Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This communication is in response to application No. 18/420,701 filed on 01/23/2024. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/02/2025 and 08/06/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “510, 520, 526, 530” has been used to designate both Fig. 5A and 5B. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Examiner also objects to the reference character numbering – reference numbers must have a lead line or be underlined to make it clear that a lead line has not been left out by mistake.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method of controlling a charging station (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites:
A method, comprising:
- determining, via a server, an energy transfer rate at a charging point; and
- providing content, via the server, to a vehicle at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular
technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method, comprising:
- determining, via a server, an energy transfer rate at a charging point; and
- providing content, via the server, to a vehicle at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “providing content...,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (vehicle controller) to perform the process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are
sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a vehicle controller to perform the evaluating... amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “providing content…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “providing content,” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because it is being performed on smartphones, tablets, and computers as part of everyday life. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they are also mental processes. Therefore, dependent claims 2-7 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong discloses A method, comprising: determining, via a server, an energy transfer rate at a charging point; (see at least [0006, 0010], 0032]; "The controller is configured to determine an available charge time for the battery pack based on the first data and to determine an upper limit of a charge current for the battery pack based on the determined available charge time. T, Fig. 2 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary process for determining a charge current, according to an aspect of the disclosure;..For example, the process 52 may be implemented by battery pack controller 34, or alternatively, in some embodiments, by vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 or charge station controller 42”)
and providing content, via the server, to a vehicle at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold. (see at least [0005]; " the present disclosure is directed to a vehicle charging method including receiving first data corresponding to a user selection of rich content to be delivered to an at least partially electrically powered vehicle. The method also includes determining an available charge time for at least one battery of the vehicle based on the first data. The method further includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current below the upper limit.")
Regarding claim 8, Hong discloses A system, comprising: a server comprising at least one processor; (see at least [0019]; " For example, in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller.")
and a memory, wherein the processor and the memory are communicably coupled, (see at least [0051]; "The computer- implemented methods may be executed, for example, by at least one processor that executes instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Similarly, systems consistent with the present disclosure may include at least one processor and memory (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).")
wherein the processor: determines, via the server, an energy transfer rate at a charging point; (see at least [0007, 0010, 0015]; " the present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions executable by at least one processor to facilitate vehicle charging according to a method. The method includes receiving first data corresponding to a user selection of rich content to be delivered to an at least partially electrically powered vehicle and determining an available charge time for at least one battery of the vehicle based on the first data. The method also includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current under the upper limit…Fig. 2 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary process for determining a charge current, according to an aspect of the disclosure;…Fast charge station 14 may be further in communication with local or remote servers through a network connection 18 to gain access to cloud data …")
and provides content, via the server, to a vehicle at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold. (see at least [0015, 0029, 0037]; "Fast charge station 14 may be further in communication with local or remote servers through a network connection 18 to gain access to cloud data … For example, network connection 18 may be a virtual private network connection enabling access to the user's personal data (e.g., purchased movies, television shows, etc.) stored by a third party organization on behalf of the user. For further example, network connection 18 may provide access to third party user accounts, such as Netflix. [0030] Cloud data 20 may be any type of data that may be delivered to the user in vehicle 12… Further, the user selection of the rich content may be delivered to vehicle 12 while the charging power is being delivered, while the charge current below the upper limit of the charge current is delivered to battery pack 32 (step 62).")
Regarding claim 15, Hong discloses A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform: (see at least [0007]; " the present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions executable by at least one processor to facilitate vehicle charging according to a method. The method includes receiving first data corresponding to a user selection of rich content to be delivered to an at least partially electrically powered vehicle and determining an available charge time for at least one battery of the vehicle based on the first data. The method also includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current under the upper limit.")
determining, via a server, an energy transfer rate at a charging point; (see at least [0007, 0010, 0015]; " the present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions executable by at least one processor to facilitate vehicle charging according to a method. The method includes receiving first data corresponding to a user selection of rich content to be delivered to an at least partially electrically powered vehicle and determining an available charge time for at least one battery of the vehicle based on the first data. The method also includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current under the upper limit…Fig. 2 is a flowchart illustrating an exemplary process for determining a charge current, according to an aspect of the disclosure;…Fast charge station 14 may be further in communication with local or remote servers through a network connection 18 to gain access to cloud data …")
and providing content, via the server, to a vehicle at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold. (see at least [0015, 0029, 0037]; "Fast charge station 14 may be further in communication with local or remote servers through a network connection 18 to gain access to cloud data … For example, network connection 18 may be a virtual private network connection enabling access to the user's personal data (e.g., purchased movies, television shows, etc.) stored by a third party organization on behalf of the user. For further example, network connection 18 may provide access to third party user accounts, such as Netflix. [0030] Cloud data 20 may be any type of data that may be delivered to the user in vehicle 12… Further, the user selection of the rich content may be delivered to vehicle 12 while the charging power is being delivered, while the charge current below the upper limit of the charge current is delivered to battery pack 32 (step 62).")
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1) in view of Nilges (US 20230099839 A1), in further view of Chen (US 20180370379 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hong does not disclose comprising receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point.
However, Nilges teaches comprising receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0011]; " The present present disclosure is based on the knowledge that the charging-relevant information is collected decentrally, i.e., without using a central server device, and made available wirelessly at least to vehicles with a charging request.")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 2, comprising determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 2, comprising determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0040]; "For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 5, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 6, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, comprising assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and determining the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 1, comprising assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [11]; "techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and determining the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
Regarding claim 7, Hong teaches and assigning the content to the vehicle based on the selection of the energy transfer rate below the threshold. (see at least [0005]; "The method further includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current below the upper limit.")
Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, comprising transmitting a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Nilges teaches The method of claim 1, comprising transmitting a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; (see at least [0014], "According to the present disclosure, the charging-relevant data are collected or determined within the charging park and sent in a charging park-specific and position-related manner, i.e., sent to vehicles in the vicinity of the charging park, for which this charging park is potentially suitable for charging due to the distance.")
Nilges does not disclose receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Chen teaches receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; (see at least [0055]; "if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, ")
receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold; (see at least [0055]; " if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges and Chen which teaches receiving a confirmation for either a lower or higher transfer rate and assigning content to the lower transfer rate in order to incentivize the user to select the lower transfer rate because it is better for the charging point and power grid for less power to be drawn to each vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Hong does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to receive a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point.
However, Nilges teaches wherein the processor is further configured to receive a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0037, 0038];" In the event that the vehicle 16d is user-controlled, the charging-relevant data can be displayed on a display device of the vehicle 16d, so that a user can plan a charging stay, wherein said user in this context can, for example, reserve a charging station from a certain point in time for a specific time period. Such reservations can be transmitted from the vehicle 16d, whether in autonomous or user-controlled operation, via the communication device 26d to the charging stations 12a, 12f of the respective charging park equipped with communication devices and/or to the vehicles 26a to 26c equipped with communication devices and also transmitted within the framework of the charging-relevant data. ")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters
Regarding claim 10, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forward the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0022, 0040]; " in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 12, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the content being provided comprises a content access option being offered to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the content being provided comprises a content access option being offered to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 13, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to assign a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determine whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and determine the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to assign a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [22, 11]; "in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and determining the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
. Regarding claim 14, Hong teaches and assigning the content to the vehicle based on the selection of the energy transfer rate below the threshold. (see at least [0005]; "The method further includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current below the upper limit.")
However, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Nilges teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; (see at least [0014], "According to the present disclosure, the charging-relevant data are collected or determined within the charging park and sent in a charging park-specific and position-related manner, i.e., sent to vehicles in the vicinity of the charging park, for which this charging park is potentially suitable for charging due to the distance.")
Nilges does not disclose receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Chen teaches receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; (see at least [0055]; "if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, ")
receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold; (see at least [0055]; " if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges and Chen which teaches receiving a confirmation for either a lower or higher transfer rate and assigning content to the lower transfer rate in order to incentivize the user to select the lower transfer rate because it is better for the charging point and power grid for less power to be drawn to each vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point..
However, Nilges teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0037, 0038] ;" In the event that the vehicle 16d is user-controlled, the charging-relevant data can be displayed on a display device of the vehicle 16d, so that a user can plan a charging stay, wherein said user in this context can, for example, reserve a charging station from a certain point in time for a specific time period. Such reservations can be transmitted from the vehicle 16d, whether in autonomous or user-controlled operation, via the communication device 26d to the charging stations 12a, 12f of the respective charging park equipped with communication devices and/or to the vehicles 26a to 26c equipped with communication devices and also transmitted within the framework of the charging-relevant data. ")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters.
Regarding claim 17, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0022, 0040]; " in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 19, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 20, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and determining the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [22, 11]; "in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and determining the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1) in view of Nilges (US 20230099839 A1) and Chen (US 20180370379 A1), in further view of Hu (US 20230384105 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, comprising identifying one or more occupants in the vehicle; and selecting the content based on the one or more identified occupants.
However, Hu teaches The method of claim 1, comprising identifying one or more occupants in the vehicle; (see at least [0029]; "This information and other information identifying the user device or an account associated with the user device may be communicated by the recommendation module to the server 142 or and/or the entertainment module")
and selecting the content based on the one or more identified occupants. (see at least [0029]; " In some embodiments, the recommendation module 169 of the user device 155 may receive data form the battery management system 162 of the vehicle 101 regarding the charge status of the battery 111 and determine to make a recommendation to the user via the user interface 174 for charging the vehicle battery 111 at a charging station while continuing to consume the content currently being consumed via user device 155 using the vehicle entertainment module 130 and user interface 165 (e.g., display 164) while the vehicle 101 is being charged. The user device 155 may further include a processor 172 and an operating system 168.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Hu which teaches identifying occupants of the vehicle and selecting content based on the occupants in order to cater to the user and therefore encourage them to return to the charging point.
Regarding claim 11, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to identify one or more occupants in the vehicle; and select the content based on the one or more identified occupants.
However, Hu teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to identify one or more occupants in the vehicle; and select the content based on the one or more identified occupants. (see at least [0029]; "This information and other information identifying the user device or an account associated with the user device may be communicated by the recommendation module to the server 142 or and/or the entertainment module")
and selecting the content based on the one or more identified occupants. (see at least [0029]; " In some embodiments, the recommendation module 169 of the user device 155 may receive data form the battery management system 162 of the vehicle 101 regarding the charge status of the battery 111 and determine to make a recommendation to the user via the user interface 174 for charging the vehicle battery 111 at a charging station while continuing to consume the content currently being consumed via user device 155 using the vehicle entertainment module 130 and user interface 165 (e.g., display 164) while the vehicle 101 is being charged. The user device 155 may further include a processor 172 and an operating system 168.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Hu which teaches identifying occupants of the vehicle and selecting content based on the occupants in order to cater to the user and therefore encourage them to return to the charging point.
Regarding claim 18, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: identifying one or more occupants in the vehicle; and selecting the content based on the one or more identified occupants.
However, Hu teaches disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: identifying one or more occupants in the vehicle; (see at least [0029]; "This information and other information identifying the user device or an account associated with the user device may be communicated by the recommendation module to the server 142 or and/or the entertainment module")
and selecting the content based on the one or more identified occupants. (see at least [0029]; " In some embodiments, the recommendation module 169 of the user device 155 may receive data form the battery management system 162 of the vehicle 101 regarding the charge status of the battery 111 and determine to make a recommendation to the user via the user interface 174 for charging the vehicle battery 111 at a charging station while continuing to consume the content currently being consumed via user device 155 using the vehicle entertainment module 130 and user interface 165 (e.g., display 164) while the vehicle 101 is being charged. The user device 155 may further include a processor 172 and an operating system 168.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Hu which teaches identifying occupants of the vehicle and selecting content based on the occupants in order to cater to the user and therefore encourage them to return to the charging point.
Conclusion
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664