DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-7 are pending.
Claims 8-15 and 17-20 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim 16 and cancelled.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 02/27/2026, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7, respectively, of U.S. Patent No. 9,310,815.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1, of U.S. Patent No. 10,379,508.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 17, of U.S. Patent No. 11,042,141.
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6 and claims 10-12, of U.S. Patent No. 11,892,182.
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the examined application claims are anticipated by the reference claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mueller et al., US Patent No. 7,775,454 (hereinafter Mueller).
Regarding claims 1-7, Mueller discloses all the claimed limitations, as outlined below.
Claim 1. A method, performed by a system having a processor, for conserving energy by performing setpoint-based duty cycling of a heating, ventilation, and air condition (HVAC) system of a building, the method comprising: storing a plurality of base setpoint values for a thermostat associated with the HVAC system; receiving an indication of a duty cycling event, determining whether the duty cycling event is an offset-based duty cycling event; in response to determining that the duty cycling event is an offset-based duty cycling event, determining an offset value for the duty cycling event, determining whether the HVAC system is in cooling mode, in response to determining that the HVAC system is in cooling mode, determining a first offset setpoint value based at least in part on one of the plurality of base setpoint values and the first offset value, adjusting a setpoint of the thermostat associated with the HVAC system to the first offset setpoint value, determining a first wait time based at least in part on the duty cycling event, and after waiting for at least the first wait time, adjusting the setpoint of the thermostat associated with the HVAC system to one of the plurality of base setpoint values, and in response to determining that the HVAC system is not in cooling mode, determining a second offset setpoint value based at least in part on one of the plurality of base setpoint values and the offset value, adjusting the setpoint of the thermostat associated with the HVAC system to the second offset setpoint value, determining a second wait time based at least in part on the associated period of the duty cycling event, and after waiting for at least the second wait time, adjusting the setpoint of the thermostat associated with the HVAC system to one of the plurality of base setpoint values; and in response to determining that the duty cycling event is not an offset-based duty cycling event, determining a third wait time based at least in part on the associated period of the duty cycling event, and after waiting for at least the third wait time, adjusting the setpoint of the thermostat associated with the HVAC system to one of the plurality of base setpoint values (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 2. The method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of base setpoint values are associated with a setpoint schedule and wherein each of the plurality of setpoint values has an associated start time (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 3. The method of claim 1, wherein the indication of the duty cycling event is received from a utility as part of a demand response request (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 4. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the first offset setpoint value comprises determining the sum of a base setpoint value and the first offset value (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 5. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the second offset setpoint value comprises determining the difference between a base setpoint value and the first offset value (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 6. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the first offset setpoint value comprises determining the sum of a base setpoint value and a fraction of the first offset value (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Claim 7. The method of claim 1, wherein determining the second offset setpoint value comprises determining the difference between a base setpoint value and a fraction of the first offset value (C6 L 3-15 and C9 L1-19 - - Mueller discloses that a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period, a controller includes at least one temperature offset value in determining the space temperature value. The predetermined time period may comprise a three hour period, for example, which would allow a utility provider to communicate a signal to request reduced cooling operation that would remain in effect for three hours. During this predetermined time period, the thermostat's microprocessor controller would continue to offset the determined temperature value for the space. The offset would artificially lower the space temperature value, such that the set-point temperature is either satisfied or more quickly reached, to thereby reduce the need for cooling operation.
Mueller also discloses embodiments of a system and method that comprise a number of offset values, where the offset value varies or is incrementally changed with operating time, for example.
Mueller also discloses periodically receiving the communication of information indicative of the sensed temperature within a space from at least one sensor. Determining a temperature value for the space, based on information received from the at least one sensor and at least one temperature offset value when a request for reduced operation has been received within a predetermined time period).
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Bishop, US Patent No. 5,415,346 – relates to controlling the air conditioning system in a static condition mode during normal operations.
Conclusion
/CARLOS R ORTIZ RODRIGUEZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2119