DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Election/Restriction response filed on 09/29/2025. Claims 1-20 are pending. Claims 1 and 13 are independent. Claims 13-20 are withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species A (Figures 1-7) and Subspecies AA (Figures 3 and 4) in the reply filed on 09/29/2025 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 13-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/29/2025
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one-way locking mechanism” in claim 1. Based on the specification (Para. 0024], the one-way locking mechanism is a plurality of locking barbs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fleischman et al. (US Pub. No.: 2019/0117210).
Regarding claims 1-12, Fleischman discloses [claim 1] a bone plate assembly (combination of 75, 95, and suture with ends 80 and 85, Fig. 13 and Paras. [0126], [0127], and [0115]), comprising: a bone plate (75, Fig. 23. Also see Fig. 9) including an opening (78, Fig. 13); a locking ferrule (95, Fig. 13 and Para. [0126], also see Fig. 11) received within the opening and including a one-way locking mechanism (100, Paras. [0121] and [0127], also see Fig. 11); and a suture received through the locking ferrule and locked relative to the bone plate by the one-way locking mechanism (Para. [0121]);
[claim 2] wherein the one-way locking mechanism is configured to allow the suture to be tensioned in a first direction and prevent the suture from moving in a second direction (Para. [0121]);
[claim 3] wherein the one-way locking mechanism is established by a plurality of locking barbs (100, Fig. 11 and Para. [0127]) provided within a cannulation (central passageway of 95, Fig. 11) of the locking ferrule;
[claim 4] wherein the cannulation extends through an eyelet portion (cylinder portion between protrusions 105, Figs. 13 and 16) of the locking ferrule;
[claim 5] an engagement portion (105, Figs. 13 and 16) connected to the eyelet portion;
[claim 6] wherein the engagement portion includes a pair of flexible retention legs (pair of 105, Figs. 13 and 16) that are configured to clip the locking ferrule to the bone plate (Para. [0126]);
[claim 7] wherein the locking ferrule includes an engagement portion (exterior wall portion of 95 is received through the opening of the bone plate) received through the opening and an eyelet portion (internal portion of 95 with the central passageway and barbs) that extends to a location outside of the opening (the internal wall portion of the protrusions 105 of the suture-securing mechanism 95 extends to a location outside of the opening, Fig. 13 and Para. [0126]);
[claim 8] wherein the eyelet portion provides the one-way locking mechanism (barbs 100, Fig. 13 and Para. [0121], also see Fig. 11);
[claim 9] wherein the one-way locking mechanism includes a plurality of locking barbs that allow the suture to be tensioned in a first direction and prevent the suture from moving in a second direction (Para. [0121]);
[claim 10] wherein the engagement portion includes a pair of flexible retention legs that are configured to clip the locking ferrule to the bone plate (Figs. 16 and 13 and Para. [0126], the engagement portion or the external wall portion of 95 includes a pair of flexible retention legs that are configured to clip the locking ferrule to the bone plate);
[claim 11] wherein the suture retains the locking ferrule within the opening (Fig. 11, the suture retains the locking ferrule within the opening because the suture applies the pressure onto 11 which enables partly retaining the locking ferrule within the opening); and
[claim 12] wherein the locking ferrule includes a body that is cylindrical shaped (Fig. 16, the locking ferrule 95 has a body that is cylindrical shaped).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20120101526 A1 Bennett; William F. discloses a suture locking device with a one-way locking mechanism.
US 20140031864 A1 Jafari; Mohammad et al. discloses a suture locking device with a one-way locking mechanism.
US 20180132843 A1 Chalekson; Charles P. discloses a suture locking device with a one-way locking mechanism.
US 5725556 A Moser; Thomas V. et al. discloses a suture locking device with a one-way locking mechanism.
/JING RUI OU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771