3Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status
Response to Amendment
In response to the amendment filed 1 – 20; claims 1 - 14 are pending; claims 15 – 20 have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 6, 8, 13 – 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Sniper’s Rifle / rifle de francotirador” by Reneujo (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:2205051, 3/26/2017) in view of “Fiber Optic Fixed Sights for Picatinny Rail - Gel Ball, Gel Blaster, Airsoft” by Superpoo (https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3401070, 2/13/2019; known herein as Thingiverse2)
Re claims 1, 8:
Reneujo teaches
1. A 3D printed training firearm (Reneujo, pg. 1; pg. 10), comprising:
an integral firearm body having no moving parts and printed using a first material indicative of an inert training tool (Reneujo, pg. 10, Reneujo teaches a 3d printed rifle assembled from a plurality of parts with no moving mechanism), including:
a grip portion; a trigger portion (Reneujo, pgs. 1 – 2; pg. 9); and
a barrel portion, the barrel portion having an upper surface, wherein the upper surface comprises a first groove at a muzzle end of the barrel portion and a second groove at a grip end of the barrel portion (Reneujo, pg. 11 show grooves; pg. 2 show a riffle with a rail with grooves for accessory (i.e., scope) including front grooves and the rear grooves); wherein sight are printed using a second material resembling components of a live firearm (Reneujo shows on pg. 2 and pg. 3 shows that components can be printed in different colors).
8. A 3D printed training firearm (Reneujo, pg. 1; pg. 10), the training firearm comprising:
an integral firearm body having no moving parts and printed using a first material of a first color indicative of an inert training firearm (Reneujo, pg. 10, Reneujo teaches a 3d printed rifle assembled from a plurality of parts with no moving mechanism), including:
a grip portion; a trigger portion (Reneujo, pgs. 1 – 2; pg. 9); and
a barrel portion, the barrel portion having an upper surface extending from a muzzle end of the barrel portion to a grip end of the barrel portion, wherein the upper surface comprises a first groove at the muzzle end and a second groove at the grip end (Reneujo, pg. 11 show grooves; pg. 2 show a riffle with a rail with grooves for accessory (i.e., scope) including front grooves and the rear grooves); and
wherein sight(s) are printed using a second material of a second color substantially similar to a color of a live firearm (Reneujo shows on pg. 2 and pg. 3 shows that components can be printed in two different colors).
Reneujo teaches a 3d printed scope (Reneujo, pgs. 3 – 4; pgs. 6 – 8) mounted on a rail. Reneujo does not explicitly disclose a front sight and a rear sight. Thingiverse2 teaches a front sight having a first base portion for positioning within the first groove; and a rear sight having a second base portion for positioning within the second groove (Thingiverse2, pgs. 1 - 7). Therefore, in view of Thingiverse2, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the 3d printed weapon described in Reneujo, by providing the front and rear sights as taught by Thingiverse2 instead of a scope sight, since front and rear sights are known to be lightweight, inexpensive, independent of batteries, and resistant to environments compare to a scope.
Re claim 2:
2. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 1, wherein grip portion, trigger portion, and barrel portion are the integral with the firearm body is created layer-by-layer in a single additive manufacturing session (Reneujo, pg. 10, “Print Settings”).
Re claim 3:
3. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 1, wherein the firearm body is sized and shaped to resemble a make and a model of a live firearm (Reneujo, pgs. 2 - 3).
Re claim 4:
4. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 1, the rear sight comprising a dovetail having first and second posts (Thingiverse2, pg. 2).
Re claim 5:
5. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 4, the front sight comprising a blade, wherein each of the blade, the first post, and the second post include a sight dot (Thingiverse2, pgs. 1 - 2).
Re claim 6:
6. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 4, wherein each sight dot comprises a phosphorescent element (Thingsverse2, pgs. 3 – 7 and website https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3401070 shows sight dots with phosphorescent element).
Re claim 13:
13. The training firearm of claim 8, wherein the second color is black, grey, or metallic in appearance (Reneujo shows on pg. 2 and pg. 3 shows that components can be printed in different colors).
Re claim 14:
14. The training firearm of claim 8, wherein the front sight comprises a blade having a first sight dot, and the rear sight comprises a first and second post having a second and third sight dot, respectively (Thingsverse2, pgs. 3 – 7 and website https://www.thingiverse.com/thing:3401070 shows sight dots with phosphorescent element).
Claims 7 and 9 - 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reneujo and Thingiverse2 as applied to claim 1 and 8 above, and further in view of Fuller (US 2024/0200908 A1)
Re claims 7 and 9 - 11:
Reneujo disclose 7. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 1, wherein each of the first and second groove define a recess and 9. The training firearm of claim 8, the first groove defining a first recess and a
first retention, and the second groove defining a second recess and a second retention. (Reneujo, pg. 11 show grooves; pg. 2 show a riffle with a rail with grooves for accessory (i.e., scope) including front grooves and the rear grooves); but does not explicitly disclose a retention lip.
Fuller teaches an invention related to sights for use on firearms, in particular handguns having a slider element (Fuller, Abstract). Fuller teaches 7. The 3D printed training firearm of claim 1, wherein each of the groove define a recess and a retention lip. 9. The training firearm of claim 8, the groove defining a recess and a retention lip (Fuller, figs 5 – 6 and fig. 9). 10. The training firearm of claim 9, the first base portion of the front sight is configured for placement within the first recess and the first retention lip overlaps a portion of the first base portion. 11. The training firearm of claim 9, the second base portion of the rear sight is configured for placement within the second recess and the second retention lip overlaps a portion of the second base portion (Fuller, figs 5 – 6 and fig. 9). Therefore, in view of Fuller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the training firearm described in Reneujo, by providing the retention lip as taught by Fuller, in the retention mechanism may be biased to a retention position but may be actuatable without tools, e.g. by push buttons, to unlock the retention mechanism to allow the sight mounting component to be removed from the adapter shoe (Fuller, [0049]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Reneujo and Thingiverse2 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of “3D Printed Repeating Slingbow/Crossbow Pistol” (from https://legolini.com, retrieved from Internet Wayback Machine on 1/8/2023, know herein as Legolini).
Re claim 12:
Reneujo teaches two colors: white or black. However, Reneujo does not explicitly disclose 12. The training firearm of claim 8, wherein the first color is blue, orange, or red (Legolini, pg. 7). Therefore, in view of Fuller, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the training firearm described in Reneujo, by other colors as taught by Legolini, since it was known in the art to use different colors for ecstatic reason.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACK YIP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715