DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, 9-11, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321).
Regarding claim 1, Carlson teaches a method for detecting an aerosol, wherein the method comprises: collecting aerosol particles (Paragraph 47, “During operation of the aerosol and vapor enhanced sample module 101, ambient air is drawn into the housing 103 via the inlet nozzle assembly 107, and exits the housing 103 via minor exhaust line 123 and major exhaust lines 127”); heating the aerosol particles; converting the aerosol particles to a vapor (Abstract, “a heater which vaporizes particles that collect on said collection surface”); sending the vapor to at least one sensor; analyzing the vapor; and determining an aerosol type (Abstract, “an analyzer which analyzes the composition of the fluidic flow through said second outlet”).
Regarding claim 2, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol is a suspension of fine solid particles or liquid droplets in air or in another gas and the vapor is a gas (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 4, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol type is a non-traditional agent (NTA) or a pharmaceutical-based agent (PBA) (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 9, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol particles are a liquid or a solid (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 10, Carlson teaches a device for detecting an aerosol, wherein the device comprises: an aerosol collector to collect aerosol particles (Paragraph 47, “During operation of the aerosol and vapor enhanced sample module 101, ambient air is drawn into the housing 103 via the inlet nozzle assembly 107, and exits the housing 103 via minor exhaust line 123 and major exhaust lines 127”); a heater to heat the aerosol particles (Abstract, “a heater which vaporizes particles that collect on said collection surface”); and a computer processor configured to: convert the aerosol particles to a vapor (Abstract, “a heater which vaporizes particles that collect on said collection surface”); send the vapor to at least one sensor; analyze the vapor; and determine an aerosol type (Abstract, “an analyzer which analyzes the composition of the fluidic flow through said second outlet”).
Regarding claim 11, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol is a suspension of fine solid particles or liquid droplets in air or in another gas and the vapor is a gas (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 13, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol type is a non-traditional agent (NTA) or a pharmaceutical-based agent (PBA) (Paragraph 3).
Regarding claim 18, Carlson teaches wherein the aerosol particles are a liquid or a solid (Paragraph 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of Chadha et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210033586).
Regarding claim 3, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the method further comprises: displaying the aerosol type to a user.
Chadha teaches wherein the method further comprises: displaying the aerosol type to a user (Paragraph 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to display Carlson’s data to a user because it would be easier for a user to understand.
Regarding claim 12, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the device further comprises: a display for displaying the aerosol type to a user.
Chadha teaches wherein the device further comprises: a display for displaying the aerosol type to a user (Paragraph 72).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to display Carlson’s data to a user because it would be easier for a user to understand.
Claims 5 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of Novosselov et al. (“Design and Performance of a Low-Cost Micro-Channel Aerosol Collector”, published in 2014, see attached publication).
Regarding claim 5, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the aerosol particles are collected by a microchannel collector.
Novosselov teaches wherein the aerosol particles are collected by a microchannel collector (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s collector with Novosselov’s microchannel collector because it has high collection efficiency and delivers highly concentrated samples as taught by Novosselov.
Regarding claim 14, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the aerosol collector is a microchannel collector.
Novosselov teaches wherein the aerosol collector is a microchannel collector (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s collector with Novosselov’s microchannel collector because it has high collection efficiency and delivers highly concentrated samples as taught by Novosselov.
Claims 6 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of He et al. (“Design and evaluation of an aerodynamic focusing micro-well aerosol collector”, published in 2017, see attached publication).
Regarding claim 6, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the aerosol particles are collected by a microwell collector.
He teaches wherein the aerosol particles are collected by a microwell collector (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s collector with He’s microwell collector because it would minimize particle collection areas as taught by He.
Regarding claim 15, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the aerosol collector is a microwell collector.
He teaches wherein the aerosol collector is a microwell collector (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s collector with He’s microwell collector because it would minimize particle collection areas as taught by He.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of Diagne et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20250130195).
Regarding claim 7, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson further teaches wherein the aerosol particles are heated and desorbed by a heater (Paragraph 44).
Carlson is silent about the heater is a microheater.
Diagne teaches the heater is a microheater (Paragraphs 182-184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s heater with a microheater because it would reduce the size of Carlson’s system.
Regarding claim 16, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson further teaches wherein the aerosol particles are heated and desorbed by a heater (Paragraph 44).
Carlson is silent about the heater is a microheater.
Diagne teaches the heater is a microheater (Paragraphs 182-184).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace Carlson’s heater with a microheater because it would reduce the size of Carlson’s system.
Claims 8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of Mcloughlin et al. (U.S. Patent No. 11996280).
Regarding claim 8, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 1 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the vapor is analyzed using machine learning.
Mcloughlin teaches wherein the vapor is analyzed using machine learning (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use machine learning in Carlson’s system to analyze the vapor because it is more accurate.
Regarding claim 17, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the vapor is analyzed using machine learning.
Mcloughlin teaches wherein the vapor is analyzed using machine learning (Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to use machine learning in Carlson’s system to analyze the vapor because it is more accurate.
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carlson et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20210278321) in view of Hur et al. (U.S. Publication No. 20180195987).
Regarding claim 19, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the device is wearable by a user and is no larger than 8 cm x 5 cm x 1 cm, with a weight of less than 100 grams.
Hur teaches wherein the device is wearable by a user (Abstract and paragraph 32) and with a weight of less than 100 grams (Paragraph 31).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make Carlson’s system wearable by a user and weight less than 100 grams because it would make Carlson’s system small and light enough to be easily carried around by a person.
The combination of Carlson and Hur is silent about the device is no larger than 8 cm x 5 cm x 1 cm.
However Hur teaches disposable sensor unit 150 having a smaller size (e.g., about 2.25 inches×1.75 inches×0.75 inches) in paragraph 31.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make the device no larger than 8 cm x 5 cm x 1 cm, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Regarding claim 20, Carlson teaches all the features of claim 10 as outlined above, Carlson is silent about wherein the device is mounted to an apparatus.
Hur teaches wherein the device is mounted to an apparatus (Abstract and paragraph 32).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to make Carlson’s system mounted to an apparatus because it would make Carlson’s system small and light enough to be easily carried around by a person.
Conclusion
/XIN Y ZHONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855