DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . If status of the application as subject to 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending in the application and are presently examined.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “plurality of connection circuit boards”, the “circuit board”, “a first end portion electrically connected to the battery module”, and the “second end portion” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities.
Examiner suggests the following amendment to claim 13, for proper antecedent basis, improved clarity, and improved readability:
13. The battery pack, comprising:
the fastening device
the battery module including a plurality of battery cells; and
the circuit board on which at least one integrated circuit (IC), a plurality of conductive pads, and a power circuit;
wherein the power circuit supplies an operation voltage to the at least one IC by using a voltage input through the plurality of conductive pads.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 16 states that “the plurality of connection structures are meander-shaped”. The specification provides no guidance for the meaning of “meander-shaped”. Dictionary definitions of “meander” include “to wander aimlessly” and “a winding path or course”1. The word “meander” thus includes bends or curves. It seems that the word “meander” could include a straight line/path because “wander aimlessly” could be straight or winding. Due to the lack of definition of “meander” in the specification, “meander-shaped” in claim 16 means any shape, including straight or curved.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement. Claims 1-16 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 states “a plurality of connection circuit boards”. Claim 3 states “a flexible circuit board”. From the specification, it seems that these components are electrical connectors. It is unclear why they are referred to as circuit boards, and whether they require circuits. The specification and the claims fail to mention any circuits or electronic processing on these circuit boards. For present examination, these circuit boards are interpreted to be electrical connectors.
Claims 2-16 are rejected due to their dependence on claim 1. Claim 4 is rejected due to its dependence on claim 3.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US20150104689A1 (Frias).
Frias teaches the following claim 1 limitations:
A fastening device of a battery pack (paragraph 97; figures 10A-10B: battery block system 150) that fastens an electrical connection (paragraphs 94-95: circuit board must be electrically connected in order to indicate voltage and balance battery cells) between a battery module (paragraph 97; figures 10A-10B: battery cell 154) and a circuit board (paragraph 94: electrical circuit) managing the battery module (paragraph 94), the fastening device comprising:
a substrate (paragraph 91; figure 7A-7D: circuit board 114) including a plurality of fastening holes (Figure A below);
a plurality of connection circuit boards (paragraph 91; figure 7D: battery cell connectors 118) coupled to a surface of the substrate (114) facing the circuit board (electrical circuit) and electrically connecting (paragraphs 94-95) the battery module (154) and the circuit board (electrical circuit) when in contact (paragraph 83) with the circuit board (electrical circuit); and
a plurality of fastening hooks (paragraph 91; Figure A below: posts 134) fastened to the plurality of fastening holes (Figure A below) capable of fixing a position of the substrate (114) so that the plurality of connection circuit boards (118) come into contact (paragraph 83) with the circuit board (electrical circuit),
wherein the plurality of connection circuit boards (118) each respectively includes a first end portion (Figure A below) electrically connected to the battery module (paragraphs 94-95), and a second end portion coupled (Figure A below) to the substrate (114) and electrically connected (paragraphs 94-95: circuit board must be electrically connected in order to indicate voltage and balance battery cells) to the circuit board (electrical circuit) when in contact with the circuit board (electrical circuit)
Figure A: Annotated Frias Figure 7D
With regard to claim 2, Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Frias also teaches the following limitations of claim 2:
the second end portion (Figure B below) includes a contact pad (paragraph 83; Figure B below: protrusion 24 electrically contacts battery) that contacts a conductive pad of the circuit board when each of the plurality of connection circuit boards contacts the circuit board
Frias’ electrical circuit’s conductive pads must electrically contact the circuit and the batteries that the circuit boards control (paragraphs 94-95). Note that “contact” in claim 2 can mean physical contact / touch, electrical contact, or thermal contact.
Figure B: Annotated Frias Figure 1A
Claim 2 also states:
the contact pad is electrically connected to the first end portion
Frias’ battery cell connector 10 electrically connects a battery at the first end portion to a battery at the second end portion (paragraph 83); therefore, the contact pad, in Figure B above, must be electrically connected to the first end portion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
The claims are in bold font, the prior art is in parentheses.
Claims 3-11 & 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150104689A1 (Frias).
With regard to claim 3, Frias teaches the limitations of claims 1-2 as described above. Claim 3 states:
each of the plurality of connection circuit boards is a flexible circuit board
Frias doesn’t explicitly state that the battery cell connectors are flexible. Frias’ battery cell connectors are bent, and are expected to flex as batteries are pressed against the terminals, based on how these battery cell connectors are illustrated in figures 2-6D. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Frias’ battery cell connectors to be flexible, for proper functioning as illustrated in Frias’ figures.
Frias also teaches the following limitation of claim 3:
the first end portion is separated from the substrate (Figure A above)
With regard to claim 5, Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Frias also teaches the following limitations of claim 5:
each of the plurality of fastening hooks (paragraph 91; figure 7D: posts 134) includes:
a fastening post including a first end portion coupled to a fixing structure having a fixed position in the battery pack and a second end portion inserted into a corresponding fastening hole among the plurality of fastening holes (Figure C below), and
an elastic hook…
Figure C: Annotated Frias Figure 7D
Claim 5 also states:
an elastic hook coupled to an outer surface of the fastening post and having a variable protruding height by pressing
Claim 5 doesn’t explicitly teach this variable height or that the hook is elastic. This type of hook, however, is commonly used, and flexes as it is inserted into the hole. It then springs back after the wider portion passes through, linking the hook in the hole. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Frias’ posts 134 to be flexible, in order to allow the hook to be inserted, then spring back to secure the connection, as is well-known.
With regard to claim 6, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Frias also teaches the following limitation of claim 6:
the elastic hook has a shape with a width that becomes narrower as it approaches the second end portion of the fastening post (figure 7D & Figure C above)
With regard to claim 7, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Frias also teaches the following limitation of claim 7:
the elastic hook protrudes so as not to pass through a corresponding fastening hole in an unpressurized state (Frias’ post won’t pass through the hole without sufficient upward pressure to cause the post to flex to allow the hook to enter the hole)
Claim 7 also states:
if the substrate is in a state in which the fastening post is inserted into the corresponding fastening hole, a protrusion height (see height direction in Figure C above) is reduced by a pressure of the substrate, so that the elastic hook passes through the corresponding fastening hole (hook height changes as the post flexes to allow the hook to enter the hole)
With regard to claim 8, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Frias also teaches the following limitation of claim 8:
the elastic hook operates as a stopper that fixes a position of the substrate in a state in which the plurality of fastening hooks are fastened to each fastening hole
This type of a hook normally functions by fastening the two devices together. As the posts flex outward, after the hook passes through the hole, the posts press outward on the hole edges, and the hook prevents backward motion of the post without pressing the posts towards the center.
With regard to claim 9, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1 as described above. Claim 9 states:
a cylindrical spring surrounding the fastening post having a diameter greater than that of the plurality of fastening holes
Frias fails to teach this spring; however, springs are commonly used to apply pressure between components to keep them in place and/or to maintain an electrical connection. For example, common flashlights have used this principle for decades to press the batteries together at one end and to keep pressure on the light bulb at the opposite end.
With regard to claims 4 & 10-11, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claims 1-3 & 5 as described above. Claims 4 & 10-11 state:
Claim 4
the first end portion is coupled to a bus bar and electrically connected to the battery module through the bus bar
Claim 10
the first end portion of the fastening post is coupled to a bus bar of the battery pack
Claim 11
the first end portion of the fastening post is coupled to an upper frame of the battery pack
Frias doesn’t describe use a busbar at these claimed locations. Busbars, however, are common features in battery packs. In case of a space between electrical components in a circuit, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to use a busbar to complete the electrical circuit.
Frias teaches the following claim 13 limitations:
A battery pack (paragraph 97; figures 10A-10B: battery block system 150), comprising:
the fastening device of any one as claimed in claim 1 (see claim 1 above);
a battery module including a plurality of battery cells (paragraph 91); and
a circuit board (paragraph 94: electrical circuit) on which a plurality of conductive pads (paragraphs 93-94: contact pads 132, electrically-conductive channel 116, parallel copper layer 117)
Frias, however, fails to explicitly teach the following on the circuit board:
at least one IC… and a power circuit supplying an operation voltage to the at least one IC by using a voltage input through the plurality of conductive pads
An integrated circuit (IC) is normally used to fulfill the electrical circuit functions of Frias paragraphs 93-95; therefore, it would have been obvious for Frias’ electrical circuit to include an IC.
Electrical circuits commonly have a power circuit, such as a transformer or a Cockcroft-Walton voltage multiplier, to provide power to the electrical circuit on the board or to components external to the electrical board.
With regard to claim 14, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 13 as described above. Frias also teaches the following limitations of claim 14:
the second end portion of each of the plurality of connection circuit boards are pressed by the substrate to come into contact with the plurality of conductive pads if the plurality of fastening hooks are fastened to the plurality of fastening holes (paragraphs 83 & 93; figures 1A, 1D, & 8: Circuit board is secured to battery cell connector 10 by pressure. Contact pads 132 contact protrusions 30.)
With regard to claim 15, modified Frias teaches the limitations of claims 1 & 13 as described above. Claim 15 states:
the circuit board includes a main board, and a plurality of connection structures providing a flexible connection between the plurality of conductive pads and the main board
Frias fails to teach these connection structures; however, connection between separate electrical circuits in a computer, with flexible wires or cables, has been common for decades. These flexible wires or cables allow connection between separated segments of the electrical circuit. It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Frias’ electrical circuit to include flexible wires or cables to allow connection between separated segments of the electrical circuit.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150104689A1 (Frias), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of EP0748004A1 (Fabrizio). Frias teaches the limitations of claim 1, as described above. Frias, however, fails to teach the following limitation of claim 12, which is taught by Fabrizio:
the substrate is a transparent substrate (abstract)
Fabrizio describes a transparent rear base (2b) for visual inspection of the interior to check electrical connections without disassembly or measuring instruments (abstract). Similarly, the present specification teaches that the purpose of the transparent substrates is visual inspection of PCB connections (paragraph 62). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Frias’ interconnect board 110 to be transparent, as taught by Fabrizio, for visual inspection.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US20150104689A1 (Frias), as applied to claims 1, 13, & 15, and further in view of US20230163425A1 (Li). Frias, however, fails to teach the following limitations of claim 16, which are taught by Li:
the plurality of connection structures (Figure D below) are meander-shaped or spring-like structures formed by removing (Figure D below) a portion of an outer portion of a board material composing the circuit board (paragraphs 46-50: flexible circuit board 4)
Figure D: Annotated, Partial Li Figure 4
Li is directed to solving circuit cross with a single layer flexible circuit board (paragraph 6). It would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, for Frias’ connection structures to be meander-shaped, and to be formed by removing a portion of the circuit board, as taught by Li for solving circuit cross with a single layer flexible circuit board.
Conclusion
/R.G.W./Examiner, Art Unit 1721
1 https://www.dictionary.com/browse/meander