In the response to this Office action, the Office respectfully requests that support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line numbers in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the Office in prosecuting this application.
The Office has cited particular figures, elements, paragraphs and/or columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant, in preparing the responses, to fully consider each of the cited references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage disclosed by the Office.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
- Applicant’s Amendment filed July 21, 2026 is acknowledged.
- Claim(s) 1, 9, 17 is/are amended
- Claim(s) 1-20 is/are pending in the application.
Priority
The application has claimed priority based on U.S. Provisional Application Serial No. 62/007226 filed on June 3, 2014, U.S. prior filed Application Serial No. 14717587 filed on May 20, 2015 (now U.S. Patent No. 10409361), U.S. prior filed Application Serial No. 16562586 filed on September 6, 2019 (now U.S. Patent No. 11093024), U.S. prior filed Application Serial No. 17390088 filed on July 30, 2021 (now U.S. Patent No. 11921913).
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding Applicant’s assertion that the Office Action’s proposed combination is not adequately supported, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Specifically, Lamson teaches providing an immersive environment as cited in the articulated rejection. Further, Hoefler teaches a visual display with images projected onto the walls of the chamber cited in the articulated rejection.
It is respectfully submitted that given the level of skill of the ordinary workman in the art, as evidenced by the references cited in the instant application, one of ordinary skill would clearly be motivated to modify Weathers as cited in the articulated rejection... To argue otherwise, is to assume an unsupportably low evaluation of the skill of the ordinary workman.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Regarding the amended element, prior arts Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933 and Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 have been cited as fairly teaching and suggesting incorporation of an OLED display configured for low light conditions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 9-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472 in view of Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933 and Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492.
Consider claim 1, Weathers teaches a method comprising: retrieving content to display to a user positioned in a sensory deprivation chamber comprising a base the patient isolating means 12 more particularly includes an enclosure 24 in the form of an egg-shaped pod which is substantially soundproof and lightproof to reduce external stimuli of various types reaching the patient P in the enclosure 24. The enclosure 24 has a flat bottom 26, a entry and exit door 28 hinged on a side of the enclosure 24, and a removable top cover or hatch 30 overlying a top opening 32 in the enclosure 24. The hatch 30 provides access to an upper equipment compartment separate from the patient's compartment. Also, the patient isolating means 12 includes a bed 34 placed in the enclosure 24 on the flat bottom 26 thereof for supporting the patient P when lying down on the bed 34. and column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system).);
retrieving instructions to provide tactile feedback (see Weathers column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51065 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ); and
simultaneously (see Weathers column 11, lines 50-55 where For example, with the patient lying in the soundproof enclosure, images projected on the visual screen of the display can be reinforced or punished with hypothalamus cooling or heating by using the temperature controlling means as well as with injection of aromas by using the aroma delivering means.) displaying the content to the user via a deprivation chamber (see Weathers figure 1, element 28 door, 48 visual display) and providing tactile feedback to a user (see Weathers column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51065 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ).
Weathers is silent regarding a curved display, wherein the curved display screen curves from a position proximate to the user’s face to cover an entire field of view of the user extending at least 180 degrees horizontally, such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision. Weathers does disclose “the psychotherapy apparatus 10 of the present invention, the treatment of emotional arousal is provided through a coordinated and controlled sequence of presentations of visual and auditory stimuli to the patient P” (see Weathers column 3, lines 46-50).
In a related field of endeavor, virtual reality immersion therapy for providing psychotherapy, Lamson teaches using surround projection screens, monitors or devices that permit a user to have a virtual experience so as to facilitate maximum user benefits (see Lamson column 12, line 39-column 13, line 30 and column 24, line 65-column 25, line 15 where Virtual therapy is primarily a psychotherapeutic, psychiatric, medical, educational, and self-help invention for prevention and treatment of psychiatric disorders and for problems not otherwise specified in psychological assessment and diagnostic literature. The process is comprehensive and takes place during immersion in fully interactive three-dimensional virtual reality environments utilizing computer generated graphics, images imported from photographs, and video for sensory stimulation. Immersion is achieved with goggles, a head-mounted-display, or another form of visual stimulation, such as surround projection screens or monitors or devices that permit the user to have a virtual experience.)
In a related field of endeavor, Marti teaches a 3D display having planar or curved shape so as to provide an immersive display experience (see Marti paragraph 0007 where a system for displaying and interacting with three-dimensional (3-D) content is described. The system, which may be a computing or non-computing system, has a non-planar display component. This component may include a combination of one or more planar displays arranged in a manner to emulate a non-planar display. It may also include one or more curved displays alone or in combination with non-planar displays. The non-planar display component provides a field-of-view (FOV) to the user that enhances the user's interaction with the 3-D content and provides an immersive environment. Paragraph 0020 Three-dimensional interactive systems described in the various embodiments describe providing an immersive, realistic and encompassing experience when interacting with 3-D content, for example, by having a non-planar display component that provides an extended field-of-view (FOV) which, in one embodiment, is the maximum number of degrees of visual angle that can be seen on a display component. Paragraph 0022 where this extended FOV may extend from 60 degrees to upper limits as high as 360 degrees, where the user is surrounded. For purposes of comparison, a typical horizontal FOV (left-right) for a user viewing normal 2-D content on a single planar 20'' monitor from a distance of approximately 18'' is about 48 degrees. There are numerous variables that may increase this value, for example, if the user views the display from a very close distance (e.g., 4'' away) or if the display is unusually wide (e.g., 50'' or greater), these factors may increase the horizontal FOV, but generally not filling the complete human visual field. Field-of-view may be extended both horizontally (extending a user's peripheral vision) and vertically, the number of degrees the user can see objects looking up and down. Paragraph 0024-0029 specifically for example figure 1D and paragraph 0026 where FIG. 1D shows another example configuration of a display component with a non-planar display that extends the user's horizontal FOV beyond 180 degrees to approximately 200 degrees. In this embodiment, rather than using multiple planar displays a flexible, an actual curved display is used to create the immersive environment)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers with the teachings of Lamson and Marti to have incorporated a curved display to cover an entire field of view of the user so as to provide a display which followed a contour of Weathers enclosure and provide an immersive treatment environment to an occupant of Weathers apparatus such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision using known techniques with predictable results.
Weathers is silent regarding a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid. In the same field of endeavor, Hoefler teaches an isolation tank where an individual floats in the tank including a visual display where images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber (see Hoefler figure 3, element 16 floatation solution and paragraph 0054 where in-chamber display may be implemented with a free-space display such as an optical light projector adapted to project light onto a liquid spray or vapor surface. As an alternative, the images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber) so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity (see Hoefler paragraph 0048 where sensory deprivation environment provided by the floatation chamber 12 minimizes brain activity by eliminating background sound and visual stimuli. Floating achieves a feeling of weightlessness, effectively eliminating the effect of gravity, which has been estimated to occupy 90% of all central nervous system activity. By freeing the brain from gravity and other external stimuli, floating liberates vast amounts of resources and large areas of the brain which can then be redirected toward the desired treatment or activity.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Weathers to have a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity using known techniques with predictable results.
Weathers is silent regarding wherein the display screen comprises an OLED display configured to provide contrast in low ambient light condition of the sensory deprivation chamber. Hoefler teaches using and LED backlit LCD monitor (see Hoefler paragraph 0032 where an LED backlit LCD monitor, with the brightness levels dimmed to about 12-15% to minimize the amount of light output by the display 40 such that the user remains in a completely dark environment except for a floating image directly above him. Other monitors and types of privacy coating may also be used without departing from the scope of the present teachings).
In a related field of endeavor, Nathan teaches that OLED have higher contrast and demonstrated superiority over the LCD (see Nathan paragraph 0004). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have an OLED display so as to take advantage of an OLED display’s demonstrated superiority over an LCD disclosed by Hoefler. Nathan does not specify contrast in low ambient light conditions.
In a related field of endeavor, Vijeh discloses that less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments which facilitates reducing power needed for the display (see Vijeh column 2, lines 31-43 where Greater brightness results in increased contrast, which increases the readability of displays especially within sunlit conditions. Less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments, which allows the current consumption of the backlight LEDs to be reduced.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have organic light emitting diodes ( organic LED) controlled to reduce current consumption during low light environments so as to reduce power needed to display.
Consider claim 2, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 1 and further teaches components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51-65 where the treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ).
Weathers is silent regarding wherein providing tactile feedback comprises activating tactile elements of a wearable computing system configured to be worn by the user.
In a related field of endeavor, Marti teaches providing haptic feedback comprising vibro-tactile actuators incorporated in a wristband or similar wrist gear that is unintrusive and does not detract from a natural realistic experience of a user (see Marti paragraph 0039). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have a vibrating wristband or similar wrist gear so as to provide tactile stimulation using unintrusive gear so as to not detract from a user’s experience.
Consider claim 3, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the wearable computing system comprises a
Consider claim 4, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the instructions to provide tactile feedback comprises instructions to apply one of heat (see Weathers column 2, line 62-column 3, line 10) or pressure (see Weathers column 10, lines 51-65 where the treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc and Marti paragraph 0039 where vibration corresponds to pressure) to the tactile elements.
Consider claim 5, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 2 and further teaches wherein the instructions to provide tactile feedback comprises instructions to apply tactile feedback for a predetermined duration (see Weather column 1, lines 35-38, column 10, line 8-column 11, line 6 where multiple sessions necessary to treat a patient including individual sessions corresponding to a predetermined duration).
Consider claim 9, Weathers teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium for tangibly storing computer program instructions (see Weathers column 3, line 24-37, column 4, lines 13-36, column 4, line 66-column 5, line 32, column 9, line 17-column 11, line 67 specifically for example figure 5, element 80, 22, 78, 76 and column 9, line 17-column 10, line 50 where computer implemented expert system 80 controls all facets of a patient’s treatment) capable of being executed by a computer processor (see Weathers figure 5, element 80 computer-implemented expert system), the computer program instructions defining steps of:
retrieving content to display to a user positioned in a sensory deprivation chamber comprising a base the patient isolating means 12 more particularly includes an enclosure 24 in the form of an egg-shaped pod which is substantially soundproof and lightproof to reduce external stimuli of various types reaching the patient P in the enclosure 24. The enclosure 24 has a flat bottom 26, a entry and exit door 28 hinged on a side of the enclosure 24, and a removable top cover or hatch 30 overlying a top opening 32 in the enclosure 24. The hatch 30 provides access to an upper equipment compartment separate from the patient's compartment. Also, the patient isolating means 12 includes a bed 34 placed in the enclosure 24 on the flat bottom 26 thereof for supporting the patient P when lying down on the bed 34. and column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system).);
retrieving instructions to provide tactile feedback (see Weathers column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51-65 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ); and
simultaneously (see Weathers column 11, lines 50-55 where For example, with the patient lying in the soundproof enclosure, images projected on the visual screen of the display can be reinforced or punished with hypothalamus cooling or heating by using the temperature controlling means as well as with injection of aromas by using the aroma delivering means.) displaying the content to the user via a components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51065 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ).
Weathers is silent regarding a curved display, wherein the curved display screen curves from a position proximate to the user’s face to cover an entire field of view of the user extending at least 180 degrees horizontally such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision. Weathers does disclose “the psychotherapy apparatus 10 of the present invention, the treatment of emotional arousal is provided through a coordinated and controlled sequence of presentations of visual and auditory stimuli to the patient P” (see Weathers column 3, lines 46-50).
In a related field of endeavor, virtual reality immersion therapy for providing psychotherapy, Lamson teaches using surround projection screens, monitors or devices that permit a user to have a virtual experience so as to facilitate maximum user benefits (see Lamson column 12, line 39-column 13, line 30 and column 24, line 65-column 25, line 15 where Virtual therapy is primarily a psychotherapeutic, psychiatric, medical, educational, and self-help invention for prevention and treatment of psychiatric disorders and for problems not otherwise specified in psychological assessment and diagnostic literature. The process is comprehensive and takes place during immersion in fully interactive three-dimensional virtual reality environments utilizing computer generated graphics, images imported from photographs, and video for sensory stimulation. Immersion is achieved with goggles, a head-mounted-display, or another form of visual stimulation, such as surround projection screens or monitors or devices that permit the user to have a virtual experience.)
In a related field of endeavor, Marti teaches a 3D display having planar or curved shape so as to provide an immersive display experience (see Marti paragraph 0007 where a system for displaying and interacting with three-dimensional (3-D) content is described. The system, which may be a computing or non-computing system, has a non-planar display component. This component may include a combination of one or more planar displays arranged in a manner to emulate a non-planar display. It may also include one or more curved displays alone or in combination with non-planar displays. The non-planar display component provides a field-of-view (FOV) to the user that enhances the user's interaction with the 3-D content and provides an immersive environment. Paragraph 0020 Three-dimensional interactive systems described in the various embodiments describe providing an immersive, realistic and encompassing experience when interacting with 3-D content, for example, by having a non-planar display component that provides an extended field-of-view (FOV) which, in one embodiment, is the maximum number of degrees of visual angle that can be seen on a display component. Paragraph 0022 where this extended FOV may extend from 60 degrees to upper limits as high as 360 degrees, where the user is surrounded. For purposes of comparison, a typical horizontal FOV (left-right) for a user viewing normal 2-D content on a single planar 20'' monitor from a distance of approximately 18'' is about 48 degrees. There are numerous variables that may increase this value, for example, if the user views the display from a very close distance (e.g., 4'' away) or if the display is unusually wide (e.g., 50'' or greater), these factors may increase the horizontal FOV, but generally not filling the complete human visual field. Field-of-view may be extended both horizontally (extending a user's peripheral vision) and vertically, the number of degrees the user can see objects looking up and down. Paragraph 0024-0029 specifically for example figure 1D and paragraph 0026 where FIG. 1D shows another example configuration of a display component with a non-planar display that extends the user's horizontal FOV beyond 180 degrees to approximately 200 degrees. In this embodiment, rather than using multiple planar displays a flexible, an actual curved display is used to create the immersive environment)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers with the teachings of Lamson and Marti to have incorporated a curved display to cover an entire field of view of the user so as to provide a display which followed a contour of Weathers enclosure and provide an immersive treatment environment to an occupant of Weathers apparatus such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision using known techniques with predictable results.
Weathers is silent regarding a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid. In the same field of endeavor, Hoefler teaches an isolation tank where an individual floats in the tank including a visual display where images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber (see Hoefler figure 3, element 16 floatation solution and paragraph 0054 where in-chamber display may be implemented with a free-space display such as an optical light projector adapted to project light onto a liquid spray or vapor surface. As an alternative, the images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber) so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity (see Hoefler paragraph 0048 where sensory deprivation environment provided by the floatation chamber 12 minimizes brain activity by eliminating background sound and visual stimuli. Floating achieves a feeling of weightlessness, effectively eliminating the effect of gravity, which has been estimated to occupy 90% of all central nervous system activity. By freeing the brain from gravity and other external stimuli, floating liberates vast amounts of resources and large areas of the brain which can then be redirected toward the desired treatment or activity.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Weathers to have a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity using known techniques with predictable results.
Weathers is silent regarding wherein the display screen comprises an OLED display configured to provide contrast in low ambient light condition of the sensory deprivation chamber. Hoefler teaches using and LED backlit LCD monitor (see Hoefler paragraph 0032 where an LED backlit LCD monitor, with the brightness levels dimmed to about 12-15% to minimize the amount of light output by the display 40 such that the user remains in a completely dark environment except for a floating image directly above him. Other monitors and types of privacy coating may also be used without departing from the scope of the present teachings).
In a related field of endeavor, Nathan teaches that OLED have higher contrast and demonstrated superiority over the LCD (see Nathan paragraph 0004). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have an OLED display so as to take advantage of an OLED display’s demonstrated superiority over an LCD disclosed by Hoefler. Nathan does not specify contrast in low ambient light conditions.
In a related field of endeavor, Vijeh discloses that less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments which facilitates reducing power needed for the display (see Vijeh column 2, lines 31-43 where Greater brightness results in increased contrast, which increases the readability of displays especially within sunlit conditions. Less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments, which allows the current consumption of the backlight LEDs to be reduced.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have organic light emitting diodes ( organic LED) controlled to reduce current consumption during low light environments so as to reduce power needed to display.
Claims 10-13 recite similar claim limitations as claims 2-5, and thus are rejected under similar rational as claims 2-5 detail above.
Claim(s) 6-7, 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472, Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068 Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933 and Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 in view of He et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150145777.
Consider claim 6, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Weathers is silent regarding further comprising: recording a user’s eyes and an area around the user’s eyes via one or more of a tracking module comprising a camera; detecting a movement of the user’s eyes, the movement comprising one or more of motion of the user’s eyes or facial movements around the user’s eyes; determining that the movement of the user’s eyes is mapped to task-related gestures; and executing the task-related gestures.
In a related field of endeavor, detecting a user’s reaction, He teaches recording a user’s eyes and an area around the user’s eyes via one or more of a tracking module (see He paragraphs 0077-0084 specifically for example paragraph 0083 where tracking the movement of an eye using a sequential light emission and capture using the tracking unit 500. The method includes emitting a first light from the light source 501, e.g., such as an LED 1 (802), and capturing, using the camera 504) comprising a camera;
detecting a movement of the user’s eyes, the movement comprising one or more of motion of the user’s eyes or facial movements around the user’s eyes (see He paragraphs 0077-004 specifically for example paragraph 0084 where multiple frame set data {S.sub.n} can be processed to determine the occurrence of an eye blinking event, the frequency of eye blinking events, the speed of the eye blinking, the duration of the eye blinking (e.g., how long the eye is shut), and which eye blinked (e.g., left or right eye blinked or both eyes blinked).);
determining that the movement of the user’s eyes is mapped to task-related gestures; and executing the task-related gestures (see He paragraphs 0077-0084 specifically for example paragraph 0082-0084 where eye tracking technology can use eye blinking, detected by the eye tracking unit 500, and utilize the blinking data, just like the eye movement data, to activate application functions of the user device 599) so as to determine a user’s reaction to the contents displayed on a display screen (see He paragraph 0006).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have tracked a user’s eyes so as to determine a user’s reaction to contents being displayed using known techniques with predictable results. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to incorporate eye movement input so as to facilitate a user providing input to active application functions using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 7, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan, Vijeh and He teaches all the limitations of claim 6 and further teaches wherein the task-related gestures include one or more of closing the user’s eyes for a predetermined time period, widening the user’s eyes, moving the user’s eyes at a particular speed in a specific direction, staring long at an icon, raising one or both eyebrows, or squinting (see He paragraph 0084 where multiple frame set data {S.sub.n} can be processed to determine the occurrence of an eye blinking event, the frequency of eye blinking events, the speed of the eye blinking, the duration of the eye blinking (e.g., how long the eye is shut), and which eye blinked (e.g., left or right eye blinked or both eyes blinked). These can all be used as input data to affect a function of the device).
Claims 14-15, recite similar claim limitations as claims 6-7, and thus are rejected under similar rational as claims 6-7 detail above.
Claim(s) 8, 16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472, Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933 and Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 in view of Brady, U.S. Patent No. 4140997.
Consider claim 8, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan and Vijeh teaches all the limitations of claim 1. Weathers is silent regarding further comprising: receiving user thought input signals; decoding user thought input signals to obtain one of pattern or color information; generating a graphical representation of thoughts of the user based on pattern or color information; and displaying the graphical representation on the curved display screen.
In a related field of endeavor, Brady teaches receiving user thought input signals (see Brady figure 8a, element 301, and column 15, line 26-30 input brain wave signals present on line 301 are coupled through a brain wave filter 302 to provide an amplitude dependent output signal which is supplied as input to a brain wave synchronized variable frequency clock 303. The brain wave synchronized variable frequency clock 303 is analogous to the amplitude synchronized variable frequency clocks in the previous figures. The brain wave filter 302 is a bandpass filter chosen to isolate either the .alpha., .beta. or .theta. brain wave present in the input signal as desired by the user in order to control the clock frequency. Clock signals .phi. from the clock 303 are supplied to a clock divider counter and multiplexer circuit 305 and to a delay timing and control logic circuit 304. The clock divider multiplexer circuit 305 is analogous to the clock divider 123 of FIG. 4b and clock divider 214 of FIG. 7. The delay timing and control logic circuit 304 contains multiplexing and latch circuits necessary to interface MOS type and TTL type integrated circuitry to assure timing compatibility between these two different types of integrated circuitry. Clock signals from the clock divider and multiplexer circuit 305 are supplied as input to an address counter 306. The address counter 306 is used to index the contents of a pattern memory PROM 307, a display selection memory PROM 311 and a duration memory PROM 310. The contents of the memory location of the pattern memory PROM 306 (from 1 to N bits) are loaded via a data bus into a motion register 308 which is analogous to the motion register 218 of FIG. 7.);
decoding user thought input signals to obtain one of pattern or color information (see Brady column 15, line 64-column 16, line 17 where result of this sequence of signals is for a pattern to be selected from the pre-programmed memory contents of the pattern memory PROM 307 which is loaded into the motion register 308 and is held there for a time duration specified by the contents of the indexed memory location of the duration memory PROM 310. Motion of the displayed pattern is created by the generation of motion clock pulses from the timing and delay control logic circuit 304 causing the motion register to circulate clockwise or counter-clockwise under the control of some shift direction and detection circuit which is connected via a switch 324 and supplied as input to the delay timing and control logic circuit 304. Different logic circuits may be selected by switch 324 for this purpose);
generating a graphical representation of thoughts of the user based on pattern or color information; and displaying the graphical representation on a display screen (see Brady column 14, line 15-30, column 18, lines 50-58 where the embodiment of the visual display system of FIG. 10 utilizes either the amplitude or frequency content of the input brainwaves to select the visual display pattern, color, duration of display and shift direction of motion of its visual display. Used as a feedback system with a user observing it, such a system can perform to induce controlled thought patterns to create visual displays as a function of mood or thought activity of the user.) so as to provide visual display to assist users learn to control the displayed pattern to reach states of physical and mental relaxation or activity in a controlled manner.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers with the teachings of Brady to have incorporated the recited features so as to provide visual display to assist users learn to control the displayed pattern to reach states of physical and mental relaxation or activity in a controlled manner.
Claims 16 recites similar claim limitations as claim 8, and thus is rejected under similar rational as claim 8 detail above.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472, Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933 and Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 in view of Moore et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 8639622.
Consider claim 17, Weathers teaches a device comprising: a processor (see Weathers figure 5, element 80 computer-implemented expert system); and
Logic (see Weathers column 3, line 24-37, column 4, lines 13-36, column 4, line 66-column 5, line 32, column 9, line 17-column 11, line 67 specifically for example figure 5, element 80, 22, 78, 76 and column 9, line 17-column 10, line 50 where computer implemented expert system 80 controls all facets of a patient’s treatment), executed by the processor, for retrieving content to display to a user positioned in a sensory deprivation chamber comprising a base the patient isolating means 12 more particularly includes an enclosure 24 in the form of an egg-shaped pod which is substantially soundproof and lightproof to reduce external stimuli of various types reaching the patient P in the enclosure 24. The enclosure 24 has a flat bottom 26, a entry and exit door 28 hinged on a side of the enclosure 24, and a removable top cover or hatch 30 overlying a top opening 32 in the enclosure 24. The hatch 30 provides access to an upper equipment compartment separate from the patient's compartment. Also, the patient isolating means 12 includes a bed 34 placed in the enclosure 24 on the flat bottom 26 thereof for supporting the patient P when lying down on the bed 34. and column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system).),
Logic (see Weathers column 3, line 24-37, column 4, lines 13-36, column 4, line 66-column 5, line 32, column 9, line 17-column 11, line 67 specifically for example figure 5, element 80, 22, 78, 76 and column 9, line 17-column 10, line 50 where computer implemented expert system 80 controls all facets of a patient’s treatment), executed by the processor, for retrieving instructions to provide tactile feedback (see Weathers column 4, line 66- column 5, line 14 where psychotherapy apparatus of the present invention utilizes a plurality of separate, but functionally related, components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51065 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ), and
logic (see Weathers column 3, line 24-37, column 4, lines 13-36, column 4, line 66-column 5, line 32, column 9, line 17-column 11, line 67 specifically for example figure 5, element 80, 22, 78, 76 and column 9, line 17-column 10, line 50 where computer implemented expert system 80 controls all facets of a patient’s treatment), executed by the processor, for simultaneously (see Weathers column 11, lines 50-55 where For example, with the patient lying in the soundproof enclosure, images projected on the visual screen of the display can be reinforced or punished with hypothalamus cooling or heating by using the temperature controlling means as well as with injection of aromas by using the aroma delivering means.) displaying the content to the user via a components which function together to restrict, select, control and focus the kinds of multiple sensory stimuli reaching a patient P for inputting and shaping new emotional, physiological and cognitive response patterns in the patient P. The complexity of the patient treatment procedures makes it imperative that the psychotherapy apparatus 10 utilize a computer-implemented expert system. The expert system orchestrates all of the components of the apparatus that generate audio sources, light patterns, auditory questions, aromas, visual displays and that monitor and feedback patient physiological data. Thus, the expert system controls all aspects of the patient treatment and responds to a treatment protocol based on an assessment of the individual patient (which is also done by the expert system). Column 2, line 62-column 3, line10 and Column 5, lines 35-54, column 10, lines 51065 where The treatment plan is an assemblage of stepwise treatment procedures, selected from a library of such protocols, to address each of the problems that have been enumerated for the patient. The protocols control all of the variables the apparatus 10 is capable of: (1) digitized speech for questions and instructions; (2) changing light and sound patterns; (3) switching different sources of sound such as CD players, cassette tapes, microphone, digitized speech of the hard drive; (4) monitoring and interpreting physiological changes in the patient; (5) monitoring and interpreting button presses on the part of the patient; (6) tracking progress, success and failure of progression through treatment protocols, patient knowledge base; (7) visual and olfactory stimuli presentation; (8) tactile and kinesthetic stimuli presentation; and (9) visual and auditory subliminals, dichotic listening, etc ).
Weathers is silent regarding a curved display, wherein the curved display screen curves from a position proximate to the user’s face and extends to cover an entire field of view of the user extending at least 180 degrees horizontally, such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision. Weathers does disclose “the psychotherapy apparatus 10 of the present invention, the treatment of emotional arousal is provided through a coordinated and controlled sequence of presentations of visual and auditory stimuli to the patient P” (see Weathers column 3, lines 46-50).
In a related field of endeavor, virtual reality immersion therapy for providing psychotherapy, Lamson teaches using surround projection screens, monitors or devices that permit a user to have a virtual experience so as to facilitate maximum user benefits (see Lamson column 12, line 39-column 13, line 30 and column 24, line 65-column 25, line 15 where Virtual therapy is primarily a psychotherapeutic, psychiatric, medical, educational, and self-help invention for prevention and treatment of psychiatric disorders and for problems not otherwise specified in psychological assessment and diagnostic literature. The process is comprehensive and takes place during immersion in fully interactive three-dimensional virtual reality environments utilizing computer generated graphics, images imported from photographs, and video for sensory stimulation. Immersion is achieved with goggles, a head-mounted-display, or another form of visual stimulation, such as surround projection screens or monitors or devices that permit the user to have a virtual experience.)
In a related field of endeavor, Marti teaches a 3D display having planar or curved shape so as to provide an immersive display experience (see Marti paragraph 0007 where a system for displaying and interacting with three-dimensional (3-D) content is described. The system, which may be a computing or non-computing system, has a non-planar display component. This component may include a combination of one or more planar displays arranged in a manner to emulate a non-planar display. It may also include one or more curved displays alone or in combination with non-planar displays. The non-planar display component provides a field-of-view (FOV) to the user that enhances the user's interaction with the 3-D content and provides an immersive environment. Paragraph 0020 Three-dimensional interactive systems described in the various embodiments describe providing an immersive, realistic and encompassing experience when interacting with 3-D content, for example, by having a non-planar display component that provides an extended field-of-view (FOV) which, in one embodiment, is the maximum number of degrees of visual angle that can be seen on a display component. Paragraph 0022 where this extended FOV may extend from 60 degrees to upper limits as high as 360 degrees, where the user is surrounded. For purposes of comparison, a typical horizontal FOV (left-right) for a user viewing normal 2-D content on a single planar 20'' monitor from a distance of approximately 18'' is about 48 degrees. There are numerous variables that may increase this value, for example, if the user views the display from a very close distance (e.g., 4'' away) or if the display is unusually wide (e.g., 50'' or greater), these factors may increase the horizontal FOV, but generally not filling the complete human visual field. Field-of-view may be extended both horizontally (extending a user's peripheral vision) and vertically, the number of degrees the user can see objects looking up and down. Paragraph 0024-0029 specifically for example figure 1D and paragraph 0026 where FIG. 1D shows another example configuration of a display component with a non-planar display that extends the user's horizontal FOV beyond 180 degrees to approximately 200 degrees. In this embodiment, rather than using multiple planar displays a flexible, an actual curved display is used to create the immersive environment)
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers with the teachings of Lamson and Marti to have incorporated a curved display to cover an entire field of view of the user so as to provide a display which followed a contour of Weathers enclosure and provide an immersive treatment environment to an occupant of Weathers apparatus such that the displayed content remains visible throughout the user’s peripheral vision using known techniques with predictable results
Weathers is silent regarding a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid. In the same field of endeavor, Hoefler teaches an isolation tank where an individual floats in the tank including a visual display where images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber (see Hoefler figure 3, element 16 floatation solution and paragraph 0054 where in-chamber display may be implemented with a free-space display such as an optical light projector adapted to project light onto a liquid spray or vapor surface. As an alternative, the images may be projected onto the walls of the chamber) so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity (see Hoefler paragraph 0048 where sensory deprivation environment provided by the floatation chamber 12 minimizes brain activity by eliminating background sound and visual stimuli. Floating achieves a feeling of weightlessness, effectively eliminating the effect of gravity, which has been estimated to occupy 90% of all central nervous system activity. By freeing the brain from gravity and other external stimuli, floating liberates vast amounts of resources and large areas of the brain which can then be redirected toward the desired treatment or activity.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have further modified Weathers to have a suspension liquid such that the user floats on a surface of the suspension liquid so as to minimize brain activity which can then be redirected toward a desired treatment or activity using known techniques with predictable results.
Weathers is silent regarding wherein the display screen comprises an OLED display configured to provide contrast in low ambient light condition of the sensory deprivation chamber. Hoefler teaches using and LED backlit LCD monitor (see Hoefler paragraph 0032 where an LED backlit LCD monitor, with the brightness levels dimmed to about 12-15% to minimize the amount of light output by the display 40 such that the user remains in a completely dark environment except for a floating image directly above him. Other monitors and types of privacy coating may also be used without departing from the scope of the present teachings).
In a related field of endeavor, Nathan teaches that OLED have higher contrast and demonstrated superiority over the LCD (see Nathan paragraph 0004). One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have an OLED display so as to take advantage of an OLED display’s demonstrated superiority over an LCD disclosed by Hoefler. Nathan does not specify contrast in low ambient light conditions.
In a related field of endeavor, Vijeh discloses that less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments which facilitates reducing power needed for the display (see Vijeh column 2, lines 31-43 where Greater brightness results in increased contrast, which increases the readability of displays especially within sunlit conditions. Less contrast is needed in relatively low light environments, which allows the current consumption of the backlight LEDs to be reduced.).
One of ordinary skill would have been motivated to have organic light emitting diodes ( organic LED) controlled to reduce current consumption during low light environments so as to reduce power needed to display.
Weathers discloses expert system stores patient problem list progress and an "audit trail" of the treatment and responses at the end of each session so that the next session can begin where the last one left off (see Weathers column 10, lines 35-39). However, Weathers is silent regarding a storage medium for tangibly storing program logic for execution by the processor.
In a related field of endeavor, computer implemented processing systems, Moore teaches a computer-implemented data processing system includes a data storage system; and a processor and program logic stored in memory and executable by the processor, the program logic including account management logic coupled to the data storage system and configured to manage accounts respectively associated with a plurality of users, the account management logic including account processing logic configured to process transactions for the accounts and store account data related to the accounts in the data storage device so as to process steps of the processing system using computer logic programming (see Moore column 1, lines 35-44, column 5, lines 42-48 and column 25, line 55-column 26, line 9). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have incorporated a storage medium such as RAM, ROM, EPROM, EEPROM, CD-ROM or other optical disk storage, magnetic disk storage or other magnetic storage devices, or any other medium which can be used to carry or store desired program code in the form of machine-executable instructions or data structures and which can be accessed by a general purpose or special purpose computer or other machine with a processor so as to facilitate a computer implemented expert system using known techniques with predictable results.
Claim(s) 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472, Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933, Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 and Moore et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 8639622 in view of He et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150145777.
Consider claim 18, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan, Vijeh and Moore teaches all the limitations of claim 17. Weathers is silent regarding the logic further comprising: logic, executed by the processor, for recording a user’s eyes and an area around the user’s eyes via one or more of a tracking module comprising a camera; logic, executed by the processor, for detecting a movement of the user’s eyes, the movement comprising one or more of motion of the user’s eyes or facial movements around the user’s eyes; logic, executed by the processor, for determining that the movement of the user’s eyes is mapped to task-related gestures; and logic, executed by the processor, for executing the task-related gestures.
In a related field of endeavor, detecting a user’s reaction, He teaches recording a user’s eyes and an area around the user’s eyes via one or more of a tracking module (see He paragraphs 0077-0084 specifically for example paragraph 0083 where tracking the movement of an eye using a sequential light emission and capture using the tracking unit 500. The method includes emitting a first light from the light source 501, e.g., such as an LED 1 (802), and capturing, using the camera 504) comprising a camera;
detecting a movement of the user’s eyes, the movement comprising one or more of motion of the user’s eyes or facial movements around the user’s eyes (see He paragraphs 0077-004 specifically for example paragraph 0084 where multiple frame set data {S.sub.n} can be processed to determine the occurrence of an eye blinking event, the frequency of eye blinking events, the speed of the eye blinking, the duration of the eye blinking (e.g., how long the eye is shut), and which eye blinked (e.g., left or right eye blinked or both eyes blinked).);
determining that the movement of the user’s eyes is mapped to task-related gestures; and executing the task-related gestures (see He paragraphs 0077-0084 specifically for example paragraph 0082-0084 where eye tracking technology can use eye blinking, detected by the eye tracking unit 500, and utilize the blinking data, just like the eye movement data, to activate application functions of the user device 599) so as to determine a user’s reaction to the contents displayed on a display screen (see He paragraph 0006).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to have tracked a user’s eyes so as to determine a user’s reaction to contents being displayed using known techniques with predictable results. Further, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers to incorporate eye movement input so as to facilitate a user providing input to active application functions using known techniques with predictable results.
Consider claim 19, Weathers as modified by Marti, Moore and He teaches all the limitations of claim 18 and further teaches wherein the task-related gestures include one or more of closing the user’s eyes for a predetermined time period, widening the user’s eyes, moving the user’s eyes at a particular speed in a specific direction, staring long at an icon, raising one or both eyebrows, or squinting (see He paragraph 0084 where multiple frame set data {S.sub.n} can be processed to determine the occurrence of an eye blinking event, the frequency of eye blinking events, the speed of the eye blinking, the duration of the eye blinking (e.g., how long the eye is shut), and which eye blinked (e.g., left or right eye blinked or both eyes blinked). These can all be used as input data to affect a function of the device).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Weathers, U.S. Patent Publication No. 5725472, Lamson, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6425764, Marti et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20100128112, Hoefler, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20140012068, Nathan et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20040129933, Vijeh, U.S. Patent No. 7064492 and Moore et al, U.S. Patent Publication No. 8639622 in view of Brady, U.S. Patent No. 4140997.
Consider claim 20, Weathers as modified by Lamson, Marti, Hoefler, Nathan, Vijeh and Moore teaches all the limitations of claim 17. Weathers is silent regarding the logic further comprising: logic, executed by the processor, for receiving user thought input signals; logic, executed by the processor, for decoding user thought input signals to obtain one of pattern or color information; logic, executed by the processor, for generating a graphical representation of thoughts of the user based on pattern or color information; and logic, executed by the processor, for displaying the graphical representation on the curved display screen..
In a related field of endeavor, Brady teaches receiving user thought input signals (see Brady figure 8a, element 301, and column 15, line 26-30 input brain wave signals present on line 301 are coupled through a brain wave filter 302 to provide an amplitude dependent output signal which is supplied as input to a brain wave synchronized variable frequency clock 303. The brain wave synchronized variable frequency clock 303 is analogous to the amplitude synchronized variable frequency clocks in the previous figures. The brain wave filter 302 is a bandpass filter chosen to isolate either the .alpha., .beta. or .theta. brain wave present in the input signal as desired by the user in order to control the clock frequency. Clock signals .phi. from the clock 303 are supplied to a clock divider counter and multiplexer circuit 305 and to a delay timing and control logic circuit 304. The clock divider multiplexer circuit 305 is analogous to the clock divider 123 of FIG. 4b and clock divider 214 of FIG. 7. The delay timing and control logic circuit 304 contains multiplexing and latch circuits necessary to interface MOS type and TTL type integrated circuitry to assure timing compatibility between these two different types of integrated circuitry. Clock signals from the clock divider and multiplexer circuit 305 are supplied as input to an address counter 306. The address counter 306 is used to index the contents of a pattern memory PROM 307, a display selection memory PROM 311 and a duration memory PROM 310. The contents of the memory location of the pattern memory PROM 306 (from 1 to N bits) are loaded via a data bus into a motion register 308 which is analogous to the motion register 218 of FIG. 7.);
decoding user thought input signals to obtain one of pattern or color information (see Brady column 15, line 64-column 16, line 17 where result of this sequence of signals is for a pattern to be selected from the pre-programmed memory contents of the pattern memory PROM 307 which is loaded into the motion register 308 and is held there for a time duration specified by the contents of the indexed memory location of the duration memory PROM 310. Motion of the displayed pattern is created by the generation of motion clock pulses from the timing and delay control logic circuit 304 causing the motion register to circulate clockwise or counter-clockwise under the control of some shift direction and detection circuit which is connected via a switch 324 and supplied as input to the delay timing and control logic circuit 304. Different logic circuits may be selected by switch 324 for this purpose);
generating a graphical representation of thoughts of the user based on pattern or color information; and displaying the graphical representation on a display screen (see Brady column 14, line 15-30, column 18, lines 50-58 where the embodiment of the visual display system of FIG. 10 utilizes either the amplitude or frequency content of the input brainwaves to select the visual display pattern, color, duration of display and shift direction of motion of its visual display. Used as a feedback system with a user observing it, such a system can perform to induce controlled thought patterns to create visual displays as a function of mood or thought activity of the user.) so as to provide visual display to assist users learn to control the displayed pattern to reach states of physical and mental relaxation or activity in a controlled manner.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have modified Weathers with the teachings of Brady to have incorporated the recited features so as to provide visual display to assist users learn to control the displayed pattern to reach states of physical and mental relaxation or activity in a controlled manner.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. LaDue, U.S. Patent Publication No. 6097927 (figure 9), Sullivan, U.S. Patent Publication No. 20150141741 ( figures 1-4 and paragraph 0040).
/Dorothy Harris/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2625