DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the claims filed 09/10/2025 for Application number 18/420,751. Claims 1, 8, and 15 have been amended. Thus claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
Step 1 Analysis: Claim 1 is directed to a process, which falls within one of the four statutory categories.
Step 2A Prong 1 Analysis: Claim 1 recites, in part, The limitations of:
identfiy gradient information corresponding to the indicated one or more layers can be considered to be an evaluation in the human mind,
This limitation as drafted, is a process that, under broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with the aid of pen and paper which falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A Prong 2 Analysis: This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim recites the additional elements – “a processor” and “one or more circuits to perform an application programming interface (API),in response to an API call indicating one or more layers of one or more neural networks, to… return the identified gradient information”. Thus, these elements in the claim are recited at a high level of generality such that they amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f). Additionally, the claim recites “one or more neural networks”. This additional element is merely generally linked to the judicial exception. Please see MPEP 2106.05(h). Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim as a whole is directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B Analysis: The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements of utilizing a processor and one or more circuits to perform the steps of the claimed process amount to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept. The additional element of “one or more neural networks” is merely generally linked to the judicial exception. These limitations therefore remain insignificant extra-solution activity even upon reconsideration, and does not amount to significantly more. Even when considered in combination, these additional elements amount to mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components and generally linking the additional element to the judicial exception The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein the indications of the one or more layers include information identifying the one or more neural networks or information identifying the one or more layers. This claim recites additional mental steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein input to the API comprises the one or more indication of the one or more layers. This limitation amounts to more specifics of the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1 above.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein performing the API is to cause one or more gradients of the one or more neural networks to be calculated. This claim recites additional mathematical steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 5, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein the gradient information comprises one or more gradient values of one or more layers of the one or more neural networks. This limitation amounts to more specifics of the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1 above.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 6, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein performing the API is to cause one or more back-propagation operations to be performed using the one or more layers. This claim recites additional mathematical steps in addition to the judicial exception identified in the rejection of claim 1, thus recites a judicial exception.
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exceptions into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exceptions. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding claim 7, the rejection of claim 1 is further incorporated, and further, the claim recites: wherein the API is to be performed using one or more graphics processing units (GPUs). This limitation amounts to mere instructions to apply the judicial exception using a generic computer component. Please see MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claim does not include any additional elements that amount to an integration of the judicial exception into a practical application, nor to significantly more than the judicial exception. The claim is not patent eligible.
Regarding Claims 8-14, they recite features similar to claims 1-7 and are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Regarding Claims 15-20, they recite features similar to claims 1-6 and are rejected for at least the same reasons therein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rauschmayr et al. ("AMAZON SAGEMAKER DEBUGGER: A SYSTEM FOR REAL-TIME INSIGHTS INTO MACHINE LEARNING MODEL TRAINING", hereinafter "Rauschmayr").
Regarding claim 1, Rauschmayr teaches A processor, comprising:
one or more circuits (“Just as unit tests boost traditional software development, an automated ML debugging library can save time and money. We present Amazon SageMaker Debugger, a machine learning feature that automatically identifies and stops underperforming training jobs.” [Abstract, implies use of computers/memory]) to perform an application programming interface (API) (See Introduction, pg. 1, right col, first bullet, “A concise framework-agnostic API to store…), in response to an API call indicating one or more layers of one or more neural networks (See pg. 9, §6.3, “With Debugger these tensors can automatically be retrieved…. “
”), to:
identify gradient information corresponding to the indicated one or more layers (“This method requires bias and gradients of the outputs with respect to the intermediate activations. The product of both, the bias·gradients, is accumulated for each layer. With Debugger these tensors can automatically be retrieved” [pg. 9, §6.3])
and return the identified gradient information (“
Line 5 discloses returning the gradient information” [pg. 9, §6.3]).
Regarding claim 2, Rauschmayr The processor of claim 1, wherein the indications of the one or more layers include information identifying the one or more neural networks or information identifying the one or more layers. (See pg. 9, §6.3, “This method requires bias and gradients of the outputs with respect to the intermediate activations. The product of both, the bias·gradients, is accumulated for each layer.”)
Regarding claim 3, Rauschmayr teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein input to the API comprises the one or more indication of the one or more layers. (See pg. 9, §6.3, “With Debugger these tensors can automatically be retrieved…. “
”)
Regarding claim 4, Rauschmayr teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein performing the API is to cause one or more gradients of the one or more neural networks to be calculated. (See pg. 9, §6.3, “With Debugger these tensors can automatically be retrieved…. “
”)
Regarding claim 5, Rauschmayr teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein the gradient information comprises one or more gradient values of one or more layers of the one or more neural networks. See pg. 9, §6.3, “With Debugger these tensors can automatically be retrieved…. “
”)
Regarding claim 6, Rauschmayr teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein performing the API is to cause one or more back-propagation operations to be performed using the one or more layers (“The regular expression. *reluoutput specifies tensor names to be included in the collection and tensors are saved every 500 steps. A step consists of one forward pass and one backward pass” [pg. 3, §3.3, right col, last para])
Regarding claim 7, Rauschmayr teaches The processor of claim 1, wherein the API is to be performed using one or more graphics processing units (GPUs). (“This section studies the performance impact of smdebug on the model training using example state of the art model for CV and NLP. The first benchmark is training a Tensorflow ResNet50 model on 4GPUs (p3.16xlarge) using Tensorflow’s MirroredStrategy” [pg. 13, Appendix A.])
Regarding claims 8-14, they are substantially similar to claims 1-7 respectively, and are rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Regarding claims 15-20, they are substantially similar to claims 1-6 respectively, and are rejected in the same manner, the same art, and reasoning applying.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 09/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. §101 Rejection:
Applicant asserts that the amended claims reflect an improvement to computer technology and thus are patent eligible. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant appears to be arguing improvements recited in the specification but the details in order to obtain such a result is not reflected in the claims. As noted in MPEP 2106.05(a) “Improvements to the Functioning of a Computer or To Any Other Technology or Technical Field”, the claims should reflect the asserted improvement described in the instant specification. Therefore, applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Regarding the 35 U.S.C. §102 Rejection:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Please see the updated prior art rejection above.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejections of the dependent claims have been fully considered but they are not persuasive as they rely upon the allowability of the independent claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL H HOANG/PRIMARY EXAMINER, Art Unit 2122