DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-10 are currently pending and have been examined in this application. Claim 2 is Canceled.
This action is made FINAL in response to the “amendment” and “remarks” filed 10/02/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Onogi (US20130238163) in view of Salter (US20240246440) further in view of Segawa (US20140046595).
Claim 1:
Onogi explicitly teaches:
A navigation device mounted on an electrically powered vehicle comprising an electric motor as a driving source, an air conditioner operable in a plurality of air conditioning modes, and a battery configured to supply electricity to the electric motor and the air conditioner, the navigation device comprising:
(Onogi) – “A charge point notification system includes a center device and an in-vehicle device disposed in an electric vehicle. The system provides a notification regarding a charge point based on a comparison between a required energy for traveling to a nearby charge point from a node that is close to the nearby charge point, and a remaining energy of the electric vehicle.” (Abstract)
“The remaining energy is a residual amount of energy remaining in the battery that supplies electric power for a motor of the vehicle, which is used to drive the electric vehicle.” (Para 0067)
“The air-conditioner information is information indicative of whether the air conditioner is ON or OFF, and information of set temperature if it is turned ON. The circulation-intake mode information indicates an operation mode of the air conditioner, which is switched between a circulation mode that circulates an in-vehicle air and an intake mode that takes air from outside of the vehicle and inputs it in the vehicle compartment.” (Para 0068)
“The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
a controller [[that]] configured to operate[[s]] a display to display a guidance route from a current location [to a destination specified by a user],
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the controller is configured to obtain an electricity amount for traveling and an electricity amount for air conditioning, wherein the electricity amount for traveling denotes an amount of electricity needed by the vehicle to travel from the current location to the destination, wherein the electricity amount for air conditioning denotes an amount of electricity needed by the air conditioner to keep operating in an air conditioning mode currently selected from the plurality of air conditioning modes during travel from the current location to the destination,
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 16, at S33, calculates the required energy. A calculation method of how the required energy is calculated is described with reference to FIG. 8.” (Para 0089)
“In the present embodiment, the required energy is assumed to include four types of energy: (i) an energy consumed for a travel in a horizontal direction (i.e., an H-energy hereinafter), (ii) an energy consumed for a travel in a height direction (i.e., a Potential energy hereinafter), (iii) a speed-dependent energy, and (iv) a time-dependent energy. The total of the four types of energy equals to the required energy.” (Para 0090)
“The time-dependent energy is an amount of consumed electric power, or a wattage (Wh). Though various kinds of electric apparatuses are used in a vehicle, the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner is largest among all. Therefore, in the present embodiment, the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner is considered as a total amount of consumed electric power. Here, the amount of consumed electric power is calculated as a product of an electricity consumption (W) and a time, in which the time is assumed to be a total link travel time to the nearby charge point.” (Para 0105)
“The calculation of the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner starts with a determination whether the air-conditioner is turned ON or OFF. The air-conditioner ON-OFF information is taken from the air-conditioner information in the vehicle information. When the air-conditioner is turned OFF, the electricity consumption is assumed to be 0. The electricity consumption of the air-conditioner is determined based on a difference between set temperature and outside temperature as well as an operation mode setting (i.e., the circulation mode or the intake mode). More practically, the electricity consumption is determined based on a relationship between the temperature difference and the electricity consumption of the air-conditioner. Such relationship is prepared for each of the vehicle types, and for both of the circulation mode and the intake mode of the air-conditioner operation.” (Para 0106)
wherein the controller is configured to add the electricity amount for air conditioning to the electricity amount for traveling to obtain a total amount of electricity,
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 16, at S33, calculates the required energy. A calculation method of how the required energy is calculated is described with reference to FIG. 8.” (Para 0089)
“In the present embodiment, the required energy is assumed to include four types of energy: (i) an energy consumed for a travel in a horizontal direction (i.e., an H-energy hereinafter), (ii) an energy consumed for a travel in a height direction (i.e., a Potential energy hereinafter), (iii) a speed-dependent energy, and (iv) a time-dependent energy. The total of the four types of energy equals to the required energy.” (Para 0090)
wherein, in response to [[when]] a remaining amount of electricity stored in the battery [[is]] being less than the total amount of electricity, the controller is configured to operate first site by the vehicle with the remaining amount of electricity while keeping operation of the air conditioner in the currently selected air conditioning mode, [the first site being [[and is]] located between the current location and the destination], along with positional information on a first charging spot around the first site, and
(Onogi) – “Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein, [upon receiving from the user an instruction for displaying information about the plurality of air conditioning modes], the controller is configured to: obtain a second site reachable by the vehicle with the remaining amount of electricity while keeping the operation of the air conditioner in another air conditioning mode of the plurality of air conditioning modes,
(Onogi) – “Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
“The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
the another air conditioning mode causing an electric load on the air conditioner to decrease from that in the currently selected air conditioning mode,
(Onogi) - “The air-conditioner information is information indicative of whether the air conditioner is ON or OFF, and information of set temperature if it is turned ON. The circulation-intake mode information indicates an operation mode of the air conditioner, which is switched between a circulation mode that circulates an in-vehicle air and an intake mode that takes air from outside of the vehicle and inputs it in the vehicle compartment.” (Para 0068)
“The calculation of the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner starts with a determination whether the air-conditioner is turned ON or OFF. The air-conditioner ON-OFF information is taken from the air-conditioner information in the vehicle information. When the air-conditioner is turned OFF, the electricity consumption is assumed to be 0. The electricity consumption of the air-conditioner is determined based on a difference between set temperature and outside temperature as well as an operation mode setting (i.e., the circulation mode or the intake mode). More practically, the electricity consumption is determined based on a relationship between the temperature difference and the electricity consumption of the air-conditioner. Such relationship is prepared for each of the vehicle types, and for both of the circulation mode and the intake mode of the air-conditioner operation.” (Para 0106)
[the second site being located between the current location and the destination], along with positional information on a second charging spot around the second site, and
(Onogi) – “Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
“The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
operate the display to show the first site related to the currently selected air conditioning mode along with the positional information on the first charging spot, and the second site related to the another air conditioning mode along with the positional information on the second charging spot.
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
“Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
Onogi does not explicitly teach:
to a destination specified by a user… the first site being [[and is]] located between the current location and the destination… upon receiving from the user an instruction for displaying information about the plurality of air conditioning modes …the second site being located between the current location and the destination
Salter, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
to a destination specified by a user… the first site being [[and is]] located between the current location and the destination… the second site being located between the current location and the destination
(Salter) – “The operation begins with controller 48 confirming that BEV 12 is on (or will be on) a vehicle trip having a starting origin and a final destination, as indicated in process block 92. The operation continues with controller 48 confirming that traction battery 24 will have to be charged at a charging station during the vehicle trip for the BEV to have enough range to be driven to the final destination, as indicated in process block 94. Controller 48 with navigation system 60 identifies one or more drive routes for implementing the vehicle trip. The vehicle user may use user interface 62 of navigation system 60 to select one the drive routes.” (Para 0049)
“The steps of process block 92 and process block 94 thus involve controller 48 confirming intent for traction battery 24 to be charged based on a route guidance system, user input, or other related information such as the diver's occupation (ridesharing, taxi, delivery, etc.) indicating a final location travel distance further than the vehicle range.” (Para 0050)
“The operation further includes controller 48 in conjunction with navigation system 60 identifying charging stations within range of BEV 12 while still following the selected drive route, as indicated by process block 96. That is, the locations of charging stations within range of BEV 12 while still following the intended drive route (or intended vehicle function) are identified.” (Para 0051)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the charge point notification system of Onogi with the methods for charging an electrified vehicle of Salter. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, for the purpose of “minimizing the overall time of the vehicle trip.” (Salter Para 0016)
Salter does not explicitly teach:
upon receiving from the user an instruction for displaying information about the plurality of air conditioning modes
Segawa, in the same field of endeavor of vehicle navigation, teaches:
upon receiving from the user an instruction for displaying information about the plurality of air conditioning modes
(Segawa) – “A display device, such as a liquid crystal display (LCD) or an organic electroluminescence (EL) display, can be used as the display unit 12. The operation unit 14 is an input device used by a user when the user inputs information and an instruction into the route planning device 1. A touch panel disposed on a display screen of the display unit 12 can be used as the operation unit 14.” (Para 0038)
“Upon receiving the position information (the latitude and longitude) of the destination from the operation unit 14, the route planner 40 starts planning a plurality of driving routes from the current location and the destination. The plurality of routes include the fastest route (namely that with the shortest travel time), an eco-route which is the most power efficient, and a standard route with a shortest distance to the destination along roads each having a predetermined width or greater. Note that the position information of the destination can be input by the user selecting the destination on a map displayed on the display unit 12 through the operation unit 14 (e.g., a touch panel).” (Para 0057)
“Accordingly, the AC power calculator 44 calculates the AC power consumption Pee for each of the following three cases: the case in which a current air conditioner setting temperature To remains unchanged, the case in which the air conditioner setting temperature is increased by (Tc+1.degree. C.), and the case in which the air conditioner setting temperature is decreased by 1.degree. C. (Tc-1.degree. C.).” (Para 0079)
“As described above, a comfort level score is given to each of three planned routes (the fastest route, the standard route, and the eco route), each of three drive mode (the sport mode, the normal mode, and the eco mode), and four air conditioning setting modes (air conditioning OFF, the current preset temperature Tc, TC+1.degree. C., and TC-1.degree. C.). Accordingly, the operation plan selector 50 calculates, using equation (7), the total comfort level score S.sub.TOTAL for each of four air conditioning settings in each of three drive modes of each of the three planned routes.” (Para 0124)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the charge point notification system of Onogi with the route planning device of Segawa. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to “[assist] a driver in driving an electric vehicle, comfortably in consideration of a trade-off between driver comfort in terms of operability and interior comfort and a maximum driving distance.” (Segawa Para 0010)
Claim 2: Canceled
Claim 3:
Onogi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Onogi further teaches:
wherein the vehicle comprises a button configured to receive selection of an air conditioning modethe user
(Onogi) - “The air-conditioner information is information indicative of whether the air conditioner is ON or OFF, and information of set temperature if it is turned ON. The circulation-intake mode information indicates an operation mode of the air conditioner, which is switched between a circulation mode that circulates an in-vehicle air and an intake mode that takes air from outside of the vehicle and inputs it in the vehicle compartment.” (Para 0068)
“The calculation of the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner starts with a determination whether the air-conditioner is turned ON or OFF. The air-conditioner ON-OFF information is taken from the air-conditioner information in the vehicle information. When the air-conditioner is turned OFF, the electricity consumption is assumed to be 0. The electricity consumption of the air-conditioner is determined based on a difference between set temperature and outside temperature as well as an operation mode setting (i.e., the circulation mode or the intake mode). More practically, the electricity consumption is determined based on a relationship between the temperature difference and the electricity consumption of the air-conditioner. Such relationship is prepared for each of the vehicle types, and for both of the circulation mode and the intake mode of the air-conditioner operation.” (Para 0106)
Claim 4:
Onogi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 1 teach those respective limitations. Onogi further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to operate the display to show a map on which a first guidance line is indicated on a route from the current location to [[a]] the first site first charging spot mark indicated at a location of [[a]] the first charging spo
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
“Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
the controller is further configured to operate the display to show the first guidance line and the first charging spot mark with a same first color or a same first pattern.
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Examiner Note: The color of the display is varied according to the notification level and may be any color as desired, including a same color.
Claim 5:
Onogi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 3 teach those respective limitations. Onogi further teaches:
wherein the controller is configured to operate the display to show a map on which a first guidance line is indicated on a route from the current location to the first site first charging spot mark indicated at a location of the first charging spot
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
“Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
the controller is further configured to operate the display to show the first guidance line and the first charging spot mark with a same first color or a same first pattern.
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Examiner Note: The color of the display is varied according to the notification level and may be any color as desired, including a same color.
Claim 6:
Onogi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 5 teach those respective limitations. Onogi further teaches:
whereinthe map shows a location of a further charging spot other than the first charging spot with a further charging spot mark that is indicated with a further color different from the first color,or with a further pattern different from the first pattern.
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Claim 7:
Onogi in combination with the references relied upon in Claim 5 teach those respective limitations. Onogi further teaches:
whereinthe map shows a location of a further charging spot other than the first charging spot with a further charging spot mark that is indicated with a further color different from the first color, or with a further pattern different from the first pattern.
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Claim 8:
Onogi explicitly teaches:
An electrically powered vehicle, comprising: an electric motor as a driving source;
an air conditioner operable in a plurality of air conditioning modes; a batteryconfigured to supply power to the electric motor and the air conditioner; and a navigation device comprising
(Onogi) – “A charge point notification system includes a center device and an in-vehicle device disposed in an electric vehicle. The system provides a notification regarding a charge point based on a comparison between a required energy for traveling to a nearby charge point from a node that is close to the nearby charge point, and a remaining energy of the electric vehicle.” (Abstract)
“The remaining energy is a residual amount of energy remaining in the battery that supplies electric power for a motor of the vehicle, which is used to drive the electric vehicle.” (Para 0067)
“The air-conditioner information is information indicative of whether the air conditioner is ON or OFF, and information of set temperature if it is turned ON. The circulation-intake mode information indicates an operation mode of the air conditioner, which is switched between a circulation mode that circulates an in-vehicle air and an intake mode that takes air from outside of the vehicle and inputs it in the vehicle compartment.” (Para 0068)
“The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
a controller which is configured to operate a display to show a guidance route from a current location [to a destination specified by a user],
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein the controller in the navigation device is further configured to obtain an electricity amount for traveling and an electricity amount for air conditioning, wherein the electricity amount for traveling denotes an amount of electricity needed by the vehicle to travel from the current location to the destination, wherein the electricity amount for air conditioning denotes an amount of electricity needed by the air conditioner to keep operating in an air conditioning mode currently selected from the plurality of air conditioning modes during travel from the current location to the destination,
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 16, at S33, calculates the required energy. A calculation method of how the required energy is calculated is described with reference to FIG. 8.” (Para 0089)
“In the present embodiment, the required energy is assumed to include four types of energy: (i) an energy consumed for a travel in a horizontal direction (i.e., an H-energy hereinafter), (ii) an energy consumed for a travel in a height direction (i.e., a Potential energy hereinafter), (iii) a speed-dependent energy, and (iv) a time-dependent energy. The total of the four types of energy equals to the required energy.” (Para 0090)
“The time-dependent energy is an amount of consumed electric power, or a wattage (Wh). Though various kinds of electric apparatuses are used in a vehicle, the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner is largest among all. Therefore, in the present embodiment, the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner is considered as a total amount of consumed electric power. Here, the amount of consumed electric power is calculated as a product of an electricity consumption (W) and a time, in which the time is assumed to be a total link travel time to the nearby charge point.” (Para 0105)
“The calculation of the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner starts with a determination whether the air-conditioner is turned ON or OFF. The air-conditioner ON-OFF information is taken from the air-conditioner information in the vehicle information. When the air-conditioner is turned OFF, the electricity consumption is assumed to be 0. The electricity consumption of the air-conditioner is determined based on a difference between set temperature and outside temperature as well as an operation mode setting (i.e., the circulation mode or the intake mode). More practically, the electricity consumption is determined based on a relationship between the temperature difference and the electricity consumption of the air-conditioner. Such relationship is prepared for each of the vehicle types, and for both of the circulation mode and the intake mode of the air-conditioner operation.” (Para 0106)
wherein the controller in the navigation device is further configured to add the electricity amount for air conditioning to the electricity amount for traveling to obtain a total amount of electricity,
(Onogi) – “The calculation unit 16, at S33, calculates the required energy. A calculation method of how the required energy is calculated is described with reference to FIG. 8.” (Para 0089)
“In the present embodiment, the required energy is assumed to include four types of energy: (i) an energy consumed for a travel in a horizontal direction (i.e., an H-energy hereinafter), (ii) an energy consumed for a travel in a height direction (i.e., a Potential energy hereinafter), (iii) a speed-dependent energy, and (iv) a time-dependent energy. The total of the four types of energy equals to the required energy.” (Para 0090)
wherein, in response to [[when]] a remaining amount of electricity stored in the battery [[is]] being less than the total amount of electricity, the controller in the navigation device is configured to operatefirst site by the vehicle with the remaining amount of electricity while keeping operation of the air conditioner in the currently selected air conditioning mode, [the first site being [[and is]] located between the current location and the destination], along with positional information on a first charging spot around the first site, and
(Onogi) – “Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
Examiner Note: Bracketed text not explicitly taught by primary reference, but is taught by non-primary reference later in the rejection.
wherein, [upon receiving from the user an instruction for displaying information about the plurality of air conditioning modes], the controller is configured to: obtain a second site reachable by the vehicle with the remaining amount of electricity while keeping the operation of the air conditioner in another air conditioning mode of the plurality of air conditioning modes,
(Onogi) – “Resuming the description of FIG. 7, after the calculation of the required energy at S33, the calculation unit 16, at S34, determines a reachability and an affordability of the vehicle. In other words, whether the electric vehicle can reach the nearby charge point, and to what degree the nearby charge point is easy to reach by the vehicle (i.e., affordability). In the reachability determination, the air-conditioner ON-time required energy and information regarding the remaining energy included in the vehicle information are compared with each other.” (Para 0109)
“Even when the remaining energy is greater than the lowest ON-time required energy (i.e., the minimum value from among many ON-time required energy values if many charge points exist), if the energy difference is less than or equal to a second threshold TH2, where the second threshold is less than the first threshold, such situation is determined to have a "Small" affordability. The second threshold TH2 may have an arbitrary value as long as the threshold TH2 can be considered as "small."” (Para 0111)
“When the remaining energy is smaller than the lowest ON-time required energy, the remaining energy is compared with the OFF-time required energy. When multiple nearby charge points exist, the comparison is performed with the OFF-time required energy of all of multiple charge points. If the OFF-time required energy of at least one of such charge points is greater than the remaining energy as a result of comparison, such situation is determined as "Reachable with air-cond. OFF," and the affordability is determined as "Extra-Small."” (Para 0113)
“The calculation unit 26 determines a notification level at S41, and then determines the content of the notification (i.e., notification content), at S42, based on the notification level. The notification content may be, for example, a message reflecting the notification content and a display color according to the notification level when the notification is depicted on a display unit (not shown). Further, the position of the reachable charge point, the congestion of such charge point, and the additional facility of such point may also be displayed. Further, the travel distance to the charge point, the route to the charge point, and the required travel time to the charge point may also be displayed.” (Para 0126)
the another air conditioning mode causing an electric load on the air conditioner to decrease from that in the currently selected air conditioning mode,
(Onogi) - “The air-conditioner information is information indicative of whether the air conditioner is ON or OFF, and information of set temperature if it is turned ON. The circulation-intake mode information indicates an operation mode of the air conditioner, which is switched between a circulation mode that circulates an in-vehicle air and an intake mode that takes air from outside of the vehicle and inputs it in the vehicle compartment.” (Para 0068)
“The calculation of the amount of the electric power consumed by the air-conditioner starts with a determination whether the air-conditioner is turned ON or OFF. The air-conditioner ON-OFF information is taken from the air-conditioner information in the vehicle information. When the air-conditioner is turned OFF, the electricity consumption is assumed to be 0. The electricity consumption of the air-conditioner is determined based on a difference between set temperature and outside temperature as well as an operation mode setting (i.e., the circulation mode or the intake mode). More practically, the electricity consumption is determined based on a relationship between the temperature difference and the electricity consumption of the air-conditioner. Such relationship is prepared for each of the vehicle types, and for both of the circulation mode and the intake mode of the air-conditioner operation.” (Para 0106)