DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-7, 9-11, 14-16, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/053444 Oliver et al., hereinafter “Oliver”, in view of US 2019/0286233 Newberry, hereinafter “Newberry” (both cited previously).
Regarding claim 1, Oliver discloses a method of determining physiological characteristics (Abstract and Para 17), the method comprising: obtaining an electromyography (EMG) signal representing muscle activity (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract) from an EMG electrode disposed in or on a band of a wrist-worn device (Figure 2 shows wrist worn device 7 and EMG electrodes 8), and a photoplethysmography (PPG) signal (Figure 1, element 2 RAW PPG signal) using a PPG sensor (Figure 2, element 9) of the wrist-worn device (Figure 2, element 7); providing the EMG signal (Para 17); generating, an output signal (Para 17); generating a modified PPG signal by subtracting the output signal generated from the PPG signal (Figure 1, element 5 and Para 17), wherein the modified PPG signal corrects for motion artifacts in the PPG signal due to motion activity of a wearer of the wrist-worn device (Para 17); and determining at least one physiological characteristic based on the modified PPG signal (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17).
Oliver does not disclose a machine learning model that processes the signals.
However, Newberry discloses a system for obtaining a PPG signal that can identify motion artifacts (Abstract) and teaches a machine learning model that processes the signals (Para 113, 149, and 151; the system uses machine learning for signal processing and a step of the signal processing includes isolating motion artifacts from a PPG signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed machine learning as taught by Newberry, in the invention of Oliver, in order to perform the method using learnt data, thereby improving accuracy and efficiency (Newberry; Para 151 and 160).
Regarding claim 2, Oliver discloses the at least one physiological characteristic is at least one of: a heart rate of the wearer, a blood pressure of the wearer, or an oxygen saturation of the wearer (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17).
Regarding claim 4, Oliver discloses the motion activity of the wearer comprises finger movements (Para 18).
Regarding claim 5, Oliver discloses an inertial measurement unit (IMU) of the wrist-worn device reports less motion activity than that associated with the EMG signal obtained (Para 4 and 22; sEMG signal as a reference outperforms using the accelerometer).
Regarding claim 6, Oliver discloses the EMG electrode is disposed proximate to an artery of the wearer of the wrist-worn device, and wherein the artery is one of an ulnar artery or a radial artery (Figure 2 shows the device on the inside of the wrist. There are multiple EMG electrodes 8 disposed on the entire wrist band, it is inherent that these electrodes are proximal to the radial or ulnar arteries which are known to be part of the wrist of a user).
Regarding claim 7, Oliver discloses more than two EMG electrodes are disposed in or on the band of the wrist-worn device (Figure 2, elements 8 at least 4 EMG are shown).
Regarding claim 9, Oliver discloses a method of determining physiological characteristics (Abstract and Para 17), the method comprising: obtaining an electromyography (EMG) signal representing muscle activity (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract) from an electromyography (EMG) electrode disposed in or on a band of a wrist-worn device (Figure 2 shows wrist worn device 7 and EMG electrodes 8), and a photoplethysmography (PPG) signal (Figure 1, element 2 RAW PPG signal) using a PPG sensor (Figure 2, element 9) of the wrist-worn device (Figure 2, element 7); characterizing motion activity of a wearer of the wrist-worn device based on the EMG signal (Figure 1, element 5 and Para 17); wherein characterizing the motion activity includes determining a type of motion activity (Para 18 discloses determining through the sEMG the difference in motion between finger flexion vs. extension); and reporting a physiological characteristic determined using the PPG signal (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17; elements 6 are determined by using motion activity that was subtracted from signals 2 to obtain a motion compensation signal 5).
Oliver does not disclose reporting a physiological characteristic determined based at least in part on the type of the motion activity of the wearer.
However, Newberry teaches reporting a physiological characteristic determined based at least in part on the type of the motion activity of the wearer (Para 79; One or more of the predetermined PPG patterns are recognized in the detected PPG signal and Control commands may be mapped to the motion data to generate an input to a device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed a physiological characteristic determined based at least in part on the type of the motion activity of the wearer as taught by Newberry, in the invention of Oliver, in order to map the motion to the physiological characteristic thereby enabling motion artifact isolation (Newberry; Para 79 and 113).
Regarding claim 10, Oliver discloses the physiological characteristic is at least one of: a heart rate of the wearer, a blood pressure of the wearer, or an oxygen saturation of the wearer (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17).
Regarding claim 11, Oliver discloses determining a manner in which the physiological characteristic is to be reported based on a type of physiological characteristic (Claim 18; the physiological signals may or may not be displayed).
Regarding claim 14, Oliver discloses all the limitations of claim 13.
Oliver does not disclose comparing the PPG signal to an expected PPG signal selected based on the type of motion activity to form a comparison, wherein the reporting of the physiological characteristic is based on the comparison of the PPG signal to the expected PPG signal.
However, Newberry discloses a system for obtaining a PPG signal that can identify motion artifacts (Abstract) and teaches comparing the PPG signal to an expected PPG signal selected based on the type of motion activity to form a comparison (Para 8), wherein the reporting of the physiological characteristic is based on the comparison of the PPG signal to the expected PPG signal (Para 7 and 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed comparing the PPG signal to an expected PPG signal as taught by Newberry, in the invention of Oliver, in order to isolate the motion artifacts in the PPG signal (Newberry; Para 113).
Regarding claim 15, Oliver discloses a wrist-worn device (Abstract and Para 17 and Figure 2, element 7), the wrist-worn device comprising: at least one electromyography (EMG) electrode (Figure 2 shows wrist worn device 7 and EMG electrodes 8) configured to generate EMG signals (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract); at least one photoplethysmography (PPG) sensor (Figure 2, element 9) configured to generate PPG signals (Figure 1, element 2 RAW PPG signal); and at least one controller (Para 19 and Figure 1, element 3) configured to: obtain an EMG signal representing muscle activity from the at least one EMG electrode disposed in or on a band of the wrist-worn device (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract), and a PPG signal using the at least one PPG sensor of the wrist-worn device (Figure 1, element 2 RAW PPG signal), providing the EMG signal and the PPG signal (Para 17), generate a modified PPG signal (Figure 1, element 5 and Para 17), wherein the modified PPG signal corrects for motion artifacts in the PPG signal due to motion activity of a wearer of the wrist-worn device (Para 17), and determine at least one physiological characteristic based on the modified PPG signal (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17).
Oliver does not disclose a machine learning model that processes the signals.
However, Newberry discloses a system for obtaining a PPG signal that can identify motion artifacts (Abstract) and teaches a machine learning model that processes the signals (Para 113, 149, and 151; the system uses machine learning for signal processing and a step of the signal processing includes isolating motion artifacts from a PPG signal) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed machine learning as taught by Newberry, in the invention of Oliver, in order to perform the method using learnt data, thereby improving accuracy and efficiency (Newberry; Para 151 and 160).
Regarding claim 16, Oliver discloses the at least one physiological characteristic is at least one of: a heart rate of the wearer, a blood pressure of the wearer, or an oxygen saturation of the wearer (Figure 1, elements 6 and Para 17).
Regarding claim 18, Oliver discloses the motion activity of the wearer comprises finger movements (Para 18).
Regarding claim 19, Oliver discloses an inertial measurement unit (IMU) of the wrist-worn device reports less motion activity than that associated with the EMG signal obtained (Para 4 and 22; sEMG signal as a reference outperforms using the accelerometer).
Claim(s) 3, 17, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/053444 Oliver et al., hereinafter “Oliver”, in view of US 2019/0286233 Newberry, hereinafter “Newberry”, further in view of US 2015/0182160 Kim et al., hereinafter “Kim” (cited previously).
Regarding claim 3, Oliver discloses the muscle activity (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract).
Oliver does not disclose activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle.
However, Kim discloses a method/device that utilizes motion extraction using an EMG signal (Abstract and Para 86) and teaches activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle (Para 53 and 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle as taught by Kim, in the invention of Oliver, in order to extract hand motions by signal analysis and obtain a clearer, noise-free signal (Kim; Para 53 and 86).
Regarding claim 17, Oliver discloses the muscle activity (Figure 1, element 1, Para 5, 17, and Abstract).
Oliver does not disclose activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle.
However, Kim discloses a method/device that utilizes motion extraction using an EMG signal (Abstract and Para 86) and teaches activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle (Para 53 and 67).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed activity from at least one wrist extensor muscle or at least one wrist flexor muscle as taught by Kim, in the invention of Oliver, in order to extract hand motions by signal analysis and obtain a clearer, noise-free signal (Kim; Para 53 and 86).
Regarding claim 21, Oliver discloses reporting of the physiological characteristics (Para 19).
Oliver does not disclose reporting of the physiological characteristic includes inhibiting presentation of an indication of the physiological characteristic.
However, Kim teaches reporting of the physiological characteristic includes inhibiting presentation of an indication of the physiological characteristic (Figure 14 shows data displayed, Para 208 discloses that the screen is adjusted based on user selections, so a user can choose to inhibit the presentation of an indication by clicking discard as shown in Figure 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed inhibiting presentation as taught by Kim, in the invention of Oliver, in order to preset a user’s selection (Kim; Para 208).
Regarding claim 23, Oliver discloses reporting of the physiological characteristic (Para 19) and includes modifying the reporting based on the characterization of the motion activity presentation of an indication of the physiological characteristic based on the type of motion activity that was determined in the characterization of the motion activity (Para 18).
However, Kim teaches inhibiting presentation of an indication of the physiological characteristic (Figure 14 shows data displayed, Para 208 discloses that the screen is adjusted based on user selections, so a user can choose to inhibit the presentation of an indication by clicking discard as shown in Figure 14).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed inhibiting presentation as taught by Kim, in the invention of Oliver, in order to preset a user’s selection (Kim; Para 208).
Claim(s) 12 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO 2016/053444 Oliver et al., hereinafter “Oliver”, in view of US 2019/0286233 Newberry, hereinafter “Newberry”, further in view of WO 2022/146883 Lokare et al., hereinafter “Lokare”.
Regarding claim 12, Oliver discloses reporting of the physiological characteristic (Claim 18).
Oliver does not disclose presenting an indication of the physiological characteristic with a warning indicating that the reported physiological characteristic may be inaccurate.
However, Lokare discloses a system/method of generating biometric information for a user using PPG data (Abstract) and teaches presenting an indication of the physiological characteristic with a warning indicating that the reported physiological characteristic may be inaccurate (Page 31, lines 17-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an indication of inaccuracy as taught by Lokare, in the invention of Oliver, in order to notify the user of an abnormal physiological parameter (Lokare; Page 31, lines 17-31).
Regarding claim 22, Oliver discloses reporting of the physiological characteristic (Claim 18).
Oliver does not disclose presenting an indication of the physiological characteristic with a warning indicating that the reported physiological characteristic may be inaccurate.
However, Lokare discloses a system/method of generating biometric information for a user using PPG data (Abstract) and teaches presenting an indication of the physiological characteristic with a warning indicating that the reported physiological characteristic may be inaccurate (Page 31, lines 17-31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have disclosed an indication of inaccuracy as taught by Lokare, in the invention of Oliver, in order to notify the user of an abnormal physiological parameter (Lokare; Page 31, lines 17-31).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AYA ZIAD BAKKAR/
Examiner, Art Unit 3796
/CARL H LAYNO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3796