DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-10 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (CN217958764U hereinafter referring to the English Translation provided) in view of Liu et. al. (WO2022120845A1 hereinafter referring to the English Translation provided as Liu ‘845), and further in view of Liu (US20130014772A1 hereinafter referred to as Liu ‘772)
Regarding Claim 1, Chen directed to a hidden electronic atomizer discloses an electronic atomizer comprising:
a base 200 is provided with an assembly cavity (cavity; [0013]) and a mounting hole 230 (i.e., assembly hole), and the base is also provided with an air inlet hole 240 communicating with the assembly cavity ([0013], [0044], [0053; Fig. 1, see Fig. 2 below])
a PCB board 210, (i.e., mainboard), the mainboard is arranged in the assembly cavity ([n0054])
A cartridge 140 (i.e., atomizer) is in contact with the mainboard by means of an electrode ([n0048]).
Chen does not explicitly disclose (I) a mounting base and an electrode, an electrode arranged in the first through-hole and provided with a second through-hole to connect with the atomizer, an insulating part arranged between an electrode and the mounting base, (II) a ventilation part with a first and a second air outlets that communicate with each other, the ventilation part arranged in the assembly cavity, and first air outlet communicates with a second through-hole, (III)a fan arranged on one side of the second air outlet and supply air to the second air outlet, (IV) a mainboard electrically connected to the fan.
Regarding (I), Liu ‘772 directed to an atomization device ([0011]) discloses a metal internal thread 27 (i.e., mounting base) and a lower electrode 28 (i.e., electrode), the mounting base is provided with a central hole (i.e., first through-hole) that runs through it, and the electrode is arranged is in the first through-hole, and a lower insulation ring 29 (i.e., insulating part) is arranged between the electrode and the mounting base, and the electrode is provided with a second through-hole (through hole, [0028]; Figs. 3-4). Liu further discloses that the mounting base and the electrode are connected to a mainboard (circuit board 80; [0028]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen by providing an insulating part arranged between an electrode and a mounting base, and providing the electrode with a dedicated through-hole as taught by Liu ‘772 , because both Chen and Liu ‘772 are directed to electronic atomizers, Chen is silent as to precisely how the atomizer is connected with the mounting base and in contact with the electrode and one with ordinary skill would be motivated to look to prior art for a known and suitable connection between the atomizer and the mounting base and electrode, and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar product to yield predictable results.
Regarding (II), (III), & (IV), Liu ‘845 directed to an electronic atomizer, teaches a ventilation part (mounting base 26; [0052]; FIG.3), the ventilation part is provided with air outlets that communicate with each other, the ventilation part is provided with a first air outlet (the uppermost opening of channel 260) and second air outlet (the lowermost opening of channel 260)( FIG.3-4) that communicate with each other (via channel 260) and the first air outlet communicates with a second through-hole (FIG.4). Liu ‘845 further teaches an air supply device/blower 25 (i.e. fan), the fan is arranged on one side of a second air outlet and is used to supply air to the atomizer through an airflow channel ([0052]; FIG.3-5). Additionally, Liu ‘845 teaches a control component 202 (i.e., mainboard), the mainboard is electrically connected to the fan and controls the operation of the fan ([0054]; FIG. 5 & FIG.9).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen by incorporating a fan with ventilation part air supply mechanism as taught by Liu ‘845, because both Chen and Liu ‘845 are directed to electronic atomizers that share fundamental components, Liu ‘845 teaches an active air supply fan and a ventilation part with communicating air outlets routing airflow from the fan to the atomizer in order to ensure the smoke produced automatically by the atomizer can be blown out, and this involves a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results. Furthermore, Liu ‘845 teaches a mainboard electrically connected to the fan in order to control the operation of the fan. The device taught by Chen comprises a mainboard (PCB board 210) which is a known component in electronic devices, one having ordinary skill in the art would recognize that a mainboard controls the general operation of an electronic device and connecting a fan to the mainboard would be an obvious modification in order to achieve predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses an atomizer comprising a base but doesn’t explicitly disclose that threads being arranged on the side wall of the first through-hole and that the atomizer is threadedly connected to the mounting base.
Liu ‘772 discloses that threads are arranged on an inner side wall of the metal internal thread 27 (see FIG 3-4), and an atomization device 20 (i.e., atomizer) is threadedly connected (i.e., metal internal thread 27 and metal external thread 25) to the mounting base ([0028], FIG. 3-4).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen by providing threads on a side wall of the first through -hole and connecting because both Chen and Liu ‘772 are directed to electronic cigarette atomizers, Liu ‘772 teaches the need for a suitable threaded connection between the atomizer and the mounting base in order to achieve a reliable electrically strong atomizer-to-mounting base connection ([0028], FIG. 3-4), and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, Chen teaches an electronic comprises a housing 100, the housing can be detachably connected to the base, ([n0012]). The housing is provided with a cartridge compartment 120, see Fig. 2 below, (i.e., accommodating cavity), the accommodating cavity has a first opening 150 (i.e., opening), the atomizer is accommodated in the accommodating cavity through the opening ([n0018]; [n0057]). Chen further teaches the accommodating cavity inside the housing hides and protects the atomizer ([n0050]).
Chen further discloses a second opening 160 (i.e., smoke outlet) arranged at the other end of the housing (i.e., at one end of the housing away from the base). ([n0039]; [n0049]). The smoke outlet is in communication with the accommodating cavity ([n0017]).
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses a mounting groove/slot 260 (i.e., an installation hole) arranged in a cavity of the base (one end of the base close to the housing) and a microphone (i.e. mouthpiece) is arranged in the installation hole ([n0015]; [n0016]; [n0057]; see Fig. 2 above). Chen further discloses a mouthpiece is electrically connected to the mainboard ([n0014]; [n0055]).
Chen further discloses a gap 170 (i.e., an air passage) is arranged between the atomizer and the accommodating cavity, and the air passage is in communication with the installation hole ([n0057]; [n0061]).
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the opening of the accommodating cavity can be extended to one side to form an extension opening 180 (i.e., avoiding space), ([n0062]), the avoiding space is connected to the air passage and the installation hole respectively ([n0062]; [n0057]).
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses that the housing and the base can be connected by magnetic attraction [n0012]; [n0051]).
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses a battery 130 is arranged in a battery compartment 110 of a housing ([n0006]), an ejector pin (i.e., a spring contact 220) ([n0044]) is connected to the PCB board 210 (i.e., the mainboard) and the spring contact extends to one end of the base close to the housing, the spring contact is used to contact the battery. ([n0010]; [n0047])
Regarding claim 8, Chen discloses a base 200 has cavity structure which is connected to an air inlet 240 and a mounting hole respectively ([n0013]; [n0053]).
Chen does not explicitly teach a fixed base and a fan arranged in an installation cavity.
Liu ‘845 teaches a fixed base (bracket 22; [0050]), the fixed base is provided with an installation cavity (upper end of the bracket 22; [0050)], and the fixed base is provided with a third air outlet (air flow channel 270) and a fourth air outlet (airflow channel 271; FIG.5) that communicate with the installation cavity; the fixed base is arranged in the assembly cavity (second cavity 212; [0049]; FIG. 3), the third air outlet is connected with the second air outlet(FIG. 4), the fourth air outlet is connected with the assembly cavity, and the fan is arranged in the installation cavity ([0049]; FIG.3).
Therefore before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would be obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art to modify Chen by providing a fan with a fixed base support and multiple communicating air outlets as taught by Liu ‘845, because both Chen and Liu ‘845 are directed to the same technical field of electronic cigarette atomizers, Liu ‘845 teaches housing a fan within an installation cavity of a fixed base, and the installation cavity connected with air flow channels to ensure efficient smoke emission ([0052]), and this involves applying a known teaching to a similar device to yield predictable results.
Regarding claim 9, Chen teaches a base is provided with a charging port 290a (i.e., charging connector) and /or a button 290b (i.e. button), each electrically connected to the PCB board (i.e., mainboard) ([n0068]; see Fig. 2 above). Chen further discloses the charging connector and/or the button is arranged within the air inlet 240 (i.e., air inlet hole), ([n0069]; [n0070]).
Regarding claim 10, Chen discloses a mouthpiece 300 (i.e. cigarette holder) is arranged at one end of the housing near a second opening 160 (i.e., smoke outlet): and communicates with the smoke outlet ([n0007]; [n0042]; [n0049]; Fig. 1, see Fig. 2 above)
Conclusion
/HELEN GHEBRESELASSIE/Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755