DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 9-13 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gillingham USPA 2020/0230538 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Gillingham discloses a filter housing for a filter system for filtering a gaseous fluid (see figure 22), the filter housing comprising: a housing wall (figure 22: outer housing); an inlet opening for a fluid to be filtered arranged in the housing wall (figure 22: inlet 1323); an outlet opening for filtered fluid arranged in the housing wall (figure 22: outlet 1324); a receiving space arranged inside the housing wall and configured to receive at least one filter element (figure 22: filter 1320), wherein the at least one filter element is configured to separate a raw side from a clean side between the inlet opening and the outlet opening upon intended mounting of the at least one filter element in the filter housing (see figure 22); a first housing segment in which the inlet opening is provided (figure 22: segment 1323); a first inflow guard arranged at the first housing segment (figure 22: inlet flange 1302), wherein the first inflow guard is spaced apart from the first housing segment in a radial direction of the filter housing and directed toward the receiving space, wherein the first inflow guard extends substantially only across the inlet opening (figure 22: 1302).
Regarding claims 2-4, Gillingham discloses that the first inflow guard comprises a length comprising at most 1.5 times an axial extension of the inlet opening in the housing wall along a longitudinal axis of the filter housing, and wherein the first inflow guard extends at most across 160° of a circumference of the housing segment (flap 865 in figure 11A also reads on the claimed “inflow guard”; also flap 2015 in figure 25: these flaps cover less than 1.5 times an axial extension of the inlet opening and extend less than 160 degrees of a circumference of the housing element).
Regarding claim 9, Gillingham discloses an outlet socket arranged at the outlet opening and further comprising at least one receptacle for at least one purging device arranged at the outlet socket (figure 22: outlet socket at 1324; area under top of outlet can be considered a receptacle that could receive a purging device).
Regarding claim 10-13, Gillingham discloses a purging device configured for intermittent emission of a pressure surge of a purging medium from a clean side of the first filter element arranged in the receiving space to a raw side of the first filter element arranged in the receiving space (paragraph 6); a secondary filter element arranged at the clean side of the first filter element (figure 22: secondary filter 1321 is located at clean side of filter 1320).
Regarding claim 17, Gillingham discloses that the filter system is a self-cleaning engine intake air filter system (paragraphs 58 and 59).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gillingham USPA 2020/0230538 A1 in view of Munkel USPA 2008/0276583 A1.
Gillingham is relied upon as above.
Regarding claims 5-8 and 14-16, Gillingham does not disclose an outlet socket arranged in a second housing segment and a second inflow guard covering the outlet socket toward the receiving space, wherein an axial length of the second inflow guard corresponds to at most three times an axial extension of the outlet socket in the housing wall along a longitudinal axis of the filter housing, wherein the axial length of the second inflow guard corresponds to at most twice the axial extension of the outlet socket in the housing wall along the longitudinal axis of the filter housing, or wherein the second inflow guard extends circumferentially in relation to an inner side of the housing wall. Munkel discloses a similar filter housing having an inflow guard covering the outlet socket, wherein the inflow guard extends circumferentially in relation to the inner side of the housing wall (see Munkel figure 3: section 24). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify Gillingham to include a second inflow guard covering the outlet socket toward the receiving space, wherein the inflow guard extends circumferentially in relation to the inner side of the housing wall, as disclosed by Munkel, for the purpose of directing the flow. Furthermore, absent a proper showing of criticality or unexpected results, the exact length of the inflow guard is considered to be a general condition that would have been routinely optimized by one having ordinary skill in the art in order to provide optimal direction of flow. MPEP 2144.05.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER P JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776