DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-11, 16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS V16.10.0 (2022-06; cited on IDS filed on 08/02/2024) in view of TIETZ et al. (US 9,788,262).
Regarding claim 1, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses a method performed by an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving a first message requesting information for a location of a target user equipment (UE) (page 41, paragraph 2 and Figure 6.2-1, step 2; the AMF receives a Mobile Originated Location Request (MO-LR) request from the UE);
transmitting, to a location management function (LMF) entity, a second message requesting the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 4 and page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) towards the LMF); and
receiving, from the LMF entity, a third message including the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF),
wherein the second message includes identification information of a serving cell for the target UE (page 42, paragraph 4; the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) includes the serving cell identity).
But, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 does not particularly disclose wherein the second message includes information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell.
However, in analogous art, Tietz teaches transmitting information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell to a location server (abstract, lines 5-end; col. 3, lines 35-40 and 59-64; col. 4, lines 22-49; col. 5, lines 13-23; col. 8, lines 49-col. 9, lines 1-47; the communication node obtains an indication of whether or not the cell is configured as a mobile cell and provides, when the cell is configured as a mobile cell (i.e., moving cell), information indicating that the cell is configured as a mobile cell to a further communication node, the further communication node may comprise a location service server (i.e., LMF); the information indicating that said cell is configured as a mobile cell may be provided responsive to the communication node receiving a request for locating a user device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS V16.10.0 with the teachings of Tietz, since such a modification would provide the benefit of the location server of being aware of which cells are mobile in order for the geographic location of mobile telephones within these cells to be provided continuously (col. 8, lines 47-54). In addition, it would allow the location server to choose the most appropriate positioning method for a target mobile telephone served by a mobile cell (col. 17, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 1, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message further includes information for a UE positioning capability of the target UE, and wherein the location of the target UE is determined based on a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) or a new radio positioning protocol a (NRPPa) (page 42, paragraph 4; the service operation includes an indication whether location estimate is requested…if the UE’s location is requested, the service request may include an indication if UE supports LPP).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 1, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation request message (page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation ), and wherein the third message comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response message (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 1, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message further includes information for a device corresponding to the serving cell for the target UE, and wherein the information for the device corresponding to the serving cell comprises at least one of information indicating a type of the device corresponding the serving cell, information for environment in which the device operates, a size of the device, a coverage of the serving cell, or information for a power level provided by the device (page 42, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 6, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses a method performed by a location management function (LMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the method comprising:
receiving, from access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a message requesting information for a location of a target user equipment (UE) (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 4 and page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) towards the LMF);
obtaining the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.2-1, step 5; page 42, paragraphs 5-6; if the UE request its own location, a location estimate for the UE is obtained); and
transmitting, to the AMF entity, a message including the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF),
wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE includes identification information of a serving cell for the target UE (page 42, paragraph 4; the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation includes the serving cell identity).
But, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 does not particularly disclose wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE includes information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell.
However, in analogous art, Tietz teaches transmitting information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell to a location server (abstract, lines 5-end; col. 3, lines 35-40 and 59-64; col. 4, lines 22-49; col. 5, lines 13-23; col. 8, lines 49-col. 9, lines 1-47; the communication node obtains an indication of whether or not the cell is configured as a mobile cell and provides, when the cell is configured as a mobile cell (i.e., moving cell), information indicating that the cell is configured as a mobile cell to a further communication node, the further communication node may comprise a location service server (i.e., LMF); the information indicating that said cell is configured as a mobile cell may be provided responsive to the communication node receiving a request for locating a user device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS V16.10.0 with the teachings of Tietz, since such a modification would provide the benefit of the location server of being aware of which cells are mobile in order for the geographic location of mobile telephones within these cells to be provided continuously (col. 8, lines 47-54). In addition, it would allow the location server to choose the most appropriate positioning method for a target mobile telephone served by a mobile cell (col. 17, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 6, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE further includes information for a UE positioning capability of the target UE, and wherein the obtaining the information on a location of the target UE comprises obtaining the location of the target UE using a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) or a new radio positioning protocol a (NRPPa) (page 42, paragraph 4; the service operation includes an indication whether location estimate is requested…if the UE’s location is requested, the service request may include an indication if UE supports LPP).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 6, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation request message (page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation), and wherein the message including the information for the location of the target UE comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response message (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 6, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz discloses wherein the message for requesting information for the location of a target UE further includes information for a device corresponding to the serving cell for the target UE, and wherein the information for the device corresponding to the serving cell comprises at least one of information indicating a type of the device corresponding the serving cell, information for environment in which the device operates, a size of the device, a coverage of the serving cell, or information for a power level provided by the device (page 42, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 11, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses an access and mobility management function (AMF) entity in a wireless communication system, the AMF (page 21, section 4.3.7) comprising:
a transceiver (inherent in an AMF); and
at least one processor (inherent in an AMF) coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive a first message requesting information for a location of a target user equipment (UE) (page 41, paragraph 2 and Figure 6.2-1, step 2; the AMF receives a Mobile Originated Location Request (MO-LR) request from the UE);
transmit, to a location management function (LMF) entity, a second message
requesting the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step
and page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) towards the LMF); and
receive, from the LMF entity, a third message including the information for the
location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF),
wherein the second message includes identification information of a serving cell for the target UE (page 42, paragraph 4; the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) includes the serving cell identity).
But, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 does not particularly disclose wherein the second message includes information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell.
However, in analogous art, Tietz teaches transmitting information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell to a location server (abstract, lines 5-end; col. 3, lines 35-40 and 59-64; col. 4, lines 22-49; col. 5, lines 13-23; col. 8, lines 49-col. 9, lines 1-47; the communication node obtains an indication of whether or not the cell is configured as a mobile cell and provides, when the cell is configured as a mobile cell (i.e., moving cell), information indicating that the cell is configured as a mobile cell to a further communication node, the further communication node may comprise a location service server (i.e., LMF); the information indicating that said cell is configured as a mobile cell may be provided responsive to the communication node receiving a request for locating a user device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS V16.10.0 with the teachings of Tietz, since such a modification would provide the benefit of the location server of being aware of which cells are mobile in order for the geographic location of mobile telephones within these cells to be provided continuously (col. 8, lines 47-54). In addition, it would allow the location server to choose the most appropriate positioning method for a target mobile telephone served by a mobile cell (col. 17, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the AMF of claim 11, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message further includes information for a UE positioning capability of the target UE, and wherein the location of the target UE is determined based on a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) or a new radio positioning protocol a (NRPPa) (page 42, paragraph 4; the service operation includes an indication whether location estimate is requested…if the UE’s location is requested, the service request may include an indication if UE supports LPP).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the AMF of claim 11, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation request message (page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation ), and wherein the third message comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response message (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the AMF of claim 11, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the second message further includes information for a device corresponding to the serving cell for the target UE, and wherein the information for the device corresponding to the serving cell comprises at least one of information indicating a type of the device corresponding the serving cell, information for environment in which the device operates, a size of the device, a coverage of the serving cell, or information for a power level provided by the device (page 42, paragraph 4).
Regarding claim 16, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses a location management function (LMF) entity (page 21, section 4.3.8) in a wireless communication system, the LMF entity comprising:
a transceiver (inherent in the LMF); and
a least one processor (inherent in the LMF) coupled to the transceiver, the at least one processor configured to:
receive from access and mobility management function (AMF) entity, a message
requesting information for a location of a target user equipment (UE) (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 4 and page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation (i.e., second message) towards the LMF);
obtain the information for the location of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.2-1,
step 5; page 42, paragraphs 5-6; if the UE request its own location, a location estimate for the UE is obtained); and
transmit, to the AMF entity, a message including the information for the location
of the target UE (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF),
wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE includes identification information of a serving cell for the target UE (page 42, paragraph 4; the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation includes the serving cell identity).
But, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 does not particularly disclose wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE includes information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell.
However, in analogous art, Tietz teaches transmitting information indicating whether the serving cell is a moving cell to a location server (abstract, lines 5-end; col. 3, lines 35-40 and 59-64; col. 4, lines 22-49; col. 5, lines 13-23; col. 8, lines 49-col. 9, lines 1-47; the communication node obtains an indication of whether or not the cell is configured as a mobile cell and provides, when the cell is configured as a mobile cell (i.e., moving cell), information indicating that the cell is configured as a mobile cell to a further communication node, the further communication node may comprise a location service server (i.e., LMF); the information indicating that said cell is configured as a mobile cell may be provided responsive to the communication node receiving a request for locating a user device). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify 3GPP TS V16.10.0 with the teachings of Tietz, since such a modification would provide the benefit of the location server of being aware of which cells are mobile in order for the geographic location of mobile telephones within these cells to be provided continuously (col. 8, lines 47-54). In addition, it would allow the location server to choose the most appropriate positioning method for a target mobile telephone served by a mobile cell (col. 17, lines 50-62).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the LMF of claim 16, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE further includes information for a UE positioning capability of the target UE, and wherein the obtaining the information on a location of the target UE comprises obtaining the location of the target UE using a long term evolution positioning protocol (LPP) or a new radio positioning protocol a (NRPPa) (page 42, paragraph 4; the service operation includes an indication whether location estimate is requested…if the UE’s location is requested, the service request may include an indication if UE supports LPP).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the LMF of claim 16, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the message requesting information for the location of the target UE comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation request message (page 42, paragraph 4; the AMF invokes the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation service operation), and wherein the message including the information for the location of the target UE comprises Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation response message (page 41, Figure 6.1-1, step 5 and page 42, paragraphs 5-6; when a location estimate has been obtained, the LMF returns the Nlmf_Location_DetermineLocation Response (i.e., third message) towards the AMF).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the LMF of claim 16, 3GPP TS V16.10.0 discloses wherein the message for requesting information for the location of a target UE further includes information for a device corresponding to the serving cell for the target UE, and wherein the information for the device corresponding to the serving cell comprises at least one of information indicating a type of the device corresponding the serving cell, information for environment in which the device operates, a size of the device, a coverage of the serving cell, or information for a power level provided by the device (page 42, paragraph 4).
Claims 2, 7, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over 3GPP TS V16.10.0 (2022-06; cited on IDS filed on 08/02/2024) in views of TIETZ et al., and HONG (US 2023/0370996).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 1, but does not particularly disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node.
However, Hong teaches disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node (p. [0042]-[0045]; IAB nodes may deployed in a movable object such as a mobile base station relay, and when the UE is connected to the IAB node, the positioning is via the IAB node…when the IAB node is deployed on a movable object, the identification of the IAB node is obtained and the location information of the IAB node is obtained based on the identification and used as the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz with the teachings of Hong, since such a modification would allow to determine the location of the target UE based on the identification of network nodes that support the current generation of wireless standards.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the method of claim 6, but does not particularly disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node.
However, Hong teaches disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node (p. [0042]-[0045]; IAB nodes may deployed in a movable object such as a mobile base station relay, and when the UE is connected to the IAB node, the positioning is via the IAB node…when the IAB node is deployed on a movable object, the identification of the IAB node is obtained and the location information of the IAB node is obtained based on the identification and used as the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz with the teachings of Hong, since such a modification would allow to determine the location of the target UE based on the identification of network nodes that support the current generation of wireless standards.
Regarding claim 12, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the AMF entity of claim 11, but does not particularly disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node.
However, Hong teaches disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node (p. [0042]-[0045]; IAB nodes may deployed in a movable object such as a mobile base station relay, and when the UE is connected to the IAB node, the positioning is via the IAB node…when the IAB node is deployed on a movable object, the identification of the IAB node is obtained and the location information of the IAB node is obtained based on the identification and used as the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz with the teachings of Hong, since such a modification would allow to determine the location of the target UE based on the identification of network nodes that support the current generation of wireless standards.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz disclose the LMF of claim 16, but does not particularly disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node.
However, Hong teaches disclose wherein the moving cell includes a mobile integrated access backhaul (IAB) node, and wherein the second message further includes a mobile termination (MT) identifier of the mobile IAB node (p. [0042]-[0045]; IAB nodes may deployed in a movable object such as a mobile base station relay, and when the UE is connected to the IAB node, the positioning is via the IAB node…when the IAB node is deployed on a movable object, the identification of the IAB node is obtained and the location information of the IAB node is obtained based on the identification and used as the location of the UE).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the combination of 3GPP TS V16.10.0 and Tietz with the teachings of Hong, since such a modification would allow to determine the location of the target UE based on the identification of network nodes that support the current generation of wireless standards.
Conclusion
/MARISOL FIGUEROA/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2643