DETAILED ACTION
Applicants' arguments have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendments and/or arguments. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied.
NEW REJECTIONS: NECESSITATED BY AMENDMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 7, 11-15, and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160165706 A1 to Clemen, Jr. et al. (herein referred to as "Clemen") in view of US20150202858A1 to Simko.
Re claims 1, 7, 11, and 18, Clemen teaches the claimed material coating system (article and process) invention comprising as shown in Fig. 3 (see below) and associated text: substrate 18, laser-ablation layers 13, 14, and topcoat 16 [36]. The topcoat includes various transparent polymer compounds and includes epoxy [9] which is inherently transparent.
Re claims 1, 19 and 21-23, Clemen also discloses the use of a laser 20 which debonds the laser ablative layers and topcoat [38] but not where the substrate is of fiber and resin layers as claimed.
Simko teaches a substrate is of a top epoxy layer and an underlaying fiberglass [29] in a similar construction having the substrate 220 / 221 bonding layer/ 215 laser function / and 223 top coat film and therefore the combination of references yields a laser-ablation layer that is necessarily tuned as presently claimed.
Clemen doesn’t teach a substate of fiber and resin.
Simko teaches a similar laser ablated top coat on substrate, teaching it is known substrates are of [20, 29] layers of fiber and resin for lightweight propellers and efficiency. See also published claim 3 and Fig. 3 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to use, add or substitute the substrate of Clemen with the fiber top coat/resin substrate of Simko for producing for lightweight propellers and efficiency. Therefore there is a reasonable expectation of success because the applied prior art teaches this would have been well within the level of ordinary skill.
Re claims 2-4, 13-14, and 20 (structure and process relied upon in claim 1), see further [8-11, 58].
Re claim 12, Clemen discloses the material coating system also comprises a reflective layer between the substrate and laser ablation layers [32, 36].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new ground of rejection above. Clemen’s is no longer used solely for the substate as the teaching is found in Simko. See the combination above.
Conclusion
Reference US 20220193832 A1 teaches a similar construction but doesn’t teach a topy epoxy/fiberglass substrate. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787