DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1, 8, 12, and 14 have been amended. Claims 3, 10, and 21 have been canceled. Claims 22-26 have added. Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-20, and 22-26 have been examined on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 8, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to the previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections are persuasive. The previous 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 8-11, filed 02/26/2026, with respect to “The term "first stage separator" is a term of art in the vacuum and particulate-separation field, commonly understood to refer to a separator that initially receives the dirty airflow and performs an initial debris-separation step upstream of any downstream separation or filtration stages. One of ordinary skill in the art would further understand that the cyclonic separator shown and described in the present application operates as such a first stage separator.” is not persuasive. The “common term” is not found anywhere in the specification, and therefore is new matter.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a first axis” of claims 23, 25, and 26; “an axis of the suction motor assembly” of claims 23, 25, and 26,
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-20, and 22-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The term “first stage separator” is not found nor defined in the specification, and therefore is new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 12-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1).
Referring to Claim 1: Ohlendorf teaches a vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3);
a cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) removably coupled to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3),
the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) including a dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4) and a clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17),
a housing (3 Figs. 1-3) removably coupled to the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) supporting a filter (“filter”; “The air stream LS, from which virtually all of the dirt particles have now been separated, flows through the filter of the vacuuming device 1.” [0062]. The examiner believes the recited filter is the already existing filter of the stock vacuum to which the separator (2; “modular”) is attached to.) therein,
when the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) is coupled to the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18);
a power head (section which houses the “turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]) integrally formed on the housing (3 Figs. 1-3);
and a suction motor (“turbine”; [0043]) assembly operable to create a working airflow path for a working airflow, the working airflow path extending from the dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4), through the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), through the clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17),
wherein the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is a first stage separator (first stage of dust separation process) and is configured to separate heavier debris (“21d, 22d serves for the exit of the drawn-in air stream LS and the drawn-in dirt particles from the separator 21, 22.” [0050]) from the working airflow and discharge the separated heavier debris into the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), wherein the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) is directly connectable to each of (“the separating device can be retrofitted in a modular manner into existing vacuuming devices” [0018]; In addition to the disclosed modular capability, the latches 5-8 shown in Figs. 1-3 are located in the same location and appear to be identical and therefore, capable of being latched to either component.) an upper portion (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) and the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
While the examiner believes the power head includes an exhaust outlet as shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below, it is unclear if that’s the case since there is no mention in the written description. Similarly, the disclosed filter [0062] appears to be adjacent to the separator but it’s not clear because there are no identifying numbers.
Therefore, Ohlendorf is silent on:
the vacuum cleaner specifically being a wet/dry vacuum cleaner;
the power head specifically including an exhaust outlet;
the working airflow path specifically extending … to the exhaust outlet;
the filter positioned specifically adjacent the clean air outlet of the cyclonic separator.
Turner teaches a wet-dry vacuum cleaner (1 Fig. 1; [0004]) wherein the filter (57 Fig. 6) the power head (2 Fig. 1) specifically including an exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1; working airflow created by suction motor assembly of 2 Fig. 1) from the dirty air inlet (working airflow created by suction motor assembly of 2 Fig. 1) from the dirty air inlet to the exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1) to the exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1) the filter (57 Fig. 6) positioned specifically adjacent the clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 9 which couples to 30 Fig. 1) of the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the filter and exhaust outlet as taught by Turner for the purpose of protecting the motor from debris and provide an adequate outlet to maintain normal operating temperatures.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the wet-dry capabilities as taught by Turner for the purpose of furthering the capabilities of the modular vacuum.
Referring to Claim 2: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, wherein the working airflow path from the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) through the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) is substantially vertical (airflow is shown moving vertically in Fig. 17 of Ohlendorf and since the “turbine” is located above the separator).
But is silent on wherein the wet-dry vacuum cleaner is specifically configured to be battery operated.
Turner teaches the analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner is specifically configured to be battery operated (“built battery power supply” [0201]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the battery as taught by Turner for the purpose of increasing the mobility of the vacuum to further operate where an outlet is not available or out of reach.
Referring to Claim 4: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, wherein the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) includes a first latch (5 Figs. 1-3) moveable to a latched position (latched position shown in Fig. 3) in which a portion (portion of 5 Figs. 1-3) of the first latch couples the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) to the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), and wherein while in the latched position, the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) supports the power head (section which houses the “turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]) on top of the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) in a stacked configuration.
Referring to Claim 5: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 4, wherein the first latch (5 Figs. 1-3) is moveable to an unlatched position (5 is uncoupled), and wherein the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) is configured to alternately be received within (with the separator removed, Turbine Portion shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above would fall within the collecting bin) the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3) while the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is separated (“modular” [0018]) from the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) and the first latch (5 Figs. 1-3) is in the unlatched position (5 is uncoupled).
Referring to Claim 8: Ohlendorf as modified teaches a vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3) comprising:
a collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3);
a cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) removably coupled to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) being a first stage separator (first stage of dust separation process) including a dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4) and a clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17);
a housing (3 Figs. 1-3) removably coupled to the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18);
a power head (section which houses the “turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]) integrally formed on the housing (section which houses the “turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]), the power head including:
a suction motor assembly (“turbine”; [0043]) operable to create a working airflow path from the dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4), and
a filter (“filter”; “The air stream LS, from which virtually all of the dirt particles have now been separated, flows through the filter of the vacuuming device 1.” [0062]. The examiner believes the recited filter is the already existing filter of the stock vacuum to which the separator (2; “modular”) is attached to.);
wherein the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) is directly connectable to each of an upper portion (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cyclonic separator (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) and the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
But is silent on the vacuum cleaner specifically being a wet-dry vacuum;
the power head specifically including: an exhaust outlet;
a working airflow path from the dirty air inlet to specifically the exhaust outlet;
the filter disposed within a filter housing hanging downwardly from the suction motor assembly, the filter positioned within the working airflow path adjacent the clean air outlet of the cyclonic separator,
wherein the filter housing receives air from the clean air outlet of the cyclonic separator,
wherein working air in the working airflow path passes over the cyclonic separator before entering the filter housing, and
wherein working air is drawn from the clean air outlet of the cyclonic separator into the filter housing,
wherein the filter is disposed fluidly downstream of the cyclonic separator and physically above the cyclonic separator, wherein working air in the working airflow path is drawn into the filter and travels away from the cyclonic separator.
Turner discloses a vacuum cleaner (1 Fig. 1; [0004]) specifically being a wet-dry vacuum; the power head (2 Fig. 1) specifically including: an exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1); a working airflow path from the dirty air inlet (working airflow created by suction motor assembly of 2 Fig. 1) to specifically the exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1; the filter (57 Fig. 6) disposed within a filter housing (housing which supports filter 57 Fig. 6) hanging downwardly (hanging downwardly to receive the upward air stream from the separator) from the suction motor assembly (suction motor assembly of power head 2 Fig. 1), the filter (suction motor assembly of power head 2 Fig. 1) positioned within ([0224]) the working airflow path adjacent the clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 9 which couples to 30 Fig. 1) of the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1),
wherein the filter housing (housing which supports filter 57 Fig. 6) receives air (57 “before the air enters the vacuum motor assembly module 2” [0224]) from the clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 9 which couples to 30 Fig. 1) of the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1),
wherein working air in the working airflow path passes over (passes over 9 towards 2) the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1) before entering the filter housing (housing which supports filter 57 Fig. 6), and wherein working air is drawn (air from 57 “before the air enters the vacuum motor assembly module 2” [0224]) from the clean air outlet of the cyclonic separator into the filter housing, wherein the filter (57 Fig. 6) is disposed fluidly downstream (“a dry filter 57 can be located over the air inlet to the vacuum motor assembly module 30… before the air enters the vacuum motor assembly module 2” [0224]) of the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1) and physically above (“over the air inlet to the vacuum motor assembly module 30” [0224]) the cyclonic separator, wherein working air in the working airflow path (working airflow created by suction motor assembly of 2 Fig. 1) is drawn into the filter (57 Fig. 6) and travels away from the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the filter housing as taught by Turner for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having a structure which supports the filter and allowing the filter to be easily replaced.
Referring to Claim 9: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 8, wherein the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is fluidly disposed between the power head (section which houses the “turbine” [0043]) and the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), and wherein the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is configured to separate heavier debris (“21d, 22d serves for the exit of the drawn-in air stream LS and the drawn-in dirt particles from the separator 21, 22.” [0050]) from working air in the working airflow path.
Referring to Claim 12: Ohlendorf teaches a method of utilizing a vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3), the method comprising:
removably coupling (“the separating device can be retrofitted in a modular manner into existing vacuuming devices” [0018]) a cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) to a collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), the cyclonic separator being a first stage separator (first stage of dust separation process) including a dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4) and a clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17),
stacking a housing (3 Figs. 1-3) onto an upper portion (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), the housing supporting a filter (“filter”; “The air stream LS, from which virtually all of the dirt particles have now been separated, flows through the filter of the vacuuming device 1.” [0062]. The examiner believes the recited filter is the already existing filter of the stock vacuum to which the separator (2; “modular”) is attached to.) therein and a power head (section which houses the “turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]) integrally formed thereon
drawing an airflow through the dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4), through the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), through the clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17), through the filter (“filter” [0062]), and
separating heavier debris (“21d, 22d serves for the exit of the drawn-in air stream LS and the drawn-in dirt particles from the separator 21, 22.” [0050]) from the airflow via the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) and discharging (“As a result, dirt particles that have accumulated in the first cyclone separator can drop out of the first separator 21 and into the collecting tank 4” [0059]) the separated heavier debris into the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), and
uncoupling the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) from the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), removing the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) from the housing (3 Figs. 1-3), and directly coupling (In addition to the disclosed modular capability, the latches 5-8 shown in Figs. 1-3 are located in the same location and appear to be identical.) the housing to the collecting bin after the cyclonic separator is uncoupled from the collecting bin and the cyclonic separator is removed from the housing, wherein the housing is directly connectable to each of an upper portion of the cyclonic separator and the collecting bin (“As a result, the separating device can be retrofitted in a modular manner into existing vacuuming devices with a suction head and a collecting tank.” [0018]).
While the examiner believes the filter is located physically above the separator based on the written description of [0062] and mesh feature shown in Fig. 1-A inserted below, it is uncertain if that’s actually the case. Similarly, Fig. 1-A also shows what appears to be exhaust outlets, but it’s unclear as they’re not disclosed in the written description.
Therefore, Ohlendorf is silent on:
the vacuum cleaner specifically being a wet/dry vacuum cleaner;
wherein the filter is specifically disposed physically above the cyclonic separator; drawing an airflow… and then specifically through an exhaust outlet of the housing.
Turner teaches a wet-dry vacuum cleaner (1 Fig. 1; [0004]) wherein the filter (57 Fig. 6) is specifically disposed physically above (“over the air inlet to the vacuum motor assembly module 30” [0224]) the similar configuration cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1); drawing an airflow… and then specifically through an exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1) of the similar configuration housing (housing of power head 2 Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the filter and exhaust outlet as taught by Turner for the purpose of protecting the motor from debris and provide an adequate outlet to maintain normal operating temperatures.
It also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf with the wet-dry capabilities as taught by Turner for the purpose of furthering the capabilities of the modular vacuum.
Referring to Claim 13: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein drawing the airflow through the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), through the clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17), and through the filter (57 Fig. 6 of Turner) includes drawing the airflow substantially vertically (airflow is shown moving vertically in Fig. 17 of Ohlendorf and since the “turbine” is located above the separator).
Referring to Claim 14: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein stacking the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) onto an upper portion (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) includes moving a first latch (5/6 Figs. 1-3) to a latched position to couple the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) to the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18).
Referring to Claim 15: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising unlatching the first latch (5/6 Figs. 1-3), separating the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) from the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), and positioning the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) within (with the separator removed, Turbine Portion shown in Fig. 1-A inserted above would fall within the collecting bin) the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
Referring to Claim 16: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein removably coupling the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3) includes moving a latch (7 Figs. 1-3) from an unlatched position (shown unlatched in Figs. 2 and 3) to a first latched position (first latched position when 7 is secured to 4) to couple the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
Referring to Claim 18: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, further comprising assembling in a stacked configuration (shown stacked in Figs. 1-4 and 18) the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3), and the housing (3 Figs. 1-3).
Referring to Claim 19: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein stacking the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) onto the upper portion (upper portion of 2 shown in Figs. 1-3) of the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) includes sandwiching an annular edge (E-Separator Fig. 1-A inserted above) of the cyclonic separator between an edge (edge of 3 Figs. 1-3) of the housing (3 Figs. 1-3) and an edge of the collecting bin (edge of 4 Figs. 1-3).
Referring to Claim 20: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, wherein drawing the airflow includes powering a suction motor (“turbine”; “The suction head 3 in this case contains substantially a turbine for generating a negative pressure in the vacuuming device” [0043]) to draw air through the dirty air inlet (20 Figs. 2 and 4), through the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18), through the clean air outlet (21d/22d Fig. 17), and through the filter (57 Fig. 6 of Turner), and exhaust the air through the exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1 of Turner) of the housing (3 Figs. 1-3).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 1, and in further view of Manska (U.S. Pub. No. 2012/0055125 A1).
Referring to Claim 7: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, wherein the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) can be integrated into the wet-dry vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3) in a stacked configuration (shown stacked in Figs. 1-4 and 18), and wherein the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is configured to operate with another wet- dry vacuum cleaner (“As a result, the separating device can be retrofitted in a modular manner into existing vacuuming devices with a suction head and a collecting tank.” [0018]) in a non-stacked configuration .
But is silent on the cyclonic separator is configured to operate with another wet- dry vacuum cleaner in a non-stacked configuration.
Manska in an analogous vacuum cleaner (16 Fig. 1) teaches a similar configuration separator (10 Fig. 1) configured to operate with another wet- dry vacuum cleaner in a non-stacked configuration (shown in Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Ohlendorf as modified with the non-stacked configuration as taught by Manska for the purpose of increasing the capability of the separator to function with a wider variety of vacuum cleaners.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in claim 8, and in further view of McCambridge (U.S. Patent No. 4,654,926 A).
Referring to Claim 11: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 8, wherein the filter (57 Fig. 6 of Turner) is disposed fluidly downstream of the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1 of Turner) and physically above (“over the air inlet to the vacuum motor assembly module 30” [0224] of Turner) the cyclonic separator, wherein working air in the working airflow path is drawn into the filter (57 Fig. 6 of Turner) and travels away from the cyclonic separator (9 Fig. 1 of Turner), and wherein the filter is at least partially formed by filter media (filter media which is capable of “removing dust and other small particulates from the air stream” [0224] of Turner), and wherein working air is drawn vertically (vertically upwards towards 2 of Turner) through the filter media and then horizontally toward the exhaust outlet (29 Fig. 1 of Turner).
But is silent on the filter specifically including a cylindrical body.
McCambridge teaches wherein the similar configuration filter (62 Figs. 6 and 7) specifically including a cylindrical body (cylindrical body shown in Figs. 6 and 7).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Turner with the cylindrical body as taught by McCambridge for the purpose of, as it is well known in the art, having a shaped filter which efficiently operates with the vacuum/ suction configuration, and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 4, and in further view of UPPAL (CA 2260428 A1).
Referring to Claim 6: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 4, wherein a second latch (6 Figs. 1-3) moveable to a first latched position (first latched position when 6 is secured to 2), and
wherein the second latch (6 Figs. 1-3) is moveable to a second latched position (second latched position 6 is secured to 4) in which a portion of the second latch, while the cyclonic separator is removed (“modular” [0018]) from the wet-dry vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3), couples the power head (section which houses the “turbine” [0043]) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
Ohlendorf as modified teaches another latch (7 Figs. 1-3) which couples cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
But is silent on collecting bin specifically including the second latch.
UPPAL in an analogous vacuum cleaner teaches a collecting bin (6 Figs. 1 and 2B) specifically including a second latch (10 on left side Figs. 1 and 2B); and couples the similar configuration power head (20 Figs. 1 and 2B) and similar configuration separator (70 Figs. 1 and 2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the latches as taught by UPPAL for the purpose of having a single piece latch which is capable of securing both with and without the separator to minimize the parts needed to produce and therefore, minimizing the costs of production.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 16, and in further view of UPPAL (CA 2260428 A1).
Referring to Claim 17: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 16, further comprising separating the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) from the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3) and moving the latch (7 Figs. 1-3) from the unlatched position (shown unlatched in Figs. 2 and 3);
a second latch (8 Figs. 1-3) moveable to a first latched position (first latched position when 8 is secured to 4) in which a portion (portion of 8) of the second latch (8 Figs. 1-3) couples the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3); and wherein the second latch (8 Figs. 1-3) is moveable to a second latched position (second latched position when 8 is released from 4).
Ohlendorf teaches another pair of latches (5 and 6 Figs. 1-3) and a portion (coupling portions of 5 and 6 Figs. 1-3) of the latches that are capable of, while the cyclonic separator (2 Figs. 1-4 and 18) is removed from the wet-dry vacuum cleaner (1 Figs. 1-3), coupling the power head (power head of housing 3) to the collecting bin (4 Figs. 1-3).
But is silent on:
the second latched position to specifically couple the power head to the collecting bin, wherein the collecting bin specifically includes a second latch.
UPPAL in an analogous vacuum cleaner teaches it further comprising separating the cyclonic separator (70 Figs. 1 and 2B) from the collecting bin (6 Figs. 1 and 2B) and moving the latch (10 on left side Figs. 1 and 2B) from the unlatched position to a second latched position to couple the power head (20 Figs. 1 and 2B) to the collecting bin (6 Figs. 1 and 2B), wherein the collecting bin (6 Figs. 1 and 2B) includes a second latch (10 on right side) moveable to a first latched position in which a portion of the second latch couples the cyclonic separator (70 Figs. 1 and 2B) to the collecting bin (6 Figs. 1 and 2B).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the latches as taught by UPPAL for the purpose of having a single piece latch which is capable of securing both with and without the separator to minimize the parts needed to produce and therefore, minimizing the costs of production, and since such a modification would have involved making several structures into a single integral, continuous piece. Making structures as a single integral piece is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2144.04(V)(B)
Claims 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 1, and in further view of NI (CN 203138360 U).
Referring to Claim 22: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the dirty air inlet is arranged to direct dirty air tangentially into a cyclonic chamber of the cyclonic separator and cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically within the cyclonic chamber.
NI in an analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein the similar configuration dirty air inlet (12 Figs. 1 and 2) is arranged to direct dirty air tangentially (“an air inlet cover 2 that cooperates with the main suction pipe 12 and forms a tangential air inlet” [0024]) into a cyclonic chamber (cyclonic chamber comprising of 3 and 30 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]) and cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically (“The air inlet cover 2 has a tangential guiding function” [0026]) within the cyclonic chamber.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the cyclone configuration as taught by NI for the purpose of having improving the filtering efficiency, reducing the falling speed of the air volume, prolongs the cleaning time of the filtering device, reducing the number of cleaning times, and is convenient for users to use ([0032] of NI).
Referring to Claim 23: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, but is silent on wherein dirty air is configured to spin cyclonically within a cyclonic chamber of the cyclonic separator about a first axis, and wherein the first axis is parallel to an axis of the suction motor assembly.
NI in an analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein the dirty air is configured to spin cyclonically (“The air inlet cover 2 has a tangential guiding function” [0026]) within a cyclonic chamber of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (cyclonic chamber comprising of 3 and 30 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) about a first axis (FA Fig. 2-A inserted below), and wherein the first axis is parallel to an axis of the similar configuration suction motor assembly (AM Fig. 2-A inserted below).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the cyclone configuration as taught by NI for the purpose of having improving the filtering efficiency, reducing the falling speed of the air volume, prolongs the cleaning time of the filtering device, reducing the number of cleaning times, and is convenient for users to use ([0032] of NI).
Referring to Claim 24: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the clean air outlet is located at a top center of the cyclonic separator and debris from dirty air is forced radially outward within a cyclonic chamber of the cyclonic separator, away from the clean air outlet.
NI in an analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein the similar configuration clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 52 shown in Fig. 2) is located at a top center (shown in Fig. 2) of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]) and debris from dirty air is forced radially outward (“The air inlet cover 2 has a tangential guiding function” [0026]) within a cyclonic chamber (cyclonic chamber comprising of 3 and 30 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]), away from the similar configuration clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 52 shown in Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the cyclone configuration as taught by NI for the purpose of having improving the filtering efficiency, reducing the falling speed of the air volume, prolongs the cleaning time of the filtering device, reducing the number of cleaning times, and is convenient for users to use ([0032] of NI).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 8, and in further view of NI (CN 203138360 U).
Referring to Claim 25: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the wet-dry vacuum cleaner of claim 8, but is silent on wherein the dirty air inlet is arranged to direct dirty air tangentially into a cyclonic chamber of the cyclonic separator and cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically within the cyclonic chamber about a first axis to force debris radially outward away from the clean air outlet, wherein the first axis is parallel to an axis of the suction motor assembly.
NI in an analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein the similar configuration dirty air inlet (12 Figs. 1 and 2) is arranged to direct dirty air tangentially (“an air inlet cover 2 that cooperates with the main suction pipe 12 and forms a tangential air inlet” [0024]) into a cyclonic chamber (cyclonic chamber comprising of 3 and 30 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]) and cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically (“The air inlet cover 2 has a tangential guiding function” [0026]) within the cyclonic chamber about a first axis (FA Fig. 2-A inserted above) to force debris radially outward away from the similar configuration clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 52 shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first axis (FA Fig. 2-A inserted above) is parallel to an axis of the suction motor assembly (AM Fig. 2-A inserted above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the cyclone configuration as taught by NI for the purpose of having improving the filtering efficiency, reducing the falling speed of the air volume, prolongs the cleaning time of the filtering device, reducing the number of cleaning times, and is convenient for users to use ([0032] of NI).
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohlendorf (U.S. Pub. No. 2021/0161343 A1) and Turner (U.S. Pub. No. 2010/0192980 A1), as applied above in Claim 12, and in further view of NI (CN 203138360 U).
Referring to Claim 26: Ohlendorf as modified teaches the method of claim 12, but is silent on wherein drawing the airflow through the cyclonic separator comprises directing dirty air tangentially into a cyclonic chamber of the cyclonic separator to cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically within the cyclonic chamber about a first axis, forcing debris radially outward away from the clean air outlet, wherein the first axis is parallel to an axis of a suction motor.
NI in an analogous wet-dry vacuum cleaner (shown in Figs. 1 and 2) teaches wherein drawing the airflow through the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]) comprises directing dirty air tangentially (“an air inlet cover 2 that cooperates with the main suction pipe 12 and forms a tangential air inlet” [0024]) into a cyclonic chamber (cyclonic chamber comprising of 3 and 30 shown in Figs. 1 and 2) of the similar configuration cyclonic separator (“The cyclone cover 3 is a detachable integrated component” [0027]) to cause the dirty air to spin cyclonically within the cyclonic chamber about a first axis (FA Fig. 2-A inserted above), forcing debris radially outward away from the similar configuration clean air outlet (clean air outlet of 52 shown in Fig. 2), wherein the first axis (FA Fig. 2-A inserted above) is parallel to an axis of a suction motor (AM Fig. 2-A inserted above).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vacuum cleaner of Ohlendorf as modified with the cyclone configuration as taught by NI for the purpose of having improving the filtering efficiency, reducing the falling speed of the air volume, prolongs the cleaning time of the filtering device, reducing the number of cleaning times, and is convenient for users to use ([0032] of NI).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CHRISTOPHER SOTO
Examiner
Art Unit 3723
/CHRISTOPHER SOTO/Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/MONICA S CARTER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723