DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4 – 12 and 14 – 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher et al. US 20240356687 A1, hereinafter Speicher in view of Andrés Maldonado et al. US20240373374A1, hereinafter Andrés Maldonado (claim priority US Provisional Application No. 63/121,657, filed on Dec. 4, 2020, hereinafter Andrés Maldonado’657).
Regarding claim 1, Speicher teaches a time synchronization method, comprising:
(Speicher: Abstract, Summary, para. [0123 & 0128] device 605 may be an example of aspects of a network entity as described herein. The network entity may be an example of one or more components of or functionalities associated with a UE 115, a base station 105, a TRP, a relay node, or any other device that is capable of wireless communication. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. The device 605 may also include a processor. Para. [0128] or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in code (e.g., as communications management software or firmware) executed by a processor)
performing, by a first terminal, synchronization of a first time, wherein the first time is a time based on a time sensitive network (TSN), and the first terminal is a TSN ingress node of a first network; and
(Speicher: [0090] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of a second time based on a first synchronization mode, wherein the second time is a time based on a mobile network or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS),
(Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes (corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization mode”) to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
and the second time is configured to:
determine the first time;
(Speicher: para. [0093] DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “determine the first time”) to the 5GS clock (corresponds to claim limitation “second time”) as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
or
determine a first delay required for a message or packet to pass through the first network, the first delay corresponding to the first time;
(Speicher: para. [0089] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock, which corresponds to claim limitation “first time”) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
or
determine a second delay required for the message or packet to pass through the first network, the second delay corresponding to the second time.
(Speicher: para. [0089 & 0111] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock, which corresponds to claim limitation “second time”) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
the first terminal supporting at least two scenarios, and different scenarios corresponding to different synchronization sources (Speicher: [0090 & 0035 & 0068] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source) or using different interfaces; (Speicher: para. [0124-0125 & 0133-0134 & 0065] and Fig. 6 receiver 610 may provide a means for receiving information such as packets, user data, control information, or any combination thereof associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, information channels related to TSN support in a 5GS). Information may be passed on to other components of the device 605. The receiver 610 may utilize a single antenna or a set of multiple antennas (corresponds to first interface). Para. [0085] global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver - corresponds to second/different interfaces)
the first terminal supporting at least two synchronization modes (Speicher: [0090 & 0035 & 0068] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085 & 0084-0086] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second interface”) to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source);
or
the first terminal supporting at least two capabilities, and different capabilities corresponding to different synchronization sources. (Speicher: [0090 & 0035] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN synchronization source”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS synchronization source”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
It is noted that Speicher does not explicitly disclose: wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode comprise at least one of: the first terminal supporting at least two scenarios, and different scenarios corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces; the first terminal supporting at least two synchronization modes; or the first terminal supporting at least two capabilities, and different capabilities corresponding to different synchronization sources.
However, Andrés Maldonado from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein determination conditions (synchronization capabilities) of the first synchronization mode comprise at least one of: the first terminal supporting at least two scenarios, and different scenarios corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces; the first terminal supporting at least two synchronization modes (time sources); or the first terminal supporting at least two capabilities, and different capabilities corresponding to different synchronization sources.
(Andrés Maldonado: para. [0043 & 0025-0030 & 0048] cellular system may determine the UE's synchronization capabilities (e.g., UE's time sources such as Pulse Per Second (PPS), or GNSS receiver, (g)PTP capabilities, and/or the like). Para. [0038 & 0041] additional time sources the UE has outside of a network. Para. [0041] Potential examples of clock sources that may provide higher clock diversity orders may include PTP. PTP GNSS, satellite backup, fiber optic cable, intra-cellular system backup, and/or the like. Andrés Maldonado’657: para. [0025-0030 & 0038 & 0041 & 0043 & 0048]) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Andrés Maldonado in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for improve network operations by providing for timing resiliency configuration and/or clock replacement (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first synchronization mode is configured to indicate a first synchronization source, the first synchronization source is a synchronization source of the first terminal, and the first synchronization source is one of a base station, the GNSS, a second terminal, or a third terminal;
(Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes (corresponds to claim limitation “base station, a second terminal, or a third terminal”) to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source. [0090 & 0035 & 0068])
and
the first synchronization mode is further configured to indicate a second synchronization source, the second synchronization source is a synchronization source of the second terminal, and the second terminal is a TSN egress node of the first network. (Speicher: para. [0076] TSN may be integrated with or implemented for a 5GS (e.g., to allow factory networks to use wireless communication, such as 5G, instead of or in addition to wired networks that may use fiber or copper). As shown in FIG. 2 , the bridges between the talker 210 and the listener 230 may include a TSN bridge 215, the 5GS 220, and a TSN bridge 225 and the CNC entity 205 may provide control commands to each of the TSN bridge 215, the 5GS 220, and the TSN bridge 225. Such control commands may include bridge management commands, which may include retrieving bridge capabilities from each bridge and providing timing control information (corresponds to claim limitation “providing timing control information by TSN, which may be integrated with a 5GS”))
Regarding claim 4, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 2, wherein the first synchronization mode is based on at least one of: first information for indicating whether the first terminal supports sidelink (SL), vehicle to everything (V2X) (Speicher: para. [0059] D2D communication link 135 may be an example of a communication channel, such as a sidelink communication channel, between vehicles (e.g., UEs 115). In some examples, vehicles may communicate using vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications, or some combination of these. A vehicle may signal information related to traffic conditions, signal scheduling, weather, safety, emergencies, or any other information relevant to a V2X system. In some examples, vehicles in a V2X system may communicate with roadside infrastructure, such as roadside units, or with the network via one or more network nodes (e.g., base stations 105) using vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications, or with both)
or the GNSS; (Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
second information for indicating whether the first terminal establishes a connection with the second terminal; (Speicher: para. [0059] vehicles may communicate using vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications, or some combination of these. A vehicle may signal information related to traffic conditions, signal scheduling, weather, safety, emergencies, or any other information relevant to a V2X system)
third information for indicating a position relationship between the first terminal and the base station;
fourth information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the GNSS;
(Speicher: para. [0041-0042 & 0053 & 0058] Each base station 105 may provide a geographic coverage area 110 over which the UEs 115 and the base station 105 may establish one or more communication links 125. The geographic coverage area 110 may be an example of a geographic area over which a base station 105 and a UE 115 may support the communication of signals according to one or more radio access technologies. para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”)
fifth information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the base station; (Speicher: para. [0041-0042 & 0053 & 0058] Each base station 105 may provide a geographic coverage area 110 over which the UEs 115 and the base station 105 may establish one or more communication links 125. The geographic coverage area 110 may be an example of a geographic area over which a base station 105 and a UE 115 may support the communication of signals according to one or more radio access technologies.
sixth information for indicating a TSN end station; or seventh information for indicating whether a service is a TSN service or a time sensitive service. (Speicher: para. [0074-076] TSN system 200 that supports TSN support in a 5GS in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The TSN system 200 may implement or be implemented to realize aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or may interface with one or more components of the wireless communications system 100)
Regarding claim 5, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 2, Speicher does not explicitly teach: wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode further comprise: different terminals supporting different synchronization modes, and different synchronization modes corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces
However, Andrés Maldonado from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode further comprise: different terminals (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0048-0053] time synchronization service for impacted UE(s) regarding their subscriptions. Andrés Maldonado’657: para. [0048-0053]) supporting (synchronization capabilities) different synchronization modes, and different synchronization modes corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0043 & 0025-0030 & 0048] cellular system may determine the UE's synchronization capabilities (e.g., UE's time sources such as Pulse Per Second (PPS), or GNSS receiver, (g)PTP capabilities, and/or the like). Para. [0038 & 0041] additional time sources the UE has outside of a network. Para. [0041] Potential examples of clock sources that may provide higher clock diversity orders may include PTP. PTP GNSS, satellite backup, fiber optic cable, intra-cellular system backup, and/or the like. Andrés Maldonado’657: para. [0025-0030 & 0038 & 0041 & 0043 & 0048]) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Andrés Maldonado in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for improve network operations by providing for timing resiliency configuration and/or clock replacement (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 6, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first synchronization mode is determined by a first device, and the first device is one of a core network device, a TSN device, the base station, the first terminal, the second terminal, or a fourth terminal with a control function; and wherein in response to the first device being one of the core network device, the TSN device, the base station, the second terminal or the fourth terminal, the method further comprises at least one of: receiving, by the first terminal, first indication information sent by the first device, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate the first synchronization mode; (Speicher: [0090] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
or
receiving, by the first terminal, second indication information sent by the first device, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate whether the first terminal performs propagation delay compensation (PDC).
Regarding claim 7, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 1, wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time comprises:
performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time based on a second synchronization mode, wherein the second synchronization mode is transmission of a first message or time synchronization based on the first message;
wherein the first message is configured to: remove a gap between the first time and a second time;
(Speicher: para. [0092] As a result of calculating the current time of the TSN clock, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate a clock drift between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a delta calculated by 5GS time minus TSN time) or may calculate a cumulative rate ratio between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a ratio of the frequency difference between the two clocks), or may calculate both. The DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate or extract the cumulative rate ratio from synchronization messages or follow-up messages received from the NW-TT 350 (which may also include the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock used by the CNC entity). Para. [0093] As such, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock to the 5GS clock as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
or
determine a time required to pass through the first network; (Speicher: para. [0089] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock,) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements (which corresponds to claim limitation “time required to pass through”) that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
or
determine the first time corresponding to a TSN end station or a TSN egress node; and
the first terminal is a first Device-side TSN Translator (DS-TT) entity; or, the first terminal corresponds to the first DS-TT entity. (Speicher: [0090] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
Regarding claim 8, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 7, wherein
the first message carries at least one of a timestamp of a clock source of the TSN, correction information, or clock frequency information; the first message is an event message; and
(Speicher: para. [0091] NW-TT 350 may apply an ingress time stamp (e.g., to an originTimestamp field in the synchronization message) and the synchronization message or a follow-up message may include a correction field, and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate the residence time based on the ingress time stamp applied by the NW-TT 350 and the current time in the DS-TT 360)
the second synchronization mode is determined by a second device, and the second device is one of a core network device, a TSN device, a base station, the first terminal, a second terminal, or a fourth terminal with a control function.
(Speicher: para. [0090-0094 & 0071] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
Regarding claim 9, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 8, wherein in response to the second device being one of the core network device, the TSN device, the base station, the second terminal or the fourth terminal, the method further comprises: (Speicher: para. [0042] UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115, the base stations 105, or network equipment (e.g., core network nodes, relay devices, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes, or other network equipment)
receiving, by the first terminal, third indication information sent by the second device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the second synchronization mode. (Speicher: para. [0037-0038] DS-TT or the NW-TT performs the mapping, the DS-TT or the NW-TT may receive (which corresponds to claim limitation “configured to indicate the second synchronization mode”) or select (e.g., based on a pre-configuration) a clock domain number that is associated with the first clock used by the CNC entity and may use the clock domain number along with one or more messages from the CNC entity to identify or otherwise determine the first clock)
Regarding claim 10, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 7, wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time based on the second synchronization mode comprises at least one of:
receiving, by the first terminal, the first message sent by a fifth terminal; (Speicher: para. [0037-0038] DS-TT or the NW-TT performs the mapping, the DS-TT or the NW-TT may receive (which corresponds to claim limitation “first message sent by a fifth terminal”) or select (e.g., based on a pre-configuration) a clock domain number that is associated with the first clock used by the CNC entity and may use the clock domain number along with one or more messages from the CNC entity to identify or otherwise determine the first clock)
generating, by the first terminal, a first timestamp, wherein the first timestamp indicates a time when the first terminal receives the first message; (Speicher: para. [0091] NW-TT 350 may apply an ingress time stamp (e.g., to an originTimestamp field in the synchronization message))
or
adding, by the first terminal, the first timestamp to the first message, wherein the first timestamp corresponds to a second time; wherein the first timestamp is configured to determine at least one of: a residence time of the first message in the first network; (Speicher: para. [0091] DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate the residence time based on the ingress time stamp applied by the NW-TT 350 and the current time in the DS-TT 360) a time when the first message enters the first network; a time when the first message enters a TSN end station; or a time when the first message enters the TSN ingress node; and
wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time with a second terminal based on the second synchronization mode further comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the first message to the second terminal. (Speicher: para. [0092] As a result of calculating the current time of the TSN clock, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate a clock drift between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a delta calculated by 5GS time minus TSN time) or may calculate a cumulative rate ratio between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a ratio of the frequency difference between the two clocks), or may calculate both. The DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate or extract the cumulative rate ratio from synchronization messages or follow-up messages received from the NW-TT 350 (which may also include the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock used by the CNC entity). Para. [0093] As such, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock to the 5GS clock as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
Regarding claims 11 – 12 and 14 – 20, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured to store a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to result the terminal device to execute a time synchronization method, comprising: (Speicher: Abstract, Summary, para. [0123 & 0128] device 605 may be an example of aspects of a network entity as described herein. The network entity may be an example of one or more components of or functionalities associated with a UE 115, a base station 105, a TRP, a relay node, or any other device that is capable of wireless communication. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. The device 605 may also include a processor. Para. [0128] or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in code (e.g., as communications management software or firmware) executed by a processor) and Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 – 2 and 4 - 10, and therefore apparatus claims 11 – 12 and 14 – 20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher and Andrés Maldonado as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ruffini et al. US 20200314782 A1, hereinafter Ruffini.
Regarding claim 3, Speicher and Andrés Maldonado teach the method of claim 2, Speicher does not explicitly teaches: wherein the first terminal skips performing propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the GNSS; or the first terminal performs propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the base station or the second terminal or the third terminal.
Ruffini from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: the first terminal performs propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the base station or the second terminal or the third terminal (Ruffini: para. [0074] The service information may include synchronization reference signal information, including a PRS, an applicable synchronization reference signal, a periodicity, a pattern, a muting, consecutive PRS subframes and/or bandwidth (BW). The service information may also include offset estimates for propagation delay offset compensation or an error estimate with respect to a geolocation of the target network access node and/or the candidate synchronization source node. The service information may include any combination of these pieces of information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ruffini in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for service information for each candidate synchronization source node includes an estimated accuracy of the respective synchronization signal. The selecting then includes selecting the synchronization source node from among the plurality of candidate synchronization source nodes based on the estimated accuracy of the respective synchronization signal for each of the plurality of candidate synchronization source nodes (Ruffini: para. [0072]), and allowing for enhanced performance are provided by means of a centralized entity that orchestrates the synchronization service, which makes it possible to get synchronization from other operator macro cells with guaranteed quality (Ruffini: para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Speicher and Ruffini teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore apparatus claim 13 is rejected using the same rationales.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 on pages 10-14, applicant submits:
That is, Speicher merely describes that the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may use the second clock based on 5G or GNSS, i.e., indicating that a clock based on 5G or GNSS can be used by the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350. However, Speicher fails to disclose how to perform synchronization of such clock based on 5G or GNSS, such as performing synchronization based on a synchronization mode as claimed in the present invention.
Actually, nowhere in Speicher mentions a synchronization mode, nor does disclose or suggest performing synchronization of a second time based on such synchronization mode. (page 12)
The term “a synchronization mode” is further specified in claim 2, which said “first synchronization mode is configured to indicate a first synchronization source, the first synchronization source is a synchronization source of the first terminal, and the first synchronization source is one of a base station, the GNSS, a second terminal, or a third terminal”. In addition, the published Specification in paragraphs [0217-0220] teaches synchronization modes refer to each of their respective synchronization sources. For example, Specification paragraph [0218] synchronization mode 1, the first terminal is synchronized with the base station, and the second terminal is synchronized with the base station. Therefore, the term “synchronization mode” is being interpreted as a type of synchronization source.
As cited in the rejection, Speicher in para. [0085 & 0084] teaches “the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system receiver to time synchronize (corresponds to claim limitation “performing synchronization”) RAN nodes (corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization mode”) to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock.” The cited portion of Speicher teaches GNSS receiver as GNSS source (corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization mode”) to time synchronize RAN nodes. Therefore, Speicher teaches the claimed limitation.
Applicant's arguments filed 04/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With regard to applicant’s remark on claim 1 on pages 10-14, applicant submits:
“The above disclosure of Speicher at most mentions using TSN clock or the clock based on 5G or GNSS, receiving PTP messages or gPTP messages including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock, and providing a means for receiving information by utilizing a single antenna or a set of multiple antennas, but fails to disclose the first terminal supporting at least two scenarios, and different scenarios corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces, the first terminal supporting at least two synchronization modes, or the first terminal supporting at least two capabilities, and different capabilities corresponding to different synchronization sources, nor dose disclose or suggest setting these supports of the first terminal as determination conditions to determine the synchronization mode, as defined in present claim 1 of the claimed invention.” (page 13)
The cited portion(s) of Speicher in para. [0090 & 0035 & 0068] teaches the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 supports/receives at least two (different synchronization sources): 1) TSN clock source, and 2) GNSS clock source, and with their respective different receivers Fig. 6 receiver 610 and GNSS receiver (Speicher: para. [0085]). Therefore, Speicher teaches the claimed limitation.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. In particular, prior art Andrés Maldonado was included in this 103 rejection to clarify on the teaching of the claim limitation “wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode”, please see rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Sachs et al. US20200259896A1 teaches in para. [0764] allows local clocks in the end stations and switches to synchronize to each other. The protocol supports the establishment of multiple time domains in a TSN network and a redundant grandmaster setup as well as other features. para. [1084-1086] and para. [1094] support for one or more working clocks (sourced by external nodes in the TSN network) as supplemental clock information (i.e. supplemental to the reference time provided for the universal time domain). FIG. 89 shows an industrial use case with three time domains, where an internal 5G clock serves as the reference time applicable to the universal time domain (in the 5G time domain) as well as two supplemental working clocks applicable to TSN working domain 1 and TSN working domain 2).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418