DETAILED ACTION
The present application was effectively filed 1/24/2024, thus filed on or after March 16, 2013, and is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Response to Amendment
Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 12, 15, and 18 stand amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to the instant claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the present amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 13, 15, 16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Newman-Toker (US 20220245812 A1) in view of Morris (US 20240074699 A1) and Swital (US 20170188807 A1).
Regarding claim 1, 2, 13, Newman-Toker teaches an apparatus (Figs. 1-3) comprising:
at least one processing device (Fig. 3, Health Analysis Platform 310 having computing resources 315) comprising a processor coupled to a memory (¶62, “Computing resource 315 includes one or more personal computers, workstation computers, server devices, or another type of computation and/or communication device.”);
the at least one processing device being configured:
to obtain eye tracking data associated with a computing device (Figs. 1 and 2, ¶53-55, based on video received of patient at 110, e.g. using image sensor of “a camera to capture video of the patient” per ¶5);
to identify, based at least in part on the obtained eye tracking data, presence of a user viewing a display screen associated with the computing device (Fig. 1, showing the video detection, health analysis including analyze physiological activity of patient 120, and output of diagnosis information);
to determine, based at least in part on the obtained eye tracking data, eye usage data of the identified user (Fig. 1, ¶15, (¶15, “identify patterns associated with the movement, generate a signature associated with the movement, determine whether the patient signature matches a reference signature associated with a particular health condition”, and goes on to specifically contemplate gaze tracking detection data as one example of such movement(s));
to process the determined eye usage data (the signature from Signature Analysis Model in Fig. 1) to generate at least one data structure characterizing conformance of the identified user with a set of one or more eye usage patterns (sequitur) for viewing the display screen associated with the computing device (by virtue of the detected user eye movement execution to confer a change in in operating mode toward the various imaging types);
to generate one or more recommendations of the identified user based at least in part on the generated at least one data structure (Fig. 1, ¶84-86, comparison with Reference Data Structure toward identifying a health condition); and to provide the generated one or more recommendations to the computing device (¶48-50, ¶84-86).
Newman-Toker does not explicitly show the one or more eye usage patterns specifying at least one of (i) a recommended screen distance range, (ii) a recommended viewing angle range, (iii) a recommended uninterrupted screen time duration, and (iv) a recommended blinking rate range, or that the recommendation (disclosed as a treatment plan for the identified health condition per ¶48-50) includes altering an eye usage by the user (that is, the eye usage of the patient analyzed in Fig. 1).
Swital, drawn to a visual behavior monitoring system during use of a worn display, explicitly shows monitoring and collecting visual behaviour data (¶74, “visual behavior data … such as blinking frequency, pupil size, gazing direction, eye expression, eye strain, and/or to oculomotor parameters. The wearer's visual behavior data may further comprise head-mounted device use data relating to the way the wearer uses the head-mounted device, such as the use of a magnification function, the use of a contrast enhancement process or of any image processing available on the head-mounted device.”) and making eye usage recommendations based on the behavior data (¶117, “an alert indicative of wearer's vision state and/or an activation of at least one functionality on the head mounted device and/or an access to a service offer. The service offer may relate to wearer's vision and/or the wearer's general health condition, the wearer's activity and/or the wearer's identification and/or the wearer's environment and/or also postural recommendations such as … such as taking a break or removing the head mounted device.”, considered as an uninterrupted screen time duration recommendation). Furthermore, Morris explicitly shows analogous eye feedback system (Abstract) including emitting an alert to the user of an eye deviation to an amount greater than a predetermined threshold as part of a treatment of an ocular misalignment disorder (Claim 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided followed the teachings of Swital and Morris to provide eye usage recommendations in response to detected ocular feedback using the system of Newman-Toker for the purpose of improving, e.g. strabismus (Morris, ¶1), general health, and posture (Swital, ¶117).
Regarding claim 3, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the eye tracking data associated with the computing device comprises data obtained from one or more depth sensors associated with the computing device (e.g. the camera of Newman-Toker).
Official Notice is taken that depth estimation from images is well known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have implemented depth sensing using the camera of Newman-Toker and thus obtained a more accurate eye tracking determination.
Regarding claim 4, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further discloses wherein identifying the presence of the user viewing the display screen associated with the computing device comprises performing facial recognition of one or more faces detected in a video stream capture utilizing one or more imaging sensors associated with the computing device (¶5, “cause, based on a user input received via the user interface, a camera to capture video of the patient; obtain, from the video and using a facial analysis model, image data associated with one or more physiological characteristics of the patient”).
Regarding claims 15, 16, 18, and 19, the instant claims recite essentially the same limitations as those addressed above and are rejected on the same basis.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-12, 14, 17, and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 5, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and explicitly shows ensuring proper positioning of the user in a frame to enable optimal video (¶24).
The modified Newman-Toker does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises determining a screen distance between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device.
Regarding claim 7, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises determining a viewing angle between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device.
Regarding claim 9, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises determining a duration of time that one or more eyes of the identified user have been viewing the display screen associated with the computing device without an interruption lasting at least a threshold duration of time.
Regarding claim 11, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises determining a blinking rate of one or more eyes of the identified user.
Regarding claim 14, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the apparatus of claim 1, but does not explicitly show wherein providing the generated one or more recommendations to the computing device comprises activating one or more indicators associated with the computing device, the one or more indicators comprising at least one of a visual indicator separate from the display screen associated with the computing device, a designated portion of the display screen associated with the computing device, and one or more audio indicators associated with the computing device.
Regarding claim 17, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the computer program product of claim 15, but does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises:
determining a screen distance between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device; determining a viewing angle between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device;
determining a duration of time that one or more eyes of the identified user have been viewing the display screen associated with the computing device without an interruption lasting at least a threshold duration of time; and
determining a blinking rate of one or more eyes of the identified user.
Regarding claim 20, the modified Newman-Toker teaches the method of claim 18, but does not explicitly show wherein determining the eye usage data of the identified user comprises:
determining a screen distance between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device;
determining a viewing angle between one or more eyes of the identified user and the display screen associated with the computing device;
determining a duration of time that one or more eyes of the identified user have been viewing the display screen associated with the computing device without an interruption lasting at least a threshold duration of time; and
determining a blinking rate of one or more eyes of the identified user.
Regarding claims 6, 8, 10, and 12, the dependent claims depend from a claim that contains aallowable subject matter and therefore contain allowable subject matter.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/COLLIN X BEATTY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872