DETAILED ACTION
1. This action is responsive to communication filed on 13 April 2026, with acknowledgement of an original application filed on 24 January 2024.
2. Claims 1-20 are currently pending. Claims 1, 10, and 16 are in independent forms.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statements (IDS's) submitted on 04/14/2026 is in compliance with provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
4. The drawings filed on 01/24/2024 are accepted by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
5. Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 14 April 2026 prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-2, 6-10, 15-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaz et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0187266 (hereinafter Nawaz) in view of Ioannidis et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0012238 (hereinafter Chou).
Regarding claim 1, Nawaz discloses an apparatus, comprising:
“a processor circuit” (Fig. 1, Processing device 16); and
a memory storing location-based information (LBI) and instructions that are executable by the processor circuit to cause the apparatus to perform operations (see Nawaz par. 0013, The processing device 16 will utilize the information stored in the database 20 to determine the grid cell identifier in which each of an approved location, e.g., store, town, etc., is located for the approved locations provided by the user) comprising:
“receiving, from a computing device, a request for a particular item of LBI that corresponds to a specified geographic location, the request including first address information and encrypted second address information, the second address information being encrypted by a first cryptographic key not accessible to the apparatus, the first address information being indicative of a geographic area that includes the specified geographic location and the second address information being indicative of a sub-region of the geographic area that also includes the specified geographic location” (see Nawaz pars. 0013-0014, In step 50, when a user of a mobile device, e.g., mobile device 30, desires to receive location-based services from the LBS provider, the user will register with the LBS provider and provide the server 12 with one or more "approved locations." An approved location (first address information) is a location which the user desires to receive a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, offering, advertisement, etc., via a mobile device when the user is physically near such a location. Mobile device 30 will then encrypt the user's current location, and provide the encrypted location (second address information) to the LBS provider server 12. Alternatively, the user's mobile device 30 can automatically initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) according to a specified time interval, e.g., every five minutes, or the user can manually operate the mobile device 30 to initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) to the server 12, the mobile device 30 can also send to the server 12 a cloaking region, which could be, for example, a large area such as a state. If a cloaking region (sub-region) is provided, the server 12 will only test the locations from its database, as described below, which are in the cloaking region instead of every location. Thus, while the LBS provider may know that a user is in a particular region, which is a very large area, it will not know, at this time, the actual location within the region);
“selecting a particular subset of stored LBI using the first address information, the particular subset including the particular item of LBI” (see Nawaz par. 0015, database 20 stores a listing of all approved locations for a user, along with the grid cell in which an approved location is located. The processing device 16 will retrieve each grid cell identifiers y.sub.1 . . . y.sub.m in which an approved location is located within the region (if provided)..The processing device 18 divides this set of m locations into k subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k. For every subset Y.sub.j, processing device 16 performs the following computation. It takes each location y.sub.i in that subset Y.sub.j and subtracts it from corresponding s.sub.i to get d.sub.i. It then computes the product of all d.sub.i's to get p.sub.i. The processing device 16 repeats this process for all subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k to obtain p.sub.1 . . . p.sub.k. These values represent an encrypted result, which are returned to the mobile device 30. it is possible that the random values selected by the mobile device 30 will result in a value for one or more d to be equal to zero, resulting in p.sub.i being zero, regardless of location of the mobile device 30); “(see Nawaz par. 0006, 0015, The user's mobile device sends its location, in encrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider performs a computation on the encrypted location and returns an encrypted result to the user's mobile device. The user's mobile device decrypts the result and determines whether the user is near any selected businesses based on the decrypted result. Only if the decrypted result indicates the user is near an approved location will the user's mobile device return its location, in an unencrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider can then return a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, advertisement, or the like, to the user's mobile device or forward the user's location to a participating company which sends the location-based service to the user);
Nawaz does not explicitly discloses performing a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the apparatus having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request; returning the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI to the computing device without the sub-region of the geographic area being identifiable to the apparatus.
However, in analogues art, Ioannidis discloses performing a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the apparatus having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request (see Ioannidis pars. 0025-0026, 0039, The privacy control system 100 provides a technical solution to the above-drawbacks by cryptographically securing and accessing a personal privacy protocol on an encrypted database. The technical solution(s) described herein is necessarily rooted in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising in the realm of privacy control across social media platforms. Further, each personal privacy protocol is individually tailored to the user and applied uniquely by the computing system 120 to disable and enable functions of a social media platform. Each user's personal privacy protocol cannot be accessed, changed, altered, deleted, or updated without knowing both cryptographic keys. One of the keys is stored in an encrypted database and the other key is linked with the user mobile device and broadcast to a media capturing device only from the user's phone. There are several challenges associated with performing matrix factorization in a privacy-preserving way. First, to address the privacy concerns, matrix factorization should be performed without the recommender ever learning the users' ratings, or even which items they have rated. a protocol is proposed that allows the RecSys to execute matrix factorization and provide recommendations, while neither the RecSys nor the CSP learn anything useful about the users, including the recommendations, {circumflex over (R)}, given to the users, for which the encrypted values are the outputs of RecSys in FIG. 2); returning the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI to the computing device without the sub-region of the geographic area being identifiable to the apparatus (see Ioannidis par. 0045, The CSP generates a public encryption key for a partially homomorphic scheme, ξ and sends it to all users (Source) 310. A skilled artisan will appreciate that homomorphic encryption is a form of encryption which allows specific types of computations to be carried out on ciphertext and obtain an encrypted result which decrypted matches the result of operations performed on the plaintext. For instance, one person could add two encrypted numbers and then another person could decrypt the result, without either of them being able to find the value of the individual numbers. A partially homomorphic encryption is homomorphic with respect to one operation (addition or multiplication) on plaintexts. A partially homomorphic encryption may be homomorphic with respect to addition and multiplication to a scalar).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ioannidis in to the system of Nawaz in order to allow a recommender system based on matrix factorization to perform this task without ever learning the ratings of a user, which item the user has rated, the item profiles or any statical information extracted from user data (see Ioannidis par. 0007).
Regarding claim 2, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Nawaz further discloses wherein the specified geographic location is a current location of the computing device (see Nawaz par. 0014, Once a user has registered with the LBS provider, the user can operate a mobile device 30 to obtain desired location-based services without having to divulge its current location unless the user is near an approved location).
Regarding claim 6, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Ioannidis further discloses wherein the stored LBI includes at least one of the following types of data: weather data, traffic data, data relating to local services, and wherein the first and second cryptographic keys are the same key (see Ioannidis par. 0013, each user processor can be configured to: encrypt the respective record to create an encrypted record prior to providing the record. The CSP processor can be further configured to: generate public encryption keys in the CSP; and send the keys to the set of users. The encryption scheme can be a partially homomorphic encryption, and wherein the RecSys processor is further configured to: mask the encrypted records to create masked records; and the CSP processor is further configured to: decrypt the masked records to create decrypted-masked records. The CSP processor in the system can be configured to design the garbled circuit by being further configured to: unmask the decrypted-masked records inside the garbled circuit prior to processing them.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ioannidis in to the system of Nawaz in order to allow a recommender system based on matrix factorization to perform this task without ever learning the ratings of a user, which item the user has rated, the item profiles or any statical information extracted from user data (see Ioannidis par. 0007).
Regarding claim 7, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Nawaz further discloses wherein the particular item of LBI is stored in one of a plurality of entries of a data store, each of the plurality of entries storing LBI for multiple geographic sub-regions (see Nawaz par. 0012, System 10 also includes a database 20 that is in electronic communication with the server 12. Database 20 stores locations for one or more businesses that have registered with the LBS provider. The present solution utilizes a spatial grid structure having a plurality of cells to quantize and index locations).
Regarding claim 8, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 1,
Nawaz further discloses wherein an amount of precision with which the specified geographic location is set forth in the request is configurable (see Nawaz pars. 0012-0013, each location of a business will be associated with a unique cell of the grid. Database 20 stores a table that associates each location of a business with a grid cell based on the identifier of the cell. The defined grid is also accessible by mobile devices, e.g., mobile devices 30, 32, 34, such that each device is able to determine in which cell of the grid it is currently located).
Regarding claim 9, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 8,
Nawaz further discloses wherein an amount of precision with which the specified geographic location is set forth in the request is configurable by a user of the computing device (see Nawaz par. 0014, Once a user has registered with the LBS provider, the user can operate a mobile device 30 to obtain desired location-based services without having to divulge its current location unless the user is near an approved location. In step 52, the user's mobile device 30 determines its location, using any known technology such as GPS technology or triangulation, and associates its current location with a grid cell identifier).
Regarding claim 10, Nawaz discloses non-transitory computer-readable medium having program instructions stored (Fig. 1, Database 20) therein that are executable by a computer server (Fig. 1, LBS Provider server 12) to perform operations comprising:
“receiving, from a computing device, a request for a particular item of location-based information (LBI) that corresponds to a specified geographic location, the request including first address information and encrypted second address information, the second address information being encrypted by a first cryptographic key not accessible to the computer server, the first address information being indicative of a geographic area that includes the specified geographic location and the second address information being indicative of a sub-region of the geographic area that also includes the specified geographic location” (see Nawaz pars. 0013-0014, In step 50, when a user of a mobile device, e.g., mobile device 30, desires to receive location-based services from the LBS provider, the user will register with the LBS provider and provide the server 12 with one or more "approved locations." An approved location (first address information) is a location which the user desires to receive a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, offering, advertisement, etc., via a mobile device when the user is physically near such a location. Mobile device 30 will then encrypt the user's current location, and provide the encrypted location (second address information) to the LBS provider server 12. Alternatively, the user's mobile device 30 can automatically initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) according to a specified time interval, e.g., every five minutes, or the user can manually operate the mobile device 30 to initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) to the server 12, the mobile device 30 can also send to the server 12 a cloaking region, which could be, for example, a large area such as a state. If a cloaking region (sub-region) is provided, the server 12 will only test the locations from its database, as described below, which are in the cloaking region instead of every location. Thus, while the LBS provider may know that a user is in a particular region, which is a very large area, it will not know, at this time, the actual location within the region);
“selecting a particular subset of stored LBI using the first address information, the particular subset including the particular item of LBI” (see Nawaz par. 0015, database 20 stores a listing of all approved locations for a user, along with the grid cell in which an approved location is located. The processing device 16 will retrieve each grid cell identifiers y.sub.1 . . . y.sub.m in which an approved location is located within the region (if provided)..The processing device 18 divides this set of m locations into k subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k. For every subset Y.sub.j, processing device 16 performs the following computation. It takes each location y.sub.i in that subset Y.sub.j and subtracts it from corresponding s.sub.i to get d.sub.i. It then computes the product of all d.sub.i's to get p.sub.i. The processing device 16 repeats this process for all subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k to obtain p.sub.1 . . . p.sub.k. These values represent an encrypted result, which are returned to the mobile device 30. it is possible that the random values selected by the mobile device 30 will result in a value for one or more d to be equal to zero, resulting in p.sub.i being zero, regardless of location of the mobile device 30);
“returning the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI to the computing device, the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI being decryptable by the computing device using a second cryptographic key” (see Nawaz par. 0006, 0015, The user's mobile device sends its location, in encrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider performs a computation on the encrypted location and returns an encrypted result to the user's mobile device. The user's mobile device decrypts the result and determines whether the user is near any selected businesses based on the decrypted result. Only if the decrypted result indicates the user is near an approved location will the user's mobile device return its location, in an unencrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider can then return a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, advertisement, or the like, to the user's mobile device or forward the user's location to a participating company which sends the location-based service to the user);
Nawaz does not explicitly discloses performing a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the apparatus having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request.
However, in analogues art, Ioannidis discloses performing a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the apparatus having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request (see Ioannidis pars. 0025-0026, 0039, The privacy control system 100 provides a technical solution to the above-drawbacks by cryptographically securing and accessing a personal privacy protocol on an encrypted database. The technical solution(s) described herein is necessarily rooted in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising in the realm of privacy control across social media platforms. Further, each personal privacy protocol is individually tailored to the user and applied uniquely by the computing system 120 to disable and enable functions of a social media platform. Each user's personal privacy protocol cannot be accessed, changed, altered, deleted, or updated without knowing both cryptographic keys. One of the keys is stored in an encrypted database and the other key is linked with the user mobile device and broadcast to a media capturing device only from the user's phone. There are several challenges associated with performing matrix factorization in a privacy-preserving way. First, to address the privacy concerns, matrix factorization should be performed without the recommender ever learning the users' ratings, or even which items they have rated. a protocol is proposed that allows the RecSys to execute matrix factorization and provide recommendations, while neither the RecSys nor the CSP learn anything useful about the users, including the recommendations, {circumflex over (R)}, given to the users, for which the encrypted values are the outputs of RecSys in FIG. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ioannidis in to the system of Nawaz in order to allow a recommender system based on matrix factorization to perform this task without ever learning the ratings of a user, which item the user has rated, the item profiles or any statical information extracted from user data (see Ioannidis par. 0007).
Regarding claim 15, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 10,
Nawaz further discloses wherein the amount of precision with which the specified geographic location is set forth in the request is set by a program executing on the computing device (see Nawaz par. 0014, Once a user has registered with the LBS provider, the user can operate a mobile device 30 to obtain desired location-based services without having to divulge its current location unless the user is near an approved location. In step 52, the user's mobile device 30 determines its location, using any known technology such as GPS technology or triangulation, and associates its current location with a grid cell identifier. Mobile device 30 will then encrypt the user's current location, and provide the encrypted location to the LBS provider server 12).
Regarding claim 16, Nawaz discloses a method, comprising:
“storing, by a computer server, location-based information (LBI)” (see Nawaz par. 0013, The processing device 16 will utilize the information stored in the database 20 to determine the grid cell identifier in which each of an approved location, e.g., store, town, etc., is located for the approved locations provided by the user)
“receiving, at the computer server from a computing device, a request for a particular item of LBI that corresponds to a specified geographic location, the request including first address information and encrypted second address information, the second address information being encrypted by a first cryptographic key not accessible to the computer server, the first address information being indicative of a geographic area that includes the specified geographic location and the second address information being indicative of a sub-region of the geographic area that includes the specified geographic location” (see Nawaz pars. 0013-0014, In step 50, when a user of a mobile device, e.g., mobile device 30, desires to receive location-based services from the LBS provider, the user will register with the LBS provider and provide the server 12 with one or more "approved locations." An approved location (first address information) is a location which the user desires to receive a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, offering, advertisement, etc., via a mobile device when the user is physically near such a location. Mobile device 30 will then encrypt the user's current location, and provide the encrypted location (second address information) to the LBS provider server 12. Alternatively, the user's mobile device 30 can automatically initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) according to a specified time interval, e.g., every five minutes, or the user can manually operate the mobile device 30 to initiate a broadcast of its location (in encrypted format as described above) to the server 12, the mobile device 30 can also send to the server 12 a cloaking region, which could be, for example, a large area such as a state. If a cloaking region (sub-region) is provided, the server 12 will only test the locations from its database, as described below, which are in the cloaking region instead of every location. Thus, while the LBS provider may know that a user is in a particular region, which is a very large area, it will not know, at this time, the actual location within the region);
“selecting, by the computer server, a particular subset of the stored LBI using the first address information, the particular subset including the particular item of LBI” (see Nawaz par. 0015, database 20 stores a listing of all approved locations for a user, along with the grid cell in which an approved location is located. The processing device 16 will retrieve each grid cell identifiers y.sub.1 . . . y.sub.m in which an approved location is located within the region (if provided)..The processing device 18 divides this set of m locations into k subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k. For every subset Y.sub.j, processing device 16 performs the following computation. It takes each location y.sub.i in that subset Y.sub.j and subtracts it from corresponding s.sub.i to get d.sub.i. It then computes the product of all d.sub.i's to get p.sub.i. The processing device 16 repeats this process for all subsets Y.sub.1 . . . Y.sub.k to obtain p.sub.1 . . . p.sub.k. These values represent an encrypted result, which are returned to the mobile device 30. it is possible that the random values selected by the mobile device 30 will result in a value for one or more d to be equal to zero, resulting in p.sub.i being zero, regardless of location of the mobile device 30);
“returning, by the computer server, the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI to the computing device, the encrypted version of the particular item of LBI being decryptable by the computing device using a second cryptographic key” (see Nawaz par. 0006, 0015, The user's mobile device sends its location, in encrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider performs a computation on the encrypted location and returns an encrypted result to the user's mobile device. The user's mobile device decrypts the result and determines whether the user is near any selected businesses based on the decrypted result. Only if the decrypted result indicates the user is near an approved location will the user's mobile device return its location, in an unencrypted form, to the LBS provider. The LBS provider can then return a location-based service, e.g., electronic coupon, advertisement, or the like, to the user's mobile device or forward the user's location to a participating company which sends the location-based service to the user);
Nawaz does not explicitly discloses performing, by the computer server, a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the computer server having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request.
However, in analogues art, Ioannidis discloses performing a privacy protocol that uses the encrypted second address information to produce an encrypted version of the particular item of LBI without the apparatus having access to information indicating which item of LBI was specified in the request (see Ioannidis pars. 0025-0026, 0039, The privacy control system 100 provides a technical solution to the above-drawbacks by cryptographically securing and accessing a personal privacy protocol on an encrypted database. The technical solution(s) described herein is necessarily rooted in computer technology in order to overcome a problem specifically arising in the realm of privacy control across social media platforms. Further, each personal privacy protocol is individually tailored to the user and applied uniquely by the computing system 120 to disable and enable functions of a social media platform. Each user's personal privacy protocol cannot be accessed, changed, altered, deleted, or updated without knowing both cryptographic keys. One of the keys is stored in an encrypted database and the other key is linked with the user mobile device and broadcast to a media capturing device only from the user's phone. There are several challenges associated with performing matrix factorization in a privacy-preserving way. First, to address the privacy concerns, matrix factorization should be performed without the recommender ever learning the users' ratings, or even which items they have rated. a protocol is proposed that allows the RecSys to execute matrix factorization and provide recommendations, while neither the RecSys nor the CSP learn anything useful about the users, including the recommendations, {circumflex over (R)}, given to the users, for which the encrypted values are the outputs of RecSys in FIG. 2).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ioannidis in to the system of Nawaz in order to allow a recommender system based on matrix factorization to perform this task without ever learning the ratings of a user, which item the user has rated, the item profiles or any statical information extracted from user data (see Ioannidis par. 0007).
Regarding claim 18, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the method of claim 16,
Nawaz further discloses wherein the particular item of LBI is stored in one of a plurality of entries of a data store, each of which stores LBI for multiple geographic sub- regions (see Nawaz pars. 0012-0013, each location of a business will be associated with a unique cell of the grid. Database 20 stores a table that associates each location of a business with a grid cell based on the identifier of the cell. The defined grid is also accessible by mobile devices, e.g., mobile devices 30, 32, 34, such that each device is able to determine in which cell of the grid it is currently located), and wherein the LBI for multiple geographic sub-regions in a given entry of the data store is cacheable by the computing device for future LBI requests (see Nawaz par. 0015, In step 54, upon receiving the user's encrypted location (and optional cloaking region), the processing device 16 of the server 12 will process this information and provide an encrypted result back to the mobile device 30. Processing of the received information can be performed as follows. Recall that database 20 stores a listing of all approved locations for a user, along with the grid cell in which an approved location is located. The processing device 16 will retrieve each grid cell identifiers y.sub.1 . . . y.sub.m in which an approved location is located within the region (if provided). For example, if an approved location is Starbucks stores and the cloaking region is the state of Connecticut, this may be the set of grid cells in Connecticut in which a Starbucks is located. If no cloaking region is provided, then every grid cell identifier in which an approved location for that user is located will have to be retrieved).
Regarding claim 19, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the method of claim 16,
Ioannidis further discloses wherein the first address information and second address information have different formats, and wherein the first cryptographic key and the second cryptographic key are different (see Ioannidis par. 0013, each user processor can be configured to: encrypt the respective record to create an encrypted record prior to providing the record. The CSP processor can be further configured to: generate public encryption keys in the CSP; and send the keys to the set of users. The encryption scheme can be a partially homomorphic encryption, and wherein the RecSys processor is further configured to: mask the encrypted records to create masked records; and the CSP processor is further configured to: decrypt the masked records to create decrypted-masked records. The CSP processor in the system can be configured to design the garbled circuit by being further configured to: unmask the decrypted-masked records inside the garbled circuit prior to processing them.).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Ioannidis in to the system of Nawaz in order to allow a recommender system based on matrix factorization to perform this task without ever learning the ratings of a user, which item the user has rated, the item profiles or any statical information extracted from user data (see Ioannidis par. 0007).
Regarding claim 20, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the method of claim 16,
Nawaz further discloses wherein an amount of precision with which the specified geographic location is set forth in the request is based on the current location of the computing device (see Nawaz par. 0014, Once a user has registered with the LBS provider, the user can operate a mobile device 30 to obtain desired location-based services without having to divulge its current location unless the user is near an approved location. In step 52, the user's mobile device 30 determines its location, using any known technology such as GPS technology or triangulation, and associates its current location with a grid cell identifier. Mobile device 30 will then encrypt the user's current location, and provide the encrypted location to the LBS provider server 12).
8. Claims 5, 12, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaz et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0187266 (hereinafter Nawaz) in view of Ioannidis et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0012238 (hereinafter Ioannidis) in further view of Bakshi US Patent No. 10,810,235 (hereinafter Bakshi).
Regarding claims 5 and 12, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the apparatus of claim 1, the computer-readable medium of claim 10,
Nawaz in view of Ioannidis does not explicitly discloses wherein the first address information and the second address information are portions of a Geohash value that specifies the sub-region of the geographic area.
However, in analogues art, Bakshi discloses wherein the first address information and the second address information are portions of a Geohash value that specifies the sub-region of the geographic area (see Bakshi col. 3, lines 25-38, the identifier for geocoded areas, such as a geohash, uniquely identifies the geocoded area as specific component area of a higher-level area, which may be a specific component area of a still higher-level area, etc. Moreover, a target geographic location, such as an address or set of latitude/longitude coordinates, may be converted into an identifier for the lowest-level geocoded area that includes the target geographic location. The target area identifier may then also identify the higher-level areas in which the target area is located).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Bakshi in to the system of Nawaz and Ioannidis in order to determine which regions include a specific location, such systems retrieve and analyze information for all geocoded areas that include the specification location, at all levels of the hierarchy (see Bakshi col. 2, lines 32-35).
Regarding claim 17, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the method of claim 16,
Nawaz in view of Ioannidis does not explicitly discloses wherein the first address information and the second address information are portions of a Geohash value that specifies the sub-region of the geographic area, wherein the first address information corresponds to a coarse portion of the Geohash value and the second address information corresponds to a fine portion of the Geohash value.
However, in analogues art, Bakshi discloses wherein the first address information and the second address information are portions of a Geohash value that specifies the sub-region of the geographic area (see Bakshi col. 3, lines 25-38, the identifier for geocoded areas, such as a geohash, uniquely identifies the geocoded area as specific component area of a higher-level area, which may be a specific component area of a still higher-level area, etc. Moreover, a target geographic location, such as an address or set of latitude/longitude coordinates, may be converted into an identifier for the lowest-level geocoded area that includes the target geographic location. The target area identifier may then also identify the higher-level areas in which the target area is located); wherein the first address information corresponds to a coarse portion of the Geohash value and the second address information corresponds to a fine portion of the Geohash value (see Bakshi col. 2, lines 52-65, A record for a geocoded area in the subset may include information regarding a relatively coarse-grained geocoded area (e.g., in a mid to high level of the hierarchy) that is at least partially within a predefined region of interest. Advantageously, the record can also include a representation of one or more lower-level, finer-grained component areas of the coarse-grained area that are entirely within the predefined region of interest. In this way, the record for a single coarse-grained geocoded area can also provide a more fine-grained representation of which portions of the coarse-grained area are within the predefined region of interest without the necessity of storing separate records for each of the finer-grained component areas).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Bakshi in to the system of Nawaz and Ioannidis in order to include a region identification system may use the geocoded target location data to identify records of geocoded data for coarser-grained, higher-level areas that include the target location (see Bakshi col. 5, lines 46-49).
9. Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nawaz et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0187266 (hereinafter Nawaz) in view of Ioannidis et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2016/0012238 (hereinafter Ioannidis) in further view of Shawe-Taylor et al. US Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0145389 (hereinafter Shawe).
Regarding claim 11, Nawaz in view of Ioannidis discloses the computer-readable medium of claim 10,
Nawaz in view of Ioannidis does not explicitly discloses wherein the stored LBI includes image data, and wherein the privacy protocol is a Private Information Retrieval (PIR) protocol.
However, in analogues art, Shawe discloses wherein the stored LBI includes image data, and wherein the privacy protocol is a Private Information Retrieval (PIR) protocol (see Shawe par. 0128, the encryption apparatus may be configured to encrypt the feature set, and to send the encrypted feature set to the feature server, according to a private information retrieval (PIR) protocol. The feature server may be configured to use the same private information retrieval (PIR) protocol to send response data to the encryption apparatus. The response data typically depends on the contents of the feature set; however, the use of private information retrieval (PIR) protocol makes it possible that the feature server cannot determine the contents of the feature set and/or cannot know what response data was sent).
Therefore it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to incorporate the teachings of Shawe in to the system of Nawaz and Ioannidis in order to include a use of private information retrieval (PIR) protocol makes it possible that the feature server cannot determine the contents of the feature set and/or cannot know what response data was sent. In this way, the privacy of a user of the encryption apparatus can be enhanced even further, by preventing the feature server from finding out anything about the contents of the plaintext data (see Shawe par. 0128).
Allowable Subject Matter
10. Claims 3-4 and 13-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
11. Applicant's submission of an information disclosure statement under 37 CFR 1.97(c) with the timing fee set forth in 37 CFR 1.17(p) on 04/14/2026] prompted the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 609.04(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMUEL AMBAYE/Examiner, Art Unit 2433
/JEFFREY C PWU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2433