DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 01/27/2026 has been entered. Claims 7, 14, and 18 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are now pending in the application. The previous objections to the specification and the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 7, 14, and 18 are withdrawn in light of Applicant's amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant makes the argument that Betsugi et al. (US 20200069386 A1, hereinafter Betsugi) does not disclose or suggest the following features: “a first helical gear rotatably coupled to the rotor gear; and a second helical gear rotatably coupled to the rotor gear,” the applicant argues that Betsugi describes only one helical gear. The examiner respectfully disagrees, since although FIG. 7 of Betsugi only depicts one helical gear 842, par. 69 and 85 disclose that driven member 84 is comprised of driven member 84a and 84b, working together as one, i.e. one rotor gear, which are each connected to a respective helical gear 842, as depicted in FIG. 9. Therefore, there are first 842(84a) and second 842(84b) helical gears connected to the rotor gear (driven member 84, i.e. 84a+84b), as disclosed in FIG. 9.
For the reasons cited above, examiner maintains the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 with Betsugi, either alone or in combination with Parihar, Blumenkranz, and Still.
The examiner has updated the 35 U.S.C.102 rejection with Betsugi below, in order to bring about more clarity and better reflect the above-mentioned aspects of the disclosure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 8, 12, 15, 17, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Betsugi et al. (US 20200069386 A1, hereinafter Betsugi).
Regarding Claim 1, Betsugi discloses
A device (adaptor 60; FIG. 4) for controlling rotational movement of a surgical instrument (surgical instrument 40; FIG. 3), the device comprising:
a rotor gear (driven member 84 (first driven member 84a + second driven member 84b); FIG. 7, 9) attached to a shaft (shaft 42; FIG. 3) of the surgical instrument (depicted in FIG. 7);
a first helical gear (helical gear 842 (84a); FIG. 7, 9) rotatably coupled to the rotor gear (par. 69 discloses rotation of helical gear in accordance with driven member),
wherein the first helical gear comprises a first bore (FIG. 7, par. 69 discloses helical gear connected to shaft, it is inherent that it is through a hole/bore of some kind);
a first drive shaft (shaft 841; FIG. 7) disposed through the first bore of the first helical gear (FIG. 7, par. 69 discloses helical gear connected to shaft, it is inherent that it is through a hole/bore of some kind);
a second helical gear (helical gear 842 (84b); FIG. 7, 9) rotatably coupled to the rotor gear (par. 69 discloses rotation of helical gear in accordance with driven member),
wherein the second helical gear comprises a second bore (FIG. 7, par. 69 discloses helical gear connected to shaft, it is inherent that it is through a hole/bore of some kind); and
a second drive shaft (shaft 841; FIG. 7) disposed through the second bore of the second helical gear (FIG. 7, par. 69 discloses helical gear connected to shaft, it is inherent that it is through a hole/bore of some kind).
Regarding Claim 2, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 1, wherein the device is a tool drive adaptor that is mechanically coupled to a tool receptacle (adaptor attachment surface 211; FIG. 5-7) of a robotic surgical system (robotic surgical system 100; FIG. 1) to enable the robotic surgical system to control the rotational movement of the surgical instrument (par. 51 discloses robot arm transmits driving force through the adaptor to rotate the endoscope).
Regarding Claim 3, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 2, further comprising:
a first input puck (rotation drive transmission members 62 + driven members 84) attached to the first drive shaft (FIG. 7, par. 69 disclose driven member, which is connected to transmission member, is connected to shaft); and
a second input puck (rotation drive transmission members 62 + driven members 84) attached to the second drive shaft (FIG. 7, par. 69 disclose driven member, which is connected to transmission member, is connected to shaft);
wherein a first motor (rotation drive sections 212) of the tool receptacle is mechanically coupled to the first input puck to drive rotation of the first drive shaft (par. 68-70 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation of rotation drive sections which is transmitted by transmission members, i.e. mechanical coupling due to transmission of forces); and
wherein a second motor (rotation drive sections 212) of the tool receptacle is mechanically coupled to the second input puck to drive rotation of the second drive shaft (par. 68-70 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation of rotation drive sections which is transmitted by transmission members, i.e. mechanical coupling due to transmission of forces).
Regarding Claim 4, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 3, wherein a controller (controller 26; FIG. 1) of the robotic surgical system provides instructions to a robotic arm (robot arms 21) of the robotic surgical system to actuate one or more of the first motor or the second motor of the tool receptacle (par. 22 discloses medical equipment attached to each robot arm is controlled by a driving signal given through the controller and performs a desired movement); and
wherein the controller of the robotic surgical system provides the instructions to actuate the one or more of the first motor or the second motor in response to receiving a user input to change a rotational position of the shaft of the surgical instrument (par. 26 discloses instructions are inputted by an operator and are to be executed by surgical instrument through the controller).
Regarding Claim 5, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 1, wherein the first helical gear and the second helical gear are simultaneously rotated to cause rotation of the rotor gear, and wherein the rotation of the rotor gear causes rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument (par. 69 discloses helical gears connected to each driven member, i.e. rotor gear, wherein rotation of the gears is in accordance with the rotation of the driven members, par. 67-68 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation drive sections, which ultimately results in rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument).
Regarding Claim 8, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 1, wherein a longitudinal axis of the rotor gear is substantially parallel to a longitudinal axis of the shaft (par. 66 discloses endoscope can be rotated, via rotation drive sections, about the rotation axis in the insertion section, i.e. shaft, Y direction, par. par. 67-68 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation drive sections, which ultimately results in rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument, i.e. axes of the driven member and insertion portion are parallel);
wherein a longitudinal axis of the first helical gear is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the rotor gear (par. 66-68 disclose driven member and insertion portion rotation axis in Y direction, par. 69 discloses helical gear rotation axis in Z direction); and
wherein a longitudinal axis of the second helical gear is substantially perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the rotor gear (par. 66-68 disclose driven member and insertion portion rotation axis in Y direction, par. 69 discloses helical gear rotation axis in Z direction).
Regarding Claim 12, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 1, wherein the surgical instrument is an endoscopic visualization system, and wherein the shaft of the surgical instrument is a rigid laparoscope (endoscope 50) configured for insertion into a body (par. 49 discloses endoscope insertion portion inserted into body of patient).
Regarding Claim 15, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 1, further comprising an equipment communication subsystem (storage 142; FIG. 2), wherein the equipment communication subsystem comprises memory storing (par. 40 discloses storage includes a memory):
an identification of the surgical instrument (par. 42 discloses storage stores information corresponding to types of surgical instrument);
a serial number of the surgical instrument; and
a configuration file for robotically controlling the surgical instrument (par. 42 discloses storage stores control programs).
Regarding Claim 17, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 2, wherein the surgical instrument is an endoscopic visualization instrument (endoscope 50), and wherein the surgical instrument comprises:
an image sensor (image capturing section 53; FIG. 4) disposed at a distal end of the shaft (par. 75 discloses image capturing section at tip of endoscope); and
a microcontroller (image controller 143; FIG. 2), wherein the microcontroller is in communication with the image sensor (par. 46 discloses image controller transmits images acquired by endoscope), and
wherein a controller (control apparatus 14; FIG. 2) of the robotic surgical system is in communication with the microcontroller (par. 40 discloses control apparatus includes image controller).
Regarding Claim 20, Betsugi discloses
The device of claim 2, further comprising a latching system (movable member 86) for unlocking the device from the tool receptacle of the robotic surgical system (disclosed in FIG. 5-6),
wherein the latching system comprises:
a latch (buttons 861) configured to be depressed inward toward the shaft of the surgical instrument (par. 91 discloses buttons are pressed to detach endoscope);
a latch pin (engagement sections 213/ engagement holes 67; FIG. 5) mechanically coupled to the tool receptacle when the device is locked within the tool receptacle (FIG. 5, par. 62 disclose engagement sections are inserted into engagement holes, i.e. locked); and
a latch spring (par. 72 discloses movement member biased by spring); wherein depression of the latch causes the device to unlock from the tool receptacle (par. 91 discloses pressing buttons detaches endoscope).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7, 9-11, 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betsugi et al. (US 20200069386 A1, hereinafter Betsugi) in view of Parihar et al. (US 20140276723 A1, hereinafter Parihar).
Regarding Claim 6, Betsugi discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and, Betsugi further discloses wherein the rotation of the rotor gear causes rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument (par. 67-68 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation drive sections, which ultimately results in rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument).
However, Betsugi does not disclose wherein one or more of the first helical gear or the second helical gear is rotated to cause clockwise rotation of the rotor gear.
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) which controls rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4) which has a shaft assembly (160). The device having drive discs (120; FIG. 10-11) which provide rotation for a first helical gear (130) and transitively a second helical gear (132), wherein rotation of the second helical gear (132) results in CW rotation of shaft assembly [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the second helical gear of Parihar in order to allow for a drive shaft, i.e. connected to the helical gear, to be rotated in the clockwise and/ or counter-clockwise direction so that an operator/ surgeon can more intuitively articulate the shaft of the surgical instrument [0076].
Regarding Claim 7, Betsugi discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Betsugi further discloses wherein the rotation of the rotor gear causes rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument (par. 67-68 disclose driven members are rotated by rotation drive sections, which ultimately results in rotation of the shaft of the surgical instrument).
However, Betsugi does not disclose wherein one or more of the first helical gear or the second helical gear is rotated to cause counterclockwise rotation of the rotor gear.
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) controlling rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4), which has a shaft assembly (160). The device having drive discs (120; FIG. 10-11) which provide rotation for a first helical gear (130) and transitively a second helical gear (132), wherein rotation of the second helical gear (132) results in CCW rotation of shaft assembly [0073].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the second helical gear of Parihar in order to allow for a drive shaft, i.e. connected to the helical gear, to be rotated in the clockwise and/ or counter-clockwise direction so that an operator/ surgeon can more intuitively articulate the shaft of the surgical instrument [0076].
Regarding Claim 9, Betsugi, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, however Betsugi does not disclose wherein each of the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft comprises: a proximal portion comprising an elliptical cross-sectional geometry; a middle portion comprising a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry; and a distal portion comprising an elliptical cross-sectional geometry; wherein the middle portion is disposed between the proximal portion and the distal portion; and wherein the proximal portion is proximal to the tool receptacle relative to the distal portion.
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) controlling rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4), which has a shaft assembly (160), the device is an adaptor that is mechanically coupled to an instrument dock (72; FIG. 3). The device having drive shafts (124, 125, 126, 127) which are rotated via drive discs (120, i.e. rotor gear) to cause rotation of an instrument shaft (160) and articulation of its bending section (170) [0071-0073]. Wherein each of the drive shafts comprise:
a proximal portion (depicted in FIG. 28) comprising an elliptical cross-sectional geometry (par. 99 discloses modification of cross-section and elliptical cross-section of drive shaft);
a middle portion (depicted in FIG. 28) comprising a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry (par. 99 discloses modification of cross-section and hex cross-section of drive shaft); and
a distal portion (depicted in FIG. 28) comprising an elliptical cross-sectional geometry (par. 99 discloses modification of cross-section and elliptical cross-section of drive shaft);
wherein the middle portion (depicted in FIG. 28) is disposed between the proximal portion and the distal portion; and
wherein the proximal portion is proximal to the tool receptacle relative to the distal portion (par. 84 discloses drive shafts are operable to engage instrument docks in reference to FIG. 16 which depicts top view of base, i.e. the proximal portions of the drive shafts).
FIG. 28 (Marked Up)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the drive shafts of Parihar in order to provide a system with drive shafts which can be rotated in the clockwise and/ or counter-clockwise direction so that an operator/ surgeon can more intuitively articulate the shaft of the surgical instrument [Parihar - 0076], and drive shafts which can be modified to have complimentary shapes to a variety of different shaped openings [Parihar - 0099].
Regarding Claim 10, Betsugi, as previously modified by Parihar, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 9, Parihar further teaches wherein the middle portion of the first drive shaft is keyed to a geometry of the first bore such that the first drive shaft transfers rotational movement to the first helical gear (par. 98 discloses drive shaft has contoured, non-circular shape for receipt into drive shaft opening, par. 73 discloses drive shaft transfer rotation from disc to drive shaft); and
wherein the middle portion of the second drive shaft is keyed to a geometry of the second bore such that the second drive shaft transfers rotational movement to the second helical gear (par. 98 discloses drive shaft has contoured, non-circular shape for receipt into drive shaft opening, par. 73 discloses drive shaft transfer rotation from disc to drive shaft).
Regarding Claim 11, Parihar discloses
Regarding Claim 11, Betsugi, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, however Betsugi does not disclose wherein at least a portion of each of the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft comprises a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry; wherein each of the first bore and the second bore is defined by a plurality of sidewalls defining a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry; wherein the first drive shaft is disposed within the first bore such that the first drive shaft and the plurality of sidewalls of the first bore form one or more of a slip fit or an interference fit; and wherein the second drive shaft is disposed within the second bore such that the second drive shaft and the plurality of sidewalls of the second bore form one or more of a slip fit or an interference fit.
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) controlling rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4), which has a shaft assembly (160), the device is an adaptor that is mechanically coupled to an instrument dock (72; FIG. 3). The device having drive shafts (124, 125, 126, 127) which are rotated via drive discs (120, i.e. rotor gear) to cause rotation of an instrument shaft (160) and articulation of its bending section (170) [0071-0073]. The drive shafts comprise a hexagonal cross-sectional geometry, and the drive shafts have complimentary drive shaft openings (i.e. bores) which can be defined by a plurality of sidewalls, i.e. when supporting a hexagonal shape, and are modifiable, same as drive shafts, to complimentary shapes of one another. Moreover, given the complimentary relationship of the drive shafts and bores, as well as the contoured, i.e. molded, structure of the shafts in regard to the bores, there is a slip fit formed between the shafts and bores [0098-0099].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the drive shafts and bores of Parihar in order to provide a system with drive shafts and drive shaft openings which can be modified to have complimentary shapes to one another and can take on several different configurations ranging from hexagonal, elliptical, star, etc., allowing for a great deal of versatility in structural design [Parihar - 0099].
Regarding Claim 18, Betsugi discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Betsugi further discloses
a chassis (endoscope adaptor 80; FIG. 7), and
an upper housing (drape 70) configured to attach to the chassis (depicted in FIG. 4); wherein the upper housing is removable (depicted in FIG. 15).
However, Betsugi does not disclose wherein the first drive shaft is disposed through a first hole through the chassis, and wherein the second drive shaft is disposed through a second hole through the chassis
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) controlling rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4), which has a shaft assembly (160), the device is an adaptor that is mechanically coupled to an instrument dock (72; FIG. 3). The device having a housing (312; FIG. 12, i.e. chassis), wherein the drive shafts are disposed through drive shaft openings (334, 336, i.e. holes) in the housing (depicted in FIG. 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the chassis holes of Parihar in order to provide a system with drive shaft openings which can be modified to have complimentary shapes to drive shafts and can take on several different configurations ranging from hexagonal, elliptical, star, etc., allowing for a great deal of versatility in structural design [Parihar - 0099].
Regarding Claim 19, Betsugi discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Betsugi further discloses
wherein a controller of the robotic surgical system executes a motion control algorithm to synchronously drive rotation of the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft (par. 21-22 disclose controller executes action mode instructions so as to provide a driving signal to each robot arm and surgical instrument to perform a desired movement, par. 67-70 disclose driven members rotate helical gears through drive shafts, driven members are rotated by rotation drive sections);
However, Betsugi does not disclose wherein synchronous rotation of the first drive shaft and the second drive shaft causes the shaft to rotate clockwise or counterclockwise about a longitudinal axis of the shaft.
Parihar teaches an analogous device (interface assembly 110; FIG. 4) which controls rotation of an instrument (100; FIG. 4) which has a shaft assembly (160). The device having drive discs (120; FIG. 10-11) which provide rotation for drive shafts (124, 125, 126, 127) [0072], wherein rotation of simultaneous rotation of drive shafts results in CW or CCW rotation of shaft assembly [0073, 0076].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the drive shafts of Parihar in order to allow for a drive shaft to be rotated in the clockwise and/ or counter-clockwise direction so that an operator/ surgeon can more intuitively articulate the shaft of the surgical instrument [0076].
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betsugi et al. (US 20200069386 A1, hereinafter Betsugi), as applied to claim 1, in view of Blumenkranz (US 20140257333 A1) .
Regarding Claim 16, Betsugi discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 1, and Betsugi further discloses
wherein the surgical instrument is an endoscopic visualization instrument (endoscope 50), and
wherein the surgical instrument comprises a cable (par. 48 discloses cable of endoscope) comprising:
transmitting electromagnetic radiation from an emitter to a distal end of the shaft (par. 50 discloses a light irradiates the image capturing section; par. 75 discloses image capturing section at tip or distal end of endoscope); and
an electrically conductive cable for bidirectionally transmitting data (par. 38 discloses images transmitted to endoscope display, i.e. via cable utilizing electricity).
However, Betsugi does not disclose a fiber optic bundle.
Blumenkranz teaches an analogous surgical system (hybrid minimally invasive interventional instrument system 10) having a surgical instrument (instrument handpiece 14 + catheter system 12) with an elongated flexible body (16, i.e. shaft). The instrument (12) includes an image capture probe provided at the distal end of the shaft (16) which includes a cable that transmits captured image data, wherein, the probe can be a fiber optic bundle that couples to an image system, i.e. via cable [0044].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing
date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the surgical instrument of Blumenkranz in order to provide an image capture instrument that can be a fiber scope, capture image data in the visible, infrared, and ultraviolet spectrums [0044] and be able to measure strain using emitted light [0042].
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Betsugi et al. (US 20200069386 A1, hereinafter Betsugi) as applied to claim 2 above, in view of Still et al. (US 20170109488 A1, hereinafter Still).
Regarding Claim 13, Betsugi, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 2, however Betsugi does not disclose wherein the tool drive adaptor further comprises a magnet; and wherein the tool receptacle of the robotic surgical system further comprises a Hall effect sensor.
Still teaches an analogous surgical system (robotic system 10) having an arm (14, i.e. tool receptacle) and an end effector (16, i.e. tool adaptor). The end effector connects a tool (18, i.e. surgical instrument) to the arm (14, depicted in FIG. 1A-1B) for operation and support [0021]. The tool has a housing (20) which encloses its components, namely a magnet (28) actuated by a trigger (26, i.e. correlating with the buttons 861 of Betsugi) and a plurality of sensors (32, 34, 36, 38, par. 34 discloses sensors are Hall Effect sensors) capable of generating output signals corresponding to position or orientation of the magnet [0029].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of the invention to provide the surgical system of Betsugi with the magnet and sensor configuration of Still in order to provide a controller with output signals from the sensor, based on position and orientation of the magnet, which can be utilized by the controller to determine strength of a magnetic field which directly correlates to how close the magnet is to the sensor [0038].
Additionally, although the tool adaptor (16) of Still possess both the magnet and hall effect sensor, the modification of Betsugi with the magnet and hall effect sensor of Still would result in the magnet being in the adaptor (60) of Betsugi, since the trigger equivalent would be the buttons (861) which directly interacts with the adaptor, and the hall effect sensor would be in the tool receptacle of Betsugi in order to bring out the same result as the configuration of Still.
Regarding Claim 14, Betsugi, as previously modified by Still, discloses all of the elements of the current invention disclosed in claim 13, Still further teaches
The device of claim 13, wherein the Hall effect sensor provides an electronic output in response to the magnet of the tool drive adaptor coming within a threshold distance of the Hall effect sensor (par. 6 discloses output signal, i.e. electronic output, from sensor in response to detecting magnet, base digital integer, i.e. threshold distance, determined from each output signal, par. 38 discloses the closer the sensor to the magnet, the lesser the base digital integer, and vice versa); and
wherein the electronic output indicates that the tool drive adaptor is installed within the tool receptacle (par. 6 discloses output signal informs base digital integer which reflects the position of the magnet in relation to the sensor, i.e. how close the receptacle is to being installed with the adaptor).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABDUL HADI ABBASI/Examiner, Art Unit 3795
/RYAN N HENDERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3795