DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Receipt of the Amendment, filed on May 31, 2026, is acknowledged.
Cancellation of claim 2 has been entered.
Claims 1 and 3-6 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xie et al. (CN 1444271 A).
Regarding claim 1, Xie discloses a light-emitting device (Fig. 2K), comprising: a light-emitting element (20) mounted on a substrate (60); a lens (40) disposed on the substrate so as to cover the light-emitting element; and a sealing liquid (30) disposed in a space defined under the lens to seal the light-emitting element, wherein an inner surface of the lens (40) comprises a depression that is recessed upward at a position not overlapping an optical axis of the light-emitting element (20), wherein a position of the depression is higher than a position of a point on the inner surface that is located on the optical axis (Fig. 1), and wherein a height of the inner surface monotonically increases from the point on the optical axis to the depression, wherein an air bubble (31) is included in at least a portion of the depression, and wherein the air bubble (31) is movable in the sealing liquid due to buoyancy (Page 9, lines 4-9).
Regarding claim 4, Xie discloses a light-emitting device wherein the depression is provided in a position where horizontal position thereof does not overlap the light-emitting element (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Xie discloses a light-emitting device wherein the inner surface of the lens (40) comprises a protrusion located at a position overlapping the optical axis and curved toward the light-emitting element (20, Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 1444271 A) in view of Lunev et al. (US 2022/0328729 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Xie fails to exemplify wherein the sealing liquid comprises a fluorine-based oil. Lunev discloses a light-emitting device (Fig. 1E), comprising: a light-emitting element (50) mounted on a substrate (100); a lens (100) disposed on the substrate so as to cover the light-emitting element; and a sealing liquid (80) disposed in a space defined under the lens to seal the light-emitting element, wherein the sealing liquid comprises a fluorine-based oil (¶[0032]) in order to improve light extraction and heat extraction of the light-emitting element (¶[0035]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of effective filling of the claimed invention to incorporate the fluorine-based oil sealing liquid as disclosed by Lunev in the light-emitting device of Xie in order to improve light extraction and heat extraction of the light-emitting element.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xie et al. (CN 1444271 A) in view of Fujikawa et al. (US 2020/0157392 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Xie fails to exemplify wherein the depression comprises an annular planar pattern that surrounds the optical axis. Fujikawa discloses a light-emitting device (Fig. 6), comprising: a light-emitting element (8) mounted on a substrate (9); a lens (1’) disposed on the substrate so as to cover the light-emitting element, wherein an inner surface of the lens (1’) comprises a depression that is recessed upward at a position not overlapping an optical axis of the light-emitting element (8), wherein a position of the depression is higher than a position of a point on the inner surface that is located on the optical axis (Fig. 6), and wherein a height of the inner surface monotonically increases from the point on the optical axis to the depression (Fig. 6), wherein the depression comprises an annular planar pattern that surrounds the optical axis (Fig. 5, ¶[0126]). One skilled in the art would have reasonably contemplate optimizing the shape of the depression surrounding a central region of the lens to have an annular planar shape, as an obvious matter of design engineering. It has been held that a change in shape is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966). Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to provide the pression having a annular planar pattern as disclosed by Fujikawa in the light-emitting device of Xie, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the shape of a component.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3-6 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
The rejections above rely on the references for all the teachings expressed in the text of the references and/or one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably understood or implied from the texts of the references. To emphasize certain aspects of the prior art, only specific portions of the texts have been pointed out. Each reference as a whole should be reviewed in responding to the rejection, since other sections of the same reference and/or various combinations of the cited references may be relied on in future rejections in view of amendments.
Contact Information
/Mariceli Santiago/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2879