DETAILED ACTION
1. The following Office Action is based on the amendment filed on 10 April 2026, having claims 1-20.
Response to Arguments
3. Applicant’s arguments, filed on 10 April 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-20 have been fully considered and are persuasive. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Lei (US 2026/0095910 A1). Applicant argued that Nory did not teach the newly added limitation of scheduling multiple cells based on the DCI. Lei teaches the added limitation. Claims 1-20 are rejected based on the combination of Lei and Nory, and this action is made Final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nory et al. (US 2023/0284205 A1) in view of
For claims 1 and 8, Nory discloses an apparatus (Fig 20, UE 4530 or Fig 17, UE 4200), comprising: a transceiver (Fig 17, communication subsystem 4231) which, during operation, wirelessly communicates with a network node (Fig 20, base station 4520) of a wireless network (Fig 17, Network 4243a); and
a processor (Fig 17, processor 4201) communicatively coupled to the transceiver (Fig 17, processor 4201 is coupled to communication subsystem 4231 (transceiver) via bus 4202) such that, during operation, the processor performs operations comprising:
receiving, via the transceiver, a configuration of one or more search spaces for a downlink control information (DCI) indicating a scheduling on a first cell in a second cell ([0082-0083] the UE is configured with a plurality of search space sets for a DCI with a scheduling cell A (first cell or primary cell) and a scheduled cell B (second cell or Scell));
detecting, via the transceiver, the DCI indicating the scheduling on the first cell in the second cell according to the configuration ([0083] the scheduling information for the first and second cells are indicated in a PDCCH (downlink) DCI); and
determining not to monitor physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) candidates on an active downlink (DL) bandwidth part (BWP) of the first cell ([0092] the UE does not monitor PDDCH candidates on an active BWP of the primary cell).
For claims 1 and 8, Nory does not expressly disclose that the DCI indicates multiple scheduling on multiple cells in a second cell. Lei, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the DCI indicates multiple scheduling on multiple cells in a second cell (abstract and [0086], the DCI indicates scheduling for a first set of cells in a second cell). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement the multi-cell scheduling method of Lei in the communication network of Nory at the time of the invention.
For claims 2 and 9, Nory discloses the DCI is a multi-cell scheduling DCI ([0097] cross-carrier scheduling allows multi-cell (primary cell and Scell) scheduling DCI format).
For claims 3, 10, and 18, Nory does not expressly disclose a DCI format 0_3 for scheduling of a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission on the first cell among a plurality of cells. However, Nory discloses DCI format (0_2) and DCI format (1_2) may be used for PDSCH or PUSCH transmission on the primary cell [0037] and other DCI formats may be used. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use DCI format (0_3) or DCI format (1_3) based on the teachings on Nory without departing from the scope of the invention.
For claims 4, 11, and 19, Nory does not expressly disclose the DCI comprises a DCI format 1_3 for scheduling of a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception on the first cell among a plurality of cells. However, Nory discloses DCI format (0_2) and DCI format (1_2) may be used for PDSCH or PUSCH transmission on the primary cell [0037] and other DCI formats may be used. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to use DCI format (0_3) or DCI format (1_3) based on the teachings on Nory without departing from the scope of the invention.
For claims 5 and 12, Nory discloses the configuration is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0087] the configuration information is sent via RRC signaling).
For claims 6 and 13, Nory discloses the detecting of the DCI comprises monitoring PDCCH candidates for the one or more search spaces in the second cell ([0092] the UE monitors PDCCH candidates on the Scell only which is the second cell, the second cell has a search space set).
For claims 7 and 14, Nory discloses the monitoring of PDCCH candidates is performed only in the second cell ([0092] the UE monitors PDCCH candidates on the Scell only which is the second cell).
For claim 15, Nory discloses receiving, by a processor of an apparatus, a configuration of one or more search spaces and a plurality of cells for multi-cell scheduling downlink control information (DCI) in a cell group ([0082-0083] the UE is configured with a plurality of search space sets for a DCI for [0062] multiple cells in a cell group, wherein the multiple cells comprise a primary cell and an Scell or special Scell));
detecting, by the processor, a DCI indicating a scheduling on one of the sets of cells in the cell group according to the configuration ([0083] the UE detects a DCI format indicating scheduling on the primary cell)
performing, by the processor, a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) reception or a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) transmission on at least one cell among the one of the sets of cells ([0062] when UE is configured with sScell, PDSCH or PUSCH transmission is scheduled on the primary cell).
For claim 15, Nory does not expressly disclose multiple sets of cells or cell group. However, each set of cells may comprise only 1 cell (or more than one cell). For claim 15, Nory does not expressly disclose a scheduled cells combination in one set of cells is not included in another set of cells. However, Nory discloses that Cell A may be the scheduling cell while Cell B is the scheduled cell ([0082-0083]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to one skilled in the art that the first set (scheduling cell A) is different from the second set (scheduled cell B), and that adding additional cells to each set would not depart from the scope of the invention.
For claim 15, Nory does not expressly disclose that the DCI indicates multiple scheduling on multiple cells in a second cell. Lei, from the same or similar field of endeavor, teaches the DCI indicates multiple scheduling on multiple cells in a second cell (abstract and [0086], the DCI indicates scheduling for a first set of cells in a second cell). Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to implement the multi-cell scheduling method of Lei in the communication network of Nory at the time of the invention.
For claim 16, Nory does not expressly disclose a cell in one set of cells is not included in another set of cells. However, Nory discloses that Cell A may be the scheduling cell while Cell B is the scheduled cell ([0082-0083]. Thus, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to one skilled in the art that the first set (scheduling cell A) is different from the second set (scheduled cell B), and that adding additional cells to each set would not depart from the scope of the invention.
For claim 17, Nory discloses the DCI is a multi-cell scheduling DCI ([0097] cross-carrier scheduling allows multi-cell (primary cell and Scell) scheduling DCI format).
For claim 20, Nory discloses the configuration is received via a radio resource control (RRC) signaling ([0087] the configuration information is sent via RRC signaling).
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form.
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ELISABETH BENOIT MAGLOIRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471