DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinney (20110271821)
Regarding claim 1, McKinney discloses the use of an effects pedal stand, comprising: a first board (66); a second board (figure 8, the side in the direction of the arrow 44) ) attached to the first board (66); a third board (parallel to the first board 66) attached to the second board; a platform (30) rotatably connected to the second board (68); a bottom board (68) attached to the first board, the second board, and the third board; a first leg (74) rotatably connected to a bottom side of the platform; and a plurality of stops (70) arranged along a first board in a first direction, wherein the plurality of stops are constructed and arranged to receive the first leg at respective positions on the side board along the first direction so that the platform is able to be held at respective angles relative to the bottom board (see paragraph 0047).
McKinney does not disclose an arrangement where the stops are arranged along the bottom board.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 2, McKinney does not discloses a platform with hole for cables.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice and a hole for cables since the use of holes for cables in pedal boards is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 3, will McKinney et al does disclose one board that has a handhold (36). McKinney does not disclose wherein the first board has a first handhold, and wherein the second board has a second handhold.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to handholds on both sides as a means of transporting the pedal board.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, McKinney et al does not disclose a layer of rubber gripping material disposed on a top side opposite the bottom side of the platform.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice and rubber since the use of rubber is a known material used to grip surfaces.
4. Claims 7-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McKinney (20110271821) in view of Peller (5452951).
Regarding claim 7, McKinney discloses the use of an effects pedal stand, comprising: a first board (66); a second board (figure 8, the side in the direction of the arrow 44) ) attached to the first board (66); a third board (parallel to the first board 66) attached to the second board; a platform (30) rotatably connected to the second board (68); a bottom board (68) attached to the first board, the second board, and the third board; a first leg (74) rotatably connected to a bottom side of the platform; and a plurality of stops (70) arranged along a first board in a first direction, wherein the plurality of stops are constructed and arranged to receive the first leg at respective positions on the side board along the first direction so that the platform is able to be held at respective angles relative to the bottom board (see paragraph 0047).
McKinney does not disclose an arrangement where the stops are arranged along the bottom board.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice.
McKinney does not disclose the specific use of a compartment.
Peller discloses the use of an electronic device rack with first (12), second (14), and third(18) boards that partially define a compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice
and the compartment as disclosed in Peller in order to provide a storage means for components.
Regarding claim 8, McKinney discloses the use of an effects pedal stand, comprising: a first board (66); a platform (30) rotatably connected to the second board (68); a bottom board (68) attached to the first board, the second board, and the third board; a first leg (74) rotatably connected to a bottom side of the platform; and a plurality of stops (70) arranged along a first board in a first direction, wherein the plurality of stops are constructed and arranged to receive the first leg at respective positions on the side board along the first direction so that the platform is able to be held at respective angles relative to the bottom board (see paragraph 0047).
McKinney does not disclose an arrangement where the stops are arranged along the bottom board.
However it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice.
Regarding claim 9, McKinney does not discloses a platform with hole for cables.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of as a matter of design choice, the compartment as disclosed in Peller in order to provide a storage means for components, and a hole for cables since the use of holes for cables in pedal boards is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 10, McKinney et al does disclose one board that has a handhold (36).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, McKinney et al does not disclose a layer of rubber gripping material disposed on a top side opposite the bottom side of the platform.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include the use of the stops as a matter of design choice and the rubber as recited by the applicant since the use of rubber is a known material used to grip surfaces.
Regarding claim 13, McKinney further discloses a hinge (not labeled, the hinge on element 68) that is constructed and arranged to rotatably connect the platform (30) to the first board.
Regarding claim 14, McKinney discloses and at least one effects pedal (20) positioned on the platform.
Regarding claim 15, McKinney does not discloses a platform with hole for cables.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice and a hole for cables since the use of holes for cables in pedal boards is conventional and well known in the art.
Regarding claim 16, McKinney et al does disclose one board that has a handhold (36). McKinney does not disclose wherein the first board has a first handhold, and wherein the second board has a second handhold.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice and handholds on multiple sides as a means of transporting the pedal board.
Regarding claims 17 and 18, McKinney et al does not disclose a layer of rubber gripping material disposed on a top side opposite the bottom side of the platform.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice and rubber since the use of rubber is a known material used to grip surfaces.
Regarding claim 20, Peller discloses the use of an electronic device rack with first (12), second (14), and third (18) boards that partially define a compartment.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the device as disclosed in McKinney to include stops arranged along the bottom board instead a side board of a as a matter of design choice
and the compartment as disclosed in Peller in order to provide a storage means for components.
Claims 6 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
/KIMBERLY R LOCKETT/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837