DETAILED ACTION
Examiner’s Comments
Column and line (or Paragraph Number) citations have been provided as a convenience for Applicants, but the entirety of each reference should be duly considered. Any recitation of a Figure element, e.g. “Figure 1, element 1” should be construed as inherently also reciting “and relevant disclosure thereto”.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 12) in the paper filed August 19, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 13 – 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Specification
The first paragraph of Applicants' specification should be updated to reflect the current status of any listed related U.S. patent applications.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (other than the 112(a) rejection below), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 – 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, because the specification, while being enabling for “A composite anode electrode material …”, does not reasonably provide enablement for the use of such a material as a cathode active material; i.e. with a (for example) lithium transition metal oxide core. The specification does not enable any person skilled in the art to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly connected, to make and/or use the invention commensurate in scope with these claims. See, for example, paragraphs 0001 – 0007 of the as-filed disclosure which clearly denote that the invention is for an anode active material electrode, wherein the core comprises materials common and specific to anodes (e.g. carbon, silicon, etc.). This is entirely different than the materials used for cathode active material cores, which are typically lithium transition-metal oxides, etc., and the present disclosure does not enable a scope of a generic core material. This rejection can be overcome by amending the preamble to recite “A composite anode electrode material” or by reciting “an anode active material”, for example.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(a)(1) The claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(a)(2) The claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(g)(1) During the course of an interference conducted under section 135 or section 291, another inventor involved therein establishes, to the extent permitted in section 104, that before such person’s invention thereof the invention was made by such other inventor and not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed, or (2) before such person’s invention thereof, the invention was made in this country by another inventor who had not abandoned, suppressed, or concealed it. In determining priority of invention under this subsection, there shall be considered not only the respective dates of conception and reduction to practice of the invention, but also the reasonable diligence of one who was first to conceive and last to reduce to practice, from a time prior to conception by the other.
A rejection on this statutory basis (35 U.S.C. 102(g) as in force on March 15, 2013) is appropriate in an application or patent that is examined under the first to file provisions of the AIA if it also contains or contained at any time (1) a claim to an invention having an effective filing date as defined in 35 U.S.C. 100(i) that is before March 16, 2013 or (2) a specific reference under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) to any patent or application that contains or contained at any time such a claim.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (U.S. Patent App. No. 2016/0276658 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 11, Choi et al. disclose a composite electrode material (Title; Abstract) comprising active material particles (ibid: “a compound”), each active material particle comprising: an electrochemically active core (ibid; “a compound”); and a buffer layer that surrounds the core (Title; Abstract; “a coating layer positioned on at least a portion of a surface of the compound”) and comprises Li2Si2O5, Li2SiO3, Li4SiO4, or combinations thereof (Title; Abstract; and Paragraphs 0017 and 0043: Li2SiO3 and Li4SiO4 explicitly disclosed).
Regarding claim 3, Choi et al. discloses adding carbon to the active material core (at least Paragraphs 0064 – 0066).
Regarding claim 5, Choi et al. disclose a mixture of materials in the coating layer which the Examiner has taken as reading on ‘matrix’ as ‘matrix’ is undefined and given its broadest reasonable interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Regarding numbers (1), (2) and (4), see the rejection(s) provided below. Regarding the level of ordinary skill in the art, the general level of skill is taken as a highly skilled technician having at least a BS, MS, or PhD in the relevant field and 3-5 years experience.
Claims 6 – 9 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Choi et al. as applied above.
Choi et al. is relied upon as described above.
Regarding claim 6, Choi et al. fails to disclose the particle sizes of the active material particles. However, the Examiner deems that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a results effective variable such as the average particle size through routine experimentation, especially given the teaching in Choi et al. regarding the use as an active material of an electrode and as a core-shell type material. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Geisler, 116 F. 3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Aller, 220 F.2d, 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Choi et al. fails to disclose the thickness of the coating layer of the active material particles. However, the Examiner deems that it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum value of a results effective variable such as the coating (buffer) layer thickness through routine experimentation, especially given the teaching in Choi et al. regarding the use as an active material of an electrode and as a core-shell type material. In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980); In re Geisler, 116 F. 3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Aller, 220 F.2d, 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Choi et al. discloses the use of ‘lithium metal compounds’ and positively recites Li2SiO3 and Li4SiO4 as noted above. While Li2Si2O5 is not positively recited, it clearly belongs to the same category of ‘lithium metal compounds’, including lithium silicates, as the two materials explicitly recited above. As such, a skilled artisan would readily appreciate that all of these lithium silicate compounds are functional equivalents. Substitution of functional equivalents requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the functional equivalency. In the instant case, Li2SiO3 and Li4SiO4 are deemed functionally equivalent to Li2Si2O5 in the field of suitable ‘lithium metal compounds’/lithium silicates within the coating layer taught by the Choi et al. invention. In re Fount 213 USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v. Linde Air Products Co. 85 USPQ 328 (USSC 1950).
Allowable Subject Matter
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: claim 2 is directed to an electrode material conventionally used in anode (negative) electrodes; i.e. a silicon based core with a coating thereon. The applied art above is directed to a cathode (positive) electrode material using a lithium transition-metal oxide core and there would be no motivation or suggestion to replace the positive electrode material core with a negative electrode material core. Similarly, while the prior art applied talks about adding carbon to the core (active material), it is silent with regard to adding a carbon coating thereon, which is more common with negative (anode) active materials. The prior art lacks sufficient specificity to use two coating layers, one comprising carbon and one meeting the lithium silicate compositions of claim 1.
For completeness, the Examiner notes that several references have been cited which teach anode-type silicon core materials with the claimed lithium silicate materials in coatings, but none of these references qualify as prior art as they are antedated by the effective filing date of Applicants’ invention.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KEVIN M BERNATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785
October 25, 2026