DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In light of Applicant’s amendment, claim(s) claim(s) 26 is canceled and claims 2-5 and 16-20 were previously canceled. Claims 27-30 are added. Claims 7-8 remain withdrawn. Claims 1, 6-15, 21-25 and 27-30 are now pending examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 8/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 under U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Schulz’s concave recesses 20 are not comparable to the claimed cut-out as they are not configured to allow passage of a suture, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. Structurally, since the recesses of Schulz are similar to that of the claimed invention, they are fully capable of meeting any functional requirements, including being configured to pass a suture.
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Examiner disagrees with the argument that the modification to the cap of Vaughan would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. Both references and the claimed invention are directed to bone anchors with similar structures incorporating a cap and barrel portion. As such, one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to modify the cap of Vaughan from a circular shape to include the cutout as taught by Schulz, as it would allow for more maneuverability by being less of an obstruction during a medical procedure. Schulz states the recesses 20 facilitate the subsequent passage of a graft, for example a tendon (paragraph 0052), and the same principle could be applied to allow the passing of the suture of Vaughan if necessary. The motivation for modification of the prior art need not be the reason the present invention includes such a feature.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
As such, the rejection under U.S.C. 103 is maintained.
In response to the argument over 112(b) regarding claim 21, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Applicant argues the limitations “the barrel portion of the cannulation” and "the cap portion of the cannulation" refer to respective segments already recited. However, claim 1 recites “a body including a cap portion…and a barrel portion” prior to the introduction of “a cannulation formed through the body”. Claim 1 does not claim the barrel portion and the cap potion being part of the cannulation, thus the recitation in claim 21 is indefinite. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 21 recites the limitation “the barrel portion of the cannulation” and "the cap portion of the cannulation " in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the limitation will be seen as “the barrel portion” and “the cap portion”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9-12, 22 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughan (US 9474592 B1) (noted on IDS) in view of Schulz (US 20190216456 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claim 1, Vaughan discloses a locking ferrule for performing a knotless tissue repair ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), comprising:
a body (10) (Figure 3-7; Col 7, line 24-25) including a cap portion (62) that includes a top surface (upper surface of 62), a bottom surface (lower surface of 62), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 62) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 3-5), and a barrel portion (30) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Col 7, lines 28-34);
a cannulation (lumen of 30 between 42 and 36) formed through the body (Figure 3, 5; Col 9, line 11-14); and
a plurality of locking barbs (48) arranged within the cannulation and configured to establish a one-way locking mechanism for locking a suture that is shuttled through the cannulation (Figure 3-7; Col 7, lines 58-63).
Vaughan fails to disclose a cut-out formed in the body, the cut-out extending radially into the side wall of the cap portion and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, the cut-out being configured to allow the suture to pass through the cap portion prior to entering the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion that is opposite from the cap portion.
However, Schulz is directed to a bone anchor (10) and a cap portion (11) that includes a top surface (12), a bottom surface (15), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 11) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052); a cut-out (20) formed in the body (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052); a barrel portion (16) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Paragraph 0052); wherein the cut-out extends radially into the side wall and opens through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 1, 4; Paragraph 0052); wherein the cut-out is configured to allow the suture to pass through the cap portion prior to entering the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.) (Paragraph 0052).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan such that wherein the cut-out extends radially into the side wall and opens through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion; wherein the cut-out is configured to allow the suture to pass through the cap portion prior to entering the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion, as taught by Schulz, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to bone anchors. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan with the teachings of Schulz by incorporating wherein the cut-out extends radially into the side wall and opens through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion; wherein the cut-out is configured to allow the suture to pass through the cap portion prior to entering the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion in order to facilitate the subsequent passage of a graft, for example a tendon or potentially a suture (Schulz Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 6, Vaughan further discloses wherein the barrel portion (30) that includes an interior wall (32) and an outer diameter wall (34) (Col 7, lines 28-34).
Regarding claim 9, Vaughan further discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking barbs is angled in a direction toward a cap portion of the body (Figure 3, 5; Col 7, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 10, Vaughan further discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking barbs protrudes inwardly from an interior wall that circumscribes the cannulation (Figure 3, 5; Col 7, line 38-40).
Regarding claim 11, Vaughan further discloses wherein the plurality of locking barbs are arranged in at least a first row (left side) and a second row (right side) within the cannulation (Figure 3, 5; Col 8, line 58-59).
Regarding claim 12, Vaughan further discloses wherein a first portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the first row are staggered relative to a second portion of the plurality of locking barbs of the second row (Figure 5; Col 8, lines 62-65).
Regarding claim 13, Vaughan further discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking barbs includes a pointed tip (52) (Figure 3, 5; Col 7, lines 43-46).
Regarding claim 22, Vaughan further discloses wherein the plurality of locking barbs are flexible structures (Col 8, line 3-8) (the barbs are deflectable and deformable, thus are flexible).
Regarding claim 25, Vaughan discloses a system for performing a knotless tissue repair, comprising:
a suture (26) (Col 8, line 42-48); and
a locking ferrule (10) configured to knotlessly fixate the suture ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), the locking ferrule comprising:
a cap portion (62) that includes a top surface (upper surface of 62), a bottom surface (lower surface of 62), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 62) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 3-5),
a barrel portion (30) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Col 7, lines 28-34);
a cannulation (lumen of 30 between 42 and 36) formed through the body (Figure 3, 5; Col 9, line 11-14); and
a plurality of locking barbs (48) arranged within the cannulation provided by both the cap portion and the barrel portion (the lumen extends through the barrel and cap as shown in Figure 4), the plurality of locking barbs being angled to permit movement of the suture in a first direction and resist movement of the suture in an opposite second direction (Figure 3-7; Col 7, lines 58-63).
Vaughan fails to disclose a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion.
However, Schulz is directed to a bone anchor (10) and a cap portion (11) that includes a top surface (12), a bottom surface (15), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 11) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052); comprising a barrel portion (16) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Paragraph 0052); a scallop (20) formed in the side wall of the cap portion and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052). As a result of the modification, the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.) (Paragraph 0052).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan such that a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion, as taught by Schulz, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to bone anchors. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan with the teachings of Schulz by incorporating a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion in order to facilitate the subsequent passage of a graft, for example a tendon or potentially a suture (Schulz Paragraph 0052).
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Vaughan and Schulz teaches the cut-out is fully capable of being sized to permit the suture to be passed through the cut-out into a socket (14) receiving the barrel portion and thereafter back through the cannulation to a location outside the socket (Figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 29, Vaughan further discloses wherein the plurality of locking barbs are integrally formed features of the body (Col 9, line 43-45) .
Claim(s) 14-15, 23-24, and 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughan in view of Schulz and further in view of Ruff et al. (US 20050267531 A1) (previously of record).
Regarding claims 14-15, Vaughan as modified by Schulz discloses the locking ferrule as recited in claim 1 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the suture includes a varying thickness and wherein the suture includes at least one tapered region where the suture transitions between a thickened section and a thinned section.
However, Ruff is directed to a suture and teaches wherein the suture (90) includes a varying thickness (the barbs 94 and pointed end 96 create varied thickness) (Figure 1; Paragraph 0041) and wherein the suture includes at least one tapered region (96) where the suture transitions between a thickened section and a thinned section (Figure 1; Paragraph 0041).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan as modified by Schulz such that wherein the suture includes a varying thickness and wherein the suture includes at least one tapered region where the suture transitions between a thickened section and a thinned section, as taught by Ruff, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to suture devices. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan as modified by Schulz with the teachings of Ruff by incorporating wherein the suture includes a varying thickness and wherein the suture includes at least one tapered region where the suture transitions between a thickened section and a thinned section in order to promote easy insertion of the suture into the tissue (Paragraph 0049).
Regarding claim 23, Vaughan further discloses wherein the plurality of locking barbs are sized and shaped to interdigitate with the suture at the thickened section to one-way lock the suture (the barbs of Vaughan are designed much like the barbs in the present disclosure. Further, Vaughan pulls a suture through the sleeve interior 28, thus depending on the thickness of the suture, the barbs would be fully capable of interdigitating with the suture at the thickened section to one-way lock the suture) (Figure 3; 5; Col 8, line 7-9; 42-48).
Regarding claim 24, Vaughan further discloses wherein each of the plurality of locking barbs includes a pointed tip (52) that is angled toward the cap portion (Figure 3, 5; Col 7, line 40-42).
Regarding claim 27, Vaughan as modified by Schulz discloses the system as recited in claim 25 but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a thickened section of the suture is approximately twice as thick as a thinned section of the suture.
However, Ruff is directed to a suture and teaches wherein the suture (90) includes a thickened section (134) and a thinned section of the suture (92), wherein a thickened section of the suture is approximately twice as thick as a thinned section of the suture (Figure 12; Paragraph 0042).
It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan as modified by Schulz with the teachings of Ruff by incorporating a suture with a thickened section and a thinned section in order to promote easy insertion of the suture into the tissue (Paragraph 0049).
Further, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to include wherein a thickened section of the suture is approximately twice as thick as a thinned section of the suture as taught by Ruff, since it has been held change in size/proportion does not distinguish over the prior art. In re Rose, 220 F.2d 459, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). n re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976). MPEP 2144
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughan in view of Schulz and further in view of Lopez (US 20160296319 A1) (previously of record).
As best understood in view of the 112(b) issues above, regarding claim 21, Vaughan as modified by Schulz teaches the locking ferrule as recited in claim 1, a second portion of the plurality of locking barbs (barbs within sleeve interior 28) is arranged within a barrel portion of the cannulation (Figure 3; 5; Col 7, lines 58-63) but fails to explicitly disclose wherein a first portion of the plurality of locking barbs is arranged within a cap portion of the cannulation.
However, Lopez is directed to a tissue and bone anchor and teaches a cap portion (1) with a cannulation (18) and plurality of locking barbs (26) arranged within the cap portion of the cannulation (Figure 3A-B; Paragraph 0041).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan as modified by Schulz such that the anchor of Vaughan is provided a plurality of locking barbs arranged within a cap portion of the cannulation, as taught by Lopez, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to bone anchors. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan as modified by Schulz with the teachings of Lopez by incorporating a plurality of locking barbs is arranged within a cap portion of the cannulation in order to increase the area of the barbs to enhance security of the inserted graft or tissue.
Claim(s) 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vaughan in view of Schulz and further in view of Kim (US 20020007182 A1).
Regarding claim 30, Vaughan discloses a system for performing a knotless tissue repair, comprising:
a suture (26) (Col 8, line 42-48); and
a locking ferrule (10) configured to knotlessly fixate the suture ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.), the locking ferrule comprising:
a cap portion (62) that includes a top surface (upper surface of 62), a bottom surface (lower surface of 62), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 62) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 3-5);
a barrel portion (30) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Col 7, lines 28-34), the barrel portion configured to be received within a socket (14) formed in the bone (12) such that the cap portion is seated relative to the cortex of the bone (Figure 1-2);
a cannulation (lumen of 30 between 42 and 36) extending through the cap portion and the barrel portion (Figure 3, 5; Col 9, line 11-14);
a plurality of locking barbs (48) arranged within portions of the cannulation provided by both the cap portion and the barrel portion (the lumen extends through the barrel and cap as shown in Figure 4), the plurality of locking barbs being angled to permit movement of the suture in a first direction and resist movement of the suture in an opposite second direction (Figure 3-7; Col 7, lines 58-63).
Vaughan fails to disclose the bottom surface including a concave curvature configured to conform to a contour of a bone; a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop is configured such that, with the barrel portion received within the socket, the suture is passable through the scallop, down into the socket alongside the barrel portion, and thereafter back through the cannulation from a distal end of the barrel portion to a location outside of the socket, to knotlessly secure a tissue relative to the bone.
However, Schulz is directed to a bone anchor (10) and a cap portion (11) that includes a top surface (12), a bottom surface (15), and a side wall (circumferential side wall of 11) that extends between the top surface and the bottom surface (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052); comprising a barrel portion (16) that protrudes from the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 3; Paragraph 0052); a scallop (20) formed in the side wall of the cap portion and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion (Figure 4; Paragraph 0052). As a result of the modification, the scallop is fully capable of being configured such that, with the barrel portion received within the socket, the suture is passable through the scallop, down into the socket alongside the barrel portion, and thereafter back through the cannulation from a distal end of the barrel portion to a location outside of the socket, to knotlessly secure a tissue relative to the bone, as the scallop can establish a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion ("[A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not what a device does." Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1469, 15 USPQ2d 1525, 1528 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (emphasis in original). A claim containing a "recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus" if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim.) (Paragraph 0052).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan such that a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion, as taught by Schulz, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to bone anchors. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan with the teachings of Schulz by incorporating a scallop formed in the side wall of the cap portion, the scallop extending radially into the side wall and opening through both the top surface and the bottom surface of the cap portion, wherein the scallop establishes a pathway sized to permit the suture to be routed around the cap portion and thereafter introduced into the cannulation at a distal end of the barrel portion opposite the cap portion in order to facilitate the subsequent passage of a graft, for example a tendon or potentially a suture (Schulz Paragraph 0052).
Further, Kim is directed to an anchor system (72) and teaches the bottom surface (bottom surface of 80) including a concave curvature (Figure 13-14A; 16; Paragraph 0045) which is fully capable of being configured to conform to a contour of a bone.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to modify Vaughan as modified by Schulz to include the bottom surface including a concave curvature configured to conform to a contour of a bone, as taught by Kim, as both references and the claimed invention are directed to anchor systems. It would be obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Vaughan as modified by Schulz with the teachings of Kim by incorporating the bottom surface including a concave curvature configured to conform to a contour of a bone in order to contain and cover the desired tissue and/or bone in the operation area (Kim Paragraph 0045).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.J./Examiner, Art Unit 3771
/SHAUN L DAVID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771