Claim Objections
Claim 9 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 recites “, each of the at least one pins extending through a slot formed in a corresponding one of the at least one claim elements ”.
The examiner believes it should read “, each of the at least one pins extending through a slot formed in a corresponding one of the at least one clamp elements”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “main axis”, “drive axis”, “clamp axis” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“a clamp assembly configured to demountably secure a flange to the base“ in claim 1.
“a drive element selectively positionable relative to the base and engaging the clamp member to selectively rotate the clamp member about the clamp axis.” In claim 4
“biasing element configured to urge the first end of the clamp member away from the base.” In claim 5
“a drive element engaging each of the at least one clamp elements to selectively rotate the clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis between a clamped position and an unclamped position.” In claim 7
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: a clamp assembly (Generic place holder)
Prong II: to demountably secure (Function)
Prong III: No structure
Regarding a clamp assembly, the specification recites “In any embodiment, the clamp assembly comprises at least one clamping element, wherein each of the at least one clamping elements includes a clamp member rotatably coupled to the base about a clamp axis such that rotation of the clamp member in a first direction about the clamp axis moving a first end of the clamp member toward the base; and a drive element selectively positionable relative to the base and engaging the clamp member to selectively rotate the clamp member about the clamp axis.” In ¶0011 and is further explained by Figures 8-11 clamp assembly 250 and clamp ring 252. The examiner will use the citation, and figures mention above to define the clamp assembly.
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: a drive element in (claim 4) (Generic place holder)
Prong II: selectively rotate the clamp member (Function)
Prong III: No structure
Regarding the drive element, the specification recites ” In any embodiment, the drive element is a screw in threaded engagement with the base.” In ¶0010 and “In any embodiment, the drive element is a clamp ring mounted to the base for selective rotation about the main axis, the clamp ring driving each of the at least one clamp elements about the corresponding clamp axis.” In ¶0012. The examiner will use the citation above to define the drive member.
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: a drive element (claim 7) (Generic place holder)
Prong II: to selectively rotate the clamp element (Function)
Prong III: No structure
Regarding the drive element, the specification recites ” In any embodiment, the drive element is a screw in threaded engagement with the base.” In ¶0010 and “In any embodiment, the drive element is a clamp ring mounted to the base for selective rotation about the main axis, the clamp ring driving each of the at least one clamp elements about the corresponding clamp axis.” In ¶0012. The examiner will use the citation above to define the drive member.
Three Prong Test:
Prong I: biasing element (Generic place holder)
Prong II: configured to urge the first end of the clamp member away from the base (Function)
Prong III: No structure
Regarding the biasing element, the specification recites ” As best shown in FIGURE5, each clamp assembly150 includes a thumbscrew152 in threaded engagement with the base120 and configured for rotation about an axis304. Rotation of the thumbscrew152 translates the thumbscrew along axis304 relative to the base120. A clevis154 is mounted to a lower portion of the plate and defines an axis306. An elongate clamping member156 is rotatably mounted to the clevis154 about axis306. The clamp assembly150 further includes a biasing element162, such as a torsion spring, that urges the clamping member156 to rotate about axis306 so that a first end158 of the clamping member maintains contact with the thumbscrew152 (clockwise as shown in FIGURE 5).”, in ¶0038. The examiner will use the citation above to define the biasing element.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070297556 A1 – Spencer in view of JP 60024271 A – Koga.
Regarding claim 1, Spenser is directed towards an orbital welder. Spenser does teach a base (32) having a main axis (Figures 10-17 although does expressly not show an axis line, the axis line is implied since the bad is a semi-circle and the material that is welded by the base are tubes.); a mount coupled to the base (Figure 11 shows base 33 coupled to arc length gear 33 and mounted to pivot bracket 76) and rotatable about the main axis ([0062] The torch assembly 38 is secured to both the arc length gear 33 and the travel gear 34.), a welding torch coupled to the mount ([0066] As shown in FIG. 19, the torch assembly 38 includes a pivot bracket 76, a water-cooled torch block assembly 77 mounted to the pivot bracket 76), the welding torch having an electrode ([0066] The torch block assembly 77 includes a gas tungsten arc welding torch 83), and a motor configured to drive rotation of the mount about the main axis ([0054] The welding system 10 includes a motor housing 11, a weld head assembly 12 remote from the motor housing 11, and an insertion tube 13 interconnecting the weld head assembly and motor housing.).
Koga is directed towards welding a pipe flange. Koga does teach a clamp assembly configured to demountably secure a flange to the base ([0001] The pipe flange welding apparatus relating to this invention, which achieves this objective, comprises a chucking device for gripping the flange of the pipe,); electrode that extends radially outward from the main axis (See figure 2 below);
The combination of the flange clamp to a pipe and the electrode that extends radially outward from the main axis of Koga with the orbital welder of Spenser allows for the pipe and flange to be aligned before the welding inside the pipe is performed.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spenser to include a clamp assembly configured to demountably secure a flange to the base and electrode that extends radially outward from the main axis because the flange clamp to a pipe and the electrode that extends radially outward from the main axis of Koga with the orbital welder of Spenser allows for the pipe and flange to be aligned before the welding inside the pipe is performed.
Regarding claim 2, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does teach a drive gear coupled to the motor for selective rotation about a drive axis ([0061] Worm gears 42 and 43 are provided on the drive shafts 36 and 37, respectively, to rotate individual gear train assemblies 44 and 46. Gear train assembly 44 drives arc length gear 33 and gear train assembly 46 drives travel gear 34.); and a main gear fixedly positioned relative to the mount and engaging the drive gear such that rotation of the drive gear about the drive axis in a first direction rotates the welding torch about the main axis in a second direction. ([0061] respectively, to rotate individual gear train assemblies 44 and 46. Gear train assembly 44 drives arc length gear 33 and gear train assembly 46 drives travel gear 34.) Furthermore, the arch length gear 33 and travel gear 34 are attached to the frame 32.
Regarding claim 3, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does not expressly teach the clamp assembly is configured to center the flange along the main axis.
Koga does teach the clamp assembly is configured to center the flange along the main axis (Figure 2 and [0001] 7 is the claw of the flange chucking device… 9 is the positioning stopper when inserting the flange).
The combination of the claw for holding flanges and a positioning stopper of Koga with the orbital welder of Spenser allows the flange to be aligned to a specific position before the welding process begins.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include the clamp assembly is configured to center the flange along the main axis because the claw for holding flanges and a positioning stopper of Koga with the orbital welder of Spenser allows the flange to be aligned to a specific position before the welding process begins.
Regarding claim 13, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does teach the welding torch is a TIG welding torch ([0013] provides the electromechanical means required to orbit and position a tungsten inert gas (TIG) welding torch assembly around a cylindrical shape in order to join two sections of pipe or tube together).
Regarding claim 14, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does teach the rotation of the mount drives the electrode along a circular path ([0019] The arc length gear and the travel gear cooperate to adjust the distance between the torch assembly and the pipe and to adjust the location of the torch assembly around the circumference of the pipe when the weld head assembly is attached to the pipe.).
Regarding claim 15, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 14. Spencer does teach the circular path is offset from the base ([0019] The arc length gear and the travel gear cooperate to adjust the distance between the torch assembly and the pipe and to adjust the location of the torch assembly around the circumference of the pipe when the weld head assembly is attached to the pipe.), Furthermore, figure 14 shows the two drive gears 33 and 34 offset from the frame 32.
Claims 4-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070297556 A1 – Spencer and JP 60024271 A – Koga as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US 20210308810 A1 – Nishimura.
Regarding claim 4, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does not expressly teach wherein the clamp assembly comprises at least one clamping element each of the at least one clamping elements including: a clamp member rotatably coupled to the base about a clamp axis rotation of the clamp member in a first direction about the clamp axis moving a first end of the clamp member toward the base; and a drive element selectively positionable relative to the base and engaging the clamp member to selectively rotate the clamp member about the clamp axis.
Nishimura is directed towards a clamping mechanism. Nishimura does teach wherein the clamp assembly comprises at least one clamping element (11c) each of the at least one clamping elements including: a clamp member (16) rotatably coupled to the base about a clamp axis rotation of the clamp member in a first direction about the clamp axis moving a first end of the clamp member toward the base (Figure 2 shows that when pin 16 is threaded into the base the clamps 11 go towards the base.);
and a drive element selectively positionable relative to the base and engaging the clamp member to selectively rotate the clamp member about the clamp axis ([0058] Then each of the motor shafts is attached to the corresponding support hole 11s, and the motor shaft is rotated in both the forward and reverse directions, thereby causing the corresponding clamp claw 11 to perform the opening or closing movement.).
The combination of the clamp member and drive element of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the claws 11 to be opened and closed to hold the object to be welded and furthermore be driven by a motor.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include the clamp assembly comprises at least one clamping element, each of the at least one clamping elements including: a clamp member rotatably coupled to the base about a clamp axis, rotation of the clamp member in a first direction about the clamp axis moving a first end of the clamp member toward the base; and a drive element selectively positionable relative to the base and engaging the clamp member to selectively rotate the clamp member about the clamp axis because the clamp member and drive element of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the claws 11 to be opened and closed to hold the object to be welded and furthermore be driven by a motor.
Regarding claim 5, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 4. Spencer does not expressly teach wherein each of the at least one clamping elements further includes a biasing element configured to urge the first end of the clamp member away from the base.
Nishimura does teach wherein each of the at least one clamping elements further includes a biasing element configured to urge the first end of the clamp member away from the base. (See figure 2 below) The annotated figure 2 shows that contact points 11c are kept away from the base by the shelf (not numbered) of clamp 11.
The combination of the biasing element of Nishimura and the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the contacting points of the claws 11 to maintain a set distance from the base of the clamping unit.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include each of the at least one clamping elements further includes a biasing element configured to urge the first end of the clamp member away from the base because the biasing element of Nishimura and the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the contacting points of the claws 11 to maintain a set distance from the base of the clamping unit.
Regarding claim 6, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 4. Spencer does not expressly teach the drive element is a screw in threaded engagement with the base.
Nishimura does teach the drive element is a screw in threaded engagement with the base ([0042] Moreover, the fitting portion 16g is preferably inserted into the pin hole 15t such that the flange portion 16f can lightly touch the clamp claw 11.).
The combination of the fitting portion (thread of a bolt) of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the claw to be secured to the base and tighten as needed for clamping.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include the drive element is a screw in threaded engagement with the base because the fitting portion (thread of a bolt) of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the claw to be secured to the base and tighten as needed for clamping.
Regarding claim 7, Spencer and Koga does teach the limitations of claim 1. Spencer does not expressly teach at least one elongate clamp element mounted to the base for rotation about a corresponding clamp axis, the clamp axis being parallel to the main axis, and a drive element engaging each of the at least one clamp elements to selectively rotate the clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis between a clamped position and an unclamped position
Nishimura does teach at least one elongate clamp (11) element mounted to the base for rotation about a corresponding clamp axis (Figure 2 shows a rotatable plate 13 that rotates about the base 15), the clamp axis being parallel to the main axis (Figure 1); and a drive element engaging each of the at least one clamp elements to selectively rotate the clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis between a clamped position and an unclamped position ([0058] Then each of the motor shafts is attached to the corresponding support hole 11s, and the motor shaft is rotated in both the forward and reverse directions, thereby causing the corresponding clamp claw 11 to perform the opening or closing movement.).
The combination of the elongate clamp and a drive element of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the elongated clamps to be driven down to secure the object to be welded.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include one elongate clamp element mounted to the base for rotation about a corresponding clamp axis, the clamp axis being parallel to the main axis, and a drive element engaging each of the at least one clamp elements to selectively rotate the clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis between a clamped position and an unclamped position because the elongate clamp and a drive element of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the elongated clamps to be driven down to secure the object to be welded.
Regarding claim 8, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 7. Spencer does not expressly teach wherein the drive element is a clamp ring mounted to the base for selective rotation about the main axis, the clamp ring driving each of the at least one clamp elements about the corresponding clamp axis.
Nishimura does teach wherein the drive element is a clamp ring (13) mounted to the base for selective rotation about the main axis, the clamp ring driving each of the at least one clamp elements (11) about the corresponding clamp axis. ([0058] At this time, the motor serves as a mover apparatus and also serves as a support shaft, which allows omission of the swivel ring 13 and actuator 14 which serve as the mover apparatus as well as omission of the pin 16 which serves as the support shaft, thereby eliminating the need for the elongated hole 11h to be formed in the clamp claw 11)
The combination of the clamp claw and the swivel ring of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the swivel ring to be rotated therefore moving the clamp claws to be aligned with the object to be welded.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include the drive element is a clamp ring mounted to the base for selective rotation about the main axis, the clamp ring driving each of the at least one clamp elements about the corresponding clamp axis because the clamp claw and the swivel ring of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the swivel ring to be rotated therefore moving the clamp claws to be aligned with the object to be welded.
Regarding claim 9, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 8. Spencer does not expressly teach wherein the clamp ring includes at least one pin mounted thereto, each of the at least one pins extending through a slot formed in a corresponding one of the at least one clamp elements, movement of each of the at least one pin around the main axis driving rotation of the corresponding clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis.
Nishimura does teach wherein the clamp ring includes at least one pin (13p) mounted thereto, each of the at least one pins extending through a slot formed in a corresponding one of the at least one clamp elements, ([0010] a swivel ring 13 including rod-shaped members 13p inserted through an elongated hole 11h formed in the clamp claw 11), movement of each of the at least one pin around the main axis driving rotation of the corresponding clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis (Figure 2 and [0010] , wherein each rod-shaped member 13p is configured to move relative to the elongated hole 11h in a longitudinal direction of the elongated hole 11h to cause the corresponding clamp claw 11 to perform the opening or closing movement.).
The combination of the pins of Nishimura rod-shaped members of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the clamp claws 11 relative to the swivel ring 13 to open and close the clamping members.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include the clamp ring includes at least one pin mounted thereto, each of the at least one pins extending through a slot formed in a corresponding one of the at least one clamp elements, movement of each of the at least one pin around the main axis driving rotation of the corresponding clamp element about the corresponding clamp axis because the pins of Nishimura rod-shaped members of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the clamp claws 11 relative to the swivel ring 13 to open and close the clamping members.
Regarding claim 10, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 9. Spencer does not expressly teach further comprising a plurality of mounting tabs coupled to the base, each mounting tab limiting rotation of at least one of the clamp elements.
Nishimura does teach further comprising a plurality of mounting tabs (14 and 19) coupled to the base, each mounting tab limiting rotation of at least one of the clamp elements ([0012] the mover apparatus 12 is configured such that the actuator 14 and the swivel ring 13 are detachably connected to each other and such that, in a case in which the swivel ring 13 is attached to the actuator 14, the actuator 14 is configured to cause the swivel ring 13 to rotate by a predetermined stroke and [0014] as shown in FIG. 1, for example, the clamping mechanism 10 according to any one of the first aspect to fourth aspect, further includes a stopper 19 configured to directly and indirectly restrict the clamp claws 11 from approaching each other more than a third predetermined distance.).
The combination of the stopper and actuator of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the clamping device to be limited, in order not to over rotate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include a plurality of mounting tabs coupled to the base, each mounting tab limiting rotation of at least one of the clamp elements because the stopper and actuator of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the clamping device to be limited, in order not to over rotate.
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20070297556 A1 – Spencer, JP 60024271 A – Koga, and US 20210308810 A1 – Nishimura as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of US 20220163310 A1 - Pow.
Regarding claim 11, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 9. Spencer does not expressly teach at least one handle extends radially from the clamp ring.
Pow is directed towards a truck repair kit. Pow does teach wherein at least one handle (134D) extends radially from the clamp ring ([0073] Unlike spiral clamping ring 114, where a handle 114D may be integral or fixed to spiral clamping ring 114 (this is not mandatory), spiral clamping ring 134 may comprise a detachable handle 134D.).
The combination of the handle of Pow with the clamping assembly of Nishimura and the orbital welder of Spencer allow for another means to spin the clamping devices manually.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer and Nishimura to include at least one handle extends radially from the clamp ring because the handle of Pow with the clamping assembly of Nishimura and the orbital welder of Spencer allow for another means to spin the clamping devices manually.
Regarding claim 12, Spencer, Koga, and Nishimura does teach the limitations of claim 11. Spencer does not expressly teach a guide fixedly positioned relative to the base, the guide limiting rotation of the clamp ring about the main axis.
Nishimura does teach further comprising a guide (13re) fixedly positioned relative to the base, the guide limiting rotation of the clamp ring about the main axis. (Figure 2 shows the opening 13re allow limited movement of the ring body 13r.).
The combination of the openings of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the swivel ring to be limited to ensure the ring does not over rotate.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Spencer to include a guide fixedly positioned relative to the base, the guide limiting rotation of the clamp ring about the main axis because the openings of Nishimura with the orbital welder of Spencer allows for the rotation of the swivel ring to be limited to ensure the ring does not over rotate.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 10500665 B2 – Cash does teach an orbital welder with clamps and gears for the welding torch to travel on.
US 5844190 A – Benway does teach an orbital welder for connecting pipes.
/KEITH BRIAN ASSANTE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761