DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed April 3, 2026 has been fully considered and entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-9, and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watanabe et al. (JP 2017-181791 A), hereafter Watanabe.
Regarding claim 1; Watanabe discloses an optical fiber bundle (optical fiber bundle 1; see Figures 1, 6 and 7) for optically coupling a plurality of optical fibers (plurality of optical fiber cores 5) to a multicore optical fiber (multicore fiber 21; see Figure 7; see the technical-filed and background-art sections of the corresponding machine translation for JP 2017-181791 A), the optical fiber bundle (1) comprising:
a ferrule (3 in Figure 1(a); 19 in Figure 6; see Figures 1(a) and 6 annotated below) extending along a first direction, the ferrule (3, 19) having
a front end (front end; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above) in the first direction,
a rear end (rear end; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above) opposite to the front end in the first direction, and
a first fiber accommodating hole including
a first portion (first portion; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above) that is located at the front end,
a second portion (second portion; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above) that is located at the rear end and has a larger inner diameter than an inner diameter of the first portion, and
an inner diameter transition portion (transition portion; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above) that connects the first portion and the second portion to each other; and
a flange (flange; see annotated Figure 6 below) mated to the rear end (rear end) of the ferrule (19) and comprising a second fiber accommodating hole (second fiber accommodating hole) extending along the first direction and communicating with the first fiber accommodating hole (first fiber accommodating hole) at the rear end of the ferrule (see Figure 6); and
a plurality of optical fibers (5) each having
a glass fiber (6; 5a/5b) and
a coating portion (5c) ,
the glass fiber (6) including
a first diameter portion (end portion of 5a; see annotated Figures 1(a) and 6 below),
a second diameter portion (5b) having a larger diameter than a diameter of the first diameter portion (end portion of 5a), and
a tapered portion (portion of 5a between the end portion of 5a and 5b) connecting the first diameter portion (end of 5a) and the second diameter portion (5b),
at least the first diameter portion (end of 5a), the tapered portion (tapered portion of 5a between the end of 5a and 5b), and the second diameter (5b) portion extending along the first direction (see Figures 1, 6, and 7), and
the coating portion (5c) being formed by covering a glass fiber (6; 5a/5b) continuous with the second diameter portion (5b) with a coating (5c),
wherein (with reference to the annotated Figures above)
the first diameter portion (first diameter portion; end of 5a) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is inserted into the first portion (first portion) of the first fiber accommodating hole,
the tapered portion (tapered portion) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is inserted into the second portion (second portion) of the first fiber accommodating hole,
a boundary between the second diameter portion (5b) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) and the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is inserted into the second fiber accommodating hole,
the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) includes a first portion led out from the second fiber accommodating hole and a second portion away from the second fiber accommodating hole, and
the coating of the first portion of the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is fixed to the coating (5c) of the first portion of the coating portion (5c) of at least another one of the optical fibers (5) , and
in the second fiber accommodating hole, an arrangement order of each of the coating portions (5c) of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is the same as an arrangement order of first diameter portions of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) at the front end of the ferrule (3, 19).
Regarding claim 2; Watanabe discloses wherein first portions of the coating portions (5c) are integrated by coatings (5c) fixed to each other (adhesive 11 fixes the coatings to each other; see Figures 6), and in second portions (portions not fixed by adhesive 11) of the coating portions (5c) the coatings (5c) are separated from each other.
Regarding claim 3; Watanabe discloses (see Figures 2 and 5) wherein first portions of the coating portions (5c) are two-dimensionally arranged in a cross-section intersecting a central axis of the plurality of optical fibers (5), and the coating (5c) of the second portion is fixed (via adhesive 11) to the coating (5c) of the second portion of at least one of the optical fibers (5) that is adjacent (see Figures 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 4; Watanabe discloses wherein the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fiber (5) further includes a connecting portion connecting the first portion and the second portion to each other (i.e. there is no break in the coatings between the first and second portions of the coatings), coatings (5c) of the first portions of the coating portions (5c) are fixed (via adhesive 11) to each other such that the first portions are two-dimensionally arranged in a cross-section intersecting a central axis of the plurality of optical fibers (5; see Figures 2 and 5), and coatings (5c) of second portions of the coating portions (5c) are fixed to each other (via the intervening coating portions and adhesive) such that the second portions are one-dimensionally arranged in the cross-section intersecting the central axis of the plurality of optical fibers (5; see Figures 1, 2, 5, 6, and 7; the examiner notes that each row of fibers within the cross-section is fixed one-dimensionally in Figures 2 and 5, and additionally that it’s within the level of ordinary skill in the art to provide the fibers within a ribbon arrangement and/or matrix that affixes the fibers one-dimensionally, as that is elementary in the art, although not specifically required by the vague claim language).
Regarding claim 5; Watanabe discloses a protective member (body of connector 10) protecting at least a boundary between the connecting portion and the second portion of the coating portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5; see Figure 6).
Regarding claim 8; Watanabe disclose that fixation between coatings (5c) of first portions of the coating portions (5c) is fixation with an adhesive (11).
Regarding claim 9; Watanabe discloses wherein the flange comprises a cylindrical body (see annotated Figure 6 below) at an end of the flange extending along the first direction, and the first portion of the coating portion (5c) is inserted into the cylindrical body, and the coating (5c) of the first portion of the coating portion (5c) is fixed to the cylindrical body with an adhesive (11).
Regarding claim 13; Watanabe further discloses an optical connection structure (see Figure 7) comprising:
a first optical connector (23) having a multicore optical fiber (21) including a plurality of cores (25) extending in the first direction and a cladding (27) covering the plurality of cores (25), and a ferrule (23) holding a tip of the multicore optical fiber (21); and
a second optical connector (bundle structure 1) as an optical connector having the optical fiber bundle according to claim 1 (see Figures 1, 6, and 7; see the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein
when the second optical connector (1) is connected to the first optical connector (23; see Figure 7), each core of the plurality of optical fibers (5) is optically coupled to each of the plurality of cores of the multicore optical fiber (21).
Regarding claim 14; Watanabe discloses a method for manufacturing an optical fiber bundle for optically coupling a plurality of optical fibers (5) to a multicore optical fiber (21), the method comprising:
preparing a ferrule (3, 19) extending along a first direction, the ferrule (3, 19) having a front end in the first direction, a rear end opposite to the front end in the first direction, and a first fiber accommodating hole as a hole including a first portion that is located at the front end, a second portion that is located at the rear end and has a larger inner diameter than an inner diameter of the first portion, and an inner diameter transition portion that connects the first portion and the second portion to each other (see the rejection of claim 1 above; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 below);
preparing a flange comprising a second fiber accommodating hole as a hole extending along the first direction and communicating with the first fiber accommodating hole at the rear end of the ferrule (see Figure 6 annotated below);
mating the flange (see Figure 6 annotated above) to the rear end of the ferrule (3, 19);
preparing a plurality of optical fibers (5) each having a glass fiber (5, 5a/5b) and a coating portion (5c), the glass fiber including a first diameter portion, a second diameter portion having a larger diameter than a diameter of the first diameter portion, and a tapered portion connecting the first diameter portion and the second diameter portion, at least the first diameter portion, the tapered portion, and the second diameter portion extending along the first direction, and the coating portion being formed by covering a glass fiber continuous with the second diameter portion with a coating (see the rejection of claim 1 above; see annotated Figures 1 and 6 above);
inserting the first diameter portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5), the tapered portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers, and a boundary between the second diameter portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers and the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers into the first portion of the first fiber accommodating hole, the second portion of the first fiber accommodating hole, and the second fiber accommodating hole, respectively (see the rejection of claim 1 above, the portions of the optical fiber are inserted from the rear to the front end, i.e. from the larger opening to the smaller opening, thereby resulting in the claimed inserting steps); and
fixing the plurality of optical fibers to the ferrule with an adhesive (11), wherein
in the preparing the plurality of optical fibers, the coating portion (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) includes a first portion led out from the second fiber accommodating hole and a second portion away from the second fiber accommodating hole, and the coating of the first portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers is fixed to the coating of the first portion of the coating portion of at least another one of the optical fibers (by adhesive 11), and
in the fixing the plurality of optical fibers (5), in the second fiber accommodating hole, an arrangement order of each of the coating portions (5c) of the plurality of optical fibers (5), is the same as an arrangement order of first diameter portions of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) at the front end of the ferrule (see Figures 1, 6, and 7; see the rejections above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 10-12, and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (JP 2017-181791 A), hereafter Watanabe.
Regarding claim 6; Watanabe discloses all of the limitations of claim 4 as applied above. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious for the second portions to constitute one optical fiber ribbon in the invention of Watanabe for the purpose of providing a low profile fiber ribbon to efficiently locate the optical fibers therein, since this is a well-known way to organize bundled optical fibers in the art and would not appear to produce and novel or unexpected advantages, and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 7; The examiner takes official notice that jackets or sheaths are known to be provided around optical fibers ribbons to surround coating portions of optical fibers and provide protection thereto, wherein jackets and sheaths are known to have thickness within then range of 0.01 mm or more and 0.25 mm or less. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide the optical fiber ribbon with an other coating (i.e. a jacket or sheath) collectively surrounding the coatings (5c) of the second portions, wherein an average thickness of the other coating (jacket or sheath) is 0.01 mm or more and 0.25 mm or less for the purpose of providing a standard optical fiber cable coating around the fibers to protect the fibers therein.
Regarding claim 10; The examiner takes Official notice that tubular shrink tubes are conventionally provided around optical fiber bundles for the purpose of securing the optical fibers and providing a seal to protect the fibers therein. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to further a tubular shrink tube extending along the first direction, wherein first portions of the coating portions (5c) are housed and collectively held in the tubular shrink tube to fix and seal the fibers therein, since the presence of a commonly used shrinking tube would not appear to produce and novel or unexpected advantages, and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 11; The examiner takes Official notice that bundles of optical fibers within optical fiber cables are known to be covered with different colored coatings that allow the individual fibers to be identified. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to provide coatings (5c) in the invention of Watanabe such that an appearance of the coating (5c) of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5) includes a different color or hue for each optical fiber to allow for easy identification of specific optical fibers, since the use of different colored coatings for identification of optical fibers within a bundle of fibers is considered elementary in the art and would not appear to produce and novel or unexpected advantages, and one of ordinary skill could have combined the elements by known coupling methods with no change in their respective functions to yield predictable results. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 12; before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to have a positional deviation along the first direction between tapered portions, each of the tapered portions being the tapered portion of each of the plurality of optical fibers (5), be 1 mm or less for the purpose of minimizing optical path differences, thereby minimizing resulting loss and/or interference of the optical signals therein.
Regarding claim 15; The examiner takes Official notice that jigs are commonly used to align optical fibers for assembly into various bundles and/or connector arrangements, wherein jigs are then removed from the fibers after the fibers are inserted into the bundle and/or connector structures. Before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to, when inserting the optical fibers, have the coating portions (5c) be disposed on a jig to align and temporarily fix the plurality of optical fibers (5) in a predetermined arrangement, and then remove the jig from the plurality of optical fibers after the plurality of optical fibers are inserted into the ferrule, since this is how jigs are conventionally used to assemble optical fibers bundles.
Regarding claim 16; the examiner takes Official notice that optical fibers bundles are known to be formed by providing a plurality of optical fibers having a first diameter and then chemically etching the fibers to form tapered portions of reduced diameter over any desired length. Thus, before the effective filing date of the present invention, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to prepare the plurality of optical fibers (5) by forming the first diameter portion (end of 5a) and the tapered portion by separating the plurality of optical fibers (5) from each other over a length of 10 mm or more from a tip of an optical fiber ribbon formed by integrating the plurality of optical fibers and chemically etching a tip of the glass fiber of each of the optical fibers, since this is a standard way to form tapered portions of optical fibers and would not appear to result in any novel or unexpected advantages.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended claim 1 to recite “a flange mated to the rear end of the ferrule…” and argues that Watanabe does not disclose the holding portion. The examiner notes that “holding portion” has been removed from the claim, but opines that the term “holding portion” is a broad term that may encompass a wide range of structures. However, since the term “holding portion” has been removed from the claim, the arguments directed thereto are moot.
Watanabe discloses a flange, please see annotated Figure 6 below.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHELLE R CONNELLY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874