DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 are pending, claims 6 and 16 are canceled, and claims 21-22 are newly added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 – 2, 4, 7 – 12, 14 – 20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher et al. US 20240356687 A1, hereinafter Speicher in view of Li et al. US20180352525A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D2 in EPO search report), hereinafter Li.
Regarding claim 1, Speicher teaches a time synchronization method, comprising:
(Speicher: Abstract, Summary, para. [0123 & 0128] device 605 may be an example of aspects of a network entity as described herein. The network entity may be an example of one or more components of or functionalities associated with a UE 115, a base station 105, a TRP, a relay node, or any other device that is capable of wireless communication. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. The device 605 may also include a processor. Para. [0128] or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in code (e.g., as communications management software or firmware) executed by a processor)
performing, by a first terminal, synchronization of a first time, wherein the first time is a time based on a time sensitive network (TSN), and the first terminal is a TSN ingress node of a first network; and
(Speicher: [0090] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of a second time based on a first synchronization mode, wherein the second time is a time based on a mobile network or a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS),
(Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes (corresponds to claim limitation “first synchronization mode”) to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
and the second time is configured to:
determine the first time;
(Speicher: para. [0093] DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “determine the first time”) to the 5GS clock (corresponds to claim limitation “second time”) as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
or
determine a first delay required for a message or packet to pass through the first network, the first delay corresponding to the first time;
(Speicher: para. [0089] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock, which corresponds to claim limitation “first time”) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
or
determine a second delay required for the message or packet to pass through the first network, the second delay corresponding to the second time.
(Speicher: para. [0089 & 0111] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock, which corresponds to claim limitation “second time”) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
It is noted that Speicher does not explicitly disclose: wherein the first synchronization mode is determined by the first terminal based on at least one of the following information: information indicating whether the first terminal establishes a connection with a second terminal, the second terminal being a TSN egress node of the first network; information for indicating a position relationship between the first terminal and a base station; information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the GNSS; or information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the base station.
However, Li from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the first synchronization mode is determined by the first terminal based on at least one of the following information:
(Li: para. [0203] when receiving synchronization signals sent by a plurality of synchronization sources (that is, a plurality of first UEs), the second UE may select, according to the first synchronization information)
information indicating whether the first terminal establishes a connection with a second terminal, the second terminal being a TSN egress node of the first network;
information for indicating a position relationship (coverage radius) between the first terminal and a base station;
(Li: para. [0159 & 0114] first UE that is corresponding to a cell with a smallest coverage radius and that is indicated in the first synchronization information)
information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the GNSS (GNSS); or information for indicating whether the first terminal is in coverage of the base station(base station). (Li: para. [0108 & 0114 0199-0203] and Table 2 synchronization source is a device such as a GNSS, a base station, or UE, with which UE is directly synchronized. For example, when UE 1 is used as a synchronization source, the UE 1 may provide timing information and/or frequency information for another UE. After determining that the UE 1 is a synchronization source of UE 2, the UE 2 may use same timing information and/or frequency information as the UE 1. Para. [0109] First synchronization information is indication information and/or a synchronization signal sent, in a V2X (including V2V) system by a device that can be used as a synchronization source, to UE that needs to be synchronized, and is used to indicate a priority of the device used as a synchronization source, so that the UE to be synchronized determines a synchronization source of the UE itself according to multiple pieces of received first synchronization information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Li in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for determining and selecting a synchronization source for devices in a scenario of ultra-reliable and low latency communications, to ensure relatively high synchronization source reliability and synchronization precision, and further improve efficiency between the devices (Li: para. [0007-0008 & 0014 & 0021 & 0035]).
Regarding claim 2, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first synchronization mode is configured to indicate a first synchronization source, the first synchronization source is a synchronization source of the first terminal, and the first synchronization source is one of the base station, the GNSS, the second terminal, or a third terminal;
(Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes (corresponds to claim limitation “base station, a second terminal, or a third terminal”) to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source. [0090 & 0035 & 0068])
and Speicher does not explicitly teach:
the first synchronization mode is further configured to indicate a second synchronization source, the second synchronization source is a synchronization source of the second terminal.
However, Li from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: the first synchronization mode is further configured to indicate a second synchronization source, the second synchronization source is a synchronization source of the second terminal (Li: para. [203] when receiving synchronization signals sent by a plurality of synchronization sources (that is, a plurality of first UEs), the second UE may select, according to the first synchronization information. para. [0159 & 0114] first UE that is corresponding to a cell with a smallest coverage radius and that is indicated in the first synchronization information. para. [0108 & 0114 0199-0203] and Table 2 synchronization source is a device such as a GNSS, a base station, or UE, with which UE is directly synchronized. For example, when UE 1 is used as a synchronization source, the UE 1 may provide timing information and/or frequency information for another UE. After determining that the UE 1 is a synchronization source of UE 2, the UE 2 may use same timing information and/or frequency information as the UE 1. Para. [0109] First synchronization information is indication information and/or a synchronization signal sent, in a V2X (including V2V) system by a device that can be used as a synchronization source, to UE that needs to be synchronized, and is used to indicate a priority of the device used as a synchronization source, so that the UE to be synchronized determines a synchronization source of the UE itself according to multiple pieces of received first synchronization information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Li in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for determining and selecting a synchronization source for devices in a scenario of ultra-reliable and low latency communications, to ensure relatively high synchronization source reliability and synchronization precision, and further improve efficiency between the devices (Li: para. [0007-0008 & 0014 & 0021 & 0035]).
Regarding claim 4, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 1, wherein the first synchronization mode is based on at least one of: first information for indicating whether the first terminal supports sidelink (SL), vehicle to everything (V2X) (Speicher: para. [0059] D2D communication link 135 may be an example of a communication channel, such as a sidelink communication channel, between vehicles (e.g., UEs 115). In some examples, vehicles may communicate using vehicle-to-everything (V2X) communications, vehicle-to-vehicle (V2V) communications, or some combination of these. A vehicle may signal information related to traffic conditions, signal scheduling, weather, safety, emergencies, or any other information relevant to a V2X system. In some examples, vehicles in a V2X system may communicate with roadside infrastructure, such as roadside units, or with the network via one or more network nodes (e.g., base stations 105) using vehicle-to-network (V2N) communications, or with both)
or the GNSS; (Speicher: para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
information for indicating a TSN end station; or information for indicating whether a service is a TSN service or a time sensitive service. (Speicher: para. [0074-076] TSN system 200 that supports TSN support in a 5GS in accordance with aspects of the present disclosure. The TSN system 200 may implement or be implemented to realize aspects of the wireless communications system 100 or may interface with one or more components of the wireless communications system 100)
Li from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: first information for indicating whether the first terminal supports sidelink (SL),
(Li: para. [0049] first synchronization information includes a first sidelink synchronization signal SLSS)
vehicle to everything (V2X) (Li: para. [0109] First synchronization information is indication information and/or a synchronization signal sent, in a V2X (including V2V) system by a device that can be used as a synchronization source)
or the GNSS; (Li: para. [0108 & 0114 0199-0203] and Table 2 synchronization source is a device such as a GNSS, a base station, or UE, with which UE is directly synchronized. For example, when UE 1 is used as a synchronization source, the UE 1 may provide timing information and/or frequency information for another UE. After determining that the UE 1 is a synchronization source of UE 2, the UE 2 may use same timing information and/or frequency information as the UE 1. Para. [0109] First synchronization information is indication information and/or a synchronization signal sent, in a V2X (including V2V) system by a device that can be used as a synchronization source, to UE that needs to be synchronized, and is used to indicate a priority of the device used as a synchronization source, so that the UE to be synchronized determines a synchronization source of the UE itself according to multiple pieces of received first synchronization information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Li in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for determining and selecting a synchronization source for devices in a scenario of ultra-reliable and low latency communications, to ensure relatively high synchronization source reliability and synchronization precision, and further improve efficiency between the devices (Li: para. [0007-0008 & 0014 & 0021 & 0035]).
Regarding claim 7, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 1, wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time comprises:
performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time based on a second synchronization mode, wherein the second synchronization mode is transmission of a first message or time synchronization based on the first message;
wherein the first message is configured to: remove a gap between the first time and a second time;
(Speicher: para. [0092] As a result of calculating the current time of the TSN clock, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate a clock drift between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a delta calculated by 5GS time minus TSN time) or may calculate a cumulative rate ratio between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a ratio of the frequency difference between the two clocks), or may calculate both. The DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate or extract the cumulative rate ratio from synchronization messages or follow-up messages received from the NW-TT 350 (which may also include the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock used by the CNC entity). Para. [0093] As such, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock to the 5GS clock as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
or
determine a time required to pass through the first network; (Speicher: para. [0089] logical bridge 305 (or a network entity of the logical bridge 305) may perform a mapping between the first clock (e.g., the TSN clock,) used by the CNC entity and the second clock (e.g., the 5GS clock) used by the logical bridge 305 to support the correct interpretation of timing control information and propagation delay measurements (which corresponds to claim limitation “time required to pass through”) that are signaled between the CNC entity and the logical bridge 305)
or
determine the first time corresponding to a TSN end station or a TSN egress node; and
the first terminal is a first Device-side TSN Translator (DS-TT) entity; or, the first terminal corresponds to the first DS-TT entity. (Speicher: [0090] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
Regarding claim 8, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 7, wherein
the first message carries at least one of a timestamp of a clock source of the TSN, correction information, or clock frequency information; the first message is an event message; and
(Speicher: para. [0091] NW-TT 350 may apply an ingress time stamp (e.g., to an originTimestamp field in the synchronization message) and the synchronization message or a follow-up message may include a correction field, and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate the residence time based on the ingress time stamp applied by the NW-TT 350 and the current time in the DS-TT 360)
the second synchronization mode is determined by a second device, and the second device is one of a core network device, a TSN device, a base station, the first terminal, a second terminal, or a fourth terminal with a control function.
(Speicher: para. [0090-0094 & 0071] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock)
Regarding claim 9, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 8, wherein in response to the second device being one of the core network device, the TSN device, the base station, the second terminal or the fourth terminal, the method further comprises: (Speicher: para. [0042] UEs 115 described herein may be able to communicate with various types of devices, such as other UEs 115, the base stations 105, or network equipment (e.g., core network nodes, relay devices, integrated access and backhaul (IAB) nodes, or other network equipment)
receiving, by the first terminal, third indication information sent by the second device, wherein the third indication information is configured to indicate the second synchronization mode. (Speicher: para. [0037-0038] DS-TT or the NW-TT performs the mapping, the DS-TT or the NW-TT may receive (which corresponds to claim limitation “configured to indicate the second synchronization mode”) or select (e.g., based on a pre-configuration) a clock domain number that is associated with the first clock used by the CNC entity and may use the clock domain number along with one or more messages from the CNC entity to identify or otherwise determine the first clock)
Regarding claim 10, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 7, wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time based on the second synchronization mode comprises at least one of:
receiving, by the first terminal, the first message sent by a fifth terminal; (Speicher: para. [0037-0038] DS-TT or the NW-TT performs the mapping, the DS-TT or the NW-TT may receive (which corresponds to claim limitation “first message sent by a fifth terminal”) or select (e.g., based on a pre-configuration) a clock domain number that is associated with the first clock used by the CNC entity and may use the clock domain number along with one or more messages from the CNC entity to identify or otherwise determine the first clock)
generating, by the first terminal, a first timestamp, wherein the first timestamp indicates a time when the first terminal receives the first message; (Speicher: para. [0091] NW-TT 350 may apply an ingress time stamp (e.g., to an originTimestamp field in the synchronization message))
or
adding, by the first terminal, the first timestamp to the first message, wherein the first timestamp corresponds to a second time; wherein the first timestamp is configured to determine at least one of: a residence time of the first message in the first network; (Speicher: para. [0091] DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate the residence time based on the ingress time stamp applied by the NW-TT 350 and the current time in the DS-TT 360) a time when the first message enters the first network; a time when the first message enters a TSN end station; or a time when the first message enters the TSN ingress node; and
wherein performing, by the first terminal, synchronization of the first time with a second terminal based on the second synchronization mode further comprises: sending, by the first terminal, the first message to the second terminal. (Speicher: para. [0092] As a result of calculating the current time of the TSN clock, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate a clock drift between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a delta calculated by 5GS time minus TSN time) or may calculate a cumulative rate ratio between the 5GS clock and the TSN clock (e.g., a ratio of the frequency difference between the two clocks), or may calculate both. The DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may calculate or extract the cumulative rate ratio from synchronization messages or follow-up messages received from the NW-TT 350 (which may also include the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock used by the CNC entity). Para. [0093] As such, the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may convert received timing control information (e.g., transmission gate and PSFP control information) from TSN time into 5GS time by mapping absolute times (e.g., AdminBaseTime) from TSN time to 5GS time as a result of applying the calculated clock drift (e.g., the delta) and by converting time durations (e.g., AdminCycleTime) from the TSN clock to the 5GS clock as a result of applying the cumulative rate ratio between the two clocks)
Regarding claims 11 – 12, 14 and 17 – 20, Speicher and Li teach a terminal device, comprising: a processor; and a memory, configured to store a computer program, wherein the processor is configured to call and run the computer program stored in the memory to result the terminal device to execute a time synchronization method, comprising: (Speicher: Abstract, Summary, para. [0123 & 0128] device 605 may be an example of aspects of a network entity as described herein. The network entity may be an example of one or more components of or functionalities associated with a UE 115, a base station 105, a TRP, a relay node, or any other device that is capable of wireless communication. The device 605 may include a receiver 610, a transmitter 615, and a communications manager 620. The device 605 may also include a processor. Para. [0128] or various combinations or components thereof may be implemented in code (e.g., as communications management software or firmware) executed by a processor) and Speicher and Li teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claims 1 – 2, 4, 7 – 10, and therefore apparatus claims 11 – 12, 14 and 17 – 20 are rejected using the same rationales.
Regarding claim 22, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 1, Speicher does not explicitly teach: further comprising: in response to the first terminal establishing the connection with the second terminal and the first terminal is out of coverage of the base station, selecting the second terminal as a first synchronization source for synchronizing the second time;
or
in response to the first terminal having a GNSS capability and a GNSS signal strength meeting a threshold, selecting the GNSS as the first synchronization source for synchronizing the second time;
or
in response to the first terminal being in coverage of the base station, selecting the base station as the first synchronization source for synchronizing the second time.
However, Li from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the further comprising: in response to the first terminal establishing the connection with the second terminal and the first terminal is out of coverage of the base station, selecting the second terminal as a first synchronization source for synchronizing the second time;
(Li: para. [0140] UE 3 is outside the coverage areas of the base station 1 and the base station 2. In this case, the UE 1 or the UE 2, that is, first UE, may be used as a synchronization source, and send first synchronization information to the UE 3 that needs to be synchronized)
or in response to the first terminal being in coverage of the base station, selecting the base station as the first synchronization source for synchronizing the second time.
(Li: para. [0159 & 0114] first UE that is corresponding to a cell with a smallest coverage radius and that is indicated in the first synchronization information. para. [0108 & 0114 0199-0203] and Table 2 synchronization source is a device such as a GNSS, a base station, or UE, with which UE is directly synchronized. For example, when UE 1 is used as a synchronization source, the UE 1 may provide timing information and/or frequency information for another UE. After determining that the UE 1 is a synchronization source of UE 2, the UE 2 may use same timing information and/or frequency information as the UE 1. Para. [0109] First synchronization information is indication information and/or a synchronization signal sent, in a V2X (including V2V) system by a device that can be used as a synchronization source, to UE that needs to be synchronized, and is used to indicate a priority of the device used as a synchronization source, so that the UE to be synchronized determines a synchronization source of the UE itself according to multiple pieces of received first synchronization information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Li in the method of Speicher. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for determining and selecting a synchronization source for devices in a scenario of ultra-reliable and low latency communications, to ensure relatively high synchronization source reliability and synchronization precision, and further improve efficiency between the devices (Li: para. [0007-0008 & 0014 & 0021 & 0035]).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher and Li as applied to claims 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Ruffini et al. US 20200314782 A1, hereinafter Ruffini.
Regarding claim 3, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 2, Speicher does not explicitly teaches: wherein the first terminal skips performing propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the GNSS; or the first terminal performs propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the base station or the second terminal or the third terminal.
Ruffini from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches: the first terminal performs propagation delay compensation (PDC) with the first synchronization source in response to the first synchronization source being the base station or the second terminal or the third terminal (Ruffini: para. [0074] The service information may include synchronization reference signal information, including a PRS, an applicable synchronization reference signal, a periodicity, a pattern, a muting, consecutive PRS subframes and/or bandwidth (BW). The service information may also include offset estimates for propagation delay offset compensation or an error estimate with respect to a geolocation of the target network access node and/or the candidate synchronization source node. The service information may include any combination of these pieces of information) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Ruffini in the method of Speicher and Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for service information for each candidate synchronization source node includes an estimated accuracy of the respective synchronization signal. The selecting then includes selecting the synchronization source node from among the plurality of candidate synchronization source nodes based on the estimated accuracy of the respective synchronization signal for each of the plurality of candidate synchronization source nodes (Ruffini: para. [0072]), and allowing for enhanced performance are provided by means of a centralized entity that orchestrates the synchronization service, which makes it possible to get synchronization from other operator macro cells with guaranteed quality (Ruffini: para. [0022]).
Regarding claim 13, Speicher, Li and Ruffini teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 3, and therefore apparatus claim 13 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 5 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Andrés Maldonado et al. US20240373374A1, hereinafter Andrés Maldonado (claim priority US Provisional Application No. 63/121,657, filed on Dec. 4, 2020, hereinafter Andrés Maldonado’657).
Regarding claim 5, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 2, wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode comprise at least one of: the first terminal supporting at least two scenarios, and different scenarios corresponding to different synchronization sources (Speicher: [0090 & 0035 & 0068] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source) or using different interfaces; (Speicher: para. [0124-0125 & 0133-0134 & 0065] and Fig. 6 receiver 610 may provide a means for receiving information such as packets, user data, control information, or any combination thereof associated with various information channels (e.g., control channels, data channels, information channels related to TSN support in a 5GS). Information may be passed on to other components of the device 605. The receiver 610 may utilize a single antenna or a set of multiple antennas (corresponds to first interface). Para. [0085] global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver - corresponds to second/different interfaces)
the first terminal supporting at least two synchronization modes (Speicher: [0090 & 0035 & 0068] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085 & 0084-0086] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock (TSN clock, para. [0084-0087]). In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS”) receiver (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second interface”) to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source);
or
the first terminal supporting at least two capabilities, and different capabilities corresponding to different synchronization sources. (Speicher: [0090 & 0035] the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may receive (e.g., via an Ethernet broadcast) one or more synchronization messages, such as precision timing control (PTP) messages or generic PTP (gPTP) messages, including the clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock (corresponds to claim limitation “first time is a time based on TSN synchronization source”) and the DS-TT 360 or the NW-TT 350 may process (for gate schedule information) the one or more synchronization messages based on the selected, obtained, or otherwise determined clock domain number corresponding to the TSN clock. para. [0085] the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350) may use or reference a second clock (e.g., a 5G clock) different from the first clock. In some examples, for instance, the DS-TT 360 and the NW-TT 350 may operate based on the second clock and devices within the 5GS may use a global navigation satellite system (GNSS - corresponds to claim limitation “second time is a time based on a GNSS synchronization source”) receiver to time synchronize RAN nodes to the second clock whereas the CNC entity may use the first clock, which may not be synchronized to an external time source)
Speicher and Li do not explicitly teach: wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode further comprise: different terminals supporting different synchronization modes, and different synchronization modes corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces;
However, Andrés Maldonado from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein determination conditions of the first synchronization mode further comprise: different terminals (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0048-0053] time synchronization service for impacted UE(s) regarding their subscriptions. Andrés Maldonado’657: para. [0048-0053]) supporting (synchronization capabilities) different synchronization modes, and different synchronization modes corresponding to different synchronization sources or using different interfaces (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0043 & 0025-0030 & 0048] cellular system may determine the UE's synchronization capabilities (e.g., UE's time sources such as Pulse Per Second (PPS), or GNSS receiver, (g)PTP capabilities, and/or the like). Para. [0038 & 0041] additional time sources the UE has outside of a network. Para. [0041] Potential examples of clock sources that may provide higher clock diversity orders may include PTP. PTP GNSS, satellite backup, fiber optic cable, intra-cellular system backup, and/or the like. Andrés Maldonado’657: para. [0025-0030 & 0038 & 0041 & 0043 & 0048]) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Andrés Maldonado in the method of Speicher and Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for improve network operations by providing for timing resiliency configuration and/or clock replacement (Andrés Maldonado: para. [0030]).
Regarding claim 15, Speicher, Li and Andrés Maldonado teach all the limitations as discussed in the rejection of claim 5, and therefore apparatus claim 15 is rejected using the same rationales.
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Speicher and Li as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Corley et al. US20190289561A1 (listed in applicant submitted IDS and listed as D3 in EPO search report), hereinafter Corley.
Regarding claim 21, Speicher and Li teach the method of claim 1, Speicher and Li do not explicitly teach: wherein the first terminal establishes the connection with the second terminal when the first terminal is provided with a PC5 interface, or the first terminal establishes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) connection with the second terminal.
However, Corley from the same or similar fields of endeavor teaches the use of: wherein the first terminal establishes the connection with the second terminal when the first terminal is provided with a PC5 interface, or the first terminal establishes physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) connection with the second terminal. (Corley: para. [0076] sidelink channel 1016 may comprise a number of radio resources including, for example, a physical sidelink control channel (PSCCH) 1022, and a physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) 1024. The PSCCH 1022 is a control channel over which control information is communicated and the PSSCH 1024 is a data channel over which data is communicated) Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the teaching of Corley in the method of Speicher and Li. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so for enable and provide communication techniques that can include establishing and maintaining timing synchronization and synchronization source selection for vehicle-to-vehicle communications (Corley: para. [0001]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-5, 7-15 and 17-22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please also see PTO-892.
Gulati et al. US11228995 teaches UE may rely on one or more of a GNSS, an eNB, or a synchronized UEs as the “synchronization source” with respect to timing and frequency carrier synchronization.
/WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418