preview output 155 of DVE 106, first auxiliary row 312 corresponds to a first auxiliary bus of DVE 106, and second auxiliary row 313 corresponds to a second auxiliary bus of DVE 106. Video director 135 is able to select which video signals 140 145 will appear on program output 154 and preview output 155 of DVE 106 by selecting a video source icon 303 from program row 310 and by selecting a video source icon 303 from preview row 311. For example, if video source icon 314 corresponds to video input port 161, and video director 135 selects video source icon 314, then video input port 161 is coupled to one of the video switcher outputs 151 154. Further, because video source icon 314 is in program row 310, video input port 161 is coupled to program output 154 of DVE 106. Consequently, video output signal 141, which is connected to video input port 161, appears on DVE program output 154. Similarly, if video source icon 316 corresponds to video input port 162, and video director 135 selects video source icon 316, then video input port 162 is coupled to one of the video switcher outputs 151 154. Further, because video source icon 316 is in preview row 311, video input port 162 is coupled to preview output 155 of DVE 106. Consequently, video output signal 142, which is connected to video input port 162, appears on DVE preview output 154. In this manner, video director 135 interacts with processing unit 102 to manually control the operation of video switcher 104 and DVE 106.” in Col. 11 lines 11-40, “A preview feature is provided with the semi-automatic feature described above. The preview feature allows video director 135 to preview a video signal before it is transitioned to program output 154. In one embodiment, when timer 1002 is stopped at a step mark, processing unit 102 looks for the first video transition hot-key 902 that is placed after the step mark. Processing unit 102 then sends a command to video switcher 104 and DVE 106 such that the video source that is configured to be coupled to program output 154 when the video transition hot-key is activated is coupled to DVE preview output 155. For example, referring to FIG. 19, video transition hot-key 902(2) is configured such that video output 141 from camera 122 will be coupled to program output 154 when video transition hot-key 902(2) is activated. Furthermore, video transition hot-key 902(2) is the first video transition hot-key that is placed after step mark 1018(1). Therefore, when timer 1002 is stopped at step mark 1018(1), processing unit sends a command to video switcher 104 and DVE 106 to couple video output 141 from camera 122 to preview output 155. Typically, preview output 154 is connected to a preview monitor. This allows video director 135 to see exactly what the next camera shot looks like before the next camera shot is coupled to program output 154. This feature is important when executing a live show, such as a nightly news broadcast” in Col. 33 lines 54-67 and Col. 34 lines 1-11, Fig. 1, 2A, 2B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Jones with the above teachings of Snyder in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 2, Jones and Snyder teach all of limitation of claim 1.
Jones teaches wherein a plurality of scene information for constructing the composite video and the another composite video from the media data are provided, the composite video and the another composite video are created based on the media data and the scene information, and wherein the at least one processor is configured to: select first scene information for creating the composite video to be output by the first output device in accordance with the operation input from a first input device, and select second scene information for creating the another composite video to be output by the second output device in accordance with the another operation input from a second input device(“(a) four images Program A-Program D, each representative of a corresponding one of the four signals PGM A-PGM D, respectively, appearing on bus 13.sub.5” in Para.[0015], “FIG. 3 depicts a block schematic diagram of an apparatus 100 in accordance with a second preferred embodiment of the present principles that combines multiple video input signals into a single output signal, which when displayed, appears as a mosaic of images, each corresponding to a separate one of the input signals. In the embodiment of FIG. 3, the apparatus 100 comprises a video switcher but could also be a video router or other production equipment which includes cross-point matrix 11 that feeds the input signals of the multi-Previewer 17 directly as the primary purpose of the signal. The output of the multi-Previewer could re-enter into the cross-point matrix 11 for further routing and/or go directly to an external monitor. This differs from the embodiment of FIG. 1 in that the multi-Previewer input signals can be any signal internal to the apparatus 100 and do not have to be associated with mix effect engine 10 inputs or outputs” in Para.[0023]).
As per claim 10, Jones teaches a non-transitory computer-readable recording medium, storing a video processing program that causes a computer to execute a process for outputting a composite video(“Embedding the multi-previewer 17 within the mix-effects engine 10 allows the setup and configuration of the multi-previewer to be incorporated into the effects memory function for learn and/or recall purposes.” in Para.[0022]) and the limitations in the claim 10 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 11, the limitations in the claim 11 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 16, the limitations in the claim 16 has been discussed in the rejection claim 1 and rejected under the same rationale.
As per claim 17, the limitations in the claim 17 has been discussed in the rejection claim 2 and rejected under the same rationale.
Jones in view of Snyder and McNeil
Claims 7 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jones et al.(USPubN 2011/0205441; hereinafter Jones) in view of in view of Snyder et al.(USPN 7,024,677; hereinafter Snyder) further in view of McNeill et al.(USPN 9,390,752;hereinafter McNeil).
As per claim 7, Jones and Snyder teach all of limitation of claim 2.
Jones and Snyder are silent about wherein the first input device or the second input device is formed by a touch panel disposed on the first display region or the second display region.
McNeil teaches wherein the first input device or the second input device is formed by a touch panel disposed on the first display region or the second display region(“One or more input devices may be connected to the computer system. Example input devices include, but are not limited to, a keyboard, keypad, track ball, mouse, pen and tablet, touchscreen, camera, communication device, and data input devices” in Col. 14 lines 27-42).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings Jones and Snyder with the above teachings of McNeil in order to improve user experience.
As per claim 15, the limitations in the claim 15 has been discussed in the rejection claim 7 and rejected under the same rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6, 8, 9, 12-14 and 18-20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SUNGHYOUN PARK/Examiner, Art Unit 2484