Election
Applicants’ election of claims 1-7, 10-13, without traverse is acknowledged and made final. Claims 8-9, 14-15 are withdrawn from consideration.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/30/2024 in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1 recites -
“retains a proximal end of an endoscope,” in lines 1-2. Instead, this should be recited using a linking phrase “configured to.”
Claim 10 encompasses similar defect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Noyes (US 20230124488).
Regarding claim 1, Noyes discloses a cartridge (connector 3230; FIGS. 21A-21D, annotated; para [0132]; The examiner notes that the claim does not provide any shape limitation of the cartridge and the specification does not provide any special definition of cartridge.), detachable from a video laryngoscope (connector 3230 is detachable from a video laryngoscope), that retains a proximal end of an endoscope, the cartridge comprising:
a housing (Housing of connector 3230);
an endoscope receptacle (one or more electrical contacts 3231; para [0161]; FIG. 21C) at least partially housed within the housing and shaped to receive the proximal end of the endoscope (endoscope housing 3270 is received in the contacts 3231);
an electrical interface exposed inside the housing (one or more electrical contacts 3231; para [0161]; FIG. 21C); and
an actuator (The round portion of the cartridge can be considered as the actuator. The claim does not provide structural detail of the actuator.) having a locked and unlocked position (Groove 3282 that slidably receives an elongated rectangular protrusion/bar 3322 in an interior of scope connector segment 3230, which helps secure the mechanical connection; Para [0161]; FIG. 21C), wherein adjustment of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position:
moves the proximal end of the endoscope into contact with the electrical interface (When the groove 3282 is slidably received in the elongated rectangular protrusion/bar 3322, the endoscope housing connector segment electrically couple to one or more electrical contacts 3231; Para [0161]); and
locks the proximal end of the endoscope in the cartridge (The proximal end of the endoscope 3220 is locked in housing 3270. FIG. 21A).
Regarding claim 2, Noyes discloses a drive (See annotated FIG. 21D; The examiner notes that functional or structural detail of the drive is not claimed.), wherein adjustment of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position couples a drum (Drum is not positively claimed.) of the endoscope with the drive (A round feature, drum, of an endoscope can be positioned inner side of the actuator to help tightness of the proximal end with the connector 3230. Drum is not positively claimed. Please see annotated FIG. 21D.).
Regarding claim 3, Noyes discloses a mechanical receiver (FIG. 21D annotated) connected to the drive, wherein the mechanical receiver is exposed on a cartridge surface (FIG. 21D annotated) that contacts the video laryngoscope when the cartridge is attached to the video laryngoscope (Video laryngoscope is not positively claimed. The contacts 3231 on the inner side of the actuator allows the connection of the cartridge with a video laryngoscope for electrical connection for data transfer.).
Regarding claim 4, Noyes discloses wherein the actuator is a slide (FIG. 21D, the actuator slides to connect with housing 3270.).
Regarding claim 5, Noyes discloses a mount (FIG.21A, mechanical receiver provides a mount for the connector; The claim does not define the structural detail of the mount.); and
a retention track (Bar 3322; FIG. 21D), wherein as the slide travels along the mount (The actuator travels along the mount), the retention track causes the endoscope receptacle to move (Bar 3322 causes the endoscope move along the track; FIG. 21D).
Regarding claim 6, Noyes discloses wherein the actuator is a knob (The round portion is a knob.).
Regarding claim 7, Noyes discloses a rotary guide (The endoscope attachment adapter may be configured to rotate about its longitudinal axis, and/or the endoscope attachment adapter may have attachment means circumferentially spaced about the rigid attachment segment; Therefore, there is a rotary portion with the cartridge.); a retention shaft (See FIG. 23A annotated); and a threaded traveler (Threaded part of the distal portion of the cartridge, connector makes it equivalent to a thread traveler. How the thread traveler travels is not defined or claimed.).
Regarding claim 10, Noyes discloses a cartridge (FIG. 21A, annotated), detachable from a video laryngoscope, that retains a proximal end of an endoscope, the cartridge comprising:
a receptacle (area having one or more electrical contacts 3231; para [0161]; FIG. 21C) shaped to receive the proximal end of the endoscope; and
at least one of a knob, a slide (Groove 3282, protrusion 3322), a push button, or a locking snap, wherein movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide, the push button, or the locking snap from an unlocked position to a locked position causes the proximal end of the endoscope to be locked in the receptacle (groove 3282 that slidably receives an elongated rectangular protrusion/bar 3322 in an interior of scope connector segment 3230, which helps secure the mechanical connection; Para [0161]; FIG. 21C).
Regarding claim 11, Noyes discloses wherein the cartridge includes an electrical interface (one or more electrical contacts 3231; para [0161]; FIG. 21C), and the movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide, the push button, or the locking snap causes an electrical interface of the endoscope to contact the electrical interface of the cartridge (groove 3282 that slidably receives an elongated rectangular protrusion/bar 3322 in an interior of scope connector segment 3230, which helps secure the mechanical and electrical connection; Para [0161]; FIG. 21C).
Regarding claim 12, Noyes discloses wherein the cartridge includes a drive (See annotated FIG. 21D; Specific definition of drive is not provided in the claim. ), and the movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide (protrusion 3322), the push button, or the locking snap causes a drum (The examiner notes that a drum of the endoscope is not positively claimed.) of the endoscope to contact the drive (Any round feature provided in the endoscope contacts the drive for strong assembly with the cartridge. The detail of the drum and drive interaction is not claimed).
Regarding claim 13, Noyes discloses a mechanical stop at an end of the receptacle (Drive side portion; See FIG. 21D), wherein when the proximal end of the endoscope contacts the mechanical stop (The proximal end of the endoscope is not positively claimed. FIG. 21D): the drive is aligned with the drum (When the cartridge or the connector 3230 is connected to the endoscope, the drive would align with the drum of the endoscope. The drum is not positively claimed); and the electrical interface of the cartridge is aligned with the electrical interface of the endoscope (FIGS. 21C, 21D).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO – 892.
For example, see Casey (US 20110273632) for a separable and removable cartridge (12) for a video display having electronic connection means for electronically connecting the electronic connectors of the removable cartridge to the video display (FIG. 2, abstract).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANH TUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
1/22/26