Detailed Action
Status of Claims
This FINAL communication is in response to application No. 18/420,701 filed on February 19, 2026. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been examined. Claims 1-20 have been rejected as follows.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted are being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the Abstract and Drawings,
as set forth in the office action of 19 February 2026 have been considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the Claim Objections as set forth in the office action of 19 November 2025 have been withdrawn.
Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims
under 35 USC 101 and 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 25 August 2023 have been considered and:
With regard to the rejection under 35 USC 101, the determine/identify/select steps can indeed be performed in the head. Furthermore, the additional limitations of “establish…” is not a mental process but is considered to be a generic communication implementation, which is insignificant as data transmission is considered insignificant. The network connection is nothing more than a preceding step to transmitting data for content viewing. Additionally, the act of displaying is considered insignificant as well. Applicant's amendment and/or arguments with respect to the 35 USC 101, as set forth in the office action of 19 February 2026 have been considered and are NOT persuasive.
The applicant further states that the rejection under 35 USC 103 is traversed due to Hong not describing a charging point that includes an energy transfer rate. However, Hong states in paragraph 37, “Once the upper limit for the charge current has been determined, battery pack controller 34 may transmit the determined upper limit charge current to fast charge station 14 (step 60). Fast charge station 14 may then provide a charge current to vehicle 12 below the determined upper limit of the charge current.”. Hong describes determining a charge rate for the vehicle based on the limit for the battery pack that is being charged.
Applicant’s amendments and/or arguments with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 103 as set forth in the office action of 19 February 2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground(s) of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
101 Analysis – Step 1
Claim 1 is directed to a method of controlling a charging station (i.e., a process). Therefore, claim 1 is within at least one of the four statutory categories.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong I
Regarding Prong I of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether they recite subject matter that falls within one of the follow groups of abstract ideas: a) mathematical concepts, b) certain methods of organizing human activity, and/or c) mental processes.
Independent claim 1 includes limitations that recite an abstract idea (emphasized below) and will be used as a representative claim for the remainder of the 101 rejection.
Claim 1 recites:
A method, comprising: determining an energy transfer rate at a charging point;
identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point;
establishing a network connection between the charging point and a display device of the vehicle waiting in line:
determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charging point;
selecting content based on the estimated charge time;and
providing the selected content to a display device of the vehicle waiting in line at the charging point over the network connection.
The examiner submits that the foregoing bolded limitation(s) constitute a “mental process” because under its broadest reasonable interpretation, the claim covers performance of the limitation in the human mind. For example, “determining...” in the context of this claim encompasses a person looking at data collected and forming a simple judgement. Accordingly, the claim recites at least one abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2A, Prong II
Regarding Prong II of the Step 2A analysis in the 2019 PEG, the claims are to be analyzed to determine whether the claim, as a whole, integrates the abstract into a practical application. As noted in the 2019 PEG, it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular
technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.”
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted abstract idea are as follows (where the underlined portions are the “additional limitations” while the bolded portions continue to represent the “abstract idea”):
A method, comprising: determining an energy transfer rate at a charging point;
identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point;
establishing a network connection between the charging point and a display device of the vehicle waiting in line:
determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charging point;
selecting content based on the estimated charge time;and
providing the selected content to a display device of the vehicle waiting in line at the charging point over the network connection.
For the following reason(s), the examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of “providing content...,” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities that merely use a computer (vehicle controller) to perform the process.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Further, looking at the additional limitation(s) as an ordered combination or as a whole, the limitation(s) add nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole is not more than a drafting effort designed to monopolize the exception (MPEP § 2106.05). Accordingly, the additional limitation(s) do/does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
101 Analysis – Step 2B
Regarding Step 2B of the 2019 PEG, representative independent claim 1 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are
sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a vehicle controller to perform the evaluating... amounts to nothing more than applying the exception using a generic computer component. Generally applying an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. And as discussed above, the additional limitations of “providing content…” the examiner submits that these limitations are insignificant extra-solution activities.
Further, a conclusion that an additional element is insignificant extra-solution activity in Step 2A should be re-evaluated in Step 2B to determine if they are more than what is well-understood, routine, conventional activity in the field. The additional limitations of “providing content,” are well-understood, routine, and conventional activities because it is being performed on smartphones, tablets, and computers as part of everyday life. MPEP 2106.05(d)(II), and the cases cited therein, including Intellectual Ventures I, LLC v. Symantec Corp., 838 F.3d 1307, 1321 (Fed. Cir. 2016), TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC, 823 F.3d 607, 610 (Fed. Cir. 2016), and OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc., 788 F.3d 1359, 1363 (Fed. Cir. 2015), indicate that mere collection or receipt of data over a network is a well‐understood, routine, and conventional function when it is claimed in a merely generic manner.
Dependent claim(s) 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 do not recite any further limitations that cause the claim(s) to be patent eligible. Rather, the limitations of dependent claims are directed toward additional aspects of the judicial exception and/or well-understood, routine and conventional additional elements that do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application because they are also mental processes. Therefore, dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, 16-20 are not patent eligible under the same rationale as provided for in the rejection of claim 1.
Therefore, claim(s) 1-20 is/are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1) in view of Welter (DE 102022115122 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches establishing a network connection between the charging point and a display device of the vehicle waiting in line: (see at least [31, 33]; " In some embodiments, vehicle 12 may also be configured to receive cloud data 20 through a wireless connection 21…For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.") Hong describes a network connection as a wireless connection between the charging point and a display device of a vehicle waiting for the charge point.
determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charging point; (see at least [0034]; "Once a connection has been identified, battery pack controller 34 may determine an available charge time for battery pack 32 based on a user selection (step 56).") Hong outlines determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charge location.
selecting content based on the estimated charge time;and (see at least [0034]; "Battery pack controller 34 may then determine a length of time associated with the rich content delivery and set the available charge time to the length of the rich content selection.") Hong describes selecting content being selected based on the estimated charge time.
providing the selected content to a display device of the vehicle waiting in line at the charging point over the network connection. (see at least [0038]; "Consistent with some embodiments, the rich content may be delivered to vehicle 12 through powerline 38 simultaneously with the delivery of the charging power, as will be discussed in more detail in connection with Fig. 3. In some embodiments, the user selected rich content may be transferred to vehicle 12 via a wireless connection, e.g., wireless connection 21.") Hong describes providing the selected content to a display device of a vehicle waiting in line at the charge point over a wireless network connection.
Hong does not explicitly disclose identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point;
However, Welter teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point; (see at least [0010]; "a method for determining the number of electric vehicles waiting for a free charging point at a charging infrastructure with at least one charging point, wherein the charging infrastructure is located within a geofence-bounded area,") Welter describes a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at a charge point with a geofence to identify when the vehicle has entered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Welter which teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive a charge point based on the vehicle entering a geofence in order to be able to determine which vehicle should have access to the network.
Regarding claim 8, Hong teaches A system, comprising: a memory, and a communicatively coupled to the memory, wherein the processor is configured to: (see at least [0051]; "The computer- implemented methods may be executed, for example, by at least one processor that executes instructions stored in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium. Similarly, systems consistent with the present disclosure may include at least one processor and memory (e.g., a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium).") Hong teaches a memory and processor communicatively coupled.
determine an energy transfer rate at a charging point; (see at least [0037]; "Once the upper limit for the charge current has been determined, battery pack controller 34 may transmit the determined upper limit charge current to fast charge station 14 (step 60). Fast charge station 14 may then provide a charge current to vehicle 12 below the determined upper limit of the charge current.") Hong describes an energy transfer rate being determined as the upper limit of the charge current.
establishing a network connection between the charging point and a display device of the vehicle waiting in line: (see at least [31, 33]; " In some embodiments, vehicle 12 may also be configured to receive cloud data 20 through a wireless connection 21…For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.") Hong describes a network connection as a wireless connection between the charging point and a display device of a vehicle waiting for the charge point.
determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charging point; (see at least [0034]; "Once a connection has been identified, battery pack controller 34 may determine an available charge time for battery pack 32 based on a user selection (step 56).") Hong outlines determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charge location.
select content based on the estimated charge time;and (see at least [0034]; "Battery pack controller 34 may then determine a length of time associated with the rich content delivery and set the available charge time to the length of the rich content selection.") Hong describes selecting content being selected based on the estimated charge time.
provides content, via the server, provide the selected content to a display device of the vehicle waiting in line at the charging point when the energy transfer rate is below a threshold over the network connection. (see at least [0015, 0029, 0037]; "Fast charge station 14 may be further in communication with local or remote servers through a network connection 18 to gain access to cloud data … For example, network connection 18 may be a virtual private network connection enabling access to the user's personal data (e.g., purchased movies, television shows, etc.) stored by a third party organization on behalf of the user. For further example, network connection 18 may provide access to third party user accounts, such as Netflix. [0030] Cloud data 20 may be any type of data that may be delivered to the user in vehicle 12… Further, the user selection of the rich content may be delivered to vehicle 12 while the charging power is being delivered, while the charge current below the upper limit of the charge current is delivered to battery pack 32 (step 62).")
Hong does not explicitly teach identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point;
However, Welter teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point; (see at least [0010]; "a method for determining the number of electric vehicles waiting for a free charging point at a charging infrastructure with at least one charging point, wherein the charging infrastructure is located within a geofence-bounded area,") Welter describes a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at a charge point with a geofence to identify when the vehicle has entered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Welter which teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive a charge point based on the vehicle entering a geofence in order to be able to determine which vehicle should have access to the network.
Regarding claim 15, Hong teaches A non-transitory computer readable storage medium configured to store instructions that when executed cause a processor to perform: (see at least [007]; " (see at least [0007]; " the present disclosure is directed to a non-transitory computer- readable medium storing instructions executable by at least one processor to facilitate vehicle charging according to a method. ")
determining an energy transfer rate at a charging point; (see at least [0043]; "For example, in a high bandwidth application (e.g. , one requiring a data transfer rate of greater than 1 megabyte/second such as transfer of standard definition video), OFDM modulation may be performed. In a lower bandwidth application, S-FSK, BPSK or FSK modulations may be performed.") Hong describes an energy transfer rate at the charging point.
establishing a network connection between the charging point and a display device of the vehicle waiting in line: (see at least [31, 33]; " In some embodiments, vehicle 12 may also be configured to receive cloud data 20 through a wireless connection 21…For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.") Hong describes a network connection as a wireless connection between the charging point and a display device of a vehicle waiting for the charge point.
determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charging point; (see at least [0034]; "Once a connection has been identified, battery pack controller 34 may determine an available charge time for battery pack 32 based on a user selection (step 56).") Hong outlines determining an estimated charge time of the vehicle at the charge location.
select content based on the estimated charge time;and (see at least [0034]; "Battery pack controller 34 may then determine a length of time associated with the rich content delivery and set the available charge time to the length of the rich content selection.") Hong describes selecting content being selected based on the estimated charge time.
providing the selected content to a display device of the vehicle waiting in line at the charging point over the network connection. (see at least [0038]; "Consistent with some embodiments, the rich content may be delivered to vehicle 12 through powerline 38 simultaneously with the delivery of the charging power, as will be discussed in more detail in connection with Fig. 3. In some embodiments, the user selected rich content may be transferred to vehicle 12 via a wireless connection, e.g., wireless connection 21.") Hong describes providing the selected content to a display device of a vehicle waiting in line at the charge point over a wireless network connection.
Hong does not explicitly disclose identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point;
However, Welter teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at the charging point based on the vehicle entering a geofence of the charging point; (see at least [0010]; "a method for determining the number of electric vehicles waiting for a free charging point at a charging infrastructure with at least one charging point, wherein the charging infrastructure is located within a geofence-bounded area,") Welter describes a vehicle waiting in line to receive charge at a charge point with a geofence to identify when the vehicle has entered.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Welter which teaches identifying a vehicle waiting in line to receive a charge point based on the vehicle entering a geofence in order to be able to determine which vehicle should have access to the network.
Claims 2, 3, 5, 6, 7, 9, 10, 12, 13, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1) in view of Nilges (US 20230099839 A1), in further view of Chen (US 20180370379 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Hong does not disclose comprising receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point.
However, Nilges teaches comprising receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0011]; " The present present disclosure is based on the knowledge that the charging-relevant information is collected decentrally, i.e., without using a central server device, and made available wirelessly at least to vehicles with a charging request.")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters.
Regarding claim 3, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 2, comprising determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 2, comprising determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0040]; "For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 5, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 1, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 6, Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, comprising assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and selecting the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The method of claim 1, comprising assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [11]; "techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and selecting the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
Regarding claim 7, Hong teaches and assigning the content to the vehicle based on the selection of the energy transfer rate below the threshold. (see at least [0005]; "The method further includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current below the upper limit.")
Hong does not disclose The method of claim 1, comprising transmitting a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Nilges teaches The method of claim 1, comprising transmitting a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; (see at least [0014], "According to the present disclosure, the charging-relevant data are collected or determined within the charging park and sent in a charging park-specific and position-related manner, i.e., sent to vehicles in the vicinity of the charging park, for which this charging park is potentially suitable for charging due to the distance.")
Nilges does not disclose receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Chen teaches receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; (see at least [0055]; "if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, ")
receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold; (see at least [0055]; " if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges and Chen which teaches receiving a confirmation for either a lower or higher transfer rate and assigning content to the lower transfer rate in order to incentivize the user to select the lower transfer rate because it is better for the charging point and power grid for less power to be drawn to each vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Hong does not disclose wherein the processor is further configured to receive a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point.
However, Nilges teaches wherein the processor is further configured to receive a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0037, 0038];" In the event that the vehicle 16d is user-controlled, the charging-relevant data can be displayed on a display device of the vehicle 16d, so that a user can plan a charging stay, wherein said user in this context can, for example, reserve a charging station from a certain point in time for a specific time period. Such reservations can be transmitted from the vehicle 16d, whether in autonomous or user-controlled operation, via the communication device 26d to the charging stations 12a, 12f of the respective charging park equipped with communication devices and/or to the vehicles 26a to 26c equipped with communication devices and also transmitted within the framework of the charging-relevant data. ")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters
Regarding claim 10, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forward the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 9, wherein the processor is further configured to determine a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0022, 0040]; " in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 12, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the content being provided comprises a content access option being offered to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the content being provided comprises a content access option being offered to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 13, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to assign a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determine whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and determine the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to assign a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [22, 11]; "in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and select the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
Regarding claim 14, Hong teaches and assigning the content to the vehicle based on the selection of the energy transfer rate below the threshold. (see at least [0005]; "The method further includes determining an upper limit of a charge current based on the determined available charge time and providing the rich content to the user while charging the vehicle with the charge current below the upper limit.")
However, Hong does not disclose The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Nilges teaches The system of claim 8, wherein the processor is further configured to transmit a plurality of energy transfer invitations to a plurality of vehicles including the vehicle; (see at least [0014], "According to the present disclosure, the charging-relevant data are collected or determined within the charging park and sent in a charging park-specific and position-related manner, i.e., sent to vehicles in the vicinity of the charging park, for which this charging park is potentially suitable for charging due to the distance.")
Nilges does not disclose receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold.
However, Chen teaches receiving a confirmation from the vehicle to select the energy transfer rate below the threshold; (see at least [0055]; "if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, ")
receiving another confirmation from another vehicle to select the energy transfer rate above the threshold; (see at least [0055]; " if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges and Chen which teaches receiving a confirmation for either a lower or higher transfer rate and assigning content to the lower transfer rate in order to incentivize the user to select the lower transfer rate because it is better for the charging point and power grid for less power to be drawn to each vehicle.
Regarding claim 16, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point..
However, Nilges teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: receiving a request from the vehicle to initiate an energy transfer; (see at least [0037, 0038] ;" In the event that the vehicle 16d is user-controlled, the charging-relevant data can be displayed on a display device of the vehicle 16d, so that a user can plan a charging stay, wherein said user in this context can, for example, reserve a charging station from a certain point in time for a specific time period. Such reservations can be transmitted from the vehicle 16d, whether in autonomous or user-controlled operation, via the communication device 26d to the charging stations 12a, 12f of the respective charging park equipped with communication devices and/or to the vehicles 26a to 26c equipped with communication devices and also transmitted within the framework of the charging-relevant data. ")
and determining the request is for a next available energy transfer option provided by the charging point. (see at least [17] ; " The charging-relevant data preferably also comprise at least one data element from the following group of data elements: position of at least one unoccupied charging station networked in a wireless manner, position and time of the end of a current charging process of at least one charging station networked in a wired manner, charging point size or actually available charging point size of at least one charging station, and maximum possible charging capacity of at least one charging station.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Nilges which teaches receiving a request from a vehicle to initiate an energy transfer and determining the request is for the next available energy transfer in order to coordinate the charging of vehicles to the appropriate voltage based on the user preference or battery parameters.
Regarding claim 17, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: determining a plurality of energy transfer options provided by the charging point; (see at least [0022, 0040]; " in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…For example, the charging parameters may include a time duration to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a charging current or charging power used to charge battery pack 32 , a total energy to be used to charge battery pack 32 , a total cost that the user is willing to pay for the charging of battery pack 32 , and so forth.")
and forwarding the plurality of energy transfer options to the vehicle, (see at least [0030]; ". In a further embodiment, charge station controller 42 may include one or more user interfaces similar to user interface(s) 24 in vehicle infotainment system 22 and may receive user input and generate output in response to the user input.")
wherein a first option comprises a faster charge and a second option provides a slower charge with content options. (see at least [0055]; " in some embodiments, if the user selects a high charging power or current, a short time duration, and/or a low amount of total charging energy to charge battery pack 32, the user-selected content may be charged at a higher rate because the user is willing to wait a short amount of time and will consume less content. On the other hand, if the user selects a lower charging power or current, a long charge duration, and/or a large amount of total charging energy to charge the battery, the selected content may be charged at a lower rate because the user is willing to spend more time to consume more content. ")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches forwarding charging options to a vehicle and including a slower option with content options in order to provide the user their choice of charging speed based on their needs, as well as to incentivize a slower option as it is more advantageous to the power grid and charging station.
Regarding claim 19, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein providing the content comprises offering a content access option to a vehicle profile of the vehicle. (see at least [0052]; "In other embodiments, the controller executing process 100 may determine the content to be delivered, for example, based on preset user preferences or a stored user profile.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches providing content options according to the profile of the vehicle in order to cater to the preferences of the user as well as to save time, and incentivize the user to return to that charging point.
Regarding claim 20, Hong does not disclose The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; and determining the content based on the time designation.
However, Chen teaches The non-transitory computer readable storage medium of claim 15, wherein the processor is further configured to perform: assigning a time to the vehicle to receive an energy transfer at the energy transfer rate; (see at least [22, 11]; "in some embodiments, vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 may include processing circuitry (not shown) having any appropriate type, such as general-purpose or special-purpose microprocessor, digital signal processor, or microcontroller…techniques may include managing a fleet of vehicles to coordinate a dynamic charging schedule of the vehicles. In some instances, the techniques may include determining if a current charge state of a vehicle battery satisfies a threshold charge state for providing the service, among other various determinations to decide an optimal time to remove the vehicle from providing the service to charge the battery of the vehicle.")
determining whether a time designation of the time is a peak time or off-peak time; (see at least [19]; "The charging coordinator and/or the vehicle may then determine second data that represents a threshold power state required to provide a service offered by the vehicle for a period of time. In some examples, the second data may be determined based on various factors, such as, but not limited to, a type of the vehicle, a type of service that the vehicle is providing, a current demand for providing the service, an estimated demand for providing the service, a number of additional vehicles providing the service, the amount of time in which the vehicle is providing the service.")
and selecting the content based on the time designation. (see at least [0007, 0008]; "The method also includes determining at least one content parameter associated with the user-selected content and determining one or more charging parameters for charging at least one battery associated with a vehicle that is at least partially electrically powered based on the at least one content parameter. The method further includes delivering the user-selected content to the user via the content delivery system while charging the battery according to the charging parameter.. The vehicle charging method also includes determining a charging parameter for charging at least one battery of the vehicle based on the at least one content parameter and determining a cost for charging the at least one battery or providing the user-selected content, based on at least one of the user-selected content, the charging parameter, and the at least one content parameter..")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate teachings of Chen which teaches assigning a time for a vehicle to charge, determining if it’s at a peak time and offering streaming options based on the time determination in order to disincentivize charging at a peak time.
Claims 4, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103 as being unpatentable over Hong (WO 2017083259 A1) in view of Nilges (US 20230099839 A1) and Chen (US 20180370379 A1), in further view of Aulakh (US 20080312788 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Hong discloses selecting the content based on the at least one occupant. (see at least [0034]; "For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.")
Hong does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle.
However, Aulakh teaches The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle; and (see at least [0019]; "As explained below, system 10a broadcasts signatures indicative of the identity of an occupant of vehicle 12 and the location of vehicle 12 and receives signatures indicative of identities of occupants of other vehicles and locations of these other vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Aulakh which teaches identifying an occupant in the vehicle in order to determine if content should be offered and what kind of content would be appropriate.
Regarding claim 11, Hong discloses selecting the content based on the at least one occupant. (see at least [0034]; "For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.")
Hong does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle.
However, Aulakh teaches The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle; and (see at least [0019]; "As explained below, system 10a broadcasts signatures indicative of the identity of an occupant of vehicle 12 and the location of vehicle 12 and receives signatures indicative of identities of occupants of other vehicles and locations of these other vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Aulakh which teaches identifying an occupant in the vehicle in order to determine if content should be offered and what kind of content would be appropriate.
Regarding claim 18, Hong discloses selecting the content based on the at least one occupant. (see at least [0034]; "For example, if the vehicle infotainment circuitry 26 includes stored information regarding the user's preferences, a set of recommended choices of rich content may be displayed on the user interface(s) 24 for the user to select.")
Hong does not explicitly disclose The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle.
However, Aulakh teaches The method of claim 1, comprising identifying at least one occupant in the vehicle; and (see at least [0019]; "As explained below, system 10a broadcasts signatures indicative of the identity of an occupant of vehicle 12 and the location of vehicle 12 and receives signatures indicative of identities of occupants of other vehicles and locations of these other vehicles.")
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Hong to incorporate the teachings of Aulakh which teaches identifying an occupant in the vehicle in order to determine if content should be offered and what kind of content would be appropriate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/HANA VICTORIA HALL/Examiner, Art Unit 3664
/RACHID BENDIDI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3664