DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 9-12, 14-15, 17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tong et al (US 20200166631).
Regarding claim 1 and 11, Tong teaches initiating station (STA), comprising: a transceiver (para 13); and a processor operably coupled to the transceiver (para 47), the processor configured to: provide one or more mechanisms to report carrier-phase information during a fine timing measurement (FTM) protocol between the ISTA and a responding station (fig3a and 3b and figure 14, items s241 251 261 271 and 281); enable, via the carrier-phase information, carrier-phase-based relative ranging (fig 14, items 261); and utilize the carrier-phase information to modify an accuracy for FTM ranging (para 81, “ a fine resolution method is used in the present embodiments to estimate the fractional (sub sampling clock) delay FD and thereby provide a high resolution ToA measurement. The fine resolution fractional delay is estimated in the embodiments herein based on DFT processing”)
Regarding claim 2 and 12, Tong teaches indicate a capability for reporting carrier phase measurements (fig 14, item 261); and receive, via the transceiver, an indication from the RSTA of the capability of reporting CPM in at least some FTM ranging protocols (fig 14, item s261 and s271).
Regarding claim 4 and 14, Tong teaches wherein the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to receive an indication from the RSTA that carrier phase measurements (CPM) are included from the RSTA during an FTM measurement reporting phase of an FIM session (para 133)
Regarding claim 5 and 15, Tong teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to receive a report of one or more CPM values, the report including one or more of: one or more CPM values, subcarrier indices corresponding to the one or more CPM values, link identifiers corresponding to the one or more CPM values, and an index of an FIM frame corresponding to the one or more CPM values (fig 14, items s261)
Regarding claim 7 and 17, Tong teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to receive reporting of carrier phase measurements (CPM) from the RSTA during an FTM measurement reporting phase of an FIM session (fig 14, items s261)
Regarding claim 9 and 19, Tong teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to report carrier phase measurements (CPM) during an FTM measurement reporting phase of an FTM session (fig 14, items s261)
Regarding claim 10 and 20, Tong teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to receive an indication from the RSTA that carrier phase measurements (CPM) reporting is enabled during an availability window (fig 14, items s261)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong as applied to claim 1 and 11 above, and further in view of Zhang et al (US 20200099495).
Regarding claim 3 and 13, Zhang teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to request a carrier phase measurements (CPM) reporting from the RSTA when initiating an FTM ranging session corresponding to at least some FTM ranging protocols (para 87). It would have been obvious to modify Tong to include the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to request a carrier phase measurements (CPM) reporting from the RSTA when initiating an FTM ranging session corresponding to at least some FTM ranging protocols because it is merely a substitution of a method to get the phase data used for ranging of Tong with the method to get phase data of Zhang to yield a predictable distance measuring device.
Claim(s) 6, 8, 16 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tong as applied to claim 1, 4, 11, and 14 above, and further in view of Bao et al (US 20240089894).
Regarding claim 6 and 16, Bao teaches the processor is further configured to perform carrier phase estimation based on the received CPM to produce a carrier phase estimate; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the carrier phase estimate to the RSTA (para 113). It would have been obvious to modify Tong to include the processor is further configured to perform carrier phase estimation based on the received CPM to produce a carrier phase estimate; and the transceiver is further configured to transmit the carrier phase estimate to the RSTA because it is merely a substitution of a method to get the phase data used for ranging of Tong with the method to get phase data of Bao to yield a predictable distance measuring device.
Regarding claim 8 and 18, Bao teaches the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to request carrier frequency offset (CFO) and Line-of-Sight (LoS) assessment reporting from the RSTA during the FTM measurement reporting phase of an FTM session (para 11 and 30). It would have been obvious to modify Tong to include the processor is further configured, via the transceiver, to request carrier frequency offset (CFO) and Line-of-Sight (LoS) assessment reporting from the RSTA during the FTM measurement reporting phase of an FTM session because it is merely a substitution of a method to get the phase data used for ranging of Tong with the method to get phase data of Bao to yield a predictable distance measuring device.
TIMOTHY A. BRAINARD
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3648
/TIMOTHY A BRAINARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3648