DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shetty et al. (US 2004/0052987 A1; hereinafter Shetty) in view of Kinigakis et al. (AU 2011200823 A1; hereinafter Kinigakis).
Regarding claims 1, 7-8, and 19, Shetty discloses a paper based can comprising an inner body ply (20) wrapped into a tubular shape comprising an outer layer (20) and a sealant layer (74/76) in face-to-face contact with the outer layer (see Figure 5-7), wherein the outer layer defines a first surface of the inner body ply and the sealant layer defines a second surface of the inner body ply, wherein the inner body ply further comprises a first edge and a second edge, wherein the second edge is folded such that the second surface of the inner body ply adjacent the second edge contacts the second surface of the inner body ply adjacent the first edge to form an overlap (see Fig. 7), wherein the first surface is disposed within the interior of the fold, wherein the inner body ply further defines a seam formed in at least a portion of the overlap (170; see Fig. 14); and an outer body ply wrapped around the first surface of the inner body ply (see Fig. 8). Shetty lacks a sealant layer comprising a voided polymer sealant.
Kinigakis teaches container comprising a sealant layer (704) made of a voided polymer sealant comprising discontinuous voids that do not extend through a total thickness of the sealant layer (see Par. 0061-0062). Examiner notes that polyethylene is cited as an example of a “voided polymer sealant” as disclosed by Applicant’s Specification (Par. 0008). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of Applicant’s filing to modify Shetty’s tubular paperboard container’s sealant layer to be polyethylene, as taught by Kinigakis, as a known substitution of materials in the art of sealants for paperboard containers.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5, Shetty, as modified above, discloses a paper can wherein the voided polymer sealant is a light- weight voided polymer sealant (Kinigakis; see Par. 0061; Examiner considers LLDPE to be a light weight polymer).
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Shetty, as modified above, discloses a paper can further comprising an adhesive disposed on the first surface of the body ply within the interior of the fold (Shetty; see Par. 0016).
Regarding claim 6, Shetty, as modified above, discloses a paper can wherein the sealant is polyethylene terephthalate (Shetty; see Par. 0113).
Regarding claim 9, Shetty, as modified above, discloses a paper can further comprising a label ply having an inner surface adhered in face-to-face contact with the outer body ply (Shetty; see Par. 0112).
Regarding claims 11 and 20, Shetty, as modified above, discloses a paper can further comprising a liner (Shetty; 28/30) adhesively attached second surface of the inner body ply.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 6-8, filed 05/15/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 and 19-20 under USC 103(a)—Shetty in view of Dregger have been fully considered and are persuasive. The combination lack discontinuous voids that do not extend through a total thickness of the sealant layer. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of USC 103(a)—Shetty in view of Kinigakis.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER R DEMEREE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734