DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment dated 08/14/2026, in which claims 1, 3, 6, 11-14 were amended, claims 2, 5, 7-10 were cancelled, claims 15-20 were withdrawn, claims 21-26 were added, has been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the features of “a first driving circuit”, “a second driving circuit” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 6, 11, 13, 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. 20080151143) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 20100264432), Chen et al. (US Pub. 20120025695), Fukasawa et al. (US Pub. 20050082974).
Regarding claims 1 and 6, Li et al. discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 7b, Fig. 7c, paragraph [0032]-[0034], [0043]-[0044] a light-emitting diode ("LED") package, comprising:
a package housing [46] defining a space;
a first LED [first 42] disposed within the space defined by the package housing [46], and configured to emit a first light [blue light] having a blue wavelength range, wherein the blue wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 440 nm to about 480 nm [400 to 465 nm];
a second LED [44] disposed within the space defined by the package housing [46], and configured to emit a second light [red light] having a red wavelength range,
a third LED [second 42] disposed within the space defined by the package housing, and configured to emit a third light having the blue wavelength range [400 to 465 nm];
a phosphor filler [48] filling the space and configured to absorb a portion of the first light to emit a fourth light [green light] having a green wavelength range.
Li et al. fails to disclose
wherein the red wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 610 nm to about 680 nm; and
wherein the green wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 510 nm to about 570 nm.
Liu et al. discloses in paragraph [0028]-[0029],
wherein the red wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 610 nm to about 680 nm [610 nm and 630 nm]; and
wherein the green wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 510 nm to about 570 nm [500 nm to 555 nm].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Liu et al. into the method of Li et al. to include wherein the red wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 610 nm to about 680 nm; and wherein the green wavelength range has a peak wavelength ranging from about 510 nm to about 570 nm. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable red wavelength range of red light and green wavelength range of green light.
Li et al. fails to
a first driving circuit configured to drive the first LED and the third LED in series;
a second driving circuit configured to drive the second LED;
wherein a first driving current of the first driving circuit is independently adjustable from a second driving current of the second driving circuit;
the first LED and the third LED are connected in series.
Fukasawa et al. disclose in paragraph [0080]
a first driving circuit configured to drive the first LED [blue LED];
a second driving circuit configured to drive the second LED [red LED];
wherein a first driving current of the first driving circuit is independently adjustable from a second driving current of the second driving circuit.
Chen et al. discloses in Fig. 5 paragraph [0004], [0032], [0033], [0035], [0036]
a first driving circuit configured to drive the first LED [202-1] and the third LED [202-2] in series;
a second driving circuit configured to drive a second LED [204-1 or 204-2];
wherein a first driving current of the first driving circuit is independently adjustable from a second driving current of the second driving circuit;
the first LED [202-1] and the third LED [202-2] are connected in series.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fukasawa et al. and Chen et al. into the method of Li et al. to include a first driving circuit configured to drive the first LED and the third LED in series; a second driving circuit configured to drive the second LED; wherein a first driving current of the first driving circuit is independently adjustable from a second driving current of the second driving circuit; the first LED and the third LED are connected in series. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li et al. in the above manner for the purpose of enabling to adjust a percentage of the emission intensity of the blue light and the emission intensity of the red light for any purpose; and/or enabling to adjust the color temperature of the resultant white light by changing the ratio of the driving currents of the blue LEDs and red LED [paragraph [0004], [0033], [0035] of Chen et al., paragraph [0080] of Fukasawa et al.].
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. discloses in paragraph [0033], [0047]
wherein a concentration of the phosphor filler is adjustable to adjust a color of an output light of the LED package [“By changing the concentration, quantity, and chemical composition of the green phosphor, both the intensity and wavelength of the green emission can be controlled.”…“By adjusting the phosphor composition and/or concentration, white light may be generated.”].
Regarding claims 11-13, Li et al. discloses in Fig. 4, Fig. 7a, Fig. 7b, Fig. 7c
wherein the second LED [44] is disposed between the first LED [42 left] and the third LED [42 right];
wherein the first LED [42] and the third LED [42] are disposed side by side along a first row, the second LED [44] is disposed along a second row, and the second row is parallel with the first row [Fig. 7a] or the same as the first row [Fig. 7b, Fig. 7c];
wherein the first LED [42 left], the second LED [44], and the third LED [42 right] are disposed side by side along a same row.
Regarding claim 21, Li et al. discloses in Fig. 4, paragraph [0032]
wherein the package housing [46] further comprises a substrate, a side wall, and a light emission window.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. 20080151143) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 20100264432), Chen et al. (US Pub. 20120025695), Fukasawa et al. (US Pub. 20050082974) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Young (US Pub. 20050122065).
Regarding claims 3, Li et al. fails to disclose
a controller configured to individually control the first driving current and the second driving current to adjust a color of an output light of the LED package.
However, Fukasawa et al. and Chen et al. suggest the first driving current and the second driving current are separately controlled.
Young discloses in Abstract, claim 1
a controller configured to individually control the first driving current and the second driving current to adjust a color of an output light of the LED package.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Fukasawa et al. and Chen et al. and Young into the method of Li et al. and Liu et al. to include a controller configured to individually control the first driving current and the second driving current to adjust a color of an output light of the LED package. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li et al. and Liu et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing means for individually control the first driving current and the second driving current to adjust a percentage of the emission intensity of the blue light and the emission intensity of the red light for any purpose so that the LED device can efficiently and effectively output a wide range of colors [Abstract, paragraph [0002], claim 1 of Young, paragraph [0004], [0033], [0035] of Chen et al., paragraph [0080] of Fukasawa et al.].
Claims 14, 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. 20080151143) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 20100264432), Chen et al. (US Pub. 20120025695), Fukasawa et al. (US Pub. 20050082974) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Wang et al. (US Pub. 20050093427) and Li et al. (US Pub. 20210074686), hereafter Li686.
Regarding claims 14, 22-25, Li et al. fails to disclose
wherein the second LED has a size that is greater than the first LED;
wherein the second LED has a size that is greater than the third LED;
wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of a size of the third LED;
wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of a size of the first LED;
wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of each of a size of the first LED and a size of the third LED.
Li686 discloses in Fig. 4
wherein the second LED [red LED 01] has a size that is greater than the first LED [blue LED 03];
wherein the second LED [red LED 01] has a size that is greater than the third LED [blue LED 03]
Wang et al. discloses in Fig. 3-Fig. 5, Fig. 8
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is greater than the first LED [blue LED 22];
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is greater than the third LED [blue LED 22];
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is greater than the first LED [blue LED 22];
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is at least two times of a size of the third LED [blue LED 22];
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is at least two times of a size of the first LED [blue LED 22];
wherein the second LED [red LED 21] has a size that is at least two times of each of a size of the first LED [22] and a size of a third LED [23].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Wang et al. into the method of Li et al. to include wherein the second LED has a size that is greater than the first LED; wherein the second LED has a size that is greater than the third LED; wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of a size of the third LED; wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of a size of the first LED; wherein the second LED has a size that is at least two times of each of a size of the first LED and a size of the third LED. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable a size of the second LED with respect to a size of the first/third LED to generation white light [paragraph [0036] of Li686]. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the finite number of predictable solutions for a size of the second LED with respect to a size of the first/third LED: the second LED has a size that is greater than/smaller than/equal to the first/third LED. Absent unexpected results, it would have been obvious to try the second LED has a size that is greater than the first/third LED to generate a desired color.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US Pub. 20080151143) in view of Liu et al. (US Pub. 20100264432), Chen et al. (US Pub. 20120025695), Fukasawa et al. (US Pub. 20050082974) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Oyaizu (US Pub. 20140286006).
Regarding claim 26, Li et al. fails to disclose
wherein the first LED and the third LED are electrically connected to one another via a connection wire.
Chen et al. suggests in Fig. 5, paragraph [0035]-[0036]
the first LED and the third LED are electrically connected to one another.
Oyaizu discloses in Fig. 2, paragraph [0031]
the first LED [first blue LED 121] and the third LED [second blue LED 121] are electrically connected to one another via a connection wire [171].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Chen et al. and Oyaizu into the method of Li et al. to include wherein the first LED and the third LED are electrically connected to one another via a connection wire. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Li et al. in the above manner for the purpose of providing suitable method for connecting blue LEDs in series to apply the same power/current to blue LEDs. Further, it would have been obvious to try one of the known methods with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SOPHIA T NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2893