DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed on 01 September, 2026 has been fully considered and entered. In response to the claim amendments, the previous rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) is withdrawn.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01 September, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant asserts that since Consonni fails to recognize the criticality of the specific 5x ratio, Consonni fails to teach or suggest that the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. Applicant further points to paragraph 0033 of the as-filed specification teaching the criticality of the claimed 5x ratio. However, Examiner disagrees because Consonni does teach an optical cable wherein the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, since the dimensions taught by Consonni yield a device having an outer diameter of the outer jacket being between 3.75 and 7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. Since exactly 5 falls within the range disclosed for the Consonni device, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form an optical cable according to the Consonni disclosure having an outer diameter of the outer jacket being equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube.
Regarding the asserted criticality of the claimed ratio: The relied upon paragraph 0033 fails to establish the unexpected result if the ratio is not exactly 5x, since it also broadly suggests a ratio “nearly equal to” 5 and fails to establish a critical range wherein an unexpected synergistic effect is achieved. Moreover, in describing the optimized cable in paragraph 0033, the application relies on many more specific parameters including the actual outer diameters of the outer jacket and the hollow buffer tube as well as the thickness of the outer jacket, and the actual optimized cable appears to depend not only on the claimed ratio but on the specific values described in paragraph 0033. However, none of these specifics are required by the claim, so one of ordinary skill could make an optical cable having the ratio of exactly 5, meeting the claim, but not achieve the unexpected synergistic effect described in the remarks, lacking the additional parameters described in paragraph 0033 that contribute to the unexpected result. For example, a cable may be provided with an outer jacket may have a thickness greater or less than 3.4mm (e.g., within the range of 3-5 mm taught by Consonni) and thereby have a different available volume between the hollow tube and the jacket from the cable of the present invention. Thus, even if the parameters described in paragraph 0033 contribute to an unexpected, synergistic result, the specification fails to establish that the ratio itself is a critical parameter. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consonni et al. (US 2002/0136513; hereinafter Consonni).
Regarding claim 1: Consonni disclosesAn optical cable (Fig. 1) comprising: a hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, buffer tube 101) having a plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 1, optical fibers 105) therein, wherein the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface (Fig. 1, the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface), and wherein the outer buffer surface of the hollow buffer tube defines an outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, T1+D1+T2+D2+T3; paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm); a first plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 1, metallic wires 103, specifically the first layer that is directly adjacent to the hollow buffer tube) surrounding the hollow buffer tube; a conductor (Fig. 1, tubular metal sheath 107) surrounding the first plurality of layered strength members; and an outer jacket (Fig. 1, outer polymeric sheath 108) surrounding the conductor, wherein the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface (see Fig. 1, the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface), wherein the outer jacket defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket (Fig. 1, the outer jacket inherently defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket; paragraph 0084 discloses an outer diameter of the metal sheath is 9mm, while paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm, corresponding to an outer diameter of the outer jacket between 15 and 19 mm)
While Consonni fails to disclose that the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, Consonni’s teachings of preferred dimensions of the outer diameter of the buffer tube and the outer jacket result in an outer diameter of the outer jacket being ~3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. Based on the Consonni disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the Consonni cable having an outer diameter of the outer jacket being anywhere in the range from 3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, including wherein the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, to provide a suitable fiber size while maintaining the ability to carry and protect the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 2: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 1, as applied above, wherein the outer jacket has a radial thickness (paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm). Considering the preferable range of outer diameters of the hollow buffer tube (paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm), the preferred ranges disclosed by Consonni overlap with the presently claimed range, i.e. that the radial thickness is less than the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists absent any evidence of (a) the criticality of the claimed range to produce new and unexpected results, and/or (b) the prior art teaching away from the claimed invention. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2144.05 (I)(III). In the present case, the prior art's range renders obvious the claimed range because the current invention fails to establish criticality of the claimed range, and one of ordinary skill would have expected the prior art to operate as disclosed when utilizing the claimed range. Moreover, there is no evidence to support that the prior art teaches away from the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 1, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers comprises greater than one hundred and forty optical fibers. The claimed arrangements would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the purpose of increasing the number of channels of the cable, and thereby expanding the information capacity and processing capabilities of the optical cable. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 4: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 1, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers comprises greater than two hundred and thirty optical fibers. The claimed arrangements would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the purpose of increasing the number of channels of the cable, and thereby expanding the information capacity and processing capabilities of the optical cable. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 6: Modified Consonni teachesThe optical cable of claim 1 (as applied above), further comprising a second plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 1, the larger of the two sizes of metallic wires 103 surrounding the first layer of metallic wires) surrounding the hollow buffer tube, wherein each of the first plurality of strength members has a first diameter, and wherein each of the second plurality of strength members has a second diameter, different than the first diameter (Fig. 1 shows this; additionally, see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 7: Modified Consonni teachesThe optical cable of claim 6 (as applied above), further comprising a third plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 1, the smaller of the two sizes of metallic wires 103 surrounding the first layer of metallic wires) surrounding the hollow buffer tube, wherein each of the third plurality of strength members has a third diameter, different than the first diameter and different than the second diameter (Fig. 1 shows this; additionally, see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 8: Modified Consonni teachesThe optical cable of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the conductor is a layer of copper (see paragraph 0084) positioned directly adjacent the outer jacket (Fig. 1 shows this).
Regarding claim 9: Modified Consonni teachesThe optical cable of claim 1 (as applied above), wherein the outer jacket is polyethylene (see paragraph 0085).
Regarding claim 16: Consonni disclosesAn undersea optical cable (Fig. 1; see title) comprising: a hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, buffer tube 101) having a plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 1, optical fibers 105) therein, wherein the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface (Fig. 1, the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface), and wherein the outer buffer surface of the hollow buffer tube defines an outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, T1+D1+T2+D2+T3; paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm); a first plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 1, metallic wires 103, specifically the first layer that is directly adjacent to the hollow buffer tube) surrounding the hollow buffer tube; a conductor (Fig. 1, tubular metal sheath 107) surrounding the first plurality of layered strength members; and an outer jacket (Fig. 1, outer polymeric sheath 108) immediately surrounding the conductor, wherein the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface (see Fig. 1, the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface), wherein the outer jacket surface defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket (Fig. 1, the outer jacket surface inherently defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket; paragraph 0084 discloses an outer diameter of the metal sheath is 9mm, while paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm, corresponding to an outer diameter of the outer jacket between 15 and 19 mm)
While Consonni fails to disclose that the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, Consonni’s teachings of preferred dimensions of the outer diameter of the buffer tube and the outer jacket result in an outer diameter of the outer jacket being ~3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. Based on the Consonni disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the Consonni cable having an outer diameter of the outer jacket being anywhere in the range from 3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, including wherein the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, to provide a suitable fiber size while maintaining the ability to carry and protect the optical fibers.
Regarding claim 17: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 16, as applied above, wherein the outer jacket has a radial thickness (paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm). Considering the preferable range of outer diameters of the hollow buffer tube (paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm), the preferred ranges disclosed by Consonni overlap with the presently claimed range, i.e. that the radial thickness is less than the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists absent any evidence of (a) the criticality of the claimed range to produce new and unexpected results, and/or (b) the prior art teaching away from the claimed invention. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2144.05 (I)(III). In the present case, the prior art's range renders obvious the claimed range because the current invention fails to establish criticality of the claimed range, and one of ordinary skill would have expected the prior art to operate as disclosed when utilizing the claimed range. Moreover, there is no evidence to support that the prior art teaches away from the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18: Modified Consonni teaches the undersea optical cable of claim 16, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers comprises between one hundred forty-two and two hundred thirty-two optical fibers. The claimed arrangements would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the purpose of increasing the number of channels of the cable, and thereby expanding the information capacity and processing capabilities of the optical cable. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 20: Modified Consonni teaches The undersea optical cable of claim 16 (as applied above), further comprising a buffer gel within the hollow buffer tube (jelly-like material; see paragraphs 0076-0078).
Claims 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consonni et al. (US 2002/0136513; hereinafter Consonni) in view of Spalding et al. (US 2022/0283397; hereinafter Spalding).
Regarding claim 10: Consonni disclosesAn optical cable (Fig. 1) comprising: a hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, buffer tube 101) having a plurality of optical fibers (Fig. 1, optical fibers 105) therein, wherein the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface (Fig. 1, the hollow buffer tube includes an inner buffer surface and an outer buffer surface), and wherein the outer buffer surface of the hollow buffer tube defines an outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube (Fig. 1, T1+D1+T2+D2+T3; paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm); a first plurality of layered strength members (Fig. 1, metallic wires 103, specifically the first layer that is directly adjacent to the hollow buffer tube) surrounding the hollow buffer tube; a conductor (Fig. 1, tubular metal sheath 107) surrounding the first plurality of layered strength members; and an outer jacket (Fig. 1, outer polymeric sheath 108) surrounding the conductor, wherein the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface (see Fig. 1, the outer jacket includes an inner jacket surface and an outer jacket surface), wherein the outer jacket defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket (Fig. 1, the outer jacket inherently defines an outer diameter of the outer jacket; paragraph 0084 discloses an outer diameter of the metal sheath is 9mm, while paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm, corresponding to an outer diameter of the outer jacket between 15 and 19 mm)
While Consonni fails to disclose that the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, Consonni’s teachings of preferred dimensions of the outer diameter of the buffer tube and the outer jacket result in an outer diameter of the outer jacket being ~3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. Based on the Consonni disclosure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the Consonni cable having an outer diameter of the outer jacket being anywhere in the range from 3.75-7.6 times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, including wherein the outer diameter of the outer jacket is equal to five times the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube, to provide a suitable fiber size while maintaining the ability to carry and protect the optical fibers.
Consonni also fails to teach that the optical cable is included in an optical communications system comprising a set of terminals and a pair of unidirectional optical paths, wherein each unidirectional optical path of the pair of unidirectional optical paths comprises an optical fiber cable having the claimed arrangement. However, Spalding, also related to undersea optical cables (see title and paragraph 0002), does teach using optical fiber cables in an optical communications system comprising a set of terminals and a pair of unidirectional optical paths (see paragraph 0012), wherein each unidirectional optical path of the pair of unidirectional optical paths comprises an optical fiber cable having optical fibers (Fig. 3, optical fibers 335) in a hollow buffer tube (Fig. 3, tube 333), surrounded by strength members (Fig. 3, strength members 338, 339), a conductor (Fig. 3, conductor 340), and an outer jacket (Fig. 3, outer jacket 342). Since it was known to use fiber optic cables for optical communication systems including a set of terminals and a pair of unidirectional optical paths, wherein each unidirectional optical path comprises an optical fiber cable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the Consonni optical fiber cables in such a system, in order to facilitate high speed data transmission.
Regarding claim 11: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 10, as applied above, wherein the outer jacket has a radial thickness (paragraph 0085 discloses a protective sheath thickness preferably between 3 and 5 mm). Considering the preferable range of outer diameters of the hollow buffer tube (paragraph 0066, the buffer tube disclosed to have a diameter preferably between 2.5 and 4.0 mm), the preferred ranges disclosed by Consonni overlap with the presently claimed range, i.e. that the radial thickness is less than the outer diameter of the hollow buffer tube. In the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists absent any evidence of (a) the criticality of the claimed range to produce new and unexpected results, and/or (b) the prior art teaching away from the claimed invention. Iron Grip Barbell Co., Inc. v. USA Sports, Inc., 392 F.3d 1317, 1322, 73 USPQ2d 1225, 1228 (Fed. Cir. 2004). See MPEP 2144.05 (I)(III). In the present case, the prior art's range renders obvious the claimed range because the current invention fails to establish criticality of the claimed range, and one of ordinary skill would have expected the prior art to operate as disclosed when utilizing the claimed range. Moreover, there is no evidence to support that the prior art teaches away from the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 12: Modified Consonni teaches the undersea optical cable of claim 10, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers comprises between one hundred forty-two and two hundred thirty-two optical fibers. The claimed arrangements would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effectively filed for the purpose of increasing the number of channels of the cable, and thereby expanding the information capacity and processing capabilities of the optical cable. “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton” – ‘[w]hen there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely the product not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 13: Modified Consonni teaches The optical communication system of claim 10 (as applied above), further comprising a second plurality of layered strength members (Consonni Fig. 1, the larger of the two sizes of metallic wires 103 surrounding the first layer of metallic wires) surrounding the hollow buffer tube, wherein each of the first plurality of strength members has a first diameter, and wherein each of the second plurality of strength members has a second diameter, different than the first diameter (Consonni Fig. 1 shows this; additionally, see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 14: Modified Consonni teaches The optical communication system of claim 13 (as applied above), further comprising a third plurality of layered strength members (Consonni Fig. 1, the smaller of the two sizes of metallic wires 103 surrounding the first layer of metallic wires) surrounding the hollow buffer tube, wherein each of the third plurality of strength members has a third diameter, different than the first diameter and different than the second diameter (Consonni Fig. 1 shows this; additionally, see paragraph 0079).
Regarding claim 15: Modified Consonni teaches The optical communications system of claim 10 (as applied above), wherein the conductor is a layer of copper (see Consonni paragraph 0084) positioned directly adjacent the outer jacket (Consonni Fig. 1 shows this).
Claims 5 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Consonni et al. (US 2002/0136513; hereinafter Consonni) in view of Yamaguchi et al. (“Optical Fibers for High Fiber Count Submarine Cable Systems”, Sumitomo Electric Technical Review, April 2023; copy provided with this Office Action; hereinafter Yamaguchi).
Regarding claim 5: Modified Consonni teaches the optical fiber cable of claim 1, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers has a diameter of 200um. Yamaguchi, also related to undersea optical fiber cables (see title and abstract), teaches using optical fibers with a diameter of 200um in order to expand transmission capacity of undersea cables without significantly increasing the costs of submarine cables, due to the small area they occupy (see Yamaguchi page 32, left column, section 4-1). Since it was previously taught to use 200um diameter optical fibers in submarine cables, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Consonni device by using optical fibers of this diameter, in order to utilize their potential for high transmission capacity.
Regarding claim 19: Modified Consonni teaches the optical cable of claim 16, as applied above. Consonni fails to teach that the plurality of optical fibers has a diameter of 200um. Yamaguchi, also related to undersea optical fiber cables (see title and abstract), teaches using optical fibers with a diameter of 200um in order to expand transmission capacity of undersea cables without significantly increasing the costs of submarine cables, due to the small area they occupy (see Yamaguchi page 32, left column, section 4-1). Since it was previously taught to use 200um diameter optical fibers in submarine cables, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the Consonni device by using optical fibers of this diameter, in order to utilize their potential for high transmission capacity.
Conclusion
/KIRSTEN D. ENDRESEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874