DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species III, Fig. 3 corresponding to claim 1-3, 9-10, 12-15, 19-20, and 24-25 in the reply filed on 16 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 9-10, 12-13, 19-20, and 24-25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 201201986161 A1 to Makansi.
Re claim 1, Makansi teaches:
A support cushion (at least [Abstract] “cushions, mattresses, pillows”), comprising:
a body support portion having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (at least Fig. 10 and [0090] “mattress”); and an electrically conductive fabric positioned atop and configured to draw heat away from the first surface of the body support portion, the electrically conductive fabric comprising a first metal bonded to a substrate (at least Figs. 10-14 and [0090] “thermoelectric string 101”.).
Re claim 2, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 1, wherein the substrate comprises nylon (at least [claim 32] “substrate material preferably is selected from the group consisting of […] nylon”).
Re claim 9, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 1, wherein the electrically conductive fabric is in the form of a stretched knit fabric, and wherein the substrate is a thread or yarn (at least [0047] “lengths of braided or stranded wire 101 […] woven fiberglass sleeve threaded over the thermoelectric element”).
Re claim 10, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 1, wherein the body support portion is comprised of a visco-elastic foam (at least [0092] “foam mattress” and [0060] “memory foam”).
Re claim 12, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 1, wherein the body support portion is dimensionally-sized to support a user lying in a supine or prone position (at least Fig. 10 and [0090] “mattress”).
Re claim 13, Makansi teaches:
A method of making a support cushion (at least [Abstract] “cushions, mattresses, pillows”), comprising: metalizing a fabric substrate with a first metal (at least Figs. 10-14 and [0047] “a string containing alternating P-type 102 and N-Type 103 thermoelectric elements connected by lengths of braided or stranded wire 101 as shown in FIGS. 1a and 1b. The thermoelectric elements preferably comprise metals, although non-metallic conductors such as graphite and carbon may be used”); and applying the metalized fabric substrate to a support cushion (at least [0090] “The braided or stranded wire of the thermoelectric string 101 extends into the cavity of the mattress”).
Re claim 19, Makansi teaches:
A support cushion (at least [Abstract] “cushions, mattresses, pillows”), comprising:
a body support portion having a first surface and a second surface opposite the first surface (at least Fig. 10 and [0090] “mattress”); and a plurality of thermoelectric elements positioned and configured to selectively provide heating or cooling at the first surface of the body support portion (at least Figs. 10-14 and [0090] “thermoelectric string 101”.), each of the plurality of thermoelectric elements including an electrically conductive fabric comprising a first metal bonded to a substrate (at least [0047] “lengths of braided or stranded wire 101 […] woven fiberglass sleeve threaded over the thermoelectric element”).
Re claim 20, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 19, wherein the electrically conductive fabric of each of the plurality of thermoelectric elements extends across the first surface of the body support portion (at least [0090] “The braided or stranded wire of the thermoelectric string 101 extends into the cavity of the mattress”).
Re claim 24, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 19, further comprising a power supply for supplying an electrical current to the thermoelectric elements, and a controller for controlling the electrical current supplied to the thermoelectric elements from the power supply (at least Fig. 10 and [0071] “The control electronics for the blanket can automatically switch the electrical current in the proper direction when cooling is needed to achieve the set temperature or when heating is needed”).
Re claim 25, Makansi teaches:
A method of controlling the surface temperature of a support cushion (at least [Abstract] “cushions, mattresses, pillows”), comprising: providing a support cushion including a body support portion (at least Fig. 10 and [0090] “mattress”) and a plurality of thermoelectric elements including an electrically conductive fabric (at least Figs. 10-14 and [0090] “thermoelectric string 101”.) comprising a first metal bonded to a substrate (at least [0047] “thermoelectric elements preferably comprise metals”); and
supplying an electrical current to the plurality of thermoelectric elements such that the electrical current is supplied in a first direction to decrease the surface temperature of the body support portion, and such that electrical current is supplied in a second direction to increase the surface temperature of the body support portion (at least Fig. 10 and [0071] “The control electronics for the blanket can automatically switch the electrical current in the proper direction when cooling is needed to achieve the set temperature or when heating is needed”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makansi in view of US 20190126792 A1 to Kozlowski.
Re claim 3, Makansi teaches:
The support cushion of claim 1 (detailed with respect to claim 1).
Makansi does not explicitly teach:
wherein the first metal comprises silver.
However, Kozlowski teaches:
wherein the first metal comprises silver (at least [0021] “silver”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support cushion taught by Makansi with the silver metal taught by Kozlowski with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it forms “highly conductive woven materials” (Kozlowski [0021]).
Claim(s) 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Makansi in view of US 20210360928 A1 to Piana.
Re claim 14, Makansi teaches:
The method of claim 13 (detailed with respect to claim 13).
Makansi does not explicitly teach:
wherein metalizing the fabric substrate comprises applying a silver solution to a fabric substrate including a nylon, and reducing the silver solution such that the silver in the solution bonds to the nylon.
However, Piana teaches:
wherein metalizing the fabric substrate comprises applying a silver solution (at least [0025] “one or more other natural and/or safe antimicrobial and antiviral chemicals may be used such as silver nitrate” and [0029] “The antimicrobial chemical is added to the machine and exhausted into the fibers by repeated circulation of the aquouse chemical solution”) to a fabric substrate including a nylon (at least [0023] “Exemplary fibers which can be used in the practice of the invention include […] nylon”), and reducing the silver solution such that the silver in the solution bonds to the nylon (at least [0025] “The term also includes compounds that are either silver ion-exchange resins, zeolites, or substituted glass compounds that release the particular metal ion bonded thereto upon the presence of other anionic species”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the support cushion taught by Makansi with the silver metal taught by Piana with a reasonable expectation of success and predictable results. A person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because it forms “antimicrobial”, “antimicrobial agent” or “antimicrobial chemicals” refers to a composition that has the effect of irradicating or suppressing the growth of bacteria, viruses, fungi, yeast, algae and parasites” (Piana [0025]).
Re claim 15, the combination of Makansi and Piana teaches:
The method of claim 14 (detailed with respect to claim 14).
Piana further teaches:
wherein the silver solution comprises silver nitrate (at least [0025] “one or more other natural and/or safe antimicrobial and antiviral chemicals may be used such as silver nitrate” and [0029] “The antimicrobial chemical is added to the machine and exhausted into the fibers by repeated circulation of the aquouse chemical solution”).
Conclusion
/GEORGE SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3673