DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1,4,7,8,10, and 20-28 are pending and claims 7,8,10, and 24 are withdrawn, while claims 2,3,5,6,9 and 11-19 have been cancelled.
This is in response to the amendment filed 8/13/2026.
Allowable Subject Matter
The indicated allowability of claims 9 and 27 are withdrawn in view of the reference(s) to Townhill. Rejections based on the newly cited reference(s) follow.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 8/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding claim 1, the Townhill reference discloses that, the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes do not overlap a longitudinal axis of the connector assembly (as shown below 15 and 17 pipes do not overlap the longitudinal axis, being the main longitudinal centerline through the pipes),
Regarding claims 27 and 28, the Townhill reference discloses that the first and second shells are configured to rotate in a same direction about the longitudinal axis to switch from the first position to the second position (page 3, left column, lines 28-33).
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7,8, and 10-11 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2025. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Species 1 in the reply filed on 7/30/2025 was acknowledged.
New claim 24 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,20,21,23,and 25- 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Townhill (US 2317827).
Regarding claim 1, Townhill discloses a connector assembly (10-14), comprising:
a first connector (14,12) comprising a first housing (14,14a) and one or more first pipes (17 pipe connected to 12) to flow fluid;
a second connector (13,11) comprising a second housing (13,13a) and one or more second pipes (15 pipe connected to 11) to flow the fluid; and
a blocker (the front surface of 13a,14a) disposed between the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes, wherein the blocker has one or more openings (the opening 31), wherein the first and second housings comprise first and second pipe connectors (12b,11b) and first and second shells (the outer diameter section of 13,14), respectively, wherein the first and second pipe connectors are to connect between (i) the first and second shells, and (ii) the one or more first and second pipes, respectively, and wherein the first and second shells are to fit over the first and second pipe connectors (as seen in the figures below, 14 fits over sections of the outer part of 12b, and 13 fits over sections of the outer part of 11b), respectively,
the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes do not overlap a longitudinal axis of the connector assembly (as shown below 15 and 17 pipes do not overlap the longitudinal axis), wherein:
wherein (I) (a) the first and second pipe connectors, and(b) the one or more first and second pipes are static while the first and second shells are to rotate about a longitudinal axis of the connector assembly (page 3, left column, lines 24-37), or (II) the first and second shells are static while (a) the first and second pipe connectors, and (b) the one or more first and second pipes are to rotate about the longitudinal axis
and wherein: in a first position (bottom view of Figure 4), the one or more first pipes are facing the one or more second pipes (as shown below), respectively, but the blocker is to block flowing of the fluid between the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes, and in a second position (as shown in the upper view of Fig 3), in response to a rotation of the first and second shells from the first position, relative to the first and second pipe connectors and the one or more first and second pipes, about a longitudinal axis (the inherent horizontal centerline axis through the assembly) of the connector assembly, the blocker is to enable the flowing by aligning the one or more openings with the one or more first pipes, and with the one or more second pipes, respectively (as shown in the upper view of Fig. 3, page 3, left column, lines 28-37).
Regarding claim 4, Townhill discloses the first and second shells (the outer diameter section of 13,14) are to rotate about the longitudinal axis (page 3, left column, lines 24-37), relative to the first and second pipe connectors, respectively, so as to switch a position (the “ports 31 will be moved into alignment”) of the connector assembly between the first position and the second position.
Regarding claim 20, Townhill discloses the first and second pipe connectors (12b,11b) have adapters (the female threads at 11a,12a) configured to fit in the one or more first and second pipes (15/16;17/18), respectively, and to couple between (i) the one or more first and second pipes, and (ii) the first and second pipe connectors, respectively.
Regarding claim 21, Townhill discloses first and second brackets (16,18) fitted over the one or more first and second pipes (15,17), respectively, wherein the first and second brackets are configured to prevent twisting of the one or more first and second pipes about the longitudinal axis.
Regarding claim 23, Townhill discloses the first and second pipe connectors have recesses (the recesses surrounding seal 24) configured to fit sealing rings 24 to prevent leaking while rotating the first and second shells relative to the first and second pipe connectors.
Regarding claim 25, Townhill discloses the blocker is disposed between the first and second housings when the first and second housings are mated, as shown in Figure 4 above.
Regarding claim 26, Townhill discloses the first and second shells are configured to rotate together about the longitudinal axis (page 3, left column, lines 24-37).
Regarding claim 27, Townhill discloses the first and second shells are configured to rotate in a same direction about the longitudinal axis to switch from the first position to the second position (page 3, left column, lines 28-33).
Regarding claim 28, Townhill discloses a connector assembly (10-14), comprising: a first connector (12,14) comprising a first housing (14,14a) and one or more first pipes (17 pipe connected to 12) to flow fluid; a second connector (11,13) comprising a second housing (13,13a) and one or more second pipes (15 pipe connected to 11) to flow the fluid; and a blocker (the front surface of 13a,14a) disposed between the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes, wherein the blocker has one or more openings (31 opening), wherein the first and second housings comprise first and second pipe connectors (11b,12b) and first and second shells (the outer diameter section of 13,14), respectively, wherein the first and second pipe connectors are to connect between (i) the first and second shells, and (ii) the one or more first and second pipes, respectively, and wherein the first and second shells are to fit over the first and second pipe connectors, respectively, wherein
(III) (a) the first and second pipe connectors, and (b) the one or more first and second pipes are static while the first and second shells are to rotate about a longitudinal axis of the connector assembly (page 3, left column, lines 24-37), or
(IV) the first and second shells are static while (a) the first and second pipe connectors, and (b) the one or more first and second pipes are to rotate about the longitudinal axis, and wherein: in a first position, the one or more first pipes are facing the one or more second pipes, respectively, but the blocker is to block flowing of the fluid between the one or more first pipes and the one or more second pipes (see Fig. 4), and in a second position, in response to a rotation of the first and second shells from the first position, relative to the first and second pipe connectors and the one or more first and second pipes, about the longitudinal axis of the connector assembly, the blocker is to enable the flowing by aligning the one or more openings with the one or more first pipes, and with the one or more second pipes (see Fig. 3), respectively, and the first and second shells are configured to rotate in a same direction about the longitudinal axis to switch from the first position to the second position (page 3, left column, lines 28-33).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Townhill ‘827 in view of Elliott (US 2727759).
Regarding claim 22, Townhill discloses all of the features of the claimed invention although are silent to having that the first and second shells have recesses configured to fit retaining rings to contain the first and second pipe connectors inside the first and second shells, respectively.
Elliott teaches the use of a shell (62) having a recess configured to fit a retaining ring to contain a pipe connector inside the shell.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the claimed invention was made to employ a recess and ring as taught by Elliott into the device of Townhill to have the first and second shells have recesses configured to fit retaining rings to contain the first and second pipe connectors inside the first and second shells, respectively, in order to retain the outer part to the inner part to provide protection from dust particles (Elliott, col.3, lns. 63-67).
Conclusion
https://www.uspto.gov/patents/uspto-automated-interview-request-air-form.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753