DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
This action is responsive to the application filed 01/23/2024.
Claims 1-10 are pending in this application. Claims 1, 4, and 7 are independent Claims.
Drawings
2. The drawings filed 01/23/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 1, 4, and 7 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: “the computer” (line 2) should read “the processor”.
Claim 4: “the computer” (line 2) should read “the processor”.
Claim 7: “the player user input data” (line 4) should read “the player input data”; and “the network” (line 8) should read “the neural network ”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites the limitation “the generation system” (lines 9-10). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Dependent Claims 8-10 are rejected for fully incorporating the deficiencies of their base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claims 1-6: the recited “computer readable medium” language fails to disclaim transitory media. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim drawn to a computer readable storage medium typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se in view of the ordinary and customary meaning of computer readable storage medium. See Ex parte Mehwerter, App. No. 2012-007692 (PTAB 2013)(precedential).
The Specification fails to provide a definition of computer readable medium that excludes transitory propagating signals. Thus, the recited “computer readable medium” is interpreted to include nonstatutory subject matter (e.g., signals, carrier waves, etc.).
The examiner suggests amending the above claim to explicitly exclude signals (e.g., by adding the phrase “non-transitory”) to obviate the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step1: determine whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If YES, proceed to Step 2A, broken into two prongs.
Step 2A, Prong 1: determine whether or not the claims recite a judicial exception (e.g., mathematical concepts, mental processes, certain methods of organizing human activity). If YES, the analysis proceeds to the second prong.
Step 2A, Prong 2: determine whether or not the claims integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. If NOT, the analysis proceeds to determining whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception (Step 2B).
Step 2B: If any element or combination of elements in the claim is sufficient to ensure that the claim integrates the judicial exception into a practical application, or else amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
Regarding Claims 1-3:
Step 1 Analysis
Claims 1-3 are directed to a computer readable medium and therefore fall into one of the statutory categories.
Step 2 Analysis
Independent claim 1 includes the following recitation of an abstract idea:
“provide a heatmap to an avatar during gameplay wherein areas of interaction of the avatar are analyzed and applied to the heatmap to identify an interaction pattern of the avatar; wherein, the areas of the heatmap having a lower value of interaction are assigned a lower priority area and the areas of the heatmap having a greater value of are assigned a higher priority” and “using the heatmap to allocate a greater portion of processor resources to the areas of the heatmap having a greater priority” (the limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas).
Independent claim 1 does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The elements “a computer readable medium”, “instructions”, “a processor”, “the computer”, and “a neural network” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed limitations therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 2, the limitation “the neural network is a recurrent neural network” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 3, the limitation “the neural network is a large language model neural network for creating initial content and for enhancing simulation results” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 4-6:
Step 1 Analysis
Claims 4-6 are directed to a computer readable medium and therefore fall into one of the statutory categories.
Step 2 Analysis
Independent claim 4 includes the following recitation of an abstract idea:
“initiating training…in providing a heatmap and updating information in the heatmap of input parameters used to identify priority language parameters; wherein, the areas of the heatmap having a lower value parameter are assigned a lower priority and the areas of the heatmap having a greater value parameter are assigned a higher priority” and “using the heatmap to allocate a greater portion of processor resources to the areas of the heatmap having a greater priority, and using the information to determine appropriate type of model sizes and efficiencies to handle tasks according to priority” (the limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas).
Independent claim 4 does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The elements “a computer readable medium”, “instructions”, “a processor”, “the computer”, and “a neural network” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed limitations therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 5, the limitation “the neural network is a recurrent neural network” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 6, the limitation “the neural network is a transformer model used in a Large Language Model” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 7-10:
Step 1 Analysis
Claims 7-10 are directed to a method and therefore fall into one of the statutory categories.
Step 2 Analysis
Independent claim 7 includes the following recitation of an abstract idea:
“providing player input data from the gameplay… establishing a baseline using the player user input data is a mechanism from the gameplay”, “performing a simulation on the baseline to generate loss function optimization based on differences between the simulation and baseline”, “updating a network parameter to reinforce the network”, and “in response to updating the network parameter, generating, using the generation system, new content for the gameplay” (the limitations encompass a human mind carrying out the function through observation, evaluation, judgment and /or opinion, or even with the aid of pen and paper. Thus, these limitations recite and fall within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas).
Independent claim 7 does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
The elements “computer-implemented”, and “a neural network” are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed limitations therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 8, the limitation “updating the network parameter uses feed-forward propagation” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 9, the limitation “updating the network parameter uses backpropagation” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claim 10, the limitation “updating the network parameter uses feed-forward and backpropagation” is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer, and/or mere computer components, MPEP 2106.05(f). The claim does not recite additional elements to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. After considering all claim elements individually and as an ordered combination, it is determined that the claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the reasons given above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction
of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if
the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same
under either status.
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yilmazcoban et al. (US 20200324206).
As to Claim 1:
Yilmazcoban teaches a computer readable medium (Fig.1 and [0018-0019]) comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the computer to carry out the steps of:
using a neural network to provide a heatmap to an avatar during gameplay wherein areas of interaction of the avatar are analyzed and applied to the heatmap to identify an interaction pattern of the avatar ([0023-0025], [0028-0029] and [0032-0035]);
wherein, the areas of the heatmap having a lower value of interaction are assigned a lower priority area and the areas of the heatmap having a greater value of are assigned a higher priority ([0028-0029] and [0037-0038]); and
using the heatmap to allocate a greater portion of processor resources to the areas of the heatmap having a greater priority ([0028-0029], [0032-0035], and [0060]).
As to Claim 2:
Yilmazcoban teaches the neural network is a recurrent neural network ([0035] and [0055]).
As to Claim 3:
Yilmazcoban teaches the neural network is a large language model neural network for creating initial content and for enhancing simulation results ([0035-0036] and [0057-0059]).
As to Claim 4:
Yilmazcoban teaches a computer readable medium (Fig.1 and [0018-0019]) comprising instructions which, when executed by a processor, cause the computer to carry out the steps of:
initiating training on a neural network in providing a heatmap and updating information in the heatmap of input parameters used to identify priority language parameters ([0016], [0024-0026], [0028-0029], [0031], [0060]);
wherein, the areas of the heatmap having a lower value parameter are assigned a lower priority and the areas of the heatmap having a greater value parameter are assigned a higher priority ([0028-0029] and [0037-0038]); and
using the heatmap to allocate a greater portion of processor resources to the areas of the heatmap having a greater priority, and using the information to determine appropriate type of model sizes and efficiencies to handle tasks according to priority ([0028-0029], [0032-0035], and [0060]).
As to Claim 5:
Yilmazcoban teaches the neural network is a recurrent neural network ([0035] and [0055]).
As to Claim 6:
Yilmazcoban teaches the neural network is a transformer model used in a Large Language Model ([0025], [0033], and [0039]).
As to Claim 7:
Yilmazcoban teaches a computer-implemented method (Abstract and [0016]) for training a neural network within a gameplay, the method comprising:
providing player input data from the gameplay, the neural network establishing a baseline using the player user input data is a mechanism from the gameplay ([0025], [0032], and [0035]);
the neural network performing a simulation on the baseline to generate loss function optimization based on differences between the simulation and baseline ([0035-0036] and [0057-0059]);
updating a network parameter to reinforce the network ([0036], [0044], and [0058]); and
in response to updating the network parameter, generating, using the generation system, new content for the gameplay ([0036] and [0043-0047]).
As to Claim 8:
Yilmazcoban teaches updating the network parameter uses feed-forward propagation ([0032-0035).
As to Claim 9:
Yilmazcoban teaches updating the network parameter uses backpropagation ([0032-0035).
As to Claim 10:
Yilmazcoban teaches updating the network parameter uses feed-forward and backpropagation ([0032-0035).
Conclusion
8. The prior art made of record, listed on PTO 892 provided to Applicant is considered to have relevancy to the claimed invention. Applicant should review each identified reference carefully before responding to this office action to properly advance the case in light of the prior art.
Contact information
examiner should be directed to MAIKHANH NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571) 272-4093. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday (8:00 am – 5:30 pm). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TAMARA KYLE can be reached at (571)272-4241.
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MAIKHANH NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2144