DETAILED ACTION
This non-final action is in response to application filed on 01/24/2024. In this application, claims 1-20 are pending, with claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 being independent.
Priority
This application claims the benefit of United Kingdom application GB2301163.8, filed 01/27/2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/12/2024 and 07/01/2025 are compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because there are two conjunction word “and” in the claim. The first “and” in limitation signalling should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
With respect to claim 1, the claim recites a method, the method comprising: identifying a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment; generating a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier and subsequent to said generating, initiating direct non-access stratum signalling with the network function using the first IP address. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, identify/ determine/ find a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment, can generate/ create a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier and also can plan/ start/ begin/ initiate direct non-access stratum signalling with the network function using the first IP address. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional element the first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. The first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling mere recites purpose of the first IP address and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element the first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network mere recites purpose of the first IP address and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 2 depends on claim 1, thus is having the same issue as shown above. Further, the claim also recites receiving, from a radio access network node, a radio resource control configuration comprising a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network; signalling the repository function using the second IP address to request a third IP address that identifies the network function; and receiving the third IP address from the repository function; and directly signalling the network function using non-access stratum signalling that comprises the third IP address. These elements clarify an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 2 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 3 depends on claim 2, thus is having the same issue as shown above. Further, the claim also recites the signalling the repository function comprises signalling the repository function using radio resource control signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 3 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 4 depends on claim 1, thus also including limitations of claim 1 that are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more that discussed above. The claim recites forming a first part of the first IP address using information and forming a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, form/ create a first part of the first IP address using information and also can form/ create a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements information received from a radio access network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address. These elements are mere how information received/ obtained and providing more information regarding the first part of the first IP address, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements information received from a radio access network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address are mere how information received/ obtained and providing more information regarding the first part of the first IP address, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 5 depends on claim 4 which depends on claim 1, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim recites the forming the second part of the first IP address comprises: concatenating at least part of a temporary identifier of the user equipment or a random value with a random value to form a concatenated value, and generating the first IP address from the concatenated value; or the forming the first part of the first IP address comprises: forming the first part by applying the network mask to the network identifier value. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, concatenate/ link/ group a temporary identifier of the user equipment or a random value with a random value to form a concatenated value and generate/ create the first IP address from the concatenated value or a human can, in the human mind or on paper, form/ create the first part of the first IP address by applying the network mask to the network identifier value. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional element receiving, from the radio access network node, a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part. “Receiving a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part” is mere obtaining information and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element receiving, from the radio access network node, a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part is mere obtaining information and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 6 depends on claim 5, thus is having the same issue as shown above. Further, the claim also recites the network identifier value and the network mask are received via radio resource control configuration signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 6 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
With respect to claim 7, the claim recites a method comprising: generating a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address for identifying the user equipment for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, generate/ create a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address for identifying the user equipment for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements signalling, to a user equipment, information and wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part. These elements are mere receiving information and providing details regarding the received information and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements signalling, to a user equipment, information and wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part are mere receiving information and providing details regarding the received information and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 8 depends on claim 7, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites the signalling is comprised in radio resource control configuration signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 8 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 9 depends on claim 7, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites signalling, to the user equipment in radio resource control configuration signalling, a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 9 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 10 depends on claim 7, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites receiving, from the user equipment, an indication of a value used by the user equipment for generating a second part of the first IP address. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 10 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
With respect to claim 11, the claim recites identifying a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment; generating a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier; and initiating, subsequent to said generating, direct non-access stratum signalling with the network function using the first IP address. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, identify/ determine/ find a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment, can generate/ create a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier and also can plan/ start/ begin/ initiate direct non-access stratum signalling with the network function using the first IP address. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements an apparatus, at least one processor; at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform and the first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. An apparatus, processor, memory are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling mere recites purpose of the first IP address. Thus, they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements an apparatus, at least one processor; at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform and the first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. An apparatus, processor, memory are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. The first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling mere recites purpose of the first IP address. Thus, they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 12 depends on claim 11, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim also recites receiving, from a radio access network node, a radio resource control configuration comprising a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network; signalling the repository function using the second IP address to request a third IP address that identifies the network function; receiving the third IP address from the repository function; and directly signalling the network function using non-access stratum signalling that comprises the third IP address. These elements clarify an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 12 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 13 depends on claim 12 which depends on claim 11, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim also recites wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform signalling the repository function using radio resource control signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 13 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 14 depends on claim 11, thus also including limitations of claim 11 that are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more that discussed above. The claim recites forming a first part of the first IP address using information and forming a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, form/ create a first part of the first IP address using information and also can form/ create a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements information received from a radio access network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address. These elements are mere how information received/ obtained and providing more information regarding the first part of the first IP address, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional elements information received from a radio access network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address are mere how information received/ obtained and providing more information regarding the first part of the first IP address, and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 15 depends on claim 14 which depends on claim 11, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim recites concatenating at least part of a temporary identifier of the user equipment or a random value with a random value to form a concatenated value, and generating the first IP address from the concatenated value; or forming the first part by applying the network mask to the network identifier value. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, concatenate/ link/ group a temporary identifier of the user equipment or a random value with a random value to form a concatenated value and generate/ create the first IP address from the concatenated value or a human can, in the human mind or on paper, form/ create the first part of the first IP address by applying the network mask to the network identifier value. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements receiving, from the radio access network node, a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part. “Receiving a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part” is mere obtaining information and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element receiving, from the radio access network node, a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part is mere obtaining information and therefore, it is insignificant extra-solution activity. Thus, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 16 depends on claim 15, thus is having the same issue as shown above. Further, the claim also recites the network identifier value and the network mask are received via radio resource control configuration signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above, thus, are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 16 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
With respect to claim 17, the claim recites generating a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address for identifying the user equipment for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. These are abstract idea including mental processes. For instance, a human can, in the human mind or on paper, generate/ create a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address for identifying the user equipment for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network. Accordingly, the claim recites a judicial exception.
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claim also recites additional elements an apparatus for a radio access network node, the apparatus comprising: at least one processor; and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to perform: signalling, to a user equipment, information; wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part. An apparatus for a radio access network node, processor, memory are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Signalling, to a user equipment, information; and wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part are mere receiving information and providing details regarding the received information and thus are insignificant extra-solution activity. Accordingly, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, an apparatus for a radio access network node, processor, memory are recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Signalling, to a user equipment, information; and wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part are mere receiving information and providing details regarding the received information. thus, they are insignificant extra-solution activity. Therefore, the claim is not patent eligible.
Claim 18 depends on claim 17, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites wherein the signalling is comprised in radio resource control configuration signalling. The element clarifies an abstract idea above; therefore, they are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 18 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 19 depends on claim 17, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform signalling, to the user equipment in radio resource control configuration signalling, a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network. The element clarifies an abstract idea above; thus, they are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 19 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim 20 depends on claim 17, thus is having the same issue as shown above. The claim further recites wherein the instructions are further configured to, when executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus to perform receiving, from the user equipment, an indication of a value used by the user equipment for generating a second part of the first IP address. The element clarifies an abstract idea above; thus, they are part of recitation of the abstract idea. Therefore, claim 20 also includes limitations are directed to an abstract idea without significantly more as discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 7, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2019/0335373, Pub. Date: Oct. 31, 2019), in view of Luo (US 2020/0314059, Pub. Date: Oct. 1, 2020).
As per claim 1, Kang discloses a method for a user equipment (Kang para. [0057], The temporary IP address allocated as described above is used by a user (that is, a terminal)), the method comprising:
generating a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment (Kang para. [0054], the terminal 100 performs communication with the ePDG 160 to receive a temporary Internet protocol (IP) address allocated thereto (S210) … As a method for configuring the temporary IP address, two methods may be used. A first method is a IPv6 auto-configuration method; Kang para. [0055], In the IPv6 auto-configuration method, a stateless IPv6 address is configured … The ePDG 160 receiving the RS message configures the stateless IPv6 address as a network prefix value in a router advertisement (RA) message, and transmits the RA message to the terminal 100), the first IP address being for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network (Kang fig. 2 and para. [0058], In the NAS based access method according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the NAS protocol is applied using the temporary IP address allocated in S210; Kang fig.3 and para. [0073], the NAS protocol is used between the terminal 100 and the MME 120 [mobility management entity]; Kang para. [0049], The MME 120 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, which is an entity managing access and mobility of the terminal 100, and is an end point of non-access stratum (NAS) signaling. Therefore, the MME 120 enables the terminal 100 to access the core network providing mobility through the 3GPP or non-3GPP access network); and
subsequent to said generating, initiating direct non-access stratum signalling with the network function using the first IP address (Kang para. [0058], In the NAS based access method according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the NAS protocol is applied using the temporary IP address allocated in S210; Kang fig.3 and para. [0073], the NAS protocol is used between the terminal 100 and the MME 120 [mobility management entity]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose:
identifying a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment;
generating a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier.
Luo teaches:
identifying a first identifier that uniquely identifies the user equipment ([Per specification of examined application, paragraphs 144 and 152 indicate that potential unique UE identifiers that may be used to generate the unique IP address comprise any part of the "lnitialUE-ldentity" wherein the value of the "lnitialUE-ldentiy" field is used for generating a unique UE IP address can be a random value]. Luo fig. 6 and para. [0161], if the host does not generate the IPv6 address including the prefix, an interface identifier is generated according to an interface identifier generation mode indicated by indication information carried in the Mode field; Luo para. [0066], the Mode field carries first indication information. The first indication information indicates a first interface identifier generation mode. The first interface identifier generation mode includes: a Stable, Opaque Addresses Mode in RFC7217, i.e., generating a random number, and determining the generated random number [first identifier] as an interface identifier);
generating a first internet protocol, IP, address for addressing the user equipment using at least part of the first identifier (Luo fig. 1, User host 101 and fig. 6, Generate an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix at block 605; Luo para. [0066], determining the generated random number [first identifier] as an interface identifier).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify Kang in view of Luo to incorporate random number as a first identifier and generate IP address based on the first identifier.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of enhancing privacy.
As per claim 7, Kang discloses:
signalling, to a user equipment (Kang fig. 2, Terminal 100), information for generating an internet protocol, IP, address for identifying the user equipment (Kang para. [0054], the terminal 100 performs communication with the ePDG 160 to receive a temporary Internet protocol (IP) address allocated thereto (S210) … As a method for configuring the temporary IP address, two methods may be used. A first method is a IPv6 auto-configuration method; Kang para. [0055], In the IPv6 auto-configuration method, a stateless IPv6 address is configured … The ePDG 160 receiving the RS message configures the stateless IPv6 address as a network prefix value in a router advertisement (RA) message, and transmits the RA message to the terminal 100) for direct non-access stratum signalling between the user equipment and a network function of a core network (Kang fig. 2 and para. [0058], In the NAS based access method according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, the NAS protocol is applied using the temporary IP address allocated in S210; Kang fig.3 and para. [0073], the NAS protocol is used between the terminal 100 and the MME 120 [mobility management entity]; Kang para. [0049], The MME 120 according to an exemplary embodiment of the present invention, which is an entity managing access and mobility of the terminal 100, and is an end point of non-access stratum (NAS) signaling. Therefore, the MME 120 enables the terminal 100 to access the core network providing mobility through the 3GPP or non-3GPP access network).
Kang does not explicitly disclose:
signalling, to a user equipment, information for generating a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address,
wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part.
Luo teaches:
signalling, to a user equipment, information for generating a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0154], At block 601, a network device sends an RA message to a host. A prefix information option of the RA message includes: a prefix, a Mode field, and a T field; Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix [first part]),
wherein the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part (Luo fig. 3 and para. [0053-0056], the prefix information option of the RA message includes at least the following fields: 1) Type field being an option type field. Usually, "3" [network identifier value] is taken as the value of the Type field to indicate that the option is a prefix information option. 2) Length field indicating a length of the prefix information option. 3) Prefix Length field indicating a prefix length).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to f modify Kang in view of Luo for signalling, to a user equipment, information for generating a first part of an internet protocol, IP, address, and the information comprises a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of providing flexibility to perform the IPv6 stateless address auto-configuration (see Luo para. [0021]).
Per claim 11, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 1. As such, claim 11 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 1. Kang also discloses: at least one processor (Kang fig. 10, processor 101); and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (Kang fig. 10, memory 102).
Per claim 17, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 7. As such, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 7. Kang also discloses: at least one processor (Kang fig. 2, processor of ePDG 160); and at least one memory storing instructions which, when executed by the at least one processor (Kang fig. 2, memory of ePDG 160).
Claims 2-6, 8-9, 12-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2019/0335373, Pub. Date: Oct. 31, 2019), in view of Luo (US 2020/0314059, Pub. Date: Oct. 1, 2020), in view of Choi et al. (US 2024/0244705, Priority Date: Jan. 18, 2023).
As per claim 2, Kang-Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Kang also discloses directly signalling the network function using non-access stratum signalling that comprises a third IP address (Kang fig.3 and para. [0073], As shown in FIG. 3, an NAS stratum 310 is positioned on an IP stratum 320 in the terminal 100, and an NAS stratum 330 is positioned on an IP stratum 340 also in the MME 120. That is, the NAS protocol is used between the terminal 100 and the MME 120. [Implicitly, IP address of network function [MME] is required in order to use NAS protocol between the terminal 100 and the MME 120]).
Kang does not explicitly disclose:
receiving, from a radio access network node, a radio resource control configuration comprising a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network;
signalling the repository function using the second IP address to request a third IP address that identifies the network function; and
receiving the third IP address from the repository function.
Choi teaches:
receiving, from a radio access network node, a radio resource control configuration comprising a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF [user repository function] (or SCP) address information [second address]; Choi para. [0077], The URF may be integrated with the NRF [network repository function] in the implementation; Choi para. [0210], The address information may indicate the identifier for distinguishing a node on the network, such as an IP address, an FQDN, or a MAC address) of the core network (Choi fig. 1 and para. [0043], Referring to FIG. 1, the CN may include NFs such as … a network repository function (NRF));
signalling the repository function using the second IP address (Choi fig. 7 and para. [0109], In operation 735, the URF or the SCP receiving the UERegister message from the UE may register the UE with the network based on the information contained in the UERegister message; Choi para. [0095], Upon receiving the RRCSetup message from the UE, the RAN may forward the RRCSetup message to the URF or the SCP; Choi para. [0077], The URF may be integrated with the NRF in the implementation) to request a third IP address that identifies the network function (Choi fig. 7 and para. [0109], The URF or the SCP may register profile information of the UE with the network via the RAN, and then transmit to the UE a UEProfileCreated message notifying the reception of the UERegister message and UE registration complete; Choi para. [0110 and 0114], The UEProfileCreated message may contain the following information … Set of [amfID+amfAddress [third IP address]]; Choi para. [0210], The address information may indicate the identifier for distinguishing a node on the network, such as an IP address, an FQDN, or a MAC address); and
receiving the third IP address from the repository function (Choi fig. 7 and para. [0109], The URF or the SCP may register profile information of the UE with the network via the RAN, and then transmit to the UE a UEProfileCreated message notifying the reception of the UERegister message and UE registration complete; Choi para. [0110 and 0114], The UEProfileCreated message may contain the following information … Set of [amfID+amfAddress [third IP address]]; Choi para. [0210], The address information may indicate the identifier for distinguishing a node on the network, such as an IP address, an FQDN, or a MAC address).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Choi for receiving, from a radio access network node, a radio resource control configuration comprising a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network; signalling the repository function using the second IP address to request a third IP address that identifies the network function; and receiving the third IP address from the repository function.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of obtaining necessary information for accessing core network.
As per claim 3, Kang-Luo-Choi discloses the method according to claim 2, as set forth above, Choi also discloses wherein the signalling the repository function comprises signalling the repository function using radio resource control signalling (Choi para. [0095], Upon receiving the RRCSetup message from the UE, the RAN may forward the RRCSetup message to the URF or the SCP; Choi para. [0077], The URF may be integrated with the NRF in the implementation).
Similar rationale in claim 2 is applied.
As per claim 4, Kang-Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Kang does not explicitly disclose wherein the generating comprises:
forming a first part of the first IP address using information received from a radio access network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address; and
forming a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment.
Luo teaches:
forming a first part of the first IP address using information received from a network node (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0154], At block 601, a network device sends an RA message to a host. A prefix information option of the RA message includes: a prefix, a Mode field, and a T field; Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix [first part]; Luo fig. 3 and para. [0053-0056], the prefix information option of the RA message includes at least the following fields: 1) Type field being an option type field. Usually, "3" is taken as the value of the Type field to indicate that the option is a prefix information option. 2) Length field indicating a length of the prefix information option. 3) Prefix Length field indicating a prefix length), the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix [routable part]); and
forming a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment (Luo fig. 1, User host 101 and fig. 6, Generate an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix at block 605; Luo fig. 6 and para. [0161], if the host does not generate the IPv6 address including the prefix, an interface identifier is generated according to an interface identifier generation mode indicated by indication information carried in the Mode field; Luo para. [0066], the Mode field carries first indication information. The first indication information indicates a first interface identifier generation mode. The first interface identifier generation mode includes: a Stable, Opaque Addresses Mode in RFC7217, i.e., generating a random number, and determining the generated random number as an interface identifier).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Luo for forming a first part of the first IP address using information received from a network node, the first part comprising a routable part of the first IP address; and forming a second part of the first IP address that uniquely identifies the user equipment.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of providing flexibility to perform the IPv6 stateless address auto-configuration (see Luo para. [0021]).
Luo teaches forming a first part of the first IP address using received information (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0154&0163]); however, Luo does not explicitly disclose the information received from a radio access network node.
Choi teaches:
information received from a radio access network node (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF (or SCP) address information; Choi para. [0010], the address information of the user equipment and the address information of the NF entity are configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Choi to incorporate receiving information from a radio access network node for forming a first part of the first IP address.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of obtaining information for performing the IPv6 stateless address auto-configuration.
As per claim 5, Kang-Luo-Choi discloses the method according to claim 4, as set forth above, Luo-Shahidi also discloses wherein at least one of the following:
the forming the second part of the first IP address comprises:
concatenating at least part of a temporary identifier of the user equipment or a random value with a random value to form a concatenated value, and generating the first IP address from the concatenated value; or
the forming the first part of the first IP address comprises:
receiving, from the radio access network node (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF address information), a network identifier value and a network mask that indicates a length of the first part (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0154], At block 601, a network device sends an RA message to a host. A prefix information option of the RA message includes: a prefix, a Mode field, and a T field; Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix [first part]; Luo fig. 3 and para. [0053-0056], the prefix information option of the RA message includes at least the following fields: 1) Type field being an option type field. Usually, "3" [a network identifier value] is taken as the value of the Type field to indicate that the option is a prefix information option. 2) Length field indicating a length of the prefix information option. 3) Prefix Length field indicating a prefix length), and forming the first part by applying the network mask to the network identifier value (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix).
Similar rationale in claim 4 is applied.
As per claim 6, Kang-Luo-Choi discloses the method according to claim 5, as set forth above, Luo-Choi also discloses wherein the network identifier value and the network mask are received (Luo fig. 6 and para. [0154], At block 601, a network device sends an RA message to a host. A prefix information option of the RA message includes: a prefix, a Mode field, and a T field; Luo fig. 6 and para. [0163], At block 605, the host generates an IPv6 address of the host according to the generated interface identifier and the prefix [first part]; Luo fig. 3 and para. [0053-0056], the prefix information option of the RA message includes at least the following fields: 1) Type field being an option type field. Usually, "3" [a network identifier value] is taken as the value of the Type field to indicate that the option is a prefix information option. 2) Length field indicating a length of the prefix information option. 3) Prefix Length field indicating a prefix length) via radio resource control configuration signalling (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF (or SCP) address information; Choi para. [0010], the address information of the user equipment and the address information of the NF entity are configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station).
Similar rationale in claim 4 is applied.
As per claim 8, Kang-Luo discloses the method according to claim 7, as set forth above, Kang does not explicitly disclose wherein the signalling is comprised in radio resource control configuration signalling.
Choi teaches:
signalling is comprised in radio resource control configuration signalling (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF (or SCP) address information; Choi para. [0010], the address information of the user equipment and the address information of the NF entity are configured by a radio resource control (RRC) message received from the base station).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Choi for signalling is comprised in radio resource control configuration signalling.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of minimizing service interruption.
As per claim 9, Kang-Luo discloses the method according to claim 7, as set forth above, Kang does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising signalling, to the user equipment in radio resource control configuration signalling, a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network.
Choi teaches:
signalling, to the user equipment in radio resource control configuration signalling, a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function (Choi para. [0081], the RAN may transmit an RRCSetup message (or Msg 4) to the UE. The RAN may include in the RRCSetup message, UE address information, protocol stack information, and URF [user repository function] (or SCP) address information [second address]; Choi para. [0077], The URF may be integrated with the NRF [network repository function] in the implementation; Choi para. [0210], The address information may indicate the identifier for distinguishing a node on the network, such as an IP address, an FQDN, or a MAC address) of the core network (Choi fig. 1 and para. [0043], Referring to FIG. 1, the CN may include NFs such as … a network repository function (NRF)).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Kang in view of Choi for signalling, to the user equipment in radio resource control configuration signalling, a second IP address, the second IP address identifying a repository function of the core network.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of obtaining necessary information for accessing core network.
Per claims 12-16, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 2-6 respectively. As such, claims 12-16 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 2-6 respectively.
Per claims 18-19, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 8-9 respectively. As such, claims 18-19 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 8-9 respectively.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kang et al. (US 2019/0335373), in view of Luo (US 2020/0314059, Pub. Date: Oct. 1, 2020), in view of Michelin et al. (US 2014/0325090, Pub. Date: Oct. 30, 2014).
As per claim 10, Kang-Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, as set forth above, Kang does not explicitly disclose the method further comprising receiving, from the user equipment, an indication of a value used by the user equipment for generating a second part of the first IP address.
Lee teaches:
receiving, from the user equipment, an indication of a value (Lee fig. 7, Poll CPE client MLD Query at 701 and Listen for Response at 702; Lee para. [0041], At 703 the AN determines if a response has been received for a particular client for which it has an active MAC-IP relation [an indication of a value (i.e., MAC address)] in its enforcement table; Lee para. [0042], step 710 to enforce the MAC-IP address relation [an indication of a value (i.e., MAC address)] for the newly-discovered client's Link-Local address; Lee para. [0036], then the AN 12 completes its registration of the client by adding the MAC-IP relation for the client to its enforcement table) used by the user equipment for generating a second part of the first IP address (Lee para. [0008], CPE clients can generate a new interface ID [second part of the IP address] (unless the interface Id is required to be strictly related to the MAC address), and thereby new Link-Local and Global IP addresses, every time they start up; Lee para. [0029], Note that for Global addresses DAD is not always mandatory, although in the 3GPP RFC4862, at section 5.4, it is strongly advised to be done and recommended in any new development. It is useful in case the Interface identifier is not generated with the MAC address but with a randomly generated address. [In other words, MAC address is utilized for generating interface ID [i.e., second part] of IP address]).
It would been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to further modify Choi in view of Lee for receiving, from the user equipment, an indication of a value used by the user equipment for generating a second part of the first IP address.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motived because it offers the advantage of keeping track of a client connected on the access line (see Lee para. [0044]).
Per claim 20, it does not teach or further define over the limitations in claim 10. As such, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claim 10.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhu (US 2020/0169864) Method And Apparatus For Session Management Function Selection;
Qiao et al. (US 2023/0179640) Synchronization For Multiple Data Flows;
Shahidi et al. (US 2022/0417886) Techniques For Sharing Protocol Data Unit Sessions Between Multiple Subscriber Services.
/VINH NGUYEN/Examiner, Art Unit 2453
/DHAIRYA A PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2453