DETAILED ACTION
The Office Action is in response to Amendments filed 4/6/2026.
Claims 1, 3, and 6 are currently amended.
Claims 21-22 are newly added claims.
Claims 1-22 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20250004900 A1 hereinafter "Xu" in view of US 20150355898 A1 hereinafter "Zhang" and further in view of US 20070169059 A1 hereinafter “Halambi”.
With regards to claim 1, Xu teaches
A method for executing a program, the method comprising: writing a program value to a corresponding accelerator program register of accelerator program registers of an accelerator circuit [according to accelerator program difference information of a compiled program;] (Xu [0031], "The command matcher 164 may receive information of the addresses of the registers to be accessed and data (to be referred to as data to be updated below) to be written by a command (for example, the command CMD in FIG. 3) of the predetermined task [writing a program value to a corresponding accelerator program register of accelerator program registers of an accelerator circuit]. The command matcher 164 may search the memory 162 according to the addresses of the registers to be accessed by the command CMD, so as to read the previous data in the registers. The command matcher 164 may accordingly determine whether the previous data is the same as the data to be updated. If the previous data is the same as the data to be updated, it means that the data previously stored in the registers is the same as the new data to be written by the command CMD. In this case, the command matcher 164 does not transmit the addresses of the registers or the data to be updated to the command executor 166. Or, if the previous data is different from the data to be updated, it means that the data previously stored in the registers is different from the new data to be written by the command CMD. In this case, the command matcher 164 stores the data to be updated to the memory 162 to update the memory 162 by replacing the previous data corresponding to the registers with the data to be updated, and provides the addresses of the registers and the data to be updated to the command executor 166 [according to accelerator program difference information of a compiled program].")
Xu teaches accelerator program but does not explicitly teach: [...] according to accelerator program difference information of a compiled program
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches [...] according to accelerator program difference information of a compiled program (Zhang [0030], "In order to reduce the amount of data to be transferred, the update assembly and existing assembly can be compared (wherein, identical metadata in the update assembly and existing assembly have identical identifiers), for example, by utilizing a 'xdelta' tool for comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary delta data comprising only the parts of the update assembly which are different from the existing assembly, and the generated binary delta data is sent to the running program as the update assembly. For example, the source codes modified in accordance with the hot-update requirements can be written in various programming languages, such as C#, Visual Basic NET, C++/CLI Managed, F#, J#, Jscript NET, Windows PowerShell, etc., and the modification thus made can include adding a new class, modifying a function, changing the access level of a function or field, adding a field to an existing object, etc. The update assembly compiled from the source codes can be of a human readable common intermediate language (CIL). The update assembly can exist in the form of a dll or exe file.") [Examiner’s Note: A compiled program will generate binary, executable, .dll files. By comparing the differences for metadata, Zhang teaches program differentiation information.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Xu. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Xu and Zhang does not teach: executing an accelerator program by the accelerator circuit, wherein the accelerator circuit is controlled by program values of the accelerator program in the accelerator program registers of the accelerator circuit
However, in an analogous art Halambi teaches executing an accelerator program by the accelerator circuit, wherein the accelerator circuit is controlled (Halambi [0219], “Control program functions 1702: The accelerator is programmable and can execute different control programs. For example, one accelerator can be programmed to execute any or some of the selected loops or functions in the application. This is achieved by downloading the appropriate control program to the accelerator. Bootstrap functions and run-time patching functions are the two main types of control program functions.”) [Examiner’s Note: A function or loop are executable program control structures that can be integrated into an program to control an accelerator circuit.] by program values of the accelerator program in the accelerator program registers of the accelerator circuit (Halambi [0216], “The primary method of communication between the processor 107 and the accelerator is by the storage of values to the memory-mapped storage locations, such as registers or local memory 103 of the accelerator by using store instructions. The accelerator can communicate with the processor 107 in one of two ways. In the first case, the accelerator is a passive device and the processor 107 periodically monitors the storage locations of the accelerator for any change in value. The value of the accelerator's storage locations can be accessed using load instructions. In the second case, the accelerator can raise an interrupt to the processor 107 in order to signal its intent to communicate with the processor 107. The processor 107 accesses the storage locations within the accelerator by using load instructions. The low-level function that the processor 107 executes on receiving an interrupt is called the interrupt handler.”) [Examiner’s Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a memory-mapped register is one that can be accessed by a program assigning a value/address/variable/parameter/object to the register for access, loading, and storing in order to control the corresponding accelerator function.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Halambi into the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing a memory map that contains the accelerator’s address space wherein the hardware dependent software interfaces with accelerator hardware (Halambi [0031]).
With regards to claim 3, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Xu further teaches: wherein the accelerator program difference information causes
the processing device to write only accelerator program registers having program values
being updated from prior program values written to the accelerator program registers by
an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator
programs, and
wherein the processing device does not write other accelerator program registers in response to the accelerator program difference information. (Xu [0025], "The filter control
circuit 160 is coupled to the decoder circuit 140 to receive the commands corresponding to the
first task, so as to obtain information of the addresses of the registers to be accessed and the data
to be written by the first task. The filter control circuit 160 may record address information of
multiple registers of each of the multiple processing circuits 130[1] to 130[n] and data previously
stored in each of these registers [from prior program values written to the accelerator program
registers]. The filter control circuit 160 may compare whether the data previously stored in the
registers to be accessed by the first task is the same as the data to be written by the first task. If
the two are the same, the filter control circuit 160 does not write the data to be written by the first
task to the registers [wherein the processing device does not write other accelerator program
registers in response to the accelerator program difference information]. If the data previously
stored in the registers to be accessed by the first task is different from the data to be written by
the first task, the filter control circuit 160 writes the data to be written by the first task to the
registers [wherein the accelerator program difference information causes the processing device
to write only accelerator program registers having program values being updated].")
[Examiner's Note: Previously stored register values can be associated with previously executed
Tasks from previously recorded accelerator programs]
With regards to claim 21, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
The combination of Xu and Zhang teaches an accelerator program but does not teach: wherein the accelerator program registers are a programming interface of the accelerator circuit and are persistent during execution of the accelerator program.
However, in an analogous art Halambi teaches wherein the accelerator program registers are a programming interface of the accelerator circuit (Halambi [0216], “The low-level access functions 1701 serve as the communication primitives that are used by the other upper-level functions to perform tasks on the accelerator. The primary method of communication between the processor 107 and the accelerator is by the storage of values to the memory-mapped storage locations, such as registers or local memory 103 of the accelerator by using store instructions.”) and are persistent during execution of the accelerator program. (Halambi [0145-146], “All memories or registers that reside in the accelerator but need to be accessed by the processor 107 must be assigned addresses in the global address space. This implies that all local arrays, scalars and accelerator control unit's 106 registers that are accessed by the processor 107 must be assigned addresses in the global address space.”) [Examiner’s Note: An accelerator circuit register is persistent it is the program that will assign an address in order to access the register for corresponding control of the accelerator. Using store instructions, the processor is able to use the program to interface with the accelerator circuit.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Halambi into the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing a memory map that contains the accelerator’s address space wherein the hardware dependent software interfaces with accelerator hardware (Halambi [0031]).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi, as applied to claim 1, in view of US 20240104361 A1 hereinafter "Mehendale" and further in view of US 20220197615 A1 hereinafter "Kinsner".
With regards to claim 2, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Xu does not teach: searching metadata of the compiled program for compiled data associated with each layer of the machine learning model the accelerator program difference information being included in the metadata of the compiled program;
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches searching metadata of the compiled program [...] (Zhang [0047-48], "a receiving unit 310 configured to obtain, in response to receiving a hot-update instruction by a running program, an update assembly and difference descriptions for describing differences between the update assembly and an existing assembly of the running program, wherein, identical metadata in the update assembly and the existing assembly have identical identifiers; a modification determining unit 320 configured to load the update assembly into memory, and find, in the update assembly, functions which have been modified with respect to the existing assembly according to the difference descriptions;")
the accelerator program difference information being included in the metadata of the compiled program; (Zhang [0029-30], "Further, the method can also include, prior to receiving the hot-update instruction by the running program, compiling source codes modified according to requirements of the hot-update to generate the update assembly; performing structural adjustments to the update assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and existing assembly of the running program to have identical identifiers [of the compiled program]; In order to reduce the amount of data to be transferred, the update assembly and existing assembly can be compared (wherein, identical metadata in the update assembly and existing assembly have identical identifiers), for example, by utilizing a 'xdelta' tool for comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary delta data comprising only the parts of the update assembly which are different from the existing assembly, and the generated binary delta data is sent to the running program as the update assembly [the accelerator program difference information being included in the metadata].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Xu in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, and Halambi does not teach: wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer and the method further comprises: [searching metadata of the compiled program for] compiled data associated with each layer of the machine learning model
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer and the method further comprises: (Mehendale [0033], "The processing nodes of a neural network can be divided into layers including, for example, an input layer, a number of intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and an output layer. The input layer and the intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer forming CNN, whereas the output layer can be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer, intermediate layer, and the output layer together form a DNN [wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer]")
[...] compiled data associated with each layer of the machine learning model (Mehendale [0034], "The neural network processor can be programmed based on a sequence of instructions that include computation operations (e.g., adding, multiplication, processing of activation function, etc.) associated with the model. The instructions may also access internal and external memory devices to obtain and store data. A compiler may receive information about the neural network model, the input data, and the available memory and computation resources, and generate the set of instructions to indicate, for example, when to access the internal and external memory devices for the data, which component of the neural network processor to perform computations on the data based on the neural network model, etc., to perform the neural network processing.") [Examiner's Note: A compiler can receive (searched) instructions according to several different kinds of computations including neural network layers]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale into the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang in further view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and further applicable to a machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, Halambi, and Mehendale does not teach: executing a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model having no corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Kinsner teaches executing a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model having no corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program. (Kinsner [0062-63], "In one implementation, the offline telemetry harvesting is referred to herein as an offline harvesting session. At block 520, the processing device may extract device telemetry data corresponding to kernel invocations of the application on one or more accelerator devices. At decision block 530, the processing device determines whether sufficient telemetry data has been collected. This determination may be based on a threshold condition of telemetry data being gathered. If it is determined that insufficient telemetry data has been gathered [having no corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program], then method 500 proceeds to block 540 where the processing device may run additional sequence of kernels/data copies and return to block 520. [executing a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kinsner into the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi and further in view of Mehendale. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, further applicable to a machine learning application, as in Mehendale, and executing a kernel or unit of processing when there is no corresponding data, as in Kinsner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of enabling software that can be eventually transitioned into execution on accelerator hardware (Kinsner [0014]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi, as applied to claim 1, in view of Kinsner and further in view of US 20180267784 A1 hereinafter “Wang”.
With regards to claim 4, the rejection of claim 1 is incorporated.
Xu does not teach: storing the accelerator program difference information in metadata of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches storing the accelerator program
difference information in metadata of the compiled program. (Zhang [0029-30], "Further,
the method can also include, prior to receiving the hot-update instruction by the running
program, compiling source codes modified according to requirements of the hot-update to
generate the update assembly; performing structural adjustments to the update assembly, causing
identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and existing assembly of the running program
to have identical identifiers [of the compiled program]; In order to reduce the amount of data
to be transferred, the update assembly and existing assembly can be compared (wherein,
identical metadata in the update assembly and existing assembly have identical identifiers), for
example, by utilizing a "xdelta" tool for comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary
delta data comprising only the parts of the update assembly which are different from the existing
assembly, and the generated binary delta data is sent to the running program as the update
assembly [storing the accelerator program difference information in metadata].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the
teachings of Xu in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, and Halambi teaches the accelerator program difference information but does not teach: executing the compiled program on a host device and recording all accelerator programs generated thereby;
compressing a recorded accelerator program [to generate the accelerator program difference information]
However, in an analogous art Kinsner teaches executing the compiled program on a
host device […] (Kinsner [0085], “The machine readable instructions described herein may be stored in one or more of a compressed format, an encrypted format, a fragmented format, a compiled format, an executable format, a packaged format, etc. Machine readable instructions as described herein may be stored as data (e.g., portions of instructions, code, representations of code, etc.) that may be utilized to create, manufacture, and/or produce machine executable instructions. For example, the machine readable instructions may be fragmented and stored on one or more storage devices and/or computing devices (e.g., servers). The machine readable instructions may utilize one or more of installation, modification, adaptation, updating, combining, supplementing, configuring, decryption, decompression, unpacking, distribution, reassignment, compilation, etc. in order to make them directly readable, interpretable, and/or executable by a computing device and/or other machine.”)
compressing a recorded accelerator program […] (Kinsner [0085], "The machine readable instructions described herein may be stored in one or more of a compressed format, an encrypted format, a fragmented format, a compiled format, an executable format, a packaged format, etc. Machine readable instructions as described herein may be stored as data (e.g., portions of instructions, code, representations of code, etc.) that may be utilized to create, manufacture, and/or produce machine executable instructions. For example, the machine readable instructions may be fragmented and stored on one or more storage devices and/or computing devices (e.g., servers). ")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kinsner into
the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang and further in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of enabling software that can be eventually transitioned into execution on accelerator hardware (Kinsner [0014]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, Halambi, and Kinsner teaches executing the compiled program but does not teach: [executing the compiled program on a host device and] recording all accelerator programs generated thereby;
However, in an analogous art Wang teaches […] recording all accelerator programs generated thereby; (Wang [0110], “When being executed, the one or more programs include some or all steps of the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment. Alternatively, when the one or more programs are run by a computer device that includes one or more accelerators and one or more processors, the computer device performs the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into
the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi and further in view of Kinsner. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of generating an application program that can run on an accelerator device (Wang [0045]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi, in view of Kinsner and further in view of Wang, as applied to claim 4, in view of US 20220138151 A1 hereinafter "Yelheri" and further in view of US 20120198427 A1 hereinafter "Schmidt".
With regards to claim 5, the rejection of claim 4 is incorporated.
Xu does not teach: writing an indication of the corresponding accelerator program register to the accelerator program difference information, the program value being updated from a prior program value written to the corresponding accelerator program register by an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs;
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches writing an indication of the
corresponding accelerator program register to the accelerator program difference
information, the program value being updated from a prior program value written to the
corresponding accelerator program register by an immediately preceding accelerator
program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs; (Zhang [0049], "a structural
adjusting unit 351 configured to perform structural adjustments to the update assembly, causing
identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and the existing assembly of the running
program to have identical identifiers; a comparing unit 352 configured to compare the update
assembly with the existing assembly to generate a difference description file [writing an
indication of the corresponding accelerator program register to the accelerator program difference information, the program value being updated], wherein, the difference description
file contains the difference descriptions for describing the differences between the update
assembly and the existing assembly [by an immediately preceding accelerator program in a
sequence of recorded accelerator programs]; an instruction sending unit 353 configured to send
the hot-update instruction to the running program, causing the running program to obtain the
difference descriptions from the difference description file.") [Examiner's Note: Due to the
previously recorded accelerator program existing as an assembly on the device one of ordinary
skill in the art could reasonably understand that the update difference is in respect to previously
executed software]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the
teachings of Xu in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, Halambi, Kinsner and Wang does not teach: omitting from the accelerator program difference information, an indication of any accelerator program register of the accelerator program registers unchanged by the immediately preceding accelerator program in the sequence of recorded accelerator programs, any unused accelerator program registers, and any uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers.
However, in an analogous art Yelheri teaches omitting from the accelerator program
difference information, an indication of any accelerator program register of the accelerator
program registers unchanged by the immediately preceding accelerator program in the
sequence of recorded accelerator programs (Yelheri [0040], "While doing incremental
snapshot copy, changed blocks between two snapshots may be copied to the object store, and
unchanged blocks will be shared with previous snapshots as opposed to being redundantly stored
in the object store. In this way, deduplication is provided for and between snapshot data stored
within objects of the object store. As will be described later, an embodiment of a snapshot file
system in the object store is illustrated by FIG. 5B."), any unused accelerator program
registers (Yelheri [0159], "The fragmented object is compacted to retain the in-use data and
exclude the freed data (the unused data) as a written object. Because compacting may store the
in-use data in new slots, an object header of the object is updated with new locations of the in use
data within the rewritten object. In this way, defragmentation is performed for objects within
the object store 509.") [Examiner's Note: An object in storage can be analogous to a register]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yelheri into
the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner and further in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang, and the difference information not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of ensuring proper determination/comparison of data SO that only data that doesn't already exist in the data store is transmitted (Yelheri [0164]).
The combination of Xu, Zhang, Halambi, Kinsner, Wang, and Yelheri does not teach: and any uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers.
However, in an analogous art Schmidt teaches and any uninitialized arithmetic logic
unit registers. (Schmidt [0038], "Execution unit 211 comprises a set of general purpose registers
212 for storing data and a scalar arithmetic logic unit (ALU) 213 for performing arithmetic and
logical operations on data in general purpose (GP) registers 212 responsive to instructions
decoded by instruction unit 201.") (Schmidt [0058], "The compiler further determines whether it
should reserve any general purpose registers for use by a dynamic binary optimizer in addressing
a context save area (block 503). Preferably, reservation of one or more registers is performed
responsive to a compiler directive. The compiler directive could be a statement in source code
file 311 or intermediate code file 312, but in the preferred embodiment it is an optional compiler
parameter which is specified by the user at the time the compiler is invoked. It would
alternatively be possible for reservation of one or more registers for the dynamic binary
optimizer to be a default option, which is automatically selected unless the user directs the
compiler not to reserve a register. Alternatively, the compiler might be written to always reserve
at least one register, although this is considered undesirable because there may be circumstances
where it is desirable to use all registers.") [Examiner's Note: A compiler directive could omit
instructions in order to leave a register reserved/unchanged. The execution unit will apply these
changes to the ALU from received instructions accordingly.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Schmidt into
the teachings of Xu in view of Zhang in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Yelheri. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured for rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, after generating difference data from modifying the assembly structure, as in Zhang, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang, the difference information not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri, and further leaving registers reserved and unchanged including in an uninitialized state by compiler directives accordingly, as in Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of binary optimization of transitions between previously compiled object code modules and programs of a system (Schmidt [0046]).
Claims 6-8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in
view of Xu in view of Halambi.
With regards to claim 6, Zhang teaches
memory configured to store a compiled program, the compiled program including a
plurality of [accelerator] programs and corresponding [accelerator] program difference
information; (Zhang [0035], "It should be noted that, when the update assembly is loaded into
memory, the existing assembly can either be retained in the memory or be removed therefrom,
which can be specifically determined according to whether there are data in the existing
assembly which are still in use.") (Zhang [0047], "a receiving unit 310 configured to obtain, in
response to receiving a hot-update instruction by a running program, an update assembly [the
compiled program including a plurality of programs] and difference descriptions [and
corresponding program difference information] for describing differences between the update
assembly and an existing assembly of the running program, wherein, identical metadata in the
update assembly and the existing assembly have identical identifiers; a modification determining
unit 320 configured to load the update assembly into memory, and find, in the update assembly,
functions which have been modified with respect to the existing assembly according to the
difference descriptions;")
[...] and the corresponding accelerator program difference information; (Zhang
[0030], "For example, the hot-update instruction and difference description file can be sent to the
running program, and after the difference description file is parsed by the running program to
determine the hot-update assembly corresponding to the difference description file, the running
program correspondingly invokes a hot-update interface provided by a running environment, and
then reads this update assembly at the running environment (e.g., Mono, cross-platform .NET
running environment) level as well as performs subsequent hot-update operations")
Zhang teaches program difference information but does not teach: a processing device configured to execute the compiled program using the plurality of accelerator programs [and the corresponding accelerator program difference information]
an accelerator circuit configured to execute the plurality of accelerator programs
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches a processing device configured to execute the compiled program using the plurality of accelerator programs […] (Xu [0018], "an image
processing algorithm to be used and a configuration of registers, based on a task that an upper layer application (for example, the application software above) requests to be executed. The
processor 101 may encode addresses of the registers to be accessed by the task and the data to be
written into multiple command in a predetermined format, for the image processing accelerator
device 100 to analyze (or decode) these commands so as to obtain information related the
addresses of the registers to be accessed and the data to be written.") [Examiner’s Note: A compiled program can be implemented through the processing algorithm with the application software. Using multiple commands (accelerator programs) the processing device can implement said processing algorithm.]
an accelerator circuit configured to execute the plurality of accelerator programs (Xu [0017-20], "The processor 101 is capable of executing various types of application software, executes a predetermined task (for example but not limited to, processing image data) in response to a request of the application software, and accordingly applies for a temporary storage space in the memory 102 so as to store one or more commands corresponding to the predetermined task. In some embodiments, the processor 101 may be, for example but not limited to, a central processor. In some embodiments, the memory 102 may be, for example but not limited to, a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) The image processing accelerator device 100 may read the command corresponding to the predetermined task from the memory 102, and decode the command to determine whether the predetermined task is to be executed by a corresponding image processing circuit among multiple image processing circuits 103[1] to 103[n], wherein the value n may be a positive integer greater than 1[execute an accelerator program by the accelerator circuit]. In response to the predetermined task assigned by the processor 101, the parameter data of the multiple registers in one corresponding image processing circuit that is selected from the multiple image processing circuits 103[1] to 103[n] to execute the predetermined task can be accordingly updated, so that the corresponding image processing circuit may execute the predetermined task by means of accessing the parameter data in these registers.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured
to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang,
thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the
current data, as in Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine
these teachings for the purpose of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to
save processing time in a data update (Xu [0038]).
The combination of Zhang and Xu teaches accelerator program difference information but does not teach: wherein the accelerator circuit is controlled by program values of the plurality of accelerator programs written to accelerator program registers of the accelerator circuit [according to the accelerator program difference information]
However, in an analogous art Halambi teaches wherein the accelerator circuit (Halambi [0219], “Control program functions 1702: The accelerator is programmable and can execute different control programs. For example, one accelerator can be programmed to execute any or some of the selected loops or functions in the application. This is achieved by downloading the appropriate control program to the accelerator. Bootstrap functions and run-time patching functions are the two main types of control program functions.”) is controlled by program values of the plurality of accelerator programs written to accelerator program registers of the accelerator circuit […] (Halambi [0216], “The primary method of communication between the processor 107 and the accelerator is by the storage of values to the memory-mapped storage locations, such as registers or local memory 103 of the accelerator by using store instructions. The accelerator can communicate with the processor 107 in one of two ways. In the first case, the accelerator is a passive device and the processor 107 periodically monitors the storage locations of the accelerator for any change in value. The value of the accelerator's storage locations can be accessed using load instructions. In the second case, the accelerator can raise an interrupt to the processor 107 in order to signal its intent to communicate with the processor 107. The processor 107 accesses the storage locations within the accelerator by using load instructions. The low-level function that the processor 107 executes on receiving an interrupt is called the interrupt handler.”) [Examiner’s Note: One of ordinary skill in the art would understand a memory-mapped register is one that can be accessed by a program assigning a value/address/variable/parameter/object to the register for access, loading, and storing in order to control the corresponding accelerator function.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Halambi into the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing a memory map that contains the accelerator’s address space wherein the hardware dependent software interfaces with accelerator hardware (Halambi [0031]).
With regards to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Zhang teaches accelerator program difference but does not teach: wherein the corresponding [accelerator program difference] information causes the processing device to write only accelerator program registers having program values being updated from prior program values written to corresponding accelerator program registers by an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs, and
wherein the processing device does not write other accelerator program registers [in
response to the corresponding accelerator program difference information.]
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches wherein the corresponding […] information causes the processing device to write only accelerator program registers having program values being updated from prior program values written to corresponding accelerator program registers by an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs, and
wherein the processing device does not write other accelerator program registers [in
response to the corresponding accelerator program difference information.] (Xu [0025],
"The filter control circuit 160 is coupled to the decoder circuit 140 to receive the commands
corresponding to the first task, so as to obtain information of the addresses of the registers to be
accessed and the data to be written by the first task. The filter control circuit 160 may record
address information of multiple registers of each of the multiple processing circuits 130[1] to
130[n] and data previously stored in each of these registers [from prior program values written
to the accelerator program registers]. The filter control circuit 160 may compare whether the
data previously stored in the registers to be accessed by the first task is the same as the data to be
written by the first task. If the two are the same, the filter control circuit 160 does not write the
data to be written by the first task to the registers [wherein the processing device does not write
other accelerator program registers in response to corresponding accelerator program
difference information]. If the data previously stored in the registers to be accessed by the first
task is different from the data to be written by the first task, the filter control circuit 160 writes
the data to be written by the first task to the registers [wherein the accelerator program
difference information causes the processing device to write only accelerator program registers
having program values being updated].") [Examiner's Note: Previously stored register values
can be associated with previously executed tasks from previously recorded accelerator
programs]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Zhang in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to save processing time in a data update (Xu [0038]).
With regards to claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Zhang does not teach: wherein the accelerator program registers are memory mapped and are accessible using relative addressing
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches wherein the accelerator program registers
are memory-mapped and are accessible using relative addressing (Xu [0018], "The
processor 101 may encode addresses of the registers to be accessed by the task and the data to be
written into multiple command in a predetermined format, for the image processing accelerator
device 100 to analyze (or decode) these commands so as to obtain information related the
addresses of the registers to be accessed and the data to be written [and are accessible using
relative addressing].") (Xu [0023], "The decoder circuit 140 is coupled to the memory 120, and
decodes the commands corresponding to the first task to obtain addresses of registers to be
accessed and data to be written by the first task [wherein the accelerator program registers are
memory-mapped], so as to determine whether the first task is to access the registers of one
corresponding among the multiple image processing circuits 130[1] to 130[n] so as to write first
data to the multiple registers.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Zhang in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to save processing time in a data update (Xu [0038]).
With regards to claim 15, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Zhang does not teach: wherein program values of the accelerator program registers
do not change during execution of each accelerator program of the plurality of accelerator
programs.
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches wherein program values of the accelerator
program registers do not change during execution of each accelerator program of the
plurality of accelerator programs. (Xu [0034], "On the other hand, during a period in which
the image processing circuit 103[1] executes the task T1, the processor 101 additionally applies
for another temporary storage space B2 (operation S406) to store multiple commands
corresponding to the task T2. The processor 101 further stores a wait event command following
the multiple commands corresponding to the task T2 to the temporary storage space B2
(operation S407), and notifies the image processing accelerator device 100 after storing the wait
event command (operation S408). Once it is determined that the identifier E[1] the same as the
event identifier EID is received, the image processing accelerator device 100 starts decoding the
multiple commands corresponding to the task T2, so as to learn about 100 registers in the image
processing circuit 103[1] to which second data of the task T2 is to be written.") [Examiner's
Note: Change doesn’t occur until the first task is completed with execution. The comparison of
registers happen during a wait period afterwards]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Zhang in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to save processing time in a data update (Xu [0038]).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi, as applied to claim 6, in view of Mehendale and further in view of US 20220147810 A1 hereinafter "Zaidy".
With regards to claim 9, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
The combination of Zhang, Xu, and Halambi does not teach: wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer (Mehendale [0033], "The processing nodes of a neural network can be divided into layers
including, for example, an input layer, a number of intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and
an output layer. The input layer and the intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer
forming CNN, whereas the output layer can be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer,
intermediate layer, and the output layer together form a DNN [wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer]") [Examiner's Note: A program can have compiled instructions that control memory
sources or manage neural network layers (See [0046-47])]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale
into the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu and further in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, and Mehendale does not teach: wherein the plurality of accelerator programs correspond to at least one kernel of the at least one layer.
However, in an analogous art Zaidy teaches wherein the plurality of accelerator
programs correspond to at least one kernel of the at least one layer. (Zaidy [0082],
"According to the DLA instructions (205), the Deep Learning Accelerator (103) loads matrix
operands into the kernel buffers (131 to 133) [wherein the plurality of accelerator programs
correspond to at least one kernel] and maps banks (151 to 153) of its matrix-matrix unit (121).
The matrix-matrix unit (121) performs the matrix computation on the matrix operands. For
example, the DLA instructions (205) break down matrix computations of the trained Artificial
Neural Network (201) according to the computation granularity of the Deep Learning
Accelerator (103) (e.g., the sizes/dimensions of matrices that loaded as matrix operands in the
matrix-matrix unit (121)) and applies the input feature maps to the kernel of a layer of artificial
neurons [of the at least one layer]")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zaidy into the
teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi and further in view of Mehendale. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale, wherein the machine learning model incorporates an associated processing unit for accelerator program computations, as in Zaidy. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of performing computations on matrices of an artificial neural network to determine properties and the state of the system (Zaidy [0089-92]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi, as applied to claim 6, in view of Mehendale and further in view of Kinsner.
With regards to claim 10, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Zhang further teaches wherein the corresponding accelerator program difference
information is included in metadata of the compiled program (Zhang [0029-30], "Further,
the method can also include, prior to receiving the hot-update instruction by the running
program, compiling source codes modified according to requirements of the hot-update to
generate the update assembly; performing structural adjustments to the update assembly, causing
identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and existing assembly of the running program
to have identical identifiers [of the compiled program]; In order to reduce the amount of data
to be transferred, the update assembly and existing assembly can be compared (wherein,
identical metadata in the update assembly and existing assembly have identical identifiers), for
example, by utilizing a 'xdelta' tool for comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary
delta data comprising only the parts of the update assembly which are different from the existing
assembly, and the generated binary delta data is sent to the running program as the update
assembly [the accelerator program difference information being included in the metadata].")
The combination of Zhang , Xu, and Halambi does not teach: wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer,
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer, (Mehendale [0033], "The processing nodes of a neural network can be divided into layers
including, for example, an input layer, a number of intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and
an output layer. The input layer and the intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer
forming CNN, whereas the output layer can be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer,
intermediate layer, and the output layer together form a DNN [wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer]") [Examiner's Note: A program can have compiled instructions that control memory
sources or manage neural network layers (See [0046-47])]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale
into the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu and further in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, and Mehendale does not teach: [wherein the corresponding accelerator program difference information is included in metadata of the compiled program and the corresponding accelerator program difference information] causes the processing device to execute a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model having no corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Kinsner teaches [...] causes the processing device to
execute a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model having no
corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program. (Kinsner [0062-63],
"In one implementation, the offline telemetry harvesting is referred to herein as an offline
harvesting session. At block 520, the processing device may extract device telemetry data
corresponding to kernel invocations of the application on one or more accelerator devices At
decision block 530, the processing device determines whether sufficient telemetry data has been
collected. This determination may be based on a threshold condition of telemetry data being
gathered. If it is determined that insufficient telemetry data has been gathered [having no
corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program], then
method 500 proceeds to block 540 where the processing device may run additional sequence of
kernels/data copies and return to block 520. [to execute a reference kernel for each layer of the
machine learning model].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kinsner into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi and further in view of Mehendale. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale and executing a kernel or unit of processing when there is no corresponding data, as in Kinsner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of enabling software that can be eventually transitioned into execution on accelerator hardware (Kinsner [0014]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi, as applied to claim 6, in view of Kinsner and further in view of Wang.
With regards to claim 11, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated.
Zhang further teaches [host] memory configured to store the compiled program; (Zhang [0033], "loading the update assembly into memory, and finding, in the update assembly,
functions which have been modified with respect to the existing assembly according to the
difference descriptions.,") [Examiner's Note: an update assembly is generated by compiling
software]
[a host processing system configured] to generate the corresponding accelerator
program difference information (Zhang [0049], "According to some embodiments of the
invention, the hot-update apparatus can also include: a new assembly generating unit 350
configured to compile source codes modified according to requirements of the hot-update to
generate the update assembly; a structural adjusting unit 351 configured to perform structural
adjustments to the update assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly
and the existing assembly of the running program to have identical identifiers;")
The combination of Zhang, Xu, and Halambi teaches to generate corresponding accelerator program difference information but does not teach: a host processing system configured [to generate the corresponding accelerator program difference information by] executing the compiled program and recording accelerator programs generated by execution of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Kinsner teaches a host processing system configured
[… ] by executing the compiled program (Kinsner [0085], “The machine readable instructions described herein may be stored in one or more of a compressed format, an encrypted format, a fragmented format, a compiled format, an executable format, a packaged format, etc. Machine readable instructions as described herein may be stored as data (e.g., portions of instructions, code, representations of code, etc.) that may be utilized to create, manufacture, and/or produce machine executable instructions [executing the compiled program]. For example, the machine readable instructions may be fragmented and stored on one or more storage devices and/or computing devices (e.g., servers) [on a host processing system]. The machine readable instructions may utilize one or more of installation, modification, adaptation, updating, combining, supplementing, configuring, decryption, decompression, unpacking, distribution, reassignment, compilation, etc. in order to make them directly readable, interpretable, and/or executable by a computing device and/or other machine.”) [Examiner’s Note: For one of ordinary skill in the art, a machine readable instruction can be in the form of a compiled program. Kinsner teaches that the utilization (or potential execution) of the machine readable instruction on a server (host device) to cause configuration, updates, adaptation, modification (generation or software) and distribution to other computing devices (accelerator devices).]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kinsner into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of enabling software that can be eventually transitioned into execution on accelerator hardware (Kinsner [0014]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, and Kinsner teaches a host processing system configured to generate the corresponding accelerator program difference information by executing the compiled program but does not teach and recording accelerator programs generated by execution of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Wang teaches […] and recording accelerator programs generated by execution of the compiled program. (Wang [0110], “When being executed, the one or more programs include some or all steps of the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment. Alternatively, when the one or more programs are run by a computer device that includes one or more accelerators and one or more processors, the computer device performs the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi and further in view of Kinsner. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of generating an application program that can run on an accelerator device (Wang [0045]).
With regards to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated.
Zhang further teaches wherein the [host] processing system is further configured to
store the corresponding accelerator program difference information in metadata of the
compiled program. (Zhang [0029-30], "Further, the method can also include, prior to receiving
the hot-update instruction by the running program, compiling source codes modified according
to requirements of the hot-update to generate the update assembly; performing structural
adjustments to the update assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly
and existing assembly of the running program to have identical identifiers [of the compiled
program]; In order to reduce the amount of data to be transferred, the update assembly and
existing assembly can be compared (wherein, identical metadata in the update assembly and
existing assembly have identical identifiers), for example, by utilizing a 'xdelta' tool for
comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary delta data comprising only the parts of
the update assembly which are different from the existing assembly, and the generated binary
delta data is sent to the running program as the update assembly [to store the corresponding
accelerator program difference information in metadata of the compiled program].")
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner in view of Wang, as applied to claim 11, in view of Yelheri and further in view of Schmidt.
With regards to claim 13, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated.
Zhang further teaches wherein the [host] processing system is further configured to
generate the corresponding accelerator program difference information by:
writing indications of accelerator program registers being updated from prior
values of an immediately preceding accelerator program of the plurality of accelerator
programs to the corresponding accelerator program difference information, (Zhang [0049],
"a structural adjusting unit 351 configured to perform structural adjustments to the update
assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and the existing assembly
of the running program to have identical identifiers; a comparing unit 352 configured to compare
the update assembly with the existing assembly to generate a difference description file [writing
indications of accelerator program registers being updated from prior values], wherein, the
difference description file contains the difference descriptions for describing the differences
between the update assembly and the existing assembly [immediately preceding accelerator
program of the plurality of accelerator programs to the corresponding accelerator program
difference information]; an instruction sending unit 353 configured to send the hot-update
instruction to the running program, causing the running program to obtain the difference
descriptions from the difference description file.") [Examiner's Note: Due to the previously
recorded accelerator program existing as an assembly on the device one of ordinary skill in the
art could reasonably understand that the update difference is in respect to previously executed
software]
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, and Kinsner does not teach: wherein writes to
unchanged accelerator program registers, unused accelerator program registers, and
uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator
program difference information.
However, in an analogous art Yelheri teaches wherein writes to unchanged accelerator
program registers (Yelheri [0040], "While doing incremental snapshot copy, changed blocks
between two snapshots may be copied to the object store, and unchanged blocks will be shared
with previous snapshots as opposed to being redundantly stored in the object store. In this way,
deduplication is provided for and between snapshot data stored within objects of the object store.
As will be described later, an embodiment of a snapshot file system in the object store is
illustrated by FIG. 5B."), unused accelerator program registers [...] are omitted from the
corresponding accelerator program difference information. (Yelheri [0159], "The
fragmented object is compacted to retain the in-use data and exclude the freed data (the unused
data) as a written object. Because compacting may store the in-use data in new slots, an object
header of the object is updated with new locations of the in-use data within the rewritten object.
In this way, defragmentation is performed for objects within the object store 509.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yelheri into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner and further in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang, and the difference data not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of ensuring proper determination/comparison of data so that only data that doesn't already exist in the data store is transmitted (Yelheri [0164]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, Kinsner, Wang, and Yelheri does not teach: and uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator program difference information.
However, in an analogous art Schmidt teaches and uninitialized arithmetic logic unit
registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator program difference information.
(Schmidt [0038], "Execution unit 211 comprises a set of general purpose registers 212 for
storing data and a scalar arithmetic logic unit (ALU) 213 for performing arithmetic and logical
operations on data in general purpose (GP) registers 212 responsive to instructions decoded by
instruction unit 201.") (Schmidt [0058], "The compiler further determines whether it should
reserve any general purpose registers for use by a dynamic binary optimizer in addressing a
context save area (block 503). Preferably, reservation of one or more registers is performed
responsive to a compiler directive. The compiler directive could be a statement in source code
file 311 or intermediate code file 312, but in the preferred embodiment it is an optional compiler
parameter which is specified by the user at the time the compiler is invoked. It would
alternatively be possible for reservation of one or more registers for the dynamic binary
optimizer to be a default option, which is automatically selected unless the user directs the
compiler not to reserve a register. Alternatively, the compiler might be written to always reserve
at least one register, although this is considered undesirable because there may be circumstances
where it is desirable to use all registers.") [Examiner's Note: To reserve a register means to
avoid using said register. A compiler directive can invoke this action by omitting information
which includes actions taken by a register associated with ALUs.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Schmidt into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Yelheri. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang, the difference data not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri, and further leaving registers reserved and unchanged including in an uninitialized state by compiler directives accordingly, as in Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of binary optimization of transitions between previously compiled object code modules and programs of a system (Schmidt [0046]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner in view of Wang, as applied to claim 11, and further in view of Schmidt.
With regards to claim 14, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated.
Zhang does not teach: wherein the [host] processing system is further configured to
record accelerator program registers used by the compiled program and to identify any
initialized and constant [arithmetic logic unit] registers.
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches wherein the [host] processing system is
further configured to record accelerator program registers used by the compiled program
and to identify any initialized and constant [arithmetic logic unit] registers. (Xu [0018],
"The processor 101 may encode addresses of the registers to be accessed by the task and the data
to be written into multiple command in a predetermined format, for the image processing
accelerator device 100 to analyze (or decode) these commands so as to obtain information related
the addresses of the registers to be accessed and the data to be written.") [Examiner's Note:
Writing data to an ALU register can comprise initialization which can be determined with the
information obtained.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured
to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang,
thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the
current data, as in Xu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine
these teachings for the purpose of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to
save processing time in a data update (Xu [0038]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, and Halambi does not teach: the host processing system
However, in an analogous art Kinsner teaches the host processing system (Kinsner [0033], "In some implementations, although host system 100 is depicted as implementing a
virtualization system to virtualize its resources (e.g., memory resources and processing
resources), some implementations may execute applications and/or workload on host system 100
by directly utilizing the resources of host system 100 [executing the compiled program on a host
device]")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Kinsner into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of enabling software that can be eventually transitioned into execution on accelerator hardware (Kinsner [0014]).
The combination of Zhang, Xu, Halambi, Kinsner, and Wang does not teach: arithmetic logic units
However, in an analogous art Schmidt teaches arithmetic logic units (Schmidt [0038],
"Execution unit 211 comprises a set of general purpose registers 212 for storing data and a scalar arithmetic logic unit (ALU) 213 for performing arithmetic and logical operations on data in
general purpose (GP) registers 212 responsive to instructions decoded by instruction unit 201.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Schmidt into
the teachings of Zhang in view of Xu in view of Halambi in view of Kinsner and further in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to generate difference data with the purpose of modifying assembly structure, as in Zhang, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu, wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi, and executing the corresponding software to generate said difference data for the compression, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang, and further identifying the state of registers associated with arithmetic logic units, as in Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of binary optimization of transitions between previously compiled object code modules and programs of a system (Schmidt [0046]).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang.
With regards to claim 16, Kinsner teaches:
A method for executing a program, the method comprising: executing a compiled program (Kinsner [0047], “In one implementation, the compiler 210 may receive application source code 205 for purposes of compilation. In one implementation the compiler 210 is a JIT compiler. The bitstream generator 212 may receive the application source code 205 and generate one or more application bitstreams 215 to provide to data parallel programming runtime 220.”) on a host device (Kinsner [0085], “The machine readable instructions described herein may be stored in one or more of a compressed format, an encrypted format, a fragmented format, a compiled format, an executable format, a packaged format, etc. Machine readable instructions as described herein may be stored as data (e.g., portions of instructions, code, representations of code, etc.) that may be utilized to create, manufacture, and/or produce machine executable instructions [executing a compiled program]. For example, the machine readable instructions may be fragmented and stored on one or more storage devices and/or computing devices (e.g., servers) [on a host device]. The machine readable instructions may utilize one or more of installation, modification, adaptation, updating, combining, supplementing, configuring, decryption, decompression, unpacking, distribution, reassignment, compilation, etc. in order to make them directly readable, interpretable, and/or executable by a computing device and/or other machine.”) [Examiner’s Note: For one of ordinary skill in the art, a compiled program can be in the form of a machine readable instructions. Kinsner teaches that the utilization (or potential execution) of the machine readable instruction on a server (host device) can initiate configuration, updates, adaptation, modification (generation or software) and distribution to other computing devices (accelerator devices).]
Kinsner does not teach: and recording all accelerator programs generated thereby;
However, in an analogous art Wang teaches and recording all accelerator programs generated thereby; (Wang [0110], “When being executed, the one or more programs include some or all steps of the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment. Alternatively, when the one or more programs are run by a computer device that includes one or more accelerators and one or more processors, the computer device performs the method for generating an accelerator program that is recorded in the foregoing method embodiment.”)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Wang into the teachings of Kinsner. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured
to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of generating an application program that can run on an accelerator device (Wang [0045]).
The combination of Kinsner and Wang does not teach: storing accelerator program difference information for corresponding accelerator programs in metadata of the compiled program.
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches storing accelerator program difference information for corresponding accelerator programs in metadata of the compiled program. (Zhang [0029-30], "Further, the method can also include, prior to receiving the hot-update instruction by the running program, compiling source codes modified according to requirements of the hot-update to generate the update assembly; performing structural adjustments to the update assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and existing assembly of the running program to have identical identifiers [of the compiled program]; In order to reduce the amount of data to be transferred, the update assembly and existing assembly can be compared (wherein, identical metadata in the update assembly and existing assembly have identical identifiers), for example, by utilizing a 'xdelta' tool for comparing differences of binary files, to generate binary delta data comprising only the parts of the update assembly which are different from the existing assembly, and the generated binary delta data is sent to the running program as the update assembly [the accelerator program difference information being included in the metadata].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang, as applied to claim 16, in view of Yelheri and further in view of Schmidt.
With regards to claim 17, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated.
Kinsner further teaches compressing an accelerator program recorded by the host
device to generate the accelerator program difference information, (Kinsner [0085], "The
machine readable instructions described herein may be stored in one or more of a compressed
format, an encrypted format, a fragmented format, a compiled format, an executable format, a
packaged format, etc. Machine readable instructions as described herein may be stored as data
(e.g., portions of instructions, code, representations of code, etc.) that may be utilized to create,
manufacture, and/or produce machine executable instructions. For example, the machine
readable instructions may be fragmented and stored on one or more storage devices and/or
computing devices (e.g., servers). The machine readable instructions may utilize one or more of
installation, modification, adaptation, updating, combining, supplementing, configuring,
decryption, decompression, unpacking, distribution, reassignment, compilation, etc. in order to
make them directly readable, interpretable, and/or executable by a computing device and/or other
machine.")
The combination of Kinsner and Wang does not teach: wherein the compressing comprises writing values of accelerator program registers being updated from corresponding prior values of an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs to the accelerator program difference information;
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches wherein the compressing comprises
writing values of accelerator program registers being updated from corresponding prior
values of an immediately preceding accelerator program in a sequence of recorded
accelerator programs to the accelerator program difference information; (Zhang [0049], "a
structural adjusting unit 351 configured to perform structural adjustments to the update
assembly, causing identical metadata in the adjusted update assembly and the existing assembly
of the running program to have identical identifiers; a comparing unit 352 configured to compare
the update assembly with the existing assembly to generate a difference description file [wherein
the compressing comprises writing values of accelerator program registers being updated],
wherein, the difference description file contains the difference descriptions for describing the
differences between the update assembly and the existing assembly [of an immediately preceding
accelerator program in a sequence of recorded accelerator programs]; an instruction sending
unit 353 configured to send the hot-update instruction to the running program, causing the
running program to obtain the difference descriptions from the difference description file.")
[Examiner's Note: Due to the previously recorded accelerator program existing as an assembly
on the device one of ordinary skill in the art could reasonably understand that the update
difference is in respect to previously executed software]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the
teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, and Zhang does not teach: wherein program values and corresponding register addresses of unchanged accelerator program registers, unused
accelerator program registers and uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator program difference information.
However, in an analogous art Yelheri teaches wherein program values and
corresponding register addresses of unchanged accelerator program registers, (Yelheri
[0040], "While doing incremental snapshot copy, changed blocks between two snapshots may be
copied to the object store, and unchanged blocks will be shared with previous snapshots as
opposed to being redundantly stored in the object store. In this way, deduplication is provided for
and between snapshot data stored within objects of the object store. As will be described later, an
embodiment of a snapshot file system in the object store is illustrated by FIG. 5B."), unused
accelerator program registers (Yelheri [0159], "The fragmented object is compacted to retain
the in-use data and exclude the freed data (the unused data) as a written object. Because
compacting may store the in-use data in new slots, an object header of the object is updated with
new locations of the in-use data within the rewritten object. In this way, defragmentation is
performed for objects within the object store 509.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Yelheri into
the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang and the difference information not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of ensuring proper determination/comparison of data SO that only data that doesn't already exist in the data store is transmitted (Yelheri [0164]).
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, Zhang, and Yelheri does not teach: and uninitialized arithmetic logic unit registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator program difference information.
However, in an analogous art Schmidt teaches and uninitialized arithmetic logic unit
registers are omitted from the corresponding accelerator program difference information.
(Schmidt [0038], "Execution unit 211 comprises a set of general purpose registers 212 for
storing data and a scalar arithmetic logic unit (ALU) 213 for performing arithmetic and logical
operations on data in general purpose (GP) registers 212 responsive to instructions decoded by
instruction unit 201.") (Schmidt [0058], "The compiler further determines whether it should
reserve any general purpose registers for use by a dynamic binary optimizer in addressing a
context save area (block 503). Preferably, reservation of one or more registers is performed
responsive to a compiler directive. The compiler directive could be a statement in source code
file 311 or intermediate code file 312, but in the preferred embodiment it is an optional compiler
parameter which is specified by the user at the time the compiler is invoked It would
alternatively be possible for reservation of one or more registers for the dynamic binary
optimizer to be a default option, which is automatically selected unless the user directs the
compiler not to reserve a register. Alternatively, the compiler might be written to always reserve
at least one register, although this is considered undesirable because there may be circumstances
where it is desirable to use all registers.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Schmidt into
the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang and further in view of Yelheri. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, the difference information not including unchanged and unused registers for updating general storage, as in Yelheri, and further leaving registers reserved and unchanged including in an uninitialized state by compiler directives accordingly, as in Schmidt. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of binary optimization of transitions between previously compiled object code modules and programs of a system (Schmidt [0046]).
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang, as applied to claim 16, and further in view of Mehendale.
With regards to claim 18, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated.
Kinsner further teaches: wherein executing the compiled program on the processing
device comprises:
executing a reference kernel for each layer of the machine learning model having no
corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program. (Kinsner [0062-63],
"In one implementation, the offline telemetry harvesting is referred to herein as an offline
harvesting session. At block 520, the processing device may extract device telemetry data
corresponding to kernel invocations of the application on one or more accelerator devices At
decision block 530, the processing device determines whether sufficient telemetry data has been
collected. This determination may be based on a threshold condition of telemetry data being
gathered. If it is determined that insufficient telemetry data has been gathered [having no
corresponding compiled data in the metadata of the compiled program], then method 500 proceeds to block 540 where the processing device may run additional sequence of kernels/data copies and return to block 520. [to execute a reference kernel for each layer of the
machine learning model].")
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, and Zhang does not teach: executing the compiled
program on a processing device,
wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer,
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches executing the compiled program on a
processing device,
wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer, (Mehendale [0033], "The processing nodes
of a neural network can be divided into layers including, for example, an input layer, a number of
intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and an output layer. The input layer and the
intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer forming CNN, whereas the output layer can
be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer, intermediate layer, and the output layer together
form a DNN [wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the
machine learning model having at least one layer]")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale
into the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
With regards to claim 19, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated.
Kinsner further teaches executing the compiled program on a processing device, (Kinsner [0093], "The apparatus of Example 1 comprises a processor to: receive, from a
compiler, compiled code generated from source code of an application, the compiled code to
support a workload of the application;")
The combination of Kinsner and Wang does not teach: wherein executing the compiled program on the processing
device comprises:
searching the metadata of the compiled program
wherein executing the compiled program on the processing device comprises:
searching the metadata of the compiled program [for compiled data associated with
each layer of the machine learning model.]
However, in an analogous art Zhang teaches wherein executing the compiled program
on the processing device comprises:
searching the metadata of the compiled program wherein executing the compiled program on the processing device comprises:
searching the metadata of the compiled program [for compiled data associated with
each layer of the machine learning model.] (Zhang [0047-48], "a receiving unit 310
configured to obtain, in response to receiving a hot-update instruction by a running program, an
update assembly and difference descriptions for describing differences between the update
assembly and an existing assembly of the running program, wherein, identical metadata in the
update assembly and the existing assembly have identical identifiers; a modification determining
unit 320 configured to load the update assembly into memory, and find, in the update assembly,
functions which have been modified with respect to the existing assembly according to the
difference descriptions;")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Zhang into the
teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for
the purpose of loading the update into memory in order to obtain a difference description in
which it will define the updated version required to run (Zhang [0007]).
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, and Zhang does not teach: wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer, and
wherein executing the compiled program on the processing device comprises:
[...] for compiled data associated with each layer of the machine learning model.
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer, (Mehendale [0033], "The processing nodes of a neural network can be divided into layers
including, for example, an input layer, a number of intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and
an output layer. The input layer and the intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer
forming CNN, whereas the output layer can be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer,
intermediate layer, and the output layer together form a DNN [wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer]") [Examiner's Note: A compiler can receive (searched) instructions according to several
different kinds of computations including neural network layers] and
[...] for compiled data associated with each layer of the machine learning model.
(Mehendale [0034], "The neural network processor can be programmed based on a sequence of
instructions that include computation operations (e.g., adding, multiplication, processing of
activation function, etc.) associated with the model. The instructions may also access internal and
external memory devices to obtain and store data. A compiler may receive information about the
neural network model, the input data, and the available memory and computation resources, and
generate the set of instructions to indicate, for example, when to access the internal and external
memory devices for the data, which component of the neural network processor to perform
computations on the data based on the neural network model, etc., to perform the neural network
processing.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale
into the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a
machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network
layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang, as applied to claim 16, in view of Mehendale and further in view of Xu.
With regards to claim 20, the rejection of claim 16 is incorporated.
Kinsner further teaches executing the compiled program on a processing device,
(Kinsner [0093], "The apparatus of Example 1 comprises a processor to: receive, from a
compiler, compiled code generated from source code of an application, the compiled code to
support a workload of the application;")
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, and Zhang does not teach: wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one layer,
wherein executing the compiled program on the processing device comprises:
for each layer of the machine learning model:
However, in an analogous art Mehendale teaches wherein the compiled program
corresponds to a machine learning model, the machine learning model having at least one
layer,
wherein executing the compiled program on the processing device comprises:
for each layer of the machine learning model: (Mehendale [0033], "The processing
nodes of a neural network can be divided into layers including, for example, an input layer, a
number of intermediate layers (e.g., hidden layers), and an output layer. The input layer and the
intermediate layers can each be a convolution layer forming CNN, whereas the output layer can
be a fully-connected layer, and the input layer, intermediate layer, and the output layer together
form a DNN [wherein the compiled program corresponds to a machine learning model, the
machine learning model having at least one layer] The neural network processor of data
processor 106 can be programmed to perform computations based on an artificial neural network
model. The neural network processor can be programmed based on a sequence of instructions
that include computation operations (e.g., adding, multiplication, processing of activation
function, etc.) associated with the model. The instructions may also access internal and external
memory devices to obtain and store data.")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Mehendale
into the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang and further in view of Zhang. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a
machine learning application, as in Mehendale. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been
motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of associating APIs with neural network
layers to fetch data, perform inferences, and generate controls accordingly (Mehendale [0047]).
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, Zhang, and Mehendale does not teach: writing changed accelerator program register values [for the layer], to corresponding accelerator program registers of a plurality of accelerator program registers, [according to the accelerator program difference information;] and
executing an accelerator program of the corresponding accelerator programs
[associated with the layer] according to contents of the plurality of accelerator program
registers.
However, in an analogous art Xu teaches writing changed accelerator program
register values [for the layer], to corresponding accelerator program registers of a plurality
of accelerator program registers, [according to the accelerator program difference
information;] (Xu [0031], "The command matcher 164 may receive information of the
addresses of the registers to be accessed and data (to be referred to as data to be updated below)
to be written by a command (for example, the command CMD in FIG. 3) of the predetermined
task [writing a program value to a corresponding accelerator program register of accelerator
program registers of an accelerator circuit]. The command matcher 164 may search the memory
162 according to the addresses of the registers to be accessed by the command CMD, so as to
read the previous data in the registers. The command matcher 164 may accordingly determine
whether the previous data is the same as the data to be updated. If the previous data is the same
as the data to be updated, it means that the data previously stored in the registers is the same as
the new data to be written by the command CMD. In this case, the command matcher 164 does
not transmit the addresses of the registers or the data to be updated to the command executor
166. Or, if the previous data is different from the data to be updated, it means that the data
previously stored in the registers is different from the new data to be written by the command
CMD. In this case, the command matcher 164 stores the data to be updated to the memory 162 to
update the memory 162 by replacing the previous data corresponding to the registers with the
data to be updated, and provides the addresses of the registers and the data to be updated to the
command executor 166. [according to accelerator program difference information]") and
executing an accelerator program of the corresponding accelerator programs [associated with the layer] according to contents of the plurality of accelerator program registers. (Xu [0017-20], "The processor 101 is capable of executing various types of application software, executes a predetermined task (for example but not limited to, processing image data) in response to a request of the application software, and accordingly applies for a temporary storage space in the memory 102 so as to store one or more commands corresponding to the predetermined task. In some embodiments, the processor 101 may be, for example but not limited to, a central processor [executing an accelerator program by the accelerator circuit]. In some embodiments, the memory 102 may be, for example but not limited to, a dynamic random access memory (DRAM) In response to the predetermined task assigned by the processor 101, the parameter data of the multiple registers in one corresponding image processing circuit that is selected from the multiple image processing circuits 103[1] to 103[n] to execute the predetermined task can be accordingly updated, so that the corresponding image processing circuit may execute the predetermined task by means of accessing the parameter data in these registers [according to program values of the accelerator program registers of the accelerator circuit].")
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Xu into the
teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang and further in view of Mehendale. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, and further applying the updates to
an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale, thereby rewriting the
register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu. One
of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose
of updating registers with data changes instead of all registers to save processing time in a data
update (Xu [0038]).
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang in view of Mehendale in view of Xu, as applied to claim 20, and further in view of Halambi.
With regards to claim 22, the rejection of claim 20 is incorporated.
The combination of Kinsner, Wang, Zhang, Mehendale, and Xu teaches an accelerator program but does not teach: wherein the accelerator program registers are a programming interface of the accelerator circuit and are persistent during execution of the accelerator program.
However, in an analogous art Halambi teaches wherein the accelerator program registers are a programming interface of the accelerator circuit (Halambi [0216], “The low-level access functions 1701 serve as the communication primitives that are used by the other upper-level functions to perform tasks on the accelerator. The primary method of communication between the processor 107 and the accelerator is by the storage of values to the memory-mapped storage locations, such as registers or local memory 103 of the accelerator by using store instructions.”) and are persistent during execution of the accelerator program. (Halambi [0145-146], “All memories or registers that reside in the accelerator but need to be accessed by the processor 107 must be assigned addresses in the global address space. This implies that all local arrays, scalars and accelerator control unit's 106 registers that are accessed by the processor 107 must be assigned addresses in the global address space.”) [Examiner’s Note: An accelerator circuit register is persistent it is the program that will assign an address in order to access the register for corresponding control of the accelerator. Using store instructions, the processor is able to use the program to interface with the accelerator circuit.]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the
effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the teachings of Halambi into the teachings of Kinsner in view of Wang in view of Zhang in view of Mehendale, and further in view of Xu. This combination of teachings would have resulted in a method configured to execute the program on a host device to generate accelerator software, as in Kinsner, to record the generated accelerator software for implementation, as in Wang and storing difference data according to metadata associated with accelerator software, as in Zhang, and further applying the updates to an accelerator layer in a machine learning application, as in Mehendale, thereby rewriting the register values only if there are differences between the target and the current data, as in Xu wherein the rewritten register values from the updated software are memory mapped to control the accelerator, as in Halambi. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine these teachings for the purpose of providing a memory map that contains the accelerator’s address space wherein the hardware dependent software interfaces with accelerator hardware (Halambi [0031]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant Argues:
Regarding claim 16, Applicant respectfully submits that the combination of Kinsner and Zhang relied on by the Office action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness of "executing a compiled program on a host device and recording all accelerator programs generated thereby," as recited by claim 16.
Examiner’s Response:
Regarding Claim 16, with respect to the applicant’s argument that Kinsner and Zhang relied on by the Office action fails to establish a prima facie case of obviousness of "executing a compiled program on a host device and recording all accelerator programs generated thereby,” A 2nd action non-final has been generated because the Examiner has applied a new grounds of rejection with a different combination of references.
Conclusion
/T.V.T./Examiner, Art Unit 2191 /WEI Y MUI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2191