DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Choi et al. (hereinafter Choi)(US 2022/0322454).
Regarding claim 1, Choi teaches a method comprising: determining, by a wireless device, a plurality of numbers of repetitions respectively associated with each of a plurality of reference signals for transmission of a random-access preamble(P[0111], all measured SS-RSRP; plurality of SSBs; P[0112], number of repetitions; also P[0104-0112])
selecting, by the wireless device, among the plurality of reference signals, a reference signal associated with the plurality of numbers of repetitions determined to be a lowest among the plurality of numbers of repetitions(P[0112], smallest resource and/or the number of repetitions) in a lowest CE level);
transmitting, by the wireless device, the random-access preamble using the lowest number of repetitions, wherein the random-access preamble is transmitted via a random- access resource associated with the selected reference signal(P[0112], transmit a random access preamble in PRACH).
Regarding claim 2, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of reference signals is at least one of: a synchronization signal; a synchronization signal block (SSB); synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block; channel state information RS; positioning sounding RS; or sounding RS(P[0111], measuring synchronization signal RSRP).
Regarding claim 3, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the number of repetitions is associated with a radio link quality and the radio link quality is at least one of: a reference signal received power; a received signal strength indicator; a reference signal received quality; a block error rate; or a signal to noise ratio(P[0111], measuring synchronization signal RSRP).
Regarding claim 4, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving configuration parameters comprising a plurality of radio link quality thresholds(P[0112], RSRP; plurality of thresholds).
Regarding claim 5, Choi teaches the method of claim 4, wherein the determining is further based on a comparison of a radio link quality of each of the plurality of reference signals with the plurality of radio link quality thresholds(p[0112], compare a maximum value of all the measured SS-RSRP values with a plurality of thresholds).
Regarding claim 6, Choi teaches the method of claim 1, wherein each of the plurality of reference signals is associated with an index(P[0185], SSB having lowest index).
Regarding claim 7, Choi teaches the method of claim 6, wherein the selecting further comprises selecting, amongst a plurality of selected reference signals, the reference signal associated with a lowest index (P[0185], SSB having lowest index).
Claims 8-14 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-7 respectively.
Claims 15-20 are rejected for the same reason as set forth in claims 1-5 and 6+7 respectively.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 2/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Choi does not say that the wireless device determines a plurality of numbers of repetitions. By contrast, however, claim 1 recites: "determining, by a wireless device, a plurality of numbers of repetitions respectively associated with each of a plurality of reference signals for transmission of a random-access preamble." Such a teaching is found nowhere in Choi.
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Choi teaches P[0104-0112], plurality of SSBs(reference signals) and number of SSBs may be related to the number of repetitions. Choi further teaches (P[0104, 01066]), UE may determine the number of SSBs whose SS-RSRP value exceed one threshold.
Applicant argues that Choi does not say that the UE determines that number of repetitions for each of a plurality of reference signals. Instead, Choi seems to be asserting that if the initial CE level is determined through a maximum value of measured SS-RSRP, the result is that the UE transmits a preamble corresponding to one SSB, radio resource usage is somehow minimized (the mechanism to achieve this result is not perfectly clear)
Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Choi teaches P[0104-0112], plurality of SSBs(reference signals) and number of SSBs may be related to the number of repetitions. Choi further teaches (P[0104, 0106]), UE may determine the number of SSBs whose SS-RSRP value exceed one threshold.
Note: SSB is also a type of reference signals.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MUTHUSWAMY G MANOHARAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647