DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement on April 22, 2025 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Interpretation
More specifically, claim 20 recites:
A first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising:
means for receiving control signaling indicating a sidelink channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration;
means for transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and a sidelink beam management procedure, a sidelink CSI-RS within a slot over a sidelink shared channel; and
means for communicating with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure that is based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS.
Following the three-prong test, the three limitations in claim 20, all limitations invoke 112(f) since the claim limitations use the term “means”, the term “means” is modified by functional language “for”, and the “term” means is not modified by sufficient structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function.
The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. In the present application with regard to claim 20, “means for receiving” is described in the specification as a “receiver” (at least paragraphs 138, 139, 153), “means for transmitting” is described in the specification as a “transmitter” (at least paragraphs 138, 140, 153), and “means for communicating” is described in the specification as including the “receiver”, “transmitter”, and “a processor” (at least paragraphs 138, 153). Accordingly, there is sufficient structure supported in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 7, 8, 10, 12, 15-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng).
Consider claim 1. Deng discloses a first user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code (fig. 1B, read as a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) 102, comprising a processor 118 and removable/non-removable memories 130 and 132 and where a WTRU constitutes a first user equipment) to cause the first UE to:
receive control signaling indicating a sidelink channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration (fig. 2, paragraphs 88, 99, read as two SL Channel State Information – Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration Types A and B. A WTRU is preconfigured with a set of SL CSI-RS resource configurations in a resource pool., wherein the resource configurations in a resource pool are configured by a gNB. A gNB configures and schedules CSI RS transmission for beam measurement and reporting. In Mode 1 SL operation, resource allocation is performed by gNB, therefore said sidelink channel station (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration(s) are received form the gNB through control signaling);
transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and a sidelink beam management procedure, a sidelink CSI-RS within a slot over a sidelink shared channel (fig. 8, paragraph 99, read as a spatial domain filter determination procedure constituting a sidelink beam management procedure, wherein the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted, where SL CSI-RS transmission is multiplexed with PSSCH transmission in both time and frequency domain in a SL slot, as shown in configuration A, reference 201. The SL CSI-RS resources are within the PSSH resources, thus said sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and within a slot over a sidelink shared channel); and
communicate with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure that is based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS (figure 8, (801, 802, 803), wherein the spatial domain filter determination allows for further sidelink transport block transmission corresponding to communicate with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel, the spatial domain filter determined based on the CSI reporting process, therefore, in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure, and the CSI reporting mechanism is based on the measurement of the corresponding sidelink CSI-RS, thus based in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS).
Consider claim 7 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink CSI-RS using a same transmit beam used for transmitting sidelink control channel transmissions, sidelink shared channel transmissions, or both (paragraph 99).
Consider claim 8 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink CSI-RS using a transmit beam different than transmit beams used for transmitting sidelink control channel transmissions, sidelink shared channel transmissions, or both (paragraph 100).
Consider claim 10 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: exclude, within symbols in which the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted, transmission of information other than the sidelink CSI-RS (fig. 2, Type B(202)).
Consider claim 12 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, within the slot, control information indicating that the first UE is to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS in the slot (paragraph 142).
Consider claim 15 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive, in accordance with the sidelink beam management procedure, a request to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS is based at least in part on receiving the request (paragraph 121).
Consider claim 16 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive, in accordance with the sidelink beam management procedure, a report indicating one or more signal quality indications associated with the sidelink CSI-RS; and determine, in accordance with the sidelink beam management procedure and the report, one or more beams to be used for communications with the second UE, wherein communicating with the second UE is based at least in part on the determined one or more beams (fig. 5, paragraphs 132, 143, 153, 160).
Consider claim 17. Deng discloses a method for wireless communications at a first user equipment (UE) (fig. 1B, read as a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) 102), comprising:
receiving control signaling indicating a sidelink channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration (fig. 2, paragraphs 88, 99, read as two SL Channel State Information – Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration Types A and B. A WTRU is preconfigured with a set of SL CSI-RS resource configurations in a resource pool., wherein the resource configurations in a resource pool are configured by a gNB. A gNB configures and schedules CSI RS transmission for beam measurement and reporting. In Mode 1 SL operation, resource allocation is performed by gNB, therefore said sidelink channel station (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration(s) are received form the gNB through control signaling);
transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and a sidelink beam management procedure, a sidelink CSI-RS within a slot over a sidelink shared channel (fig. 8, paragraph 99, read as a spatial domain filter determination procedure constituting a sidelink beam management procedure, wherein the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted, where SL CSI-RS transmission is multiplexed with PSSCH transmission in both time and frequency domain in a SL slot, as shown in configuration A, reference 201. The SL CSI-RS resources are within the PSSH resources, thus said sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and within a slot over a sidelink shared channel); and
communicating with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure that is based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS (figure 8, (801, 802, 803), wherein the spatial domain filter determination allows for further sidelink transport block transmission corresponding to communicate with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel, the spatial domain filter determined based on the CSI reporting process, therefore, in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure, and the CSI reporting mechanism is based on the measurement of the corresponding sidelink CSI-RS, thus based in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS).
Consider claim 20. Deng discloses a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communications, comprising:
means for receiving control signaling indicating a sidelink channel state information (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration (fig. 2, paragraphs 88, 99, read as two SL Channel State Information – Reference Signal (CSI-RS) resource configuration Types A and B. A WTRU is preconfigured with a set of SL CSI-RS resource configurations in a resource pool., wherein the resource configurations in a resource pool are configured by a gNB. A gNB configures and schedules CSI RS transmission for beam measurement and reporting. In Mode 1 SL operation, resource allocation is performed by gNB, therefore said sidelink channel station (CSI) reference signal (CSI-RS) configuration(s) are received form the gNB through control signaling);
means for transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and a sidelink beam management procedure, a sidelink CSI-RS within a slot over a sidelink shared channel (fig. 8, paragraph 99, read as a spatial domain filter determination procedure constituting a sidelink beam management procedure, wherein the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted, where SL CSI-RS transmission is multiplexed with PSSCH transmission in both time and frequency domain in a SL slot, as shown in configuration A, reference 201. The SL CSI-RS resources are within the PSSH resources, thus said sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration and within a slot over a sidelink shared channel); and
means for communicating with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure that is based at least in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS (figure 8, (801, 802, 803), wherein the spatial domain filter determination allows for further sidelink transport block transmission corresponding to communicate with a second UE over the sidelink shared channel, the spatial domain filter determined based on the CSI reporting process, therefore, in accordance with a result of the sidelink beam management procedure, and the CSI reporting mechanism is based on the measurement of the corresponding sidelink CSI-RS, thus based in part on transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5, 9, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng) in view of Zhang et al. (CN 111181710 A1, hereinafter Zhang).
Consider claim 2 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of last consecutive symbols of the slot that precede a gap symbol, and do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations.
However, Zhang teaches wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of last consecutive symbols of the slot that precede a gap symbol, and do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations (figs. 7A, 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Consider claim 3 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of non-consecutive symbols of the slot that do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations.
However, Zhang teaches wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of non-consecutive symbols of the slot that do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations (figs. 7A, 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Consider claim 4 and as applied to claim 3. Deng and Zhang disclose wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive an indication of a symbol of the slot that is to be a first symbol of the plurality of non-consecutive symbols; wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS further comprises transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS in accordance with the indication of the first symbol of the plurality of non-consecutive symbols (paragraph 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Consider claim 5 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive an indication of a quantity of symbols for transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS, wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS is based at least in part on receiving the indication.
However, Zhang teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: receive an indication of a quantity of symbols for transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS, wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS is based at least in part on receiving the indication (paragraph 166).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Consider claim 9 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein a bandwidth of the sidelink CSI-RS is a same bandwidth as a bandwidth of sidelink shared channel information transmitted in the slot.
However, Zhang teaches wherein a bandwidth of the sidelink CSI-RS is a same bandwidth as a bandwidth of sidelink shared channel information transmitted in the slot (fig. 7A).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Consider claim 18 and as applied to claim 17. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS further comprises: transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of last consecutive symbols of the slot that precede a gap symbol, and do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations.
However, Zhang teaches wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS further comprises: transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of last consecutive symbols of the slot that precede a gap symbol, and do not overlap with one or more symbols scheduled for demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions and one or more symbols scheduled for CSI measurement operations (figs. 7A, 10B).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the invention of Deng in order to provide beam management on secondary links.
Claims 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng) in view of LG Electronics (“Discussion on physical layer structure for NR sidelink”).
Consider claim 6 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of consecutive symbols of the slot that immediately precede a gap symbol, wherein one or more symbols for sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions are determined based at least in part on one or more sidelink shared channel transmissions on symbols excluding the plurality of consecutive symbols for sidelink CSI-RS transmission.
However, LG Electronics teaches wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of consecutive symbols of the slot that immediately precede a gap symbol, wherein one or more symbols for sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions are determined based at least in part on one or more sidelink shared channel transmissions on symbols excluding the plurality of consecutive symbols for sidelink CSI-RS transmission (page 21, see section “2.1.8. Sidelink CSI-RS design”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of LG Electronics into the invention of Deng in order to avoid CSI-RS and PSSCh DMRS from overlapping in the same sequence.
Consider claim 19 and as applied to claim 17. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS further comprises: transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of consecutive symbols of the slot that immediately precede a gap symbol, wherein one or more symbols for sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions are determined based at least in part on one or more sidelink shared channel transmissions on symbols excluding the plurality of consecutive symbols for sidelink CSI-RS transmission.
However, LG Electronics teaches wherein transmitting the sidelink CSI-RS further comprises: transmitting, in accordance with the sidelink CSI-RS configuration, the sidelink CSI-RS over a plurality of consecutive symbols of the slot that immediately precede a gap symbol, wherein one or more symbols for sidelink shared channel demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmissions are determined based at least in part on one or more sidelink shared channel transmissions on symbols excluding the plurality of consecutive symbols for sidelink CSI-RS transmission (page 21, see section “2.1.8. Sidelink CSI-RS design”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of LG Electronics into the invention of Deng in order to avoid CSI-RS and PSSCh DMRS from overlapping in the same sequence.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng) in view of Samsung (“On Physical Layer Procedures for NR V2X”).
Consider claim 11 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink CSI-RS with a transmit power that corresponds to one or more transmit powers associated with symbols other than those in which the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted.
However, Samsung teaches wherein, to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit the sidelink CSI-RS with a transmit power that corresponds to one or more transmit powers associated with symbols other than those in which the sidelink CSI-RS is transmitted (page 12, see section “5.4 Power Control for SL CSI-RS and SL PTRS”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Samsung into the invention of Deng in order to quickly and efficiently determine the transmit power of SL CSI-RS based on the EPRE of the accompanying PSSCH.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng) in view of Moderator (Apple: “FL summary #1 for AI 9.4.3 Enhanced sidelink operation on FR2 licensed spectrum”, hereinafter Apple).
Consider claim 13 and as applied to claim 1. Deng discloses the claimed invention but fails to teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in a previous slot occurring earlier in time than the slot, control information indicating that the first UE is to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS in the slot.
However, Apple teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the first UE to: transmit, in a previous slot occurring earlier in time than the slot, control information indicating that the first UE is to transmit the sidelink CSI-RS in the slot (page 57, see “ZTE proposal 11”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Apple into the invention of Deng in order to fast and efficient beam training.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Deng et al. (WO 2023/081139 A1, hereinafter Deng) in view of Moderator (Apple: “FL summary #1 for AI 9.4.3 Enhanced sidelink operation on FR2 licensed spectrum”, hereinafter Apple) in view of Shin et al. (US PGPUB 2020/0314804 A1, hereinafter Shin).
Consider claim 14 and as applied to claim 13. Deng and Apple disclose the claimed invention but fail to teach wherein the previous slot and the slot correspond to a same aperiodic resource reservation group.
However, Shin teaches wherein the previous slot and the slot correspond to a same aperiodic resource reservation group (paragraph 258).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of applicant’s claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Shin into the invention of Deng and Apple in order to enable various types of traffic supports and operations of quality of service (QoS) in a sidelink.
Conclusion
/CHRISTOPHER M BRANDT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645 January 8, 2026