DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to independent claim 11 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11, 16-21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cernay et al. (US 20150084285, hereinafter: “Cernay”) in view of Davis (US 20200103036).
In reference to Claim 11
Cernay discloses:
A brush seal (10) for a turbomachine (Abstract, [0001-0002]), comprising:
a bristle package (16) made of a metal or a metal alloy [0005], wherein the bristle package includes a plurality of wires (12, 14) combined to form the bristle package [0014-0015], the plurality of wires being fixed around a core wire (20) in a clamping tube (22) [0017-0018]. (Fig. 1-2)
Cernay discloses a bristle package (16) made of a metal or a metal alloy [0005]; however, Cernay is silent on the specific metal alloy such as Ni-based alloy.
Davis teaches:
A brush seal (84) for a turbomachine, comprising: a bristle package made of a Ni-based alloy [0047-0050] (Fig. 1-9).
Based on the teaching of Davis and Miyashita, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the bristle package of Cernay by constructing them using the nickel-based alloy material as taught by Davis for the purpose of utilizing a well-known material for a bristle package.
In reference to Claim 16
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Cernay discloses a turbomachine comprising the brush seal as recited in claim 11. (Abstract; [0001-0005] (Fig. 1-2, Cernay).
In reference to Claim 17
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Cernay discloses the turbomachine as recited in claim 16 wherein the turbomachine is configured as a gas turbine [0002] (Fig. 1-2, Cernay).
In reference to Claim 18
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Cernay discloses the turbomachine as recited in claim 17 wherein the gas turbine is an aircraft gas turbine. [0002] (Fig. 1-2, Cernay).
In reference to Claim 19
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Cernay discloses the turbomachine as recited in claim 17 wherein the gas turbine is an industrial gas turbine.(“Fields of application for the brush seal according to the invention particularly relate to application in aircraft engines, industrial gas turbines, steam turbines, industrial compressors, or also many other engineering applications,” [0005, Cernay].
In reference to Claim 20
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Cernay discloses the turbomachine as recited in claim 16 wherein turbomachine is configured as a steam turbine. (“Fields of application for the brush seal according to the invention particularly relate to application in aircraft engines, industrial gas turbines, steam turbines, industrial compressors, or also many other engineering applications,” [0005, Cernay].
In reference to Claim 21
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
Davis teaches a method for manufacturing a brush seal (84) comprising providing a bristle package made of a Ni-based alloy [0048-0049, Davis].
In reference to Claim 23
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
The brush seal as recited in claim 11. Cernay discloses the plurality of wires (12, 14, 16) are fixed around the core wire (20) to have ends in a same plane (ends of wires 16 as shown in Fig. 2 of Cernay). [0018].
Claims 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cernay et al. (US 20150084285, hereinafter: “Cernay”) in view of Davis (US 20200103036) as applied to claims 11 and 21 above, and further in view of Miyashita et al. (EP 2835434, hereinafter: “Miyashita”).
In reference to Claim 14
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
The brush seal as recited in claim 11. Cernay as modified by Davis discloses the bristle package made of a Ni-based alloy [0047-0050, Davis] (Fig. 1-9, Davis).
Davis is silent on the composition of the Ni-based alloy.
Miyashita teaches Ni-based alloy which is used to manufacture turbine components [0001-0008].
Miyashita teaches the Ni-based alloy of the bristle package contains the following chemical elements: 7 % to 16 % Co, 17 % to 26 % Cr, 5 % to 13 % Mo, up to 5 % Ti, and up to 5 % Al, all percentages given above being in mass %, with a remainder of the alloy being Ni and inevitable impurities (Table 1, Sample 1). [0087-0088].
Based on the teaching of Miyashita and Cernay as modified by Davis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush seal of Cernay as modified by Davis by utilizing the Ni-based alloy material as taught by Miyashita for the purpose of utilizing a material for a component of a turbine used under a high-temperature environment [0008, Miyashita].
In reference to Claim 22
Cernay as modified by Davis discloses:
The brush seal as recited in claim 21. Cernay as modified by Davis discloses the bristle package made of a Ni-based alloy [0047-0050, Davis] (Fig. 1-9, Davis).
Davis is silent on the composition of the Ni-based alloy.
Miyashita teaches Ni-based alloy which is used to manufacture turbine components and methods of manufacturing the Ni-based alloy. Miyashita discloses step of heat treatment to harden the Ni-based alloy. [0069-0073].
Based on the teaching of Miyashita and Cernay as modified by Davis, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the brush seal of Cernay as modified by Davis by utilizing the Ni-based alloy material and steps of manufacturing it which includes a heat treatment as taught by Miyashita for the purpose of utilizing a material for a component of a turbine used under a high-temperature environment [0008, Miyashita].
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYE S HTAY/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/NATHANIEL E WIEHE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745