DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-6, 10, 12-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 101956481 (provided in the IDS) in view of Nice US Patent 4284220.
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches,
A cover (figures 1-4, element 10) for an electronic device (element 1, mobile phone), the cover comprising:
a first cover member (figure 1, one of element 30) and a second cover member (figure 1, the other one of element 30) that are spaced apart (as seen in figure 1-3) at an interval (figures 1-4, at an interval similar to present application), the first cover member and the second cover member are configured to be folded and unfolded with a folding axis therebetween (open and closed between the folding axis, figures 2 and 4);
an inner cover (element 50) comprising a first region (region close to one of element 51 which is secured to the H part of first cover member 30) coupled to a first inner surface of the first cover member, a second region coupled (region close to one of element 51 which is secured to the H part of second cover member 30) to a second inner surface of the second cover member, and a third region (the middle part of element 50, which is exposed, similar to element 233 of present application) extending across the interval while connecting the first region and the second region (figures 1-4), the third region being flexible and overlapping (as seen in figures 3-4, the third region of 50 is flexible and overlaps the deformation portion/hinge housing (element S, figure 4) of the portable device (1)) with a hinge housing (element S of figure 4) of the electronic device (1), while the cover is mounted to the electronic device and folded (figure 4).
Kim does not teach a ring coupled directly to the third region of the inner cover, through a coupling portion of the third region which covers an inner circumference of the ring.
Nice in similar field teaches a ring (figures 1-3, element 24) coupled directly to the third region (the strap element 27 is the inner cover, such that the third region is corresponding to the region directly coupling to the ring 24 and coupling portion of the third region covers an inner circumference of the ring as illustrated in figure 3; this is similar to figure 6 of present application as mentioned in the remarks) of the inner cover, through a coupling portion of the third region which covers an inner circumference of the ring.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the ring of Nice such that the ring is coupled directly to the to the third region/folding region of the inner cover of Kim and the ring is directly to the third region of the inner cover, through a coupling portion of the third region which covers an inner circumference of the ring of Kim, such modification will ensure the device of Kim as modified will ensure the proper attachment (col. 2, lines 60-65) between the third region and the ring.
Regarding claim 2, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
wherein the first region and the second region are formed as a plane in each of a folded state and an unfolded state (as seen between figures 2-4 the two regions are formed as a plane), and wherein the third region comprises a flexible region whose shape is deformed (as seen in the operation between figures 3-4 the third region, middle of 50, is flexible region and deforms as the first and second cover member are folded or unfolded) when the first cover member and the second cover member are folded or unfolded.
Regarding claim 5, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Wherein the third region extends in a direction towards the first cover member and the second cover member substantially perpendicular to the folding axis (figure 1, the middle of 50 extending in a direction perpendicular to the folding axis and towards the two cover members).
Regarding claim 6, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
wherein a first side wall (figure 1, the side wall that is adjacent to element H; alternative interpretation figure 1, the side walls of element 30, such that the side wall extends from edge of 30 to adjacent to element 32, which contact the edge of 50) formed on the first inner surface of the first cover member (figure 1) and contacting at least a portion of an edge of the first region of the inner cover and extending in a direction substantially parallel to the folding axis is formed on the first inner surface (figure 1), and wherein a second side wall (figure 1, the side wall that is adjacent to element H; alternative interpretation figure 1, the side walls of element 30, such that the side wall extends from edge of 30 to adjacent to element 32, which contact the edge of 50) formed on the second inner surface of the second cover member (figure 1) and contacting at least a portion of an edge of the second region of the inner cover and extending in a direction substantially parallel to the folding axis is formed on the second inner surface (fig 1-2).
Regarding claim 10, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Wherein the first cover member is provided with its first edge adjacent to the folding axis is opened (figure 1-2, first cover 30 opened), wherein the first side wall is formed adjacent to the first edge (figure 1-2, the edge adjacent to where element 32/H is indicated is first edge)),
Wherein the second cover member is provided with its second edge adjacent to the folding axis is opened (figure 1,second cover 30 opened), wherein the second side wall is formed adjacent to the second edge (figure 1-2, the edge adjacent to where element 32/H is indicated is second edge)).
Regarding claim 12, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
wherein a folded state (figure 4, element 1) in which a first housing (element 1)and a second housing (element 1) of the electronic device face each other and an unfolded state (figure 3) in which the first housing and the second housing are arranged side by side are included (figure 3),
wherein the first cover member is configured to be coupled to the first housing, wherein the second cover member is configured to be coupled to the second housing and is spaced apart from the first cover member at a predetermined interval (as seen in at least figures 3-4, the first cover and the second cover coupling the respective housings of the electronic device 1 and the spaced apart feature as well, figure 4, element S), wherein the first region of the inner cover is positioned between the first housing and the first cover member (figure 3-4, first region of inner cover 50 provided between the first housing and the first cover member 30), wherein the second region of the inner cover is positioned between the second housing and the second cover member (figure 3-4, second region of inner cover 50 provided between the second housing and the second cover member 30), and wherein the third region of the inner cover comprises a flexible region configured to change a shape depending on the folded state or the unfolded state (as seen in figures 3-4 middle of element 50, which changes shape based on the folding or unfolded state).
Regarding claim 13, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
the hinge housing (figure 4, the bending area of element 1 is the hinge housing of the electronic device) is disposed between the first housing and the second housing; and wherein in the folded state, the third region of the inner cover and the hinge housing are configured to face each other (as seen in figure 4).
Regarding claim 14, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Kim as modified by Nice teaches wherein the ring and at least a portion of the flexible region are positioned toward a back surface of the electronic device through a gap between the first cover member and the second cover member (the modified structure as described in claim 1 such that the ring of Nice is provided in the third region such that when in the configuration of Figure 3 or figure 4 of Kim, the ring and portion of the flexible region of the third region towards a back surface of the electronic device through a gap between the two cover members 30s; for illustration purpose the render would be like present application, however to give prior art US patent 7948753 element 40 extending in the rear between two housing)).
Regarding claim 15, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
wherein the first cover member (one of element 30 as described in claim 1) includes:
a first inner surface (inner surface of element 30) at least partially in contact with the first region of the inner cover (figure 1-2, element 50, specifically the edge 51 contacting the inner surface), and
a first side wall (the side wall where the edge adjacent to element H) supporting an edge (edge of element 30, where H is indicated supporting the edge of the first region of the inner cover 50) of the first region of the inner cover is-formed on the first inner surface (figure 1-2),
wherein the second cover member ((one of element 30 as described in claim 1) includes:
a second inner surface (inner surface of element 30) at least partially in contact with the second region of the inner cover (figure 1-2, element 50, specifically the edge 51 contacting the inner surface), and
a second side wall (the side wall where the edge adjacent to element H) supporting an edge (edge of element 30, where H is indicated supporting the edge of the first region of the inner cover 50) of the second region of the inner cover is-formed on the second inner surface,
wherein the first side wall is formed at an edge adjacent to the second cover member among edges of the first cover member (figure 1, Kim), and
wherein the second side wall is formed at an edge adjacent to the first cover member among edges of the second cover member (figure 1, Kim).
Regarding claim 16, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Wherein the flexible region includes planar regions (figure 3 of Nice, such that element 6 to the left and right of the ring part which loops into the circumference of the ring is the planar region which is connected to the coupling region, the planar region overlap with each other at least from the side view, figure 3) connected to the coupling portion and overlapped with each other.
Regarding claim 17, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
wherein the first cover member and the second cover member are configured to be folded and unfolded with a folding axis therebetween (as seen between figures 2-4 of Kim), and wherein the first side wall and the second side wall are parallel to the folding axis (the side walls being the side wall adjacent to element H figure 1 of Kim).
Regarding claim 18, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Wherein each of the first side wall and the second side wall comprises a partially open region (figure 1-2, the spacing between the two cover members thus partially open region provided).
Regarding claim 19, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Wherein the third region extends through the partially open region (figures 1-4 shows the third region extending through the open region).
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 101956481 (provided in the IDS) in view of Nice US Patent 4284220 further in view of Kim et al. KR20210047585 (provided in the IDS; for translation and citation purpose using US equivalent US Pub 2022/0240637, hereinafter Kim'7585).
Regarding claim 3,
Kim as modified by Nice teaches the third region (as described in claim 1).
Kim as modified by Nice does not teach wherein the third region further comprises a first rigid region connected to the first region and a second rigid region connected to the second region, and wherein the flexible region is formed between the first rigid region and the second rigid region. However, providing desired level of rigidness and/or flexibility is not new in the art.
Kim'7585 in similar field of cover for an electronic device teaches a cover (figure 10a-c, element 200), the cover comprising a third region (from portion of 310 on left side to portion of 310 on right side, figure 6, which includes 303-305 in between), wherein the third region further comprises a first rigid region (the portion of element 310 on the left, left of D1) connected to the first region (far left of 310) and a second rigid region (the portion of element 310 on the right, right of D2) connected to the second region (far right of 310), and wherein the flexible region is formed between the first rigid region and the second rigid region (figures 10a-c).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Kim'7585 such that the third region comprises first rigid region and a second rigid region and the flexible region provided between the rigid regions such modification can be used in Kim as modified by Nice’s third region such that the modification will provide the desired bendability and shape (paragraph 122 of Kim,'7585) in the third region thus protecting the cover.
Claim(s) 4 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 101956481 (provided in the IDS) in view of Nice US Patent 4284220 further in view Kim US Pub 2020/0412401.
Regarding claim 4,
Kim as modified by Nice teaches the first region, second region and third region as described in claim 1.
Kim as modified by Nice does not teach the specific width as described, more specifically, Wherein the first region and the second region have a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis,
Wherein the third region has a second width measured in the direction of the folding axis, and
Wherein the second width is smaller than the first width.
Kim'2401 in similar field teaches inner cover (400, figure 3) teaches
Wherein a region (where element 410 is indicated) has a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis,
Wherein the third region has a second width (the middle part of element 400, having second width) measured in the direction of the folding axis, and
Wherein the second width is smaller than the first width (figure 3, the second width is smaller than the first width).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Kim'2401 of having the region at the end of the cover having a greater width than the middle (i.e. the third region) region having such that the inner cover of Kim as modified by Nice is such that the first region and the second region have a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis, the third region has a second width measured in the direction of the folding axis, and the second width is smaller than the first width, such modification will ensure the inner cover has restricted sliding movement and stable sliding movement such that the inner cover stays within the first and second cover members.
Regarding claim 20,
Kim as modified by Nice teaches the first region, second region and third region as described in claim 1.
Kim as modified by Nice does not teach the specific width as described, more specifically, Wherein the first region and the second region have a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis,
Wherein the third region has a second width measured in the direction of the folding axis, and
Wherein the second width is smaller than the first width.
Kim'2401 in similar field teaches inner cover (400, figure 3) teaches
Wherein a region (where element 410 is indicated) has a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis,
Wherein the third region has a second width (the middle part of element 400, having second width) measured in the direction of the folding axis, and
Wherein the second width is smaller than the first width (figure 3, the second width is smaller than the first width).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to use the teaching of Kim'2401 of having the region at the end of the cover having a greater width than the middle (i.e. the third region) region having such that the inner cover of Kim as modified by Nice is such that the first region and the second region have a first width measured in a direction of the folding axis, the third region has a second width measured in the direction of the folding axis, and the second width is smaller than the first width, such modification will ensure the inner cover has restricted sliding movement and stable sliding movement such that the inner cover stays within the first and second cover members.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim KR 101956481 (provided in the IDS) in view of Nice US Patent 4284220 further in view of Pratl US Patent 6550108.
Regarding claim 11, Kim as modified by Nice teaches,
Kim as modified by Nice teaches the ring as described in claim 1, such that the ring comprises a curved section (curvature part of the ring, 24 of Nice).
Kim as modified by Nice does not teach wherein the ring comprises a straight section, and wherein the coupling portion extends through the interval in a direction away from the electronic device to at least partially surround the straight section.
Pratl in similar field of cover comprises a ring (figures 1-9, specifically details in figure 8b of the ring) wherein the ring comprises a curved section (figure 8b, region indicated by element 72) and a straight section (region indicated by 70).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was to use the ring shape of Pratl as the ring choice of Kim as modified by Nice such that the ring comprises a curved section and a straight section as taught by Pratl such modification thus would render the limitation the coupling portion (as described in claim 1) extends through the interval in a direction away from the electronic device to at least partially surround the straight section, such modification will provide better attachment/securing between the straight section and the coupling portion since direct contact can be made on a straight surface.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7 and claims (8 and 9) dependent thereupon are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Primary reason for allowance is claim 7 and intervening claims is not taught by the prior arts cited in this office action and the previous office action(s). Furthermore, claims 8 and 9 are indicated as allowable due to being dependent on claim 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
KR 200247194 (provided by the office) – figure 3, such that the cover (10) comprises ring (bottom portion of 30) such that a section is directly coupled to the ring and a coupling portion of the third region of 10 which covers an inner circumference of the ring (figure 3, similar to figures 3/6 of present application).
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
ABHISHEK M. RATHOD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2841
/ABHISHEK M RATHOD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841