DETAILED ACTION
The instant office action is in response to communication filed on 01/24/2024.
Claims 1-20 are pending of which claims 1, 11, and 19 are independent.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9, 11-16, 18, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xu et al (US 20250287278 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a target master node (i.e. Target master Base Station shown in Fig. 9, or T-eNB or T-MN in Figs. 1-8 represent the target master node), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code (Per paragraph 198 the Target Master Node has ROM memory and RAM memory); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to (Per paragraphs 192 and198 and Fig. 9 processor/controller 902 is coupled with ROM and RAM memories) :
receive, from a source master node, a handover request that corresponds to a user equipment (UE) (See Paragraph 54 in relation to Fig. 3 step 301 indicates Source Master Node (S MN) sends Handover Request to target Master Node (TMN) ) as a handover required message and the message includes a source MN identification and a source SN identification to the target MN as shown in step 301 in Fig. 3);
transmit, responsive to the handover request (i.e. per paragraph 54 Target MN after receiving Handover Request/Require from Source MN, in response the target MN sends to the target SN information of the source MN identification and the source SN identification to the target SN in step 302 in Fig. 3 and paragraph 59) and to a target secondary node associated with the target master node in a dual connectivity system (see paragraphs the UE going through handover is in dual connectivity system as detailed in paragraphs 49, 78 and 100), via a first message (i.e. first message is the message sent from target Master Node (T-MN) to the target Secondary Node (T-SN) after receiving the handover request and contains the source MN identification and the source SN identification per paragraphs 54 and 59 and step 302 in Fig. 3), a secondary node identifier for a source secondary node associated with the source master node in the dual connectivity system (first message is the message sent from target Master Node (T-MN) to the target Secondary Node (T-SN) after receiving the handover request and contains the source MN identification and the source SN identification per paragraphs 54 and 59 and step 302 in Fig. 3);
receive via a second message (i.e. second message is the message from target secondary node (T-SN) to the target master node (T-MN) described in step 303 in Fig. 3 as detailed in paragraph 62 in responsive to earlier first message received from target MN in step 302 in Fig. 3)responsive to the first message, information indicative of whether a direct data forwarding path is available between the target secondary node and the source secondary node(Fig. 3 step 303 second message is the message from target secondary node (T-SN) to target master node (T-MN) described in step 303 in Fig. 3 as detailed in paragraph 62 and contains information on direct data forwarding between the target SN (T-SN) and source SN) ; and transmit, to the source master node and in response to the second message, address information indicative of at least one direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE. (i.e. target MN sends to the source MN, address information indicative of direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE in as detailed in Fig. 3 steps 304 and 305 in paragraphs 56, 68, 72, and 74. In particular in paragraphs 68-71 it is explicitly stated that the target MN sends information to the source MN. The information includes a combination of one or more of the following: information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available, and/or information that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available. downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target MN. And downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN for the bearer terminated at the target SN, or downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target SN. Corresponding to the way that the target MN allocates the data forwarding tunnel information for the bearer terminated at the target SN, the data forwarding for the bearer is forwarded from the source node (including the source MN and/or the source SN) to the target SN through the target MN. Note that in paragraph 152 it is explicitly stated that “The data forwarding tunnel information in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.”)
Regarding claim 11, Xu discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a source master node(i.e. Source master Base Station shown in Fig. 8, or S-eNB or S-MN in Figs. 1-8 represent the Source master node), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code(Per paragraph 198 the Source Master Node has ROM memory and RAM memory); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories (Per paragraphs 192 and198 and Fig. 8 processor/controller 802 is coupled with ROM and RAM memories) and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit (Fig. 3 step 301 – paragraph 54), to a target master node, a handover request that corresponds to a user equipment (UE); (See Paragraph 54 in relation to Fig. 3 step 301 indicates Source Master Node (S-MN) sends Handover Request to target Master Node (T-MN) ) as a handover required message and the message includes a source MN identification and a source SN identification to the target MN as shown in step 301 in Fig. 3)
receive (i.e. Fig. 3 steps 304 and 305 – paragraphs 62 and 68 -71), from the target master node and in response to the handover request, address information that is indicative of at least one direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding to at least one of the target master node or a target secondary node in a dual connectivity system(see paragraphs 49, 78 and 100 that the UE going through handover is in dual connectivity system as detailed in paragraphs 49, 78 and 100), the direct data forwarding associated with a handover of the UE; (i.e. target MN sends to the source MN, address information indicative of direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE in as detailed in Fig. 3 steps 304 and 305 in paragraphs 56, 68, 72, and 74. In particular in paragraphs 68-71 it is explicitly stated that the target MN sends information to the source MN. The information includes a combination of one or more of the following: information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available, and/or information that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available. downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target MN. And downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN for the bearer terminated at the target SN, or downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target SN. Corresponding to the way that the target MN allocates the data forwarding tunnel information for the bearer terminated at the target SN, the data forwarding for the bearer is forwarded from the source node (including the source MN and/or the source SN) to the target SN through the target MN. Note that in paragraph 152 it is explicitly stated that “The data forwarding tunnel information in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.”)
and
transmit (See Fig. 3 step 306 – paragraphs 76-77), to a source secondary node associated with the source master node and via a first message (Per Paragraphs 76-77 and Fig. 3 step 306 the source master base station sends to the source secondary node address/tunnel info for direct data forwarding in a first message), direct data forwarding information indicative of the at least one direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding, for the UE, to the at least one of the target master node or the target secondary node in the dual connectivity system.(See Paragraph 76 teaching the limitation by stating “[0076] For a bearer terminated at the source SN, if the source MN receives the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, and the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available or direct data forwarding paths from the target node are available, the source MN sends the received data forwarding tunnel information to the source SN. In this way, the source SN directly forwards data to the target node….”)
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses a method for wireless communication at a target master node, (i.e. Target master Base Station shown in Fig. 9, or T-eNB or T-MN in Figs. 1-8 represent the target master node) comprising:
receiving, from a source master node, a handover request that corresponds to a user equipment (UE) (See Paragraph 54 in relation to Fig. 3 step 301 indicates Source Master Node (S MN) sends Handover Request to target Master Node (TMN) ) as a handover required message and the message includes a source MN identification and a source SN identification to the target MN as shown in step 301 in Fig. 3);
transmitting, responsive to the handover request (i.e. per paragraph 54 Target MN after receiving Handover Request/Require from Source MN, in response the target MN sends to the target SN information of the source MN identification and the source SN identification to the target SN in step 302 in Fig. 3 and paragraph 59) and to a target secondary node associated with the target master node in a dual connectivity system (see paragraphs the UE going through handover is in dual connectivity system as detailed in paragraphs 49, 78 and 100), via a first message (i.e. first message is the message sent from target Master Node (T-MN) to the target Secondary Node (T-SN) after receiving the handover request and contains the source MN identification and the source SN identification per paragraphs 54 and 59 and step 302 in Fig. 3), a secondary node identifier for a source secondary node associated with the source master node in the dual connectivity system (first message is the message sent from target Master Node (T-MN) to the target Secondary Node (T-SN) after receiving the handover request and contains the source MN identification and the source SN identification per paragraphs 54 and 59 and step 302 in Fig. 3);
receiving via a second message (i.e. second message is the message from target secondary node (T-SN) to the target master node (T-MN) described in step 303 in Fig. 3 as detailed in paragraph 62 in responsive to earlier first message received from target MN in step 302 in Fig. 3)responsive to the first message, information indicative of whether a direct data forwarding path is available between the target secondary node and the source secondary node(Fig. 3 step 303 second message is the message from target secondary node (T-SN) to target master node (T-MN) described in step 303 in Fig. 3 as detailed in paragraph 62 and contains information on direct data forwarding between the target SN (T-SN) and source SN) ; and transmit, to the source master node and in response to the second message, address information indicative of at least one direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE. (i.e. target MN sends to the source MN, address information indicative of direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE direct data forwarding address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node in association with a handover of the UE in as detailed in Fig. 3 steps 304 and 305 in paragraphs 56, 68, 72, and 74. In particular in paragraphs 68-71 it is explicitly stated that the target MN sends information to the source MN. The information includes a combination of one or more of the following: information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available, and/or information that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available. downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target MN. And downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN for the bearer terminated at the target SN, or downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target MN for the bearer terminated at the target SN. Corresponding to the way that the target MN allocates the data forwarding tunnel information for the bearer terminated at the target SN, the data forwarding for the bearer is forwarded from the source node (including the source MN and/or the source SN) to the target SN through the target MN. Note that in paragraph 152 it is explicitly stated that “The data forwarding tunnel information in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.”)
Regarding claim 2, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, including wherein, to transmit the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a first address (i.e. Source MN identification is the first address received at step 301 in Fig. 3 from source MN and in Fig. 3 step 302 the target MN sends the first address/ Source MN identification to the target SN – see paragraphs 54 and 59 ) for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node to the target master node (see paragraphs 60 and 61 on direct forwarding), a second address (i.e. Source SN identification is the second address received at step 301 in Fig. 3 from source MN and in Fig. 3 step 302 the target MN sends the second address/ Source SN identification to the target SN – see paragraphs 54 and 59 ) for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node to the target secondary node ((see paragraphs 60 and 61 on direct forwarding)), or both the first address and the second address. (Per Fig. 3 step 302 and Fig. 4 step 402 both first address/Source MN identification and second address/Source SN identification is transmitted by the target MN to the target SN)
Regarding claim 3, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, including wherein, to transmit the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit an indication that direct data forwarding is available from the
source secondary node to the target secondary node. (See Fig. 3 step 304 and in paragraph 69 Xu teaches the limitation verbatim by stating “information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available, and/or information that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available.”)
Regarding claim 4, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, including wherein, to transmit the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the address information via a handover request acknowledge
message. (See Xu’s paragraph 63 indicating “For a bearer terminated at the target SN, if the bearer is terminated at the source MN on the source side, and the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, the target MN includes the received downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN in a handover request acknowledge message….”
Regarding claim 5, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein, to receive the information indicative of whether the direct data forwarding path is available, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the target secondary node (see Fig. 3 step 303 target SN transmitting to the target MN data forwarding information ), an address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node to the target secondary node for data associated with a data radio bearer between the source secondary node and the UE. ( Per paragraph 62 Xu indicates the information includes the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available and/or the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available provided by the target SN. The target SN may inform the target MN that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available through one information that direct data forwarding paths are available. Xu further discloses for a bearer terminated at the target SN, if the bearer is terminated at the source MN on the source side, and the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, the target MN includes the received downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN in a handover request acknowledge message. Note that in paragraph 152 it is explicitly stated that “The data forwarding tunnel information in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.”)
Regarding claim 6, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein, to receive the information indicative of whether the direct data forwarding path is available, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the target secondary node, a first address for direct data
forwarding from the source secondary node to the target secondary node. (Based on paragraphs 62 and 63 and 152 and Fig. 3 step 303 indicates that the target MN receives from target SN, address for direct forwarding from source secondary node to the target secondary node wherein the address is in the form of forwarding tunnel information and in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.”)
Regarding claim 7, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, including wherein, to transmit the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive the information via a secondary node addition request acknowledge message. (See paragraph 113 and Fig 5 step 504 stating the target SN sends the information that the direct data forwarding path between the target SN and the source eNB is available and/or the information that the direct data forwarding path between the target SN and the source SN is available, the downlink data forwarding tunnel information and/or the uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN to the target eNB through the secondary node addition request acknowledge message.)
Regarding claim 9, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, including wherein, to transmit the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a secondary node addition request message that indicates the
secondary node identifier. (See paragraph 59 teaches the limitation verbatim “In step 302, the target MN sends information of the source MN identification and the source SN identification to the target SN. The target MN sends information of a bearer terminated at the target SN on the target side to the target SN. The target MN may send the information to the target SN through a secondary node addition request message.”)
Regarding claim 12, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, to receive the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive, as one of the at least one direct data forwarding address, an address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node to the target secondary node for data associated with a data radio bearer between the source secondary node and the UE, wherein the address is transmitted to the source secondary node via the first message. (Xu indicates in the first message sent from the Source MN (S MN) to the Target SN (T SN) informing the T SN of direct data forwarding path between Source secondary node (S SN ) to T SN. In paragraph 76 the limitation is taught verbatim by stating “For a bearer terminated at the source SN, if the source MN receives the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, and the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available or direct data forwarding paths from the target node are available, the source MN sends the received data forwarding tunnel information to the source SN. In this way, the source SN directly forwards data to the target node.”)
Regarding claim 13, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, to receive the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive, as one of the at least one direct data forwarding address, an address for direct data forwarding from the source secondary node to the target master node for data associated with a data radio bearer between the source secondary node and the UE, wherein the address is transmitted to the source secondary node via the first message. (Xu indicates in the first message sent from the Source MN (S MN) to the Target SN (T SN) informing the T SN of direct data forwarding path between Source secondary node (S SN ) to T SN. In paragraph 76 the limitation is taught verbatim by stating “For a bearer terminated at the source SN, if the source MN receives the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, and the information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available or direct data forwarding paths from the target node are available, the source MN sends the received data forwarding tunnel information to the source SN. In this way, the source SN directly forwards data to the target node.”)
Regarding claim 14, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, to receive the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive the address information via a handover request acknowledge message. . (See Xu’s paragraph 63 indicating “For a bearer terminated at the target SN, if the bearer is terminated at the source MN on the source side, and the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, the target MN includes the received downlink and/or uplink data forwarding tunnel information allocated by the target SN in a handover request acknowledge message….”)
Regarding claim 15, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the direct data forwarding information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit a first address of the at least one direct data forwarding address(see paragraphs 60 and 61 on direct forwarding) to the target secondary node(i.e. Source MN identification is the first address received at step 301 in Fig. 3 from source MN and in Fig. 3 step 302 the target MN sends the first address/ Source MN identification to the target SN – see paragraphs 54 and 59 ), a second address (i.e. Source SN identification is the second address received at step 301 in Fig. 3 from source MN and in Fig. 3 step 302 the target MN sends the second address/ Source SN identification to the target SN – see paragraphs 54 and 59 ) of the at least one direct data forwarding address (see paragraphs 60 and 61 on direct forwarding)to the target master node, or both the first address and the second address. (Per Fig. 3 step 302 and Fig. 4 step 402 both first address/Source MN identification and second address/Source SN identification is transmitted by the target MN to the target SN)
Regarding claim 16, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein, to transmit the direct data forwarding information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
transmit the direct data forwarding information via an address indication message. (See Paragraph 61 – data forwarding tunnel information is transmitted a message wherein the data tunnel information and in paragraph 152 it is disclosed that the data forwarding tunnel information in the disclosure includes a transport layer address and a tunnel identification.)
Regarding claim 18, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to:
receive, from the source secondary node, at least one data packet to be transmitted to the UE; and transmit, to the target secondary node, the at least one data packet for transmission to the UE via indirect data forwarding. (See Fig. 6 S-SN and T-SN and paragraphs 152-156 where indirect data forwarding is implemented and used.)
Regarding claim 19, Xu discloses as set forth above the apparatus of claim 11, wherein transmitting the address information comprises: transmitting an indication that direct data forwarding is available from the source secondary node to the target secondary node. (See Fig. 3 step 304 and in paragraph 69 Xu teaches the limitation verbatim by stating “information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target MN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN is available, information that the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN is available, and/or information that both the direct data forwarding path between the source MN and the target SN and the direct data forwarding path between the source SN and the target SN are available.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Spapis et al (WO 2024/027981 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable, as set forth above to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: further including transmitting the source secondary node identifier and source master node identifier in a handover request as shown in paragraphs 54 and 59 with respect to Fig. 3.
Xu fails to disclose transmit the secondary node identifier to a plurality of target secondary nodes associated with the target master node; and receive, from each target secondary node of the plurality of target secondary nodes, respective information indicative of whether the direct data forwarding path is available.
Spapis, in the same endeavor discloses transmit the secondary node identifier to a plurality of target secondary nodes associated with the target master node (See Fig. 7 step 1, source master node 702 sends a plurality of handover request to one or more candidate target master nodes 705 and the candidate target master nodes send a SN Addition Request containing Xn-U address to plurality of target secondary nodes at step 2. The Handover Request has to indicate the source master node id and source secondary node id as the handover can only be performed with knowledge of the source master node id and source secondary node id. See page 7 from line 10 to the end) ; and receive, from each target secondary node of the plurality of target secondary nodes, respective information indicative of whether the direct data forwarding path is available. (each of the candidate target secondary nodes 704 reply with a SN Addition Request Acknowledge and comprises a TEID per direct Tunnel indicating direct data forwarding path is available per page 27, lines 30-33)
In view of the above, having Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation and then given the well- established teaching of Spapi’s techniques for providing data forwarding for dual connectivity using plurality of secondary cell nodes, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation as taught by Spapi’ s techniques for providing data forwarding for dual connectivity using plurality of secondary cell nodes, since Spapi states in page 87, lines 1-5 that the modification results in improving the dual connectivity operation for enhancing mobility robustness in the communication system.
Claim(s) 10 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu in view of Kordybach et al (WO 2023213390 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1, but fails to disclose wherein the second message includes information indicative of whether a second direct data forwarding path is available between the source master node and the target secondary node.
Kordybach, in the same endeavor, discloses wherein the second message includes information indicative of whether a second direct data forwarding path is available between the source master node and the target secondary node.(See paragraph 85 states “The target MN may then forward the TEIDs from the target SN to the source MN, either directly as the TEIDs for data forwarding (in case of direct data forwarding), or as additional information associated with the MN’s own TEIDs.” and teaches more than one including a second direct data forwarding path is available between the source master node and the target secondary node.)
In view of the above, having Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation and then given the well- established teaching of Kordybach ’s techniques for providing data forwarding for dual connectivity using a second direct data forwarding path, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation as taught by Kordybach’ s techniques for providing data forwarding for dual connectivity using a second direct data forwarding path, since Kordybach states in paragraph 69 that the modification results in improving the dual connectivity operation for enhancing mobility robustness in the communication system.
Regarding claim 17, Xu discloses the apparatus of claim 1 as set forth above, wherein, to receive the address information, the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the apparatus to: but fails to disclose receive the address information for direct data forwarding to a plurality of target secondary nodes.
Kordybach, in the same endeavor, discloses receive the address information for direct data forwarding to a plurality of target secondary node.(See paragraph 85 states “The target MN may then forward the TEIDs from the target SN to the source MN, either directly as the TEIDs for data forwarding (in case of direct data forwarding), or as additional information associated with the MN’s own TEIDs.” and teaches receive the address information for direct data forwarding to a plurality of target secondary nodes.)
In view of the above, having Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation and then given the well- established teaching of Kordybach ’s techniques to receive the address information for direct data forwarding to a plurality of target secondary nodes., it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Xu’s handover in dual connectivity operation as taught by Kordybach’ s techniques to receive the address information for direct data forwarding to a plurality of target secondary nodes., since Kordybach states in paragraph 69 that the modification results in improving the dual connectivity operation for enhancing mobility robustness in the communication system.
Conclusion
/HABTE MERED/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474