DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This office action is in response to amendment filed on 03/02/26. Regarding the amendment, claims 1-15 are present for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/02/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant argument that “the Office Action is citing elements 56 and 68 as allegedly equivalent to the first electronics housing and the second electronics housing, respectively. However, elements 56 and 68 do not represent two different electronics housings as recited in claim 1. Instead, elements 56 and 68 refer to two different halves of the same electronics housing. It can be seen from the above Fig. 5 that elements 56 and 68 are intended to mate to form a single housing.” Examiner disagrees with that because Major’s para. [0050] and para. [0053] teaches a rear endshield 56 and a dripshield 68 are two different elements wherein the dripshield 68 is preferably a snap-on dripshield 68 secured to the rear endshield 56. In addition, the claim invention does not recite “the first electronics housing and the second electronic housing are different elements”. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
In response to applicant argument that “elements 56 and 68 form a single cavity together that house the entirety of element 58, which the Office Action equates to the variable frequency drive electronics unit of claim 1. Thus, not only do elements 58 and 68 not form two different cavities as recited in claim 1, but the electronics components of the variable frequency drive electronics unit, in contrast to claim 1, are housed within a single cavity. Thus, Major does not disclose or suggest at least the "first electronics housing" and the "second electronic housing" that define a "first cavity" and a "second cavity" as in claim 1.” Examiner disagrees with that because fig 5a showed real endshield 56 includes a generally radially extending end wall 76 and a generally circumferentially extending side wall 78 extending axially from the end wall 76. The end wall 76 and the side wall 78 formed a first cavity which is a portion of controller chamber 70. Furthermore, the dripshield 68 includes a generally radially extending end wall 128 and a generally circumferentially extending side wall 130 extending axially from the end wall 128. The end wall 128 and the side wall 130 define a second cavity which is a portion of controller chamber 70. It is note that controller chamber 70 having two portions, a portion formed by the end wall 76 and the side wall 78 of real endshield 56, and another portion formed by the end wall 128 and the side wall 130 of dripshield 68. In addition, applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., a "first cavity" and a "second cavity" are two different cavities) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Furthermore, Merriam webster (https://www.merriam-webster.com), a plain definition of cavity is an unfilled space within a mass or a hollowed-out space. Therefore the hollow spaces of real endshield 56 and dripshield 68 defined first cavity and second cavity formed chamber 70.
In response to applicant argument that “Major does not disclose or suggest that "the plurality of electronic components disposed partially within the first cavity and partially within the second cavity" as recited in claim 1.” Examiner disagrees with that because Major’s fig. 4 showed the plurality of electronic components (64, 62) disposed partially within the first cavity (electronic component 64 disposed within first cavity of first electronic housing 56) and partially within the second cavity (electronic components 62 disposed within second cavity of second electronic housing 68).
In response to applicant argument that “The Office Action maps the motor housing to element 50 and the first cavity to element 52.” Examiner inadvertently made a typo in element-by-element matching. The first cavity should correspond to the space opposite to space 52 of first electronic housing 56.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-6, 9, 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Major et al. (US 2016/0056681 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Major teaches a motor assembly, comprising:
a motor housing (50);
an electrical motor (12-14) at least partially disposed in the motor housing (50);
a first electronics housing (56) disposed in-line with the motor housing (50) and defining a first cavity (a space opposite to space 52 of first electronic housing 56 defined by end side 76 and circumferential side wall 78);
a second electronics housing (68) supported by the motor housing (50), wherein the second electronics housing (68) defines a second cavity (a portion of chamber 70 defined by end side 128 and circumferential side wall 130); and
a variable frequency drive electronics unit (58) comprising a plurality of electronic components (62, 64), the plurality of electronic components (62, 64) disposed partially within the first cavity (64 disposed in first cavity of 56) and partially within the second cavity (62 disposed in second cavity of 68) and configured to provide power to the electrical motor (fig 4).
Regarding claim 2, Major teaches the plurality of electronic components comprises a circuit board (60), a plurality of power modules (62) and a plurality of power control components (64).
Regarding claim 3, Major teaches the plurality of electronic components comprises a plurality of power modules (64) positioned within the first cavity (a space opposite to space 52) and a plurality of power inductors (62) disposed within the second cavity (a portion of chamber 70).
Regarding claim 5, Major teaches the first electronics housing (56) is removably mountable to the motor housing (50, para [0071]).
Regarding claim 6, Major teaches the first electronics housing (56) comprises an end-plate (86) and a mid-plate (84), the first cavity (a space opposite to space 52) within the end-plate (86), the mid-plate (84) disposed between the motor housing (50) and the end-plate (86).
Regarding claim 9, Major teaches a motor assembly, comprising:
a motor housing (50);
an electrical motor (12-14) at least partially disposed in the motor housing (50);
a first electronics housing (56) disposed in-line with the motor housing (50), the first electronics housing (56) defining a first cavity (a space opposite to space 52) and comprising a first wall (84) proximal to the motor housing (50) and a second wall (86) distal to the motor housing (50);
a second electronics housing (68) disposed on the motor housing (50), wherein the second electronics housing (68) defines a second cavity (a portion of chamber 70); and
a variable frequency drive electronics unit (58) configured to provide power to the electrical motor (12-14), the variable frequency drive electronics unit (58) comprising: a first segment comprising group of a plurality of electrical components (64) disposed within the first cavity (a space opposite to space 52); and a second segment comprising one or more electrical components (62) disposed within the second cavity (a portion of chamber 70).
Regarding claim 12, Major teaches the first electronics housing (55) is removably mountable to the motor housing (50, para [0071]).
Regarding claim 13, Major teaches the first electronics housing (56) comprises a mid-plate (84) and an end-plate (86), the mid-plate disposed between the end-plate (86) and the motor housing (50), the first cavity (a space opposite to space 52) being within the end-plate (86), the mid-plate (84) configured to receive a motor bearing assembly (46).
Regarding claim 14, Major teaches the first segment comprises a plurality of power switching components (64) and the second segment comprises one or more power inductors (62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major in view of Palmer et al. (US 10,715,010 B2).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, Major teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 3 and 14, except for the added limitation of the motor having a plurality of power quality filter capacitor.
Palmer teaches a motor controller with synthetic housing having a plurality of power quality filter capacitor (64, col 7 ln 65-col 8 ln 5) to enhanced heat transfer in the motor.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Major’s motor with a plurality of power quality filter capacitor as taught by Palmer. Doing so would enhance heat transfer in the motor.
Claim(s) 7-8 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Major in view of Sakakibara (US 20110176340 A1).
Regarding claims 7 and 10, Major teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 9, except for the added limitation of the variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a direct AC-AC converter.
Sakakibata teaches a power converter having a variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a direct AC-AC converter (fig 1, para [0058]) to reduce ripple of active power caused by odd-number-order harmonic components in a current which flows in an inductive load exemplified by a motor when an AC voltage is outputted to the load (para [0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Major’s motor with the variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a direct AC-AC converter as taught by Sakakibata. Doing so would reduce ripple of active power caused by odd-number-order harmonic components in a current which flows in an inductive load exemplified by a motor when an AC voltage is outputted to the load (para [0025]).
Regarding claims 8 and 11, Major teaches the claimed invention as set forth in claims 1 and 9, except for the added limitation of the variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a matrix converter.
Sakakibata teaches a power converter having the variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a matrix converter (fig 11, para [0133]) to reduce ripple of active power caused by odd-number-order harmonic components in a current which flows in an inductive load exemplified by a motor when an AC voltage is outputted to the load (para [0025]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Major’s motor with the variable frequency drive electronics unit implements a matrix converter as taught by Sakakibata. Doing so would reduce ripple of active power caused by odd-number-order harmonic components in a current which flows in an inductive load exemplified by a motor when an AC voltage is outputted to the load (para [0025]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Jensen et al. (US 5,714,816 A) teaches a frequency converter supplied electric motor comprising a cooling air blower, the cooling air of which for cooling the motor is guided along cooling ribs which are arranged on the motor housing. The frequency converter is arranged in a housing which is detachably connected to the motor housing and which comprises a first heat conducting housing part and at least a further housing part. The first housing part of the frequency converter housing forms the fan cowl and comprises a transverse wall which is provided and formed for the heat conducting connection to the heat producing components of the power circuit of the frequency converter. The first housing part is formed ribbed and openings in the hosing wall are provided in the footwell of the cooling ribs as air inlet openings for the cooling air stream. Moreover there is provided a further housing part which connects to the first housing part and has a purely accommodating function.
Archer et al. (US 5006744 A) teaches a motor assembly includes a stationary assembly having a plurality of winding stages adapted to be electrically energized to generate an electromagnetic field and a rotatable assembly including a plurality of permanent magnet elements in magnetic coupling relation with the stationary assembly. The motor assembly also includes first and second substantially flat end members parallel to each other and having inner facing sides between which the stationary assembly and the rotatable assembly are located. Each of the members has an outer side opposite its inner side. Control circuitry is connected to the winding stages and positioned adjacent the outer side of the first member, for applying a voltage to one or more of the winding stages at a time and for commutating the winding stages in a preselected sequence to rotate the rotatable assembly about an axis of rotation. A cap on the outer side of the first member forms a closure with the first member within which the control circuitry is located. A connecting element engages the second end member and the cap and is adapted to urge the second end member and the cap toward each other thereby supporting the first end member, the stationary assembly and the rotatable assembly therebetween. Alternatively, an adapter having first and second opposite sides may be positioned between the first end member and the cap.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEDA T PHAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834