DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The amendment filed 8/28/2026 has been entered. Please note that there is an extraneous underline in claim 1 under the close parenthesis of component g) on line 19, and an extraneous hyphen (strike-through) before “alumina” on line 25. Claims 2, 10, 18-21, and 24 have been canceled. Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 22-23, and 25 are pending in the application. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: a comma should be added after “composition” on line 19 (for component g). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8-9, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 8 recites, “part B) comprises the curing agent, a curing promoter and the foaming agent” (emphasis added), however, given that claim 1, upon which claim 8 is dependent, recites on lines 19-20 that component g) is “2-5 wt %, based on the total weight of the intumescent coating composition of a curing promoter comprising 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl) phenol” (emphasis added), it is unclear whether “a curing promoter” as recited in claim 8 as being comprised by part B) is the same “curing promoter” as already recited with respect to component g) of claim 1 or a different curing promoter, and hence, one having ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claimed invention and could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement. Dependent claims 9, 11, and 17, which depend upon claim 8, do not remedy the above and hence are indefinite for the same reasons.
Claim Interpretation
Consistent with MPEP § 2111, claims are given their broadest reasonable interpretation wherein “the meaning given to a claim term must be consistent with the ordinary and customary meaning of the term (unless the term has been given a special definition in the specification), and must be consistent with the use of the claim term in the specification and drawings. Further, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims must be consistent with the interpretation that those skilled in the art would reach. In re Cortright, 165 F.3d 1353, 1359, 49 USPQ2d 1464, 1468 (Fed. Cir. 1999).” However, although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 f.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993.) It is also noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
For examination purposes with respect to prior art, it is again noted (as admitted by the Applicant in the parent application, U.S. Appl. No. 16/623083, see response filed 9/27/2021) that one compound may fulfill multiple functions in an intumescent coating composition as would be clearly understood by one having ordinary skill in the art and thus although the instant claims recite the incorporation of eight functional components a)-h), a prior art composition need not comprise eight different components in order to read upon the claimed composition given that one component or compound of the prior art composition may be capable of fulfilling the function of one or more of the claimed a)-h) components. Further, if a component of the prior art is capable of performing the same function as one or more of the claimed a)-h) components and falls within the broad limitations thereof, then said prior art component will be considered as reading upon the claimed component(s) whether or not said function is explicitly recited in the prior art.
Lastly, with respect to the claimed “long chain hydrocarbyl substituent” as recited in independent claims 1 and 25, the term has been interpreted as referring to “a hydrocarbyl having at least 6 carbon atoms” as defined by the instant specification as filed (see Page 6, lines 20-21).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-9, 11-17, 22-23, and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nugent, Jr. (USPN 5,108,832, hereinafter referred to as “Nugent”), in view of Cardolite® NC-513 Technical Datasheet (hereinafter referred to as “CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS” on IDS dated 8/21/2026) or Wang (CN1876740A, please refer to the machine translation of record for the below cited sections) and in further view of Air Products Epoxy Curing Agents and Modifiers: Ancamine® K54 Curing Agent product information sheet (hereinafter referred to as “ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet”, already of record). Nugent teaches a method of improving a low temperature performance of an intumescent coating applied to a substrate comprising steel wherein the method comprises applying an intumescent coating composition to the substrate, and curing the intumescent coating for at least 24 hours as in the claimed invention; and wherein the curable intumescent coating composition comprises a mixture of: a) an epoxy resin; b) a curing agent adapted to cure the epoxy resin; and c) an additive component comprising a mixture of materials which provide a source of (i) zinc, (ii) boron, (iii) phosphorus, and (iv) an expansion gas upon thermal decomposition, and additionally, in a preferred embodiment, a reinforcing filler as a constituent of the additive component; and is designed such that the cured, unburned composition has sufficient flexibility that is passes at least 10 continuous cycles, preferably at least 30 continuous cycles, and more preferably at least 50 continuous cycles (Col. 3, lines 35-39) of a cold cycle test, remaining adhered to the substrate without cracking (Entire document, particularly Abstract; Col. 1, line 8-Col. 2, line 47; Col. 7, lines 1-6; Col. 9, lines 5-19; and Examples). Nugent teaches that the cold cycle test involves the steps as recited in the Abstract, Claim 1, and the examples, wherein the curable composition is applied at a thickness of 12.7 mm to a steel 4W13 I-beam (as in instant claims 14-15) having two thermocouples attached to the surface, allowed to cure at ambient temperature for 16 hours, force cured for 5 days at about 60°C (i.e., at least 24 hours), and then subjected to the cold cycle test wherein for one cycle, the beam is placed in a freezer operating at a cold temperature between about -18°C and about -23°C for sufficient time for the steel to reach a temperature between about -18°C and about -23°C as determined by the two thermocouples attached to the surface of the beam beneath the coating, removed from the freezer and warmed until the surface temperature reaches 43°C within a 3 minute period, as determined by a thermocouple moved about the surface and allowed to stand for at least 2 hours at ambient temperature (thus similar to the instantly claimed cold cycle conditions). Nugent teaches that the “cold cycle test has been observed to be an excellent predictor of the flexibility of the…compositions when exposed to extreme temperature changes within a short time period” (Col. 2, lines 32-46), and that by improving the flexibility of the composition such as by utilizing a flexible epoxy resin/adduct like an “epoxidized soybean oil, dimer acid based materials such as EMPOL 1010 resin which is commercially available from Emery Chemicals and rubber modified polyepoxide resins,” (Col. 3, lines 43-46), or by utilizing a flexible curing agent such as by the addition of a flexibilizer, like a urethane acrylate copolymer, to the curable composition which is reactive with the curing agent, the cured compositions preferably have sufficient flexibility to pass at least 30 continuous cold cycles, more preferably at least 50 continuous cold cycles, and most preferably at least 70 continuous cold cycles (Col. 3, lines 31-61); and given that such flexible/flexibilizer compounds would also be considered by one having ordinary skill in the art as a “carbon source” (as defined by the instant specification), the Examiner takes the position that Nugent clearly teaches a method wherein the low temperature performance is improved by addition of a “carbon source” as in the claimed invention, however, Nugent does not teach that the flexibilizer is an aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent having 1 to 3 double bonds as in instant claim 1, or a tall oil fatty acid as in instant claim 23, or both as in instant claim 25 (Difference 1).
Nugent teaches that suitable epoxy curing agents include those recited in Col. 5, line 51-Col. 6, line 61, such as amine type curing agents including di- and polyfunctional amines such as tris(2-aminoethyl)amine; polycarboxylic acids including di-, tri-, and higher polycarboxylic acids as well as polymerized fatty acids; boron trihalide and complexes thereof; phenols and the like; polyphenols; and mixtures thereof (Col. 5, lines 51-Col. 6, line 61). Nugent teaches that the “amount of epoxy functional adduct and curing agent can vary, but generally, in the instance of the amine curing agents, the equivalent ratio of epoxy to amine is within the range of about 0.05:1 to about 10:1” (Col. 6, line 52-66); and although Nugent clearly teaches utilizing amine and phenol curing agents, and provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion of utilizing more than one curing agent such that a second or co-curing agent may be considered by one having ordinary skill in the art as “a curing promoter” as in the claimed invention, Nugent does not specifically teach 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl) phenol as recited in instant claims 1 and 23 (Difference 2).
With respect to the additive component of the intumescent composition, Nugent teaches that the source of phosphorus may be selected from a variety of materials such as, for example, mono-and di-ammonium phosphate, tris-(2-chloroethyl) phosphate, and melamine pyrophosphate, with preference to ammonium polyphosphate (Col. 7, lines 7-23); the source of expansion gas is preferably a nitrogen-containing material such as melamine, urea, melamine pyrophosphate, and dicyandiamide, with melamine being preferred, and is usually present in the composition in an amount ranging from 0.1 to 25 percent by weight (Col. 7, lines 32-50); the source of zinc can be selected from a variety of materials such as zinc oxide, zinc salts such as preferably zinc borate and zinc phosphate, and is usually present in an amount from about 0.1 to 25 percent by weight (Col. 7, lines 52-68); and the source of boron is preferably ammonium pentaborate or zinc borate, although other suitable boron compounds include boron oxide, borates such as sodium or potassium borate, and borate esters, and is usually present in an amount of about 0.1 to 10 percent by weight (Col. 8, lines 3-14); each of the above being based on the total weight of the epoxy resin, curing agent, and the additive component. Nugent teaches that the reinforcing filler when present may be fiber reinforcements including glass fibers, ceramic fibers, and graphite fibers, present in an amount of usually from about 1 to 50 percent by weight, based upon the total weight of the epoxy adduct/resin, curing agent, and the additive component (Col. 8, lines 21-39). Nugent also teaches that the intumescent composition is preferably provided as a two-package system with the epoxy adduct/resin in one package, the curing agent in a second package, and the above additive component in either the epoxy resin package or the curing agent package or both packages, with individual constituents present in either package as desired; wherein the two individual packages are mixed prior to use and then applied to the substrate, preferably spray applied to the substrate, particularly steel substrates (as in instant claims 8-9, 12, 14, and 16-17; Col. 8, lines 40-50; Col. 8, line 66-Col. 9, line 19).
Nugent further teaches various exemplified two-package compositions comprising components reading upon all of the claimed components and in contents as instantly claimed except for the instantly claimed component g) a curing promoter comprising 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl) phenol (Difference 2 above), as in instant claims 1 and 23, and particularly in a content of 2-5wt% as recited in instant claim 1; and the specific carbon source(s) of instantly claimed component h) wherein the carbon source comprises an aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent having 1 to 3 double bonds and/or a tall oil fatty acid (Difference 1 above) as in instant claims 1, 23, and/or 25. Specifically, Example 1 comprises the following components provided as a two-package system, with Package 1 comprising a flexibilized epoxy and a bisphenol A-based epoxy resin contained in an amount 29.39 parts by weight and 9.58 parts by weight, respectively, to 100 parts by weight of Package 1 (either or both reading upon the claimed “polymer”), and tris(2-chloroethyl) phosphate (reading upon the claimed component d) an acid source) such that Package 1 reads upon the claimed part A); wherein 2.015 parts by weight of Package 1 are mixed with 1 part by weight of Package 2 which comprises an amine curing agent, nonyl phenol (may broadly be considered a “curing promoter”) and melamine (reading upon the claimed curing agent and foaming agent), and thus Package 2 reads upon the claimed part B) of instant claim 8:
Package 1:
Flexibilized epoxy prepared as described in Example A utilizing EPON 828, an aromatic epoxy resin based upon bisphenol A (reading upon the claimed component a) a polymer and/or h) a carbon source comprising a bisphenol compound comprising bisphenol A)
EPON 828, an aromatic epoxy resin based upon bisphenol A (reading upon the claimed component a) a polymer and/or claimed h) a carbon source comprising a bisphenol compound comprising bisphenol A)
tris(2-chloroethyl) phosphate (reading upon the claimed component d) an acid source)
ATTAGEL-50, Attapulgite clay (reading upon the claimed f) an inorganic additive)
Thixatrol ST, a hydrogenated castor oil (e.g., a flexible, long alkyl chain carbon source used by Nugent as a rheology control agent)
PHOS-CHEK-P-30, ammonium polyphosphate (e.g., an acid source)
ammonium pentaborate (reading upon the claimed c) foaming agent)
zinc borate (reading upon the claimed f) an inorganic additive)
wollastonite fibrous reinforcing filler commercially available as NYAD G (reading upon the claimed e) a reinforced/mineral fiber)
pentaerythritol (e.g., a known carbon source in the art)
calcium carbonate (reading upon the claimed f) an inorganic additive).
Package 2:
VERSAMID 150, amine curing agent (reading upon the claimed component b) a curing agent reactive with the polymer)
nonyl phenol (e.g., a curing promoter and/or a carbon source comprising an aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent but no double bond)
ATTAGEL-50, Attapulgite clay (reading upon the claimed g) an inorganic additive)
wollastonite fibrous reinforcing filler commercially available as NYAD G (reading upon the claimed e) a reinforced/mineral fiber)
calcium carbonate (reading upon the claimed f) an inorganic additive)
melamine (reading upon the claimed c) foaming agent)
carbon black pigment.
Examples 2 and 3 of Nugent similarly comprise components as instantly claimed.
Hence, with respect to the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-17, 22-23, and 25, Nugent teaches a method of improving a low temperature performance of an intumescent coating applied to a substrate comprising steel as in the claimed invention, except that Nugent does not teach that the flexibilizer is an aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent having 1 to 3 double bonds as in instant claim 1, or a tall oil fatty acid as in instant claim 23, or both as in instant claim 25 (Difference 1, and particularly those as recited in instant claims 4-6); that the curing component comprises 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl) phenol as recited in instant claims 1 and 23 (Difference 2), and is present at a content of 2-5wt% based on the total weight of the intumescent coating composition as in instant claim 1 (Difference 2A); and that during the cold cycle test, the cured coating is exposed to both the cold temperature of between about -18°C and about -23°C (reading upon the claimed -20°C) and the warm temperature of 43°C (similar to and thus rendering obvious the claimed 40°C) for 12 hours each as instantly claimed (Difference 3).
However, with respect to Difference 1, Nugent provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion that other flexibilizing agents can be utilized in the invention to provide the desired flexibility required of the cured intumescent coating to improve its low temperature performance, and given that CARDOLINITE® NC-513 is a known reactive epoxy flexibilizer, e.g., a flexible epoxy adduct as in Nugent, in the art and/or may be used to prepare amine adducts, e.g., as in Nugent with respect to the flexible curing agent, and has a chemical structure reading upon the claimed “aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent having 1 to 3 double bonds” as in instant claim 1, and more particularly a cardanol compound similar to instant claims 4-6, as evidenced by CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize CARDOLINITE® NC-513 or similar flexibilizing agent in the invention taught by Nugent. It is also noted that Wang teaches a similar intumescent coating composition as discussed in detail in the prior office action and incorporated herein by reference, including various components reading upon the instantly claimed intumescent coating, particularly with respect to the instantly claimed components a)-f), wherein similar to Nugent, Wang teaches that the coating “has the characteristics of good fire-retardant and heat-insulating performance, good adhesion, high strength, and the ability to withstand the effects of high and low temperature cycles”, and “is particularly suitable for protecting indoor and outdoor steel” (Wang: Title, Paragraph 0074).
More specifically, Wang teaches that the coating is formed from a two-component composition consisting of components A and B, with component A comprising, in terms of parts by weight: 10-30 epoxy resin (reading upon the claimed component a) or “polymer comprising an epoxy resin”), 5-20 modified resin, 5-20 catalyst, 10-35 char-forming or charring agent, 5-20 foaming agent, 15-40 flame retardant, 5-15 flux, 10-25 pigments and fillers, and 2-15 of smoke suppressant; while component B comprises, in terms of parts by weight, 10-25 pigments and fillers, 10-50 hardener (e.g., curing system), and 2-15 additives (Paragraphs 0010-0025; similar to Nugent); wherein components A and B are mixed in a ratio of 2:1 to 4:1, and applied by application methods including spraying, brushing, and scraping (as in instant claim 12, similar to Nugent), to the surfaces of steel (as in instant claims 1 and 23, similar to Nugent), both indoors and outdoors, to provide outstanding fire-retardant properties (Paragraph 0073). Wang teaches that the “selection of modified resin…is based on the following considerations: an important requirement for intumescent fire-retardant coatings is that the coating has good flexibility and adhesion” (e.g., as in Nugent); and “[t]herefore, the modified resin should meet the following requirements: a. When no fire occurs, the coating can protect the substrate from direct impact from external objects, and the coating itself will not separate from the substrate; b. Climate change, especially drastic changes in ambient temperature, will not cause the coating to crack or detach from the substrate; c. Good flexibility and adhesion allow the coating to remain tightly bonded to the substrate even under the impact of an explosive shock wave; and d. Even after the coating expands when exposed to fire, the expanded layer will not detach from the substrate” (Paragraphs 0030-0034). Wang teaches that “[a]lthough epoxy resin has the characteristics of strong adhesion and high hardness, the cured paint film is very brittle”, and “[t]herefore, one or more of the following modified resins are added to the formulation to modify the above epoxy resin: polyurethane, furan resin, amino resin, bisphenol F type resin, vinyl resin, acrylic resin, phenolic resin, alkyd resin, high chlorinated polyethylene resin, chlorinated ether resin, epoxidized soybean oil [e.g., as in Nugent], hydrogenated castor oil [e.g., as utilized in Nugent], polyvinyl butyral, chlorinated rubber, carboxybutyl rubber, coal tar, etc.” (Paragraph 0035, with bisphenol F type resin reading upon the claimed “optionally a bisphenol compound” of component h) or “carbon source” of instant claims 1 and 23 as well as instant claim 3); wherein nitrogen-containing and chlorine-containing resins significantly improve the overall performance of the coating, while phenolic resins significantly contribute to the density of the carbonized layer and the total yield of carbonized materials (Paragraph 0036); and hence, similar to Nugent, Wang also teaches a “method of improving a low temperature performance of an intumescent coating applied to a substrate comprising steel” by the addition of a component/compound that may also function as a “carbon source” as in the claimed invention given consideration b. above with respect to the modified resin being selected such that climate change, especially drastic changes in ambient temperature, will not cause the coating to crack or detach from the substrate; that the modified resin(s) constitute(s) “a carbon source”; and that Wang specifically teaches that the coating is particularly suitable for protecting indoor and outdoor steel and has the ability to withstand the effects of high and low temperature cycles (e.g., as in Nugent).
Wang also teaches that the additives of the invention include reactive diluents, toughening agents, curing accelerators, dispersants, leveling agents, and defoamers (Paragraphs 0069), wherein suitable toughening agents (e.g., known to reduce the brittleness and thus affect the flexibility of a cured epoxy resin similar to the teachings of Nugent) include “turpentine oil, furfuryl alcohol, benzofuran-indene polymers, coal tar, epoxidized cashew phenol, polypropylene glycol diglycidyl ether, epoxidized soybean oil [e.g., as in Nugent with respect to the flexible epoxy resin], hydrogenated castor oil, polysulfide rubber, etc.” (emphasis added, Paragraph 0071), and given that epoxidized cashew phenol encompasses epoxidized cardanol – a known aromatic compound having a long chain hydrocarbyl substituent of 15 carbon atoms with 1 to 3 double bonds (as in instant claims 1 and 23, and particularly as in instant claims 4-6, as well as instant claims 22 and 25 which are further discussed below), wherein only the hydroxyl group on the aromatic ring may be epoxidized (as evidenced by Suresh, Synthesis, Structure, and Properties of Novel Polyols from Cardanol and Developed Polyurethanes, Fig. 1, Scheme 1) or alternatively, only a portion of the double bonds may be epoxidized (thus the hydroxyl group remains on the aromatic ring as in instant claim 5), reading upon the claimed “aromatic compound” of the claimed component h) or “carbon source”, Wang provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion of incorporating a “carbon source comprising an aromatic compound having along chain hydrocarbyl substituent having 1 to 3 double bonds and/or a tall oil fatty acid and optionally a bisphenol compound” as a “toughening agent” to thus improve toughening (e.g., and increase flexibility as in Nugent) of the intumescent coating; and given that Wang provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion that the epoxidized cashew phenol is functionally equivalent to the epoxidized soybean oil taught by Nugent as a suitable flexibilizer, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize epoxidized cashew phenol and/or similar functional flexibilizer as the flexible epoxy resin and/or flexibilizer in the invention taught by Nugent.
Additionally, given that in general tall oil, like soybean oil and castor oil, is a plant oil that similar to soybean oil and/or castor oil is also known to be utilized as a renewable source additive in the art (as evidenced by Pryde, Industrial Chemical Uses of Polyunsaturated Fatty Acids, Entire document, particularly Table VII), including as a known plasticizer, flexibilizer and/or toughening agent (as evidenced by Dearlove, USPN 4,383,060, Col. 5, line 65 – Col. 6, line 12; or Braithwaite, Jr., USPN 4,443,520, Col. 3, lines 48-65; or Ichino, JP2015010101A, Paragraph 0080 of the machine translation of record; or Beisele, USPN 6,638,567, Col. 3, lines 1-21; or more particularly in the working examples of Ward, USPN 4,529,467), wherein tall oil naturally contains a mixture of fatty acids (e.g., similar to the fatty acid(s) used for the dimer acid based material EMPOL 1010 resin taught by Nugent for the flexibilizer and/or for the polymerized fatty acids taught by Nugent as a suitable curing agent); the Examiner takes the position that it also would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to similarly include a tall oil fatty acid as a renewable additive or flexibilizer in the intumescent coating taught by Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang, given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results and/or prima facie obviousness to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. Hence, absent any clear showing of unexpected results, Difference 1 would have been obvious over the teachings of Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang.
With respect to Difference 2, given that Nugent does not specifically limit the curing agent(s) and provides a clear teaching and/or suggestion of utilizing amine and/or phenol (co)curing agents, the Examiner takes the position that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the clamed invention to utilize any known, commercially available curing agent/accelerator in the invention taught by Nugent, and given that 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl)phenol, an aromatic polyamine which is commercially available as ANCAMINE® K54, is a known, conventional epoxy curing agent/accelerator in the art as evidenced by the ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet, Difference 2 would have been obvious over the teachings of Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results. Further, given that Nugent teaches that the amount of the curing agent can vary as discussed above, providing examples utilizing a content of curing agent/promoter encompassing and/or reading upon the claimed 2-5wt%, and that the “Recommended Use Level” of ANCAMINE® K54 as an accelerator is 0.5-5 phr as taught by the ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet, the Examiner takes the position that absent any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the instantly claimed 2-5 wt%, based on the total weight of the intumescent coating composition, of a curing promoter comprising the 2,4,6-tris(dimethylaminomethyl) phenol (Difference 2/2A) as recited in instant claim 1 would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Lastly, with respect to Difference 3, it is again noted that Nugent clearly teaches that the intumescent composition is designed such that the cured, unburned composition has sufficient flexibility that is passes at least 10 continuous cycles, preferably at least 30 continuous cycles (reading upon and/or rendering obvious the claimed “40 cycles”), more preferably at least 50 continuous cycles, and most preferably at least 70 continuous cycles, of a cold cycle test having similar low and high temperatures as in the instantly claimed invention, without cracking and remaining adhered to the substrate, and although Nugent does not specifically teach that the cold cycle test includes 40 cycles wherein the low temperature exposure at -20°C (as taught and/or suggested by Nugent) is for 12 hours followed by exposure at the high temperature of 40°C (as taught and/or suggested by Nugent) also for 12 hours as in instant claims 1 and 23, given that Nugent does not specifically limit the exposure time and that standard testing for weathering of intumescent coatings is known to include similar freeze-thaw testing cycles as instantly claimed (as established on the record), and that the intumescent coating composition taught by Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang and in further view of ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet comprises the same components and in contents as in the instantly claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to reasonably expect the method of applying and curing the intumescent coating composition as taught by Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang and in further view of ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet to exhibit similar temperature performance properties as instantly claimed, particularly given that Nugent clearly teaches similar temperatures and most preferably at least 70 cycles such that one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to utilize routine experimentation to determine the optimum composition to provide the desired flexibility and thus desired cold temperature performance for a particular end use. Hence, absent any evidence to the contrary and/or any clear showing of criticality and/or unexpected results, the Examiner takes the position that the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 1, 3-9, 11-12, 15-17, 22-23, and 25 would have been obvious over the teachings of Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang and in further view of ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet given that it is prima facie obviousness to choose from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success.
With respect to instant claims 13-14, although Nugent does not specifically teach that the steel substrate is cleaned and/or degreased prior to applying the intumescent coating composition to the substrate as in instant claim 13, nor that the steel substrate specifically comprises one of the steel materials as recited in instant claim 14, given that cleaning any substrate prior to coating is an obvious method step in the art as established on the record, and that the claimed types of steel are obvious species of steel in the art encompassed by “steel” as taught by Nugent and/or would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention given that it is prima facie obviousness to simply substitute one known element for another to obtain predictable results, the Examiner takes the position that the claimed invention as recited in instant claims 13-14 would have been obvious over the above teachings of Nugent in view of CARDOLITE® NC-513 TDS or Wang and in further view of ANCAMINE® K54 Product Sheet.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 8/28/2026 have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection presented above. The Examiner also notes that the data presented in the present specification is not commensurate in scope with the instant claims (e.g., one skilled in the art could not reasonably extend the probative value thereof to any and all aromatic compounds having a long chain hydrocarbyl with 1 to 3 carbon bonds and/or to any tall oil fatty acid) and thus would be insufficient if relied upon to overcome the above rejection.
Any objection or rejection from the prior office action not restated above has been withdrawn by the Examiner in light of the above new grounds of rejection and/or Applicant’s claim amendments and/or arguments filed 8/28/2026.
/MONIQUE R JACKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787