Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse election of species, B. and C. subset a. in the reply filed on 09/17/2025 is acknowledged.
Applicant argues the following:
There is no undue burden in examining the species of Group I and II or the species (a) and (b).
However, there is undue burden for the reasons set forth in the office action mailed 9/17/25, which reasons include there would be a different field of search and/or prior art applicable to one species would likely not be applicable to the other species.
Applicant’s request for rejoinder of all the claims is denied at this time.
Applicant is also reminded of pursuing the possible filing of a Divisional. Applicant argues the search wouldn’t be burdensome. However, the Examiner has specifically pointed to all the reasons why it would be burdensome because the subject matter is divergent and/or as consistent with the MPEP. Also the record doesn’t show them to be obvious variants. Acknowledgement is made of election of species C.a. to nano-sized particles.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 7-8, 10-15, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 20160165706 A1 to Clemen, Jr. et al. (herein referred to as "Clemen").
Re claims 1, 7, 11, and 18, Clemen teaches the claimed material coating system (article and process) invention comprising as shown in Fig. 3 (see below) and associated text: substrate 18, laser-ablation layers 13, 14, and topcoat 16 [36]. The topcoat includes various transparent polymer compounds and includes epoxy [9] which is inherently transparent. Clemen also discloses the use of a laser 20 which debonds the laser ablative layers and topcoat [38] and therefore the laser-ablation layer is necessarily tuned as presently claimed.
Re claims 2-4, 13-14, and 20 (structure and process relied upon in claim 1), see further [8-11, 58].
Re claims 8, 12, Clemen discloses the material coating system also comprises a reflective layer between the substrate and laser ablation layers [32, 36].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-10 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160165706 A1 to Clemen, Jr. et al. (herein referred to as "Clemen") and further in view of US20150202858A1 to Simko.
Re claims 9-10, and 19, Clemen doesn’t teach a substate of metal alloy, fiber and resin.
Simko teaches a similar laser ablated top coat on substrate, teaching it is known substrates are of [4] metal alloy, fiber and [20] resin for lightweight propellers and efficiency. See also published claim 3 and Fig. 3 and associated text.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention was made to use, add or substitute the substrate of Clemen with the metal alloy or fiber or resin of Simko for producing for lightweight propellers and efficiency. Therefore there is a reasonable expectation of success because the applied prior art teaches this would have been well within the level of ordinary skill.
Conclusion
TAMRA L. DICUS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1787
/TAMRA L. DICUS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787