DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toshihide (JP2018170210A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action)
Regarding claim 1, Toshihide discloses a manufacturing method of a secondary battery,
the secondary battery (See annotated Fig. 1 below, secondary battery 100) comprises:
an electrode body (See annotated Fig. 5 below, electrode group 2. Note Fig. 5 is a cross-sectional view of Fig. 1) including a positive electrode and a negative electrode (Fig. 1, positive electrode terminal 6 and negative electrode terminal 7);
an electrolytic solution ([0010] electrolytic solution); and
a battery case (Fig. 1, outer case or outer can 1) configured to accommodate the electrode body and the electrolytic solution ([0002] sealing electrode group and electrolytic solution in an outer can),
the battery case comprises:
an outer case (Fig. 1, outer case 1) including a bottom part (Fig. 1, bottom part 1a) being a long rectangular plate-shaped member (Note part as shown shaped similar to applicants’ definition of long rectangular plate-shaped member in Fig. 1 of instant application), a pair of first side walls extending upward from long sides of the bottom part (Fig. 1, first side walls 1b), a pair of second side walls extending upward from short sides of the bottom part (Fig. 1, second side walls 1c), and an upper surface opening surrounded by top ends of the first side walls and the second side walls (Fig. 5, upper surface); and
a sealing plate (Fig. 1, upper lid 5) configured to seal the upper surface opening ([0010] covering the outer can 1 hermetically) and provided with an electrolytic solution liquid injection hole ([0010] provided with injection port 28),
the manufacturing method, comprises:
a battery case assembling step for sealing the upper surface opening by the sealing plate under a state where the electrode body is arranged inside the outer case ([0010] welding the upper lid 5 to the outer can 1), so as to assemble the battery case;
a case deforming step ([0015] insufflation step simultaneous with internal volume expansion step) for injecting a gas via the electrolytic solution liquid injection hole to an inside of the battery case having been assembled ([0016] insufflation step blows gas into liquid injection port) so as to deform the battery case ([0016] expanding internal volume);
a liquid injecting step ([0022] liquid injecting step) for injecting the electrolytic solution via the electrolytic solution liquid injection hole to the inside of the battery case having been deformed; and
a sealing step ([0018] sealing step) for sealing the electrolytic solution liquid injection hole of the battery case into which the electrolytic solution is injected ([0018] liquid injection port 28 is closed), wherein
in the case deforming step, an expansion surface (See annotated Fig. 6 below, expansion surface) is formed on at least one of the pair of first side walls (See Fig. 6, expansion surface on side walls), the expansion surface protrudes from a center part of the first side walls in a first direction which go away from the electrode body (See Fig. 6. Note expansion surface as shown shaped similar to applicants’ description of that term in Fig. 4 of instant application),
the expansion surface includes a top part (Fig. 6, top part) which is a portion having the largest protruding amount in the first direction, and a reference part (Fig. 6, reference part) which is a portion having the smallest protruding amount,
the protruding amount from the reference part to the top part in the first direction is defined as a maximum expansion width H (Fig. 6, maximum expansion width H), and
an area where the protruding amount from the reference part is equal to or more than ½ of the maximum expansion width H is defined as a high expansion area (Fig. 6, high expansion area. Note high expansion area as shown shaped similar to applicants’ description of that term in Fig. 4 of instant application).
Toshihide does not explicitly disclose wherein the case deforming step is controlled to make an area size of the high expansion area in a front view be equal to or more than ⅓ of a total area size of the expansion surface.
As the effect of preventing the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said ratio of high expansion area to total area size of the expansion surface, with said electrolytic solution adherence to the injection port increasing at too small of a ratio of high expansion area to total area size of the expansion surface, as evidenced by Toshihide ([0025] too small of internal volume decreases the force for pushing electrolytic solution), the ratio of high expansion area to total area size of the expansion surface would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed area size of the high expansion area cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the case deforming step of the expansion surface of Toshihide such that an area size of the high expansion area in a front view be equal to or more than ⅓ of a total area size of the expansion surface in order to increase internal volume expansion to prevent the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port which results in improved manufacturing by reducing poor welding ([0023]). (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 2, Toshihide discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 1, wherein each of the first side walls has a height being equal to or more than 5 cm ([0028] battery is 10 cm in height).
Toshihide does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the first side walls has a width being equal to or more than 20 cm.
As internal volume expansion is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said width of side surface area, with said internal volume expansion increasing as the side surface area is increased, as evidenced by Toshihide ([0014] side surface having maximum area having a large internal volume expanding), the width of the side surface area would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed width cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the side walls of Toshihide such that each of the first side walls has a width being equal to or more than 20 cm in order to have a large side surface area to increase internal volume expansion to prevent the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port which results in improved manufacturing by reducing poor welding ([0023]). (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 3, Toshihide discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 1, but does not explicitly disclose wherein the case deforming step is controlled to make an aspect ratio of the high expansion area in a front view be equal to or more than 2 (Note applicant defined aspect ratio as the ratio of height with respect to width in [0026] of the instant application).
As internal volume expansion is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said aspect ratio of the high expansion area, with said internal volume expansion increasing as the aspect ratio of the high expansion area is increased, as evidenced by Toshihide ([0014] side surface having maximum area having a large internal volume expanding), the aspect ratio of the high expansion area would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed aspect ratio of the high expansion area cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the high expansion area of Toshihide such that an aspect ratio of the high expansion area in a front view be equal to or more than 2 in order to have a large side surface area to increase internal volume expansion to prevent the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port which results in improved manufacturing by reducing poor welding ([0023]). (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 4, Toshihide discloses the manufacturing according to claim 1, wherein the case has an inclined angle of the expansion surface (See annotated Fig. 6 above, inclined angle θ1) on an area directed from a lower surface of the sealing plate toward a 1 cm downward portion (See Fig. 6. Note angle as shown arranged similar to applicants’ positioning of 1 cm downward in Fig. 4 of instant application) which passes through a center of the first side walls in a long side direction and exists along a vertical direction (See Fig. 6. Note angle as shown arranged similar to applicants’ description of that term in Fig. 4 of instant application).
Toshihide does not disclose wherein the case deforming step is controlled to make an inclined angle of the expansion surface on an area directed from a lower surface of the sealing plate toward a 1 cm downward portion be equal to or more than 5° in a cross section.
As the effect of preventing the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said inclined angle (See Fig. 6, expansion surface increases as inclined angle θ1 increases), with said battery efficiency decreasing at too small of an inclined angle, as evidenced by Toshihide ([0025] too small of internal volume decreases the force for pushing electrolytic solution), the inclined angle would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed inclined angle cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the case deforming step of the expansion surface of Toshihide such that an inclined angle of the expansion surface on an area directed from a lower surface of the sealing plate toward a 1 cm downward portion be equal to or more than 5° in a cross section in order to increase internal volume expansion to prevent the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port which results in improved manufacturing by reducing poor welding ([0023]). (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 5, Toshihide discloses the manufacturing method according to claim 1,
wherein the case has an inclined angle of the expansion surface (See annotated Fig. 6 above, inclined angle θ2) on an area directed from a boundary between the first side walls and the second side walls toward a 2.3 mm inward portion (See Fig. 6. Note angle as shown arranged similar to applicants’ positioning of 2.3 mm inward in Fig. 5 of instant application) which passes through a center of the first side walls in a vertical direction and exists along a long side direction. (See Fig. 6. Note angle as shown arranged similar to applicants’ description of that term in Fig. 5 of instant application)
Toshihide does not disclose wherein the case deforming step is controlled to make an inclined angle of the expansion surface on an area directed from a boundary between the first side walls and the second side walls toward a 2.3 mm inward portion be equal to or more than 1° in a cross section.
As the effect of preventing the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said inclined angle (See Fig. 6, expansion surface increases as inclined angle θ2 increases), with said battery efficiency decreasing at too small of an inclined angle, as evidenced by Toshihide ([0025] too small of internal volume decreases the force for pushing electrolytic solution), the inclined angle would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed inclined angle cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the case deforming step of the expansion surface of Toshihide such that an inclined angle of the expansion surface on an area directed from a boundary between the first side walls and the second side walls toward a 2.3 mm inward portion be equal to or more than 1° in a cross section in order to increase internal volume expansion to prevent the electrolytic solution from adhering to the vicinity of the liquid injection port which results in improved manufacturing by reducing poor welding ([0023]). (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Conclusion
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754