Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 04/23/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-7, 10-13, 16-20 are pending. Claims 8-9, 14-15 are withdrawn. Applicant’s amendment to the claims have overcome objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action notified on 01/26/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1,4,6-7,10-11,16-17 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 as being anticipated by Hameed (US 20220007918).
Regarding claim 1, Hameed discloses a cartridge, detachable from a video laryngoscope, that is configured to retain a proximal end of an endoscope (FIG. 1A; camera at the tip 116), the cartridge comprising:
a housing (FIG. 1B, annotated) configured to couple to a portion of the video laryngoscope (Video laryngoscope is not positively recited. For example, the electrical connection of FIG. 1A, allows the cable to be coupled to a video laryngoscope for an image transfer from the endoscope.);
an endoscope receptacle (FIG. 1B, annotated) at least partially housed within the housing and shaped to receive the proximal end of the endoscope;
an electrical interface exposed inside the housing (An electrical connection to supply power to the illumination source and camera, and to carry optical signals back from the camera to the processing board in handle 112, 114, and display system outside the endoscope. Para [0021]); and
an actuator (Rotatable cap 120), configured to be manually actuated between having a locked and unlocked position (Rotatable cap 120 to lock the handle; Para [0017]- [0021]), wherein manual adjustment of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position:
moves (The mechanical connection may include a rotatable locking ring or other release/fixation mechanisms. Para [0021]) the proximal end of the endoscope into contact with the electrical interface (An electrical connection to supply power to the illumination source and camera, and to carry optical signals back from the camera to the processing board in handle 112, 114 and display system outside the endoscope. FIG. 1A; Para [0023]); and
locks the proximal end of the endoscope in the cartridge (Rotation locks the proximal end of the endoscope with the handle; Para [0021]).
Regarding claim 4, Hameed discloses wherein the actuator is a slide (Cap and color are rotated. Para [0017]).
Regarding claim 6, Hameed discloses wherein the actuator is a knob (FIG. 1B).
Regarding claim 7, Hameed discloses a rotary guide (Handle provides a rotary guide); a retention shaft (Handle provides a retention shaft); and a thread traveler (In the receptacle, a rotation guide is provided which can be considered as a threaded traveler).
Regarding claim 10, Hameed discloses a cartridge (FIG. 1B, annotated), detachable from a video laryngoscope, that is configured to retain a proximal end of an endoscope (FIG. 1A; camera at the tip 116), the cartridge comprising:
a housing (FIG. 1B, annotated) configured to couple to a portion of the video laryngoscope (Video laryngoscope is not positively recited. For example, the electrical connection of FIG. 1A, allows the cable to be coupled to a video laryngoscope for an image transfer from the endoscope.);
a receptacle (FIG. 1B, annotated) shaped to receive the proximal end of the endoscope; and
at least one of a knob, a slide, a push button, or a locking snap (handle and rotatable cap 120; FIG.1B), wherein:
a first movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide, the push button, or the locking snap from an unlocked position to a locked position causes the proximal end of the endoscope to be locked in the receptacle (Rotatable cap 120 to lock handle; Para [0017]- [0021]); and
a second movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide, the push button, or the locking snap from the unlocked position to the unlocked position releases the proximal end of the endoscope from the receptacle (When the rotatable cap 120 is unlock from the handle. Para [0017]- [0021]).
Regarding claim 11, Hameed discloses wherein the cartridge includes an electrical interface (An electrical connection to supply power to the illumination source and camera, and to carry optical signals back from the camera to the processing board in handle 112, 114 and display system outside the endoscope. FIG. 1A; Para [0023]), and the movement of the at least one of the knob, the slide, the push button, or the locking snap causes an electrical interface of the endoscope to contact the electrical interface of the cartridge.
Regarding claim 16, Hameed discloses wherein the housing is configured to be detachably coupled from a display housing of the video laryngoscope (Cable can be detachably coupled from a display housing of the video laryngoscope).
Regarding claim 17, Hameed discloses wherein the cartridge includes an electrical interface that couples to an electrical interface of the video laryngoscope when the cartridge is coupled to the video laryngoscope (FIGS. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 19, Hameed discloses wherein the manual movement of the actuator causes the actuator to move relative to the housing (FIGS. 1A-1B).
Regarding claim 20, Hameed discloses wherein the actuator is the slide, wherein the slide is in a first position relative to the housing when in the locked position, and the slide is in a second position relative to the housing when in the unlocked position (FIGS. 1A-1B).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted on 04/23/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection dated 01/26/2026 have been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new rejection has been made in view of amendment. See rejection set forth above.
Reasons for Allowance
Claims 2, 12
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, a cartridge, detachable from a video laryngoscope, that is configured to retain a proximal end of an endoscope, the cartridge comprising: drive, wherein adjustment of the actuator from the unlocked position to the locked position couples a drum of the endoscope with the drive, along with the remaining features of claim 1.
The closest art Hameed (US 20220007918) could not be modified to have a drive as recited in claim 1. the Accordingly, claim 1 is allowed.
Claim 12 encompasses similar inventive features as claim 1.
Claim 5
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, a cartridge, detachable from a video laryngoscope, that is configured to retain a proximal end of an endoscope, the cartridge comprising: a mount; a retention track, wherein as the slide travels along the mount, the retention track causes the endoscope receptacle to move, along with the remaining features of claim 5.
The closest art Hameed (US 20220007918) could not be modified to have a retention track that causes the endoscope receptacle to move.
Accordingly, claim 5 is allowed.
Claim 18
The prior art of record fails to explicitly teach or fairly suggest, alone or in combination, a cartridge, detachable from a video laryngoscope, that is configured to retain a proximal end of an endoscope, the cartridge comprising: a lock indicator that provides a visual indication as to whether the cartridge is in the locked position or the unlocked position, along with the remaining features of claim 18.
The closest art Hameed (US 20220007918) could not be modified to have a visual indication as to whether the cartridge is in the locked position or the unlocked position.
Accordingly, claim 18 is allowed.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHANKAR RAJ GHIMIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/ANHTUAN T NGUYEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3795
06/15/26